Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Munchkin Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Munchkin Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Protect your baby from germs with the Munchkin Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer. You can place bottles, pacifiers and even a breast pump inside. With the steam heat that is generated, it effectively kills household bacteria. This microwave bottle sterilizer promises efficient results while keeping the contents safe from melting or burning. It holds everything securely inside with locking tabs while they are quickly and quietly run through microwave. This prevents it from accidentally opening when it is in use. This baby bottle sterilizer comes with tongs so you can easily remove what you need even when it is hot. It has heat-resistant handles so you can retrieve it when it is finished with the process. The device comes with a useful deluxe bottle brush as a bonus.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 116
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%130 out of 140reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Great!

09/20/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use the sterilizer every single time. It's great to have so we don't have to run the dishwasher every day and waste water. Very easy, add water and bottles, microwave for 2 minutes and let set for 2 minutes and you're done. It is recommended to use 'nursery water' so the minerals don't build up on everything. It's very cheap and lasts a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Perfect.

12/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it says on the box: Quickly, easily sterilizes baby products. Picture is a shot of 4x8oz Dr. Brown's bottles, with nipples and all associated innards set up for sterilization. Best part is that, after sterilizing, I can store things in this for up to 3 hours and they're still sterile.
Much better than the steamer bags!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Wonderful product!

04/29/2008
By ,
Eastern Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes sterilization SOOOO easy and at half the cost of bigger, bulkier contraptions plus twice the room!! The domed lid gives you room to "play" with to make stuff fit. We use Playtex bottles, and I usually run two rounds through the microwave a day: once for nipples and rings and a few lids, and again for the 4 oz bottles and remaining lids. The 4 oz bottles fit (about 7-9) depending on how many lids, etc. and the lid closes fine. The 8-10 oz bottles fit 4 at a time, laying down, plus some rings and nipples. Couldn't ask for more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

ok

07/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
an odd product,,,,it doesnt make sense that the top doesnt lift and hold up,,it only comes off, yet it has latches on the side.
overpriced for what it does, find something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Best value for your dollar

01/05/2011
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm frugal and I rely on reviews to help me decide what products are worth my hard earned dollars. It's something I appreciate about shopping at Walmart. I think this product is worth the money and far out weighs what you could spend on another sterlizer that is way bulkier and more expensive. I love the convenience of not having to plug the sterlizer in, just add some water and into the microwave it goes. I spent an incredible amount of money prepping for my daughter who is due Feb. 10th, but not as much as if I'd shopped any where else. I can't sterlize as much as I'd like too in this product, but because it does the job so quickly, that's something I can overlook. Overall, I'm very happy and I can say that I made a great buy; whereas the other soon to be mommies I know have spent ridiculous amounts on other sterilizers.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Wonderful Product.

02/13/2008
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. So easy and convenient to use. Better than boiling water. I use it to sterilize my son's sippy cups. My daughter's bottles, nipples, pacifier and my breastpump accessories. And very affordable. Can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

6 Bottles in 5 minutes

08/04/2010
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using Dr. Brown's bottles. They have a couple of extra parts than most bottles. I can get all 6 (4 oz.) bottles done in two loads. This makes it easier than dishwasher or boiling. Very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Great sterilizer

08/26/2011
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick and easy to use. Gotta love that. Beats boiling the bottles. It does not fit a whole days worth of bottles at one time so I have to use it two or three times but it works in like three minutes. Also, the handle does not come out burning hot. Had a different one before this one and I would always have to wait till the handle cooled off. I even use this to sterilize toys and pacifiers. I do not like that the instructions say you have to add 7 ounces of water everytime. I keep having to use a measuring cup. Wish it just had a line that says "fill up to here."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Love it

12/27/2009
By ,
Stc,Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this But, it says it will hold bottles up right, it will not hold the big NUK bottles up right u have to lay them on the side so you will only be about to do 3 big ones at a time.Besides that it sure beats boiling pumps and bottles every night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

A quick life saver

08/31/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Forget about boiling stuff. This is the easiest way to sterilize bottles and pacifiers for a great price.
Con: The bottles fall on their side. They should make higher pins to hold them. So you have to carry it very slowly to the microwave so they wont tip over.
Still a wonderful product, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

helpful

02/19/2014
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It fits all bottles which I love my son uses the wide playtex bottles and they fit perfect. Very easy to use and faster then boiling on the stove.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

I loved it at first.

03/01/2010
By ,
Wilson, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this product at first. It was so much easier than boiling bottles. I used it about 5 or 6 times and I started to notice that the bottles started smelling like rotten milk. At that point I didn't feel like it was sanitizing the bottles to my expectations and so I have since stopped using it. Maybe I was doing something wrong I don't know but I washed the bottles before putting them in the steam guard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer
10/17/2013
By ,
LBK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a new mom and did lots of research
After a lot of research I bought this sterilizer at Wal-mart when I was pregnant,
this sterilizer has been wonderful.
I wash the bottles, (all are Dr brown's) put them in the sterilizer, add 7 oz of water, microwave for 4 minutes, let them sit for 2 minutes and done. SIMPLE and easy. I have sterilized breast pump parts, pacifiers, bottles, and nipples with ease. I would recommend this product for anyone looking for an easy way to sterilize.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

It saves time!

10/27/2012
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my kids when you had to boil everything...I have used this with two people recently that just had babies and loved it. You wash you items and put in follow directions and put in microwave and its done in no time...Nothing left to boil or do..just dry which I like the drying rack also. This is just so handy and quick!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Great product!!!

03/08/2013
By ,
Transfer,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reading the reviews on this product and was still impressed when I got it home. What would of taken me 45-60 mins to wash took only 16 mins. I Strongly recommend this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

great product

09/21/2009
By ,
nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this last night...i have a 2 month old and two older children (8 and 9). i never sanitized any of their bottle, pacifiers, or cups. but this one i am having more tummy problems and now she has thrush so sanitizing is WAY more important. this is a sinch to use and works fast. easy to put together, didnt have any problems with it fitting in my microwave (i have one over my stove)...although it is rather big but does hold a lot. i wish it had a stackable shelf though, i have the ventaire bottles and they have lots of parts, couldnt fit 4 bottles with all their many pieces taken apart in there at one time. but overall i LOVE it and it is a new found LIFESAVER!!! i just hope it helps with my babies tummy...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Love IT!!!!

09/21/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! Great price for what its worth. Sterilized all my babys bottle (Dr.Browns) within 20 min. fits about 5 - 4oz plus nipples, & 3 normal size bottles etc... and i sterilized 5 minutes at a time. very good product def recommend to any 1 with babies!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sheena
Posted 01/17/2012
How did you get the 8oz Dr. Brown bottles to fit? I am having problems. Do yours lay down?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Munchkin Sterlizer For Microwave

11/23/2011
By ,
Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at my local walmart store after my baby shower while I was there browsing itching to buy some more baby items!! I am in full blown nesting mode LOL!! I loved the price of this product and I had also spent some nights online at home looking at reviews for different products that had great prices to see if they might be worth trying out! This sterlizer has great reviews and I can see why, it is just hard plastic and it came with a free bottle brush but for the amount of stuff that it fits and the fact that it is a generic brand (not a specialty bottle brand) you can use it for any type of bottle, pacifier etc without really having to worry if it will fit etc. The price is also excellent some of these sterlizers are really pricey and I wanted to make sure that I had one for my use for at least the first 6 months or so especially since I am having a winter / flu season baby and I am worried about the amount of germs / colds, coughs etc going around everywhere while she will be so little still and this will help out with my peace of mind! I would def.. recommend this product price is right, product is sturdy, well made and no frills will do its job and do it for a great price in a short amount of time and I am looking so forward to not having to boil everything!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

Worth every penny..

01/31/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Orginially I wanted an electric one because my husband is not a big fan of microwaves. But because of time & location, I decided to just get this one. Its easy, quick & serves the purpose. Ive even put other stuff in there. LoL But i love it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Munchkin - Steam Guard Microwave Sterilizer

LOVE IT!

05/09/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this product! I have a 3month old and just bought this thing tonight. I wish I would of had it all along! When registering I was told that this would be a waste of money by several mothers. So, I boiled everything only to discover that the water out of my sink turned everything WHITE due to the lime content evidently in my water! Then I was just using the sanitize and sterilize on my dishwaser. That seemd to be working great for bottles, etc, but not for pump accessories. When my son was about 4 weeks old, he had thrush and I was told by the lactation consultant to use the Quick Clean bags even after I had washed in the dishwasher and sanitized. So I have now spent over $25 in disposable bags. This is much much quicker and easier. I do recommend letting it cool for longer than the directions say because it is very hot and steamy still after the 4 min (my microwave is 4 min). Also I had no trouble fitting in my microwave and mine is an over the stove model. It is very snug only because of the handle, but it is great. Much better than bags and well worth the money! LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next