Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

The new Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars offer state-of-the-art features. The binoculars have multicoated, high resolution, aspherical lens system that delivers a distortion-free view. The lens also features anti-reflective coatings that provide optimum brightness, high contrast, true color rendition and flare-free viewing. It has a field of view of 430 ft at 1000 yards. The other attractive features include an advanced eye piece design that aids people who use eye glasses and a diopter control that eliminates problems of vision imbalance. This pair of wide angle binoculars has a smooth central focusing that lets you focus on subjects quickly. As it is tripod adaptable, you can attach it to a tripod for shake free viewing. The body of the BaK4 prism binocular is rubber coated to provide a non-slip grip. It comes with a neck strap and carry case for convenient carrying.
Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%60 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Nikon Action 8X40

07/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought two pairs of these binnoculars and going to buy a third one. One for the Jeep, one for the ATV, one for my truck. I have expensive solar powered transmitting equipment on a mouintain peak and when my electronic sensor detectors go off I can easily view the mountain top and see if it was a bird or human being setting off the alarms. I never know what vehicle I will be driving out here, in the desert mountain areas. Personnaly they perform equal or better then my $300.00 pair of binnoculars. Highly recommend them for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 2 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Superb binoculars, way beyond expectations!

06/27/2009
By ,
Surrey, England (UK)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these binoculars in the UK a few weeks ago from a different retailer (sadly, in the UK we do not have anything like the Wal-Mart Supercenter just a few minutes from our rented holiday villa in Venice, FL). I already own a pair of Pentax XCF 10x50s which I bought for basic astronomy and general use (bird watching etc.), but find my hands aren't quite steady enough to handle that level of magnification. Also, the outer-edge sharpness of the Pentax binos is kind of disappointing. These little Nikons are a revelation by comparison! The 8x magnification, 40mm objective lenses, multi-coated glass and BAK-4 prisms combine to give a steadier, clearer image without any loss in low-light performance. The clarity of image is outstanding, and the wide angle field-of-view is particularly useful for astronomy, as is the quite excellent edge sharpness which - to my amateur eyes, at least - is near perfect (much better than the Pentax's). They also came with an excellent neck strap which is wide and comfortable, and a basic soft carrying case. Nikon could improve this offering with a greater degree of weatherproofing and a better carrying case... but then, the binoculars would cost more, so it's unfair to expect these extra features at such a low price. As it stands, these are a bargain, and easily warrant a five-star rating!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Review 3 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Very Good Binocular

08/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is first time I am using a high quality binocular and I am very pleased with the result.
Distant objects really look clear and watching stars at night is also fun.
Drawback - I have to take off my glasses otherwise the view becomes very limited.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 4 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Good Value - Great Product

12/28/2010
By ,
Springfield, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, we got this in about two days shipping during the holidays, right to our door! Great service, Wal Mart! This is a very nice set of binoculars. Quality design, great travel case and nice covers for the lenses! Got it for my husband to bird watch from the living room out into the back of our property and it's great! Wanted to get the Sharper Image ones with the ability to take pics, but all the reviews I read about them were bad. Very pleased with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Mom loved them!

01/10/2011
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was at a loss about what to get my mom for Christmas. I happened to think about How much she loves to feed the birds and watch the wildlife in her big back yard in Tennessee. I researched some birding websites and found that these binoculars were recommended for backyard bird watching. She loved them! They were her favorite gift. My dad says she uses them every day. I've tried them and I'm pretty impressed, too. They are extremely clear and make things look as though you can touch them. Would definitely recommend these. Great price for the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Review 6 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Just what I wanted

04/23/2011
By ,
Peoria, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted binoculars for bird watching in my back yard and taking with me on walks, etc. I needed to replace a pair of ancient binoculars that had seen their day. I did a lot of research and decided on these binoculars after reading other favorable reviews. I am very happy with them. Very easy to use and focus. I would highly recommend them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

I can see clearly now

06/18/2008
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a bird watcher and have used more expensive binoculars in the past but none are as good as the Nikon binoculars. I have had problems focusing both eyes but not anymore, these binoculars are bringing me great joy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Alot better than I bargined for

06/02/2008
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These binoculars are by far a excellent choice for the price. The optics are clear and the field of view (40mm) makes any object "POP" and are easy to handle. Being that they are the first pair I've purchased, but looked at many, the Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Bicnoculars are outstanding. A big plus is that Nikon carries a 25 year warranty. I would highly recommend this product to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars
09/06/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best pair of binoculars, I have ever owned, considering what they cost. As good as ones that were in the $200.00 range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 10 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Very Satisified

08/04/2011
By ,
Lenexa, Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased primarily for bird watching and some landscape viewing. Have been using a Bushnell 10x50, but wanted more FOV and brightness in low-light conditions. The Nikon does well with those aspects and surprised me how crisp and clear the view is. Good weight and very comfortable grip. Only experienced fogged lenses when taking then out of air conditioning into hot & humid outdoors. They clear up after a bit when they get warmer. That seems normal with any product. Have no problem managing the lens covers. The eye lens ones just hang with the neck strap (wich is also well-made and comfortable to wear. The case is quality-made, too, and seems to protect it well enough. Have no negative observations. Bought it using the "Pick-Up-Today" on-line option which was about $16 cheaper than the in-store price (at the Bonner Springs, KS Walmart).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Hubby LOVES these!

08/14/2010
By ,
raleigh nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got these for my hubby affter reading nearly a couple hundred positive reviews. I had no idea what to buy for him. I was convinced these would be perfect for him and he LOVES them! For years, he had been using these awful, cheap, practically disposable binoculars that were free with a sports mag subscription and I couldn't stand the thought of him using them anymore. He loves to bird watch! The clarty is amazing and it brings the wildlife up close, and personal! He said he never knew hummingbird eyes were so big! lol
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Perfect for birdwatching

09/01/2009
By ,
Caldwell, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these binoculars after reading the information and suggestions on several websites. They are really great! They are strong enough to focus in on wildlife at a distance and still focus up close to get a good view of the animals that aren't as far off. We live out in the country and have lots of wildlife on our farm as well as our livestock. The reviewers were right about these being the perfect binoculars for birdwatching. I would recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Great for the Price

01/01/2009
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Binoculars are a great buy. They perform as well if not better then som of the more expensive ones. And expensive they can be, I was shocked to see some of the binoculars range in price from, $9 all the way up to over a $1000. Yes that high so i do believe I got a good buy for the price, a bargin that works and does as advertised!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Highly Recommend!!

12/08/2008
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these for my Husband who is extremely picky. We had done alot of research on binoculars to make sure he got the correct ones. These were perfect and much cheaper than we had found on other sites. The site to store option was very easy to use! I would recommend these to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Good Binoculars

09/22/2008
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are good bionculars for the money, but if you want a great pair of binoculars, go for either the Leupold or the Nikon in the $300-$400 range. There is a reason why the great binoculars just cost more money, they're better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 16 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Outstanding!

08/12/2011
By ,
Benicia, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are outstanding binoculars -- very bright, excellent resolution. The 8x magnification is great for hand-held use -- you get a good up-close image without much shaking. The build quality, fit, and finish are all excellent. My boy scout troop loved using these at scout camp. Even at 8x, it's amazing to see craters on the moon and thousands of stars in what appeared to be a sparsly populated patch of sky to the naked eye. And we had these binoculars at hand just as an eagle began making slow circles high above the waterfront! Magic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

BEST BINOCS EVER! ESPECIALLY FOR THE PRICE!

08/06/2011
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked these up at my local walmart for $twenty 5 bucks on clearance marked down 4 times from the original 179!!!! Totally worth it! Even at the original one seventy nine I would have to keep them. Feel really heavy duty, have nice grips, great focus adjustments and CLARITY OUT THE WAZOO! Really nice to get a set of FULLY MULTI COATED LENSES AND BAK-4 PRISM AT A SPECTACULAR PRICE. Even if you are paying full price people these are really really amazing at this price. You cant do better than Bak-4 prisms and fully multicoated optics in a pair of binocs. These work better than a pair I have been loaned that cost $800! And trust me my buddy is jealous that I have these and is going out to pay full price for 2 sets of these for himself! Thats how nice these are....oh and they are WATERPROOF TO BOOT! Bottom line people just get these, they are a super phenomal deal for what you are getting in a VERY NICE set of optics, you will be pleased! These also perform super good in low light (dawn and dusk) which is one of the many reasons my buddy and I have fell in love with these binocs. I love them and so will you if you know anything about optics and have been shopping around. Best deal anywhere. I CAN WAIT FOR HUNTING SEASON TO USE MY NEW 8X40 NIKON ACTIONS! I will finally be able to see deer in low light when I need to with my own binos that I could actually afford! Great price, Thanks WalMart and Thank you Nikon for making such a great product at a super price! GO BUY EM!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

You get what you pay for

01/10/2012
By ,
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought these binoculars based on everyone else's good reviews. These are heavy, awkward, and do not get clear- no matter how you focus them. The view is very small- meaning if you are trying to see something- you just get a tiny bit of it. I would return them, but I spent WAY too much on shipping for Christmas to make it worth it. Garage sale quality. Maybe I can unload them on ebay.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 19 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Just what I wanted!

01/02/2011
By ,
Wabash, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These binoculars were great! They are excellent quality for the price. Great value! I love how they fit in your hand and the feel of the rubberized cover on the grips. They are very clear in focus & brightness. They are just the correct power for bird watching. Very proud to own them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Nikon 8 x 40mm Action Binoculars

Great Product for the Price

01/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend these binoculars. They are comfortable, have excellent clarity and are priced very reasonably. I did a lot of research on binoculars, and was unsure if this pair would live up to the reviews I found - but they did! My expectations were exceeded.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next