Customer Reviews for Accu-Chek Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Accu-Chek Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

The ACCU-CHEK Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring Care Kit is easy to use and convenient. Now you can help make every test strip count by getting it right the first time. This blood glucose monitoring kit offers lets you use your forearm, palm, fingertips and more for your results. It is highly accurate and works quickly to give you a reading in just five seconds. The ACCU-CHEK Aviva kit has an ergonomic design that is comfortable in the hand. It comes with six preloaded lancets that are less painful than other varieties on the market.
Average Customer Rating:
4.021 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation78%35 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Blood Sugar Meter

01/02/2008
By ,
Nevada, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this meter since 4/2007. I have nerve damage so it hurts to stick myself in my fingers. This lancet device solves this problem so I can test every day. The meter is very easy to use and is much easier than the meter it replaced. Factory support is great online and by phone as I have used this brand since 1995. You can buy software from the company to track your progress which is customizable to you which makes it easier than writting your results down in a dairy, print it out, and take it to your doctor. The one page report is very helpful to my doctor in setting my insulin amounts. I highly recommend this meter and company.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Supplies are WAY overpriced!

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this online at walmart.com (site to store) and when I went into store to pick it up and to buy test strips for it, I found out that a small bottle of test strips (at Walmart) are $78!!! The Walmart pharmacist told me that I shouldn't have purchased the Accu-Chek brand because their supplies are very, very expensive. He directed me toward the Reli-On brand (on the Walmart shelves), which was priced the same as the Accu-Chek meter... HOWEVER, the test strips for the Reli-On meter were under $9 as opposed to more then $78 for the SAME NUMBER OF STRIPS!
Unfortunately, a blood glucose meter is non-returnable (FDA rules)... so my purchase of this product was a complete waste. I've already thrown it away.
DO NOT BUY THE ACCU-CHEK brand... buy the Reli-On brand instead!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Easy to use

03/30/2011
By ,
Malvern, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The aviva is so easy to use and the multiclix lancit is not painful at all. Takes very little blood to read and is very clear. I would reccommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System
09/26/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought Meter (mg/ul) and got meter that displays mmol/dl. Spent 10 minutes talking to automated robot lady at customer care (accu-chek), when I finally got to a real person I was told to mail meter back and wait for a new one. I asked what I should do to test my sugar in the meantime and she suggested I could go to a free clinic or fire station and they might test it for me....6 times a day? Going to Walmart and getting a Bayer contour or one touch and they can have my $80/mth order for test strips...hehe I sound bitter don't I ?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Product expiring soon

08/21/2009
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The test strip costs about the half as retail price, which seems to be a good deal. However, buyers should be aware that the products have very close expiration date. I got 2 boxes in early August, one has 10/2009 and the other has 09/2009 EXP date. Basically, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

very helpful

03/05/2009
By ,
Kingsport TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was just recently diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and the accu-chek aviva testing meter is by far the best meter and the lancet device is very easy to load...i think everyone should get one!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Not Exactly What I Ordered

01/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price was very good when I ordered this kit. It was ordered not for the monitor, but instead for the lancing tool that was shown on the package when the order was placed. My wife had the FastClix lancing tool, but broke it. She loved this tool. The cost for the kit was actually less than the cost of a new replacement lancing tool online. However, when we received the kit, it had another lancing tool in it, which was not the one shown on the box. In fact, the box of the kit that we received was different than the one in the Walmart advertisement, although the name of the monitor was the same. We kept the monitor and lancing device as backups. It was not worth the effort to get a refund of the $9.95 cost for the kit.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Worts meter ever, and I have used several

02/20/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried several glucose monitors through the years. For the past couple of years, I have used Freestyle Lite and liked it. Small, portable, small sample size, no coding, accurate. Then my insurance company (Blue Cross) decides to cut cost and requires that I switch. Had the option of two and Aviva had the smaller sample size. After a couple of months, I deeply hate it and would like to force the managers that made the decision to force this product on people to use it for a few weeks.
The Aviva has several issues:
First, it is huge. it is twice the volume than many other meters.
Second you have to plug a dongle on the side to match the code. Every time it powers up, you must check the number on the test strip bottle. freestyle meter had no coding, it was automatic and embedded in the test strip.
Third, it's lancing system cannot even puncture enough for the huge blood sample is needed. Not counting how awkward it is to use and it huge size.
Fourth, if you do not provide enough blood, the test strip is wasted. On the first week, I wasted three times the number of test strips that I needed to use. The Freestyle meter allowed me a few seconds extra to add more blood. However the little sample size rarely needed me to do so
Fifth, the meter might make a very inacurate reading even if it did not have enough blood. If too little blood is absorbed by the test strip, an error will show up. But if it got close to 80% it will make a reading with an extremely high number
Sixth, no light. This was a nice feature of the Freestyle.
Seventh, due to the large sample size, I end with several holes in my arms and hands trying to lance several times to get enough blood.
In summary, the insurance company now has to pay for more test strips due to the high number of errors. Now I hate testing and tend to skip much more often due to the extra time and hassles to get a reading. Particularly when I am not certain of its accuracy.
Avoid this meter. You are better of with Freestyle, if your insurance company is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

I highly recommend

04/19/2016
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the monitor works very well, Walmart does not have the test strips or lancets for it
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Great monitor HIGH PRICED STRIPS

02/21/2008
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just recently purchased this machine. The lancet is easier to use than my last one and it does take less blood and less time. I love that it stores a large number of readings and it also does an average of 7-14-30 days this is invaluable for me. The only problem is that the testing strips are sooo expensive. I have to test 5-6 times a day and $44.00 out of pocket for 50 is hard on my budget.
I purchased this meter since the wal-mart store were out of my other (cheaper) meters strips and i was in an emergency situation and needed strips NOW. Other than that i like the sleek design and the other features that i have mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

cheap product accessories not

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product itself was cheap but the glucose strips that are compatible with this product is very expensive, which makes the product not worth purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

excellent meter

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cal Roche up first regeister it first they will help you out. there is more to do than install the software this works only windows 7 and above not xp
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Great meter!

08/08/2011
By ,
Maplewood, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were given 2 of these in the Hospital when our 5 year old was diagnosed with Type I diabetes in July of 2011. Very easy to use. She puts in the blood strip. The lancing device is also nice. The needles are in a drum so you don't risk sticking yourself loading it. She does not complain getting her blood checked. Overall a very nice meter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Read the 2nd description

10/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were excited to see the "Multiclix" lancing device included with this tester. 1st description says its included so we bought several for the great low price. Read all the way down!!! It then describes the softclix that is included...Bummer if I new they had several descriptions of it and one was wrong we would of never bought these for our 8yr old son!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

A Great Produc - I'd give it a 10 out of 10

06/19/2011
By ,
Arnold, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Accu-Chek provides a very good product. It was only that after 8 years I decided to get a new one and compare the results. Both the now one and old one were within a couple of points of one another. There traveling kit is very handy and has places for their meter, test strips and lancets.
I would also say that their technical and computer support is very pleasant and professional. Best I've encounter in the world of computer programs supporting hardware.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

A Great Device

04/15/2009
By ,
Bristol, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to use and understand. The price was great and did not have to worry with rebates. I have used this type of meter for several years and never had as much ease in purchasing a replacement as I did this one. On-line shopping is so easy and convenient. Thanks, Wal-Mart
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System
11/22/2017
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s easy to use and very accurate. Just what I wanted in a glucose meter.
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Easy to use

12/17/2011
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does not rely on much blood at all which reduces the risk of painful re-sticking. The lancing device that comes with this is one of the best I have used. I would not say it's painless, but definitely hurts much less than other lancets!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Great Product, Great cust.svc., $15.00 test strips

10/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give the aviva 5 stars except they seem to have a problem with the power switch sticking. I'm on my third unit in just 45 days...the goods news is their customer support is fantastic and have replaced the first two..will report back later to see if they are improved....the great thing about this meter is the lancet...almost painless, and the 6 needle cartridge is so easy to use. this was my first meter so am thankful I didn't have to go thru the other style lancets with single needles. Another great feature is you don't pay anymore than 15.00 for test strips. Roche pays up to 50.00 of your costs....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Accu-Chek Aviva Diabetes Blood Glucose Monitoring System

Glucose monitor

05/17/2016
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next