Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

With more entertainment to enjoy and more exciting ways to watch, the VIZIO M-Series 55" Class LED Smart TV with Theater 3D is the perfect upgrade everyone will love. Packed with the latest must-have features VIZIO Internet Apps (V.I.A.), award-winning, flicker-free Theater 3D and stunning picture quality of Razor thin LED, 1080p Full HD, and 120Hz effective refresh rate this HDTV turns any room into your getaway to an exhilarating world of movies, sports and entertainment on demand. Enjoying favorites like Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Hulu Plus, Skype and more is easier than ever with built-in WiFi and the included smart remote with keyboard. The VIZIO M-Series 55" Class LED Smart TV with Theater 3D gives you more of what you love about TV with all of the brilliant picture quality and world-class service you'd expect from America's #1 LCD HDTV company.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%31 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Can't beat the Value. VIZIO is High Quality.

12/20/2012
By ,
Fort washington, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am typing a long review of this tv cuz i LOVE it. I am pretty critical person, so it may sound like there are a lot of negative things below, but i just want to highlight the things that didnt meet my expectations. If it is not mentioned, that means it met my needs.
Notes: Netflix is APP based and not Web-based. To enable it, you must log into netflix online and submit access code given to you when setting the app up on the tv. Mine worked perfectly. Connection to FIOS wireless router was easy.
Pros -
-Awesome 3d Picture and regular 2d
- Connecting multiple devices is easy. During setup, you select device type and brand and it tries several codes --> dont have to look up codes in a manual. I set up pioneer audio receiver, bluray player, xbox and wii. I had to improvise on the wii and xbox as there was no category for game consoles, and somehow using the pre-setup xbox brand device messed up the remote controls for using the tv.
- Excellent Value. Lots of perks. You cant find a SMART 3D TV with WIFI this size for less than 1500 for any other brands
- Black OPS 2 exceeded my expectations for 3D on this tv.
- Super THIN. This tv is 3 inches bigger (diagonally) than my last tv (52" lcd) yet the box was 1/3 the size (mostly in width)
- Lots of HDMI inputs. Be wary of other tvs that only have 2 HDMI ins. Unless you're still using VCRs, you will most likely need at least 3 HDMIs (Bluray,Cablebox,xbox, etc).
Cons
- Does not convert 2d to 3d.
- VIA apps/menu a little slow. Not unbearable, just a pause between remote click to action on tv.
- Using mutliple devices is a little tricky to learn and there is nothing in the manual on how to control them. Once you turn on the tv and select input, the remote is setup to control the external device (ie bluray player), so you can use the alternate power button to turn on your device. However, i still havent found a way to turn on the audio receiver with the remote, even though all volume commands work perfectly with my receiver.
- Highly reflective. Even in dark room, i can almost use it as a mirror. Bright backgrounds also reflected with the tv on and part of tv was dark. Had to install curtains.
- QWERTY remote has small buttons, and you have to hold a shift key to use the numbers, it is almost impossible to type "1" since the shift and 1 key are too close together to get two fingers in there. Plus the slide-out keyboard feels like it will break after a month or two.
Recommendations:
- Do NOT buy directly from VIZIO. They use cheap/unprofessional shipping services and do NOT reimburse for shipping charges on returns. I am out 100 for shipping plus 100 for re-stocking fee after i ordered a tv from them before i got this one from Walmart. Can't beat Walmart return policy, plus i got free shipping to my house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Cannot beat Walmart

12/09/2012
By ,
Pasco, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has been great so far. The 3D really works well and the picture is excellent. It is light and rich in features. I really want to comment on Walmart. The shipping was fast and flawless. They used FEDEX for my package and they delivered a day early. I originally bought this from Amazon.com. I like Amazon, but the entire buying experience for large items was a nightmare. I will forever buy my large packages from Walmart from now on.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 3 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV
01/02/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice LCD, beautiful picture, surround sound great, price even greater.
My only qualms about the TV is the jack pack. No s-video and 1 set of RCA jacks.
That limits you for some of your older components which you may have to run thru your TV.
There are ways around that, as I hooked up my Kenwood reciever and ran all other components thru it, which has a generous jack pack, alowing me to only require 1 yellow VGA video lead. Of course I have to run my reciever if I want to use any component's now. With my prior TV I didn't use the receiver. No big deal. Just thought I'd mention that in my reveiw for those of you having several components. All-in-all, I am very pleased with my purchase. I am seeing TV like I have never seen before. Beautiful picture. Try it, you'll like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV
12/30/2012
By ,
Midland MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality is good overall but does seem a bit "fuzzy" for some of the objects in the background and sometimes the sound quality on the low notes seems like the speakers are "blown". The remote has disconnected from the bluetooth and have had to reconnect it several times in the two weeks that we have had this TV. We are planning to purchase an external 3Dsound system to try and improve the quality more, have not watched any 3D movies yet, so cannot comment on that part. The customer service support from Vizio has been wonderful so far, have answered all questions and really know their products, they have been very helpful and polite.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/09/2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from our customers! We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your new TV even though you are experiencing some minor issues. Please use the following link for answers for your technical questions: http://vizio.custhelp.com/. If the issues persist, please contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, email: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 1-877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Quick ship, all parts there, works out of the box

12/10/2012
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As others have said, the so-called "smart TVs" are not particularly smart. The apps don't deliver the hype. But the set itself is thin but strongly made, easy to use, and has great picture and sound quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Awesome Value!!

12/05/2012
By ,
Killeen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the TV today. I recently had a Samsung and white spots started appearing on the screen. I decided to try Vizio being its from Sony and boy and I'm impressed. It's a better picture than my Samsung and the 3D feels like I'm in the theater. My son is loving it. It was a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/06/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Excellent TV

12/27/2012
By ,
Copperas Cove, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV when Walmart had it priced at $898 and free shipping. It arrived quickly via FedEx Ground. Was easy to set up and put on the stand, however because it's so large two people will be needed to pick it up and put on a table or mount.
The picture quality is amazing. Watched a basketball game in 3D and it was like being courtside.
I bought it just for the TV - I really don't care about the WiFi or SMART TV part, but the remote has a built in keyboard so may come into the 21st century and even try that.
Can't go wrong with Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

love it

12/08/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to set up. It shipped here fairly fast. It was easy to buy with paypal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 9 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Vizio M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED

12/20/2012
By ,
Union City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-This HDTV is amazing!
-Great Picture Quality.!
-Watching 3D is like wow...wow...wow!
-Very thin and it's all black...so, it looks like a piece of art work on my wall!
-A Great VIZIO 55" LED HDTV!
-Highly Recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

It meets my wildest expectations

01/20/2013
By ,
TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is totally clear, hooks up easy out the box. It has more eoungh HDMI's
One of the best if not the best TV's I have ever owned. Its big but not too big.
I will tell you this I wish it was in wide mode as a normal picture, but the TV
is about 20% clearer in the standard mode. The wide mode is more for football
or 3-D movie when you don't have to change channels. Over all its a great TV.
I did get a sound bar and it smokes. By the way it also shipped really super
fast. Make sure you read the step by step book its helpful. If you looking a
TV that shows the games as if you are there Or a 3 D movies that comes out
of the frame. This is the TV for you. Happy TV hunting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV
01/05/2013
By ,
Camp Hill,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the second Vizio TV that I have owned and they provide a great product, when I am in the market for another TV it will be a Vizio
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Good for the money

01/19/2013
By ,
Palm Bay, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV to replace a refurbished 65" in our bedroom. First thing I would say is...what ever size TV you have replace it with the same size or larger. (Don't go smaller) With that said, I do like this TV. The sound quality is not very good at higher volume levels but it sounds good at lower levels. If your going to use this TV in a living room then I highly recommend purchasing a sound bar with this TV. The picture quality is great. Better than some higher priced units. The 3D is wonderful. My only complaint with this unit is the black level could be a bit better. It's not bad but it could be a little better. I have the 65" version of this TV in the living room and the black levels are impressive, but the 55" not so much. It still has a great picture though in both HD and 3D. Regular TV is good too. The remote is great as are the features and adjustments this tv has. I would recommend this TV to a friend. For the price it can't be beat. Also the screen is not as glossy as my 65". Doesn't really matter to us but some people may find this info helpful. I've had great luck with Vizio when bought brand new. Stay away from Vizio refurbished units or at least get the extra warranty with them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/31/2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from our customers! We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your new TV even though you are experiencing some minor issues. Please use the following link for answers for your technical questions: http://vizio.custhelp.com/. If the issues persist, please contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, email: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 1-877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Probably a great 3D TV if it didn't break...

01/05/2013
By ,
Edmond, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Within an hour of receiving the first Vizio M3D550KDE 55" it broke. Walmart immediately sent UPS to pickup the broken TV and sent us a new one. Several days later the 2nd Vizio M3D550KDE 55" arrived it also broke with in a short period of time. I believe it's a design flow, but haven't decided whether to try a third time or just get my money back. It may just be because Walmart get's such a good deal from Vizio that they get the culls...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/09/2013
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

bad product

12/19/2012
By ,
Temple, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product on 12.17.12 and I tried streaming Netflix on it but it would not work. I called Vizio helpline and I was told this and other Vizio products have defective software and that they are trying to fix it! I was shocked by this response, who knows what else is wrong with this product that they wouldn't let you know before you buy?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/09/2013
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV
01/02/2013
By ,
podunk, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice tv, killer picture
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Wow!

12/31/2012
By ,
Huxley, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this tv so far! The 3D is amazing... can't watch it very long but it is totally awesome. I love that it came with 4 pairs of glasses. Great picture.. not as great as our older Samsung but very nice.. we love this TV and are very glad we made this purchase. Also, the sound is good but not as good as the Samsung. We are planning on buying a sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Looks fantastic in my room.

01/23/2013
By ,
Derry nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tv has an easy set up and I really like it. The only reason I have it a 4 star in value was because the tv was 898.00 and when I went to order it the price changed to 998.00. But other than that the 3d is awesome and the wifi apps are cool to have...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV
12/31/2012
By ,
Allen county
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great picture, 3-D glasses cost a cost a lot. Remote was great until it stopped working in 2 months 1 year later & 5 remotes later the last one stopped working they told me it was 6 days out of warranty, warnning buy a 6 pack or learn to push button. They replaced the TV one time in there also but remotes still died.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/09/2013
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your TV. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

Great TV for the price

01/07/2013
By ,
Wallace, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent TV for an excellent price!! The picture and sound is great. Can't wait to try out all the features this TV offers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for VIZIO M3D550KDE 55" 1080p 120Hz LED (1.5" slim) 3D SMART HDTV

TV is Great, 3D Excellent, Remote had issues

01/27/2013
By ,
Gainesville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had trouble with the remote control, it was DOA, but they sent a new one after a couple minutes in chat session.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next