Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Passengers enjoy rear-seat viewing of DVDs wherever you drive with this RCA 7" Dual-Screen Mobile DVD System. The dual-screen system comprises of one DVD player with built-in 7" LCD screen, and an additional 7" LCD monitor that can be connected to the DVD player's AV output (AV cable NOT included). Equipped with a car power adapter (12V-DC with dual outputs) and headrest mounting straps for use in any vehicle. The 7" LCD monitor may also be used with video game systems, camcorders and other AV products. Also included is a remote control (with battery).
Average Customer Rating:
2.212 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation27%9 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Do not buy!

12/03/2012
By ,
St louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this DVD player in May (6 months ago) for a long car trip and played about 4 movies, worked ok then. We have just used it for the second time taking another car trip this week and played 2 movies. The second screen began displaying lines during the first movie and not working properly, and then suddenly during the second movie the DVD stopped and main DVD player power just stopped working (the charger cord is working so it is something internal within the unit). Do not waste your money, or time on this DVD player! Any suggestions on a more durable player?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 2 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Less then 4 mos use/broken

07/10/2012
By ,
Florence AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I paid good money for these thinking the quality would be better. Boy was I wrong! I purchased app 6 mos ago. I took them out of the car for an extended work trip so it wasn't even used for 2 months or more out of the 6. It was used only when my grandchildren were in the car which was seldom use. Now the thing will not load any DVDs it just says it's loading and makes squeaking sounds, then says there is no disc. I am so totally dissatisfied with this barely used product that I wasted over 100 bucks on. Now I have to purchase a new one because I misplaced the receipt. But I won't be getting this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Review 3 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Lasted only 4 months....

07/06/2012
By ,
Nevada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I chose this brand because it tends to be higher quality but that was not the case with this set. The door warped and started rubbing the DVD until it would stop and say NO DISC. It had nice picture quality when it worked but it had low sound quality. The only good thing I have to say.....I bought Walmart's replacement plan for $7. When it broke, I called Walmart, 10 seconds later I had a return label in my email. 24 hours after I dropped the broken unit off at UPS I had a full refund. Yea for the replacement plan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 4 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player
10/15/2012
By ,
Valatie, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so surprised by the reviews of this RCA dual dvd player. I have had mine for almost 3 years and it works great. I bought it when my granddaughter was about 2 and her Mom was pregnant so I knew I would need the two screens. I have not had one problem. It's a blessing on long trips in the car. I don't let the girls play with it. I put the dvds in and I use the remote to control it. The youngest one started kicking the screen on her side so I removed it for a while. Then the older one told me she thought her sister had learned not to kick it so I put it back in. So far so good. I am buying them another one for their father's car for Christmas.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Will be returning

06/25/2012
By ,
Dalton GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this set just yesterday because my 7" Phillips set quit on me after barely a year of use. It seems to work okay but the DVD starts back over AT THE BEGINNING PREVIEWS every time the car is turned off. I'm sure this would be okay for a long trip but I do more driving around town and HATE having to skip thru previews every time I turn the car back on. After reading reviews on other websites I see that this product doesn't look to be much better than the Phillips set I'm having to replace. I'll be returning this ASAP while I still can...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/06/2012
If you press stop on the remote control and then unplug it from the power source and then shut the car off it won't go back to the beginning. When you turn the car on just plug it back in and it will be at the same spot.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

So far so good!

09/27/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These were so easy to install in my car, and they work very well for the price. The only drawback is that the DVD starts over from the beginning whenever the car is turned off. With the remote, my older children can get to the scene selection from the menu and find the spot where they left off, but it is kind of a pain. Really, we only use it long trips so it's not like it starts and stops all day long. Also, another reviewer mentioned that it was hard to hear. I have headphones for my kids with a splitter so we can have 3 pairs hooked up, and I can hear the DVD through their headphones when they are wearing them, so I know it is plenty loud. However, I haven't tried it without the headphones to see what the sound is like. I think I am going to invest in some noise-cancelling headphones because I like to listen to my music or audio books, which they can hear with the cheapy headphones on. That should fix the background noise problem.
I did buy Walmart's $9, 2 year replacement plan which does cover accidental damage as well as defects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Didn't serve it's purpose

07/09/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for a long trip since we no longer have a built in DVD player. They could hardly hear it and it didn't keep our 4 year olds twins occupied, which made for a very long 10 hours. I wish I had took the time to read the reviews before buying it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 8 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player
09/17/2012
By ,
Atlanta
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I received this for a birthday gift and after barely a year it no longer loads the CD's as the previous reviewer indicated. It just reads loading and the screen goes blank. Very frustrating because it only had been used on 3 trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 9 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Looks Great but...

12/12/2012
By ,
Memphis, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this set for a 2 year old to keep him occupied on long trips. Well...It looks great, the sound is great, and unlike other reviews ours does start back where it stopped when you turn the car back on. But... only when it decides to work!!! We bought our first set in May for a 14 hour trip. It worked perfectly for the week long trip. A few days later...NOTHING, would not turn on, no power at all, so I took it back & exchanged for another one, because I thought maybe it was just this set. UGH The new one does the same thing, it works when it feels like it! So irritating, waited too long to return the second one so I'm stuck with an overpriced piece. It is a great set if it would work consistently. My advice DO NOT BUY THIS!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 10 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player
08/08/2012
By ,
Nrwburgh,In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchase the RCA DVD player for our kids vacation so they could have something to watch during a 12hr ride, It played only 3 movies before it quit, needless to say it was a long trip for them. The sound level was also low.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 11 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

07/12/2012
By ,
Jackson, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purchased this DVD a few months ago. It was used less than 10 hours total, It has stopped working. The warranty will cover repair if I want to pay to ship it back to manufacture. I WILL NOT BUY AN RCA DVD PLAYER EVER AGAIN.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 12 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Worked for a couple years of occasional use then..

07/01/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this product for a couple years 2-3 times a year. It worked well for a year and a half then we began having problems. The movies would not load and upon further inspection all the disks were scratched. I keep my movies in the car and ONLY used them with this DVD, they all have circular scratches from the DVD. Finally the player failed in the middle of a long road trip with 4 year old twins, it was terrible!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 13 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Says "no disc" after 8 months

09/27/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My review is similar to a previous review. After about 8 mos of use, it takes a while to load the disc, then says "no disc". Ours had pretty heavy use as it was bought for the kids, but really? Less than a year? Really frustrated with this product. Luckily, it was a gift from my dad and he bought the protection plan. SO WORTH THE $9!!! Really, I wouldn't buy another without it! They are completely replacing it! Thanks to Walmart, NO THANKS TO RCA!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Worst prodect ever

07/14/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was a gift for my one year old after a couple uses wouldn't load any discs I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone waste of money
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 15 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

I did not even get 6 months out of this.

07/03/2012
By ,
Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This dvd player was bought for my daughter when she was 6 months old for a long road trip. Once she was older (10 & 11 months) we started using it in the car daily. She is now 11 months and it one day started skipping and now it will not read ANY DVD. I am so disappointed. I now have to start shopping for a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Lasted loner than expected...

02/15/2013
By ,
Manhattan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband bought this for our son last year in Feb for our road trip home. It worked perfectly fine playing DVD+. I think after playing them so long it finally gave out on us this Jan. Plus I doubt my son kicking it helped at all. Investing in another player today.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Not as bad as people say.

04/16/2013
By ,
buffalo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We currently purchased this model. Because the one we wanted was not available at the time. Was skeptic because of reading the reviews. we used it for a road trip to myrtle beach with the kids. Dvd system worked great. the sound was very clear. The speaker is on the back of the system. but with a newer car and the angled head rests in it. there was no problem. assembles in mins. and was enjoyed for the whole trip. the only problem with the dvd system is if you have a dvd with scratches it will take time to read. with unscratched dvds no problems. I did buy the extended warrant just in case of problems and that is good for 2 yrs past manufactors warrenty and it was only $8. would recommend to anyone interested. As I said on Heading Not as Bad as people say
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

Poor Quality

11/29/2012
By ,
Oakland, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought my RCA 2 screen dvd player for our Thankgiving road tip. The first problem I had was that the power cord that plugs into the car was not long enough. I drive a Toyota Tacoma . The cord was stretched tight and still barely made it to the player! Second and most important complaint I have is that the second screens volume was awful! It had to be turned all the way up just to hear a whisper out of it! And if you heard even that small whisper 1/2 the time you were lucky! most of the time it just crackled, sounded like the speaker was blown, but as far as I could tell I didn't purchase a returned item. I had a Panasonic dual player that lasted about 3 or 4 years. Wish I would have bought another one of them! I would not recommend RCA.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

keeps the kids entertained

01/27/2013
By ,
southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't understand why this product has such horrible reviews. I had the first set for 6 months but my son kicked it during a tantrum in the car so I got a new set which I've had 7 months now. Never had any issues... in fact the first set still worked but the movies would skip so it wasn't COMPLETELY broken from a two year old throwing a fit. Now that he's a bit older he cries because I'm done driving and the dvd player is off. My 7 yr old is completely quiet while a movie is playing in the car as well and we've taken 12 hour trips so it's definitely a GREAT product. My best friends daughter will be receiving this for her birthday next month!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for RCA 7" Dual DVD Player

ONLY WORKED ONE TIME

04/18/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MY ISSUE WITH THIS WAS AFTER ONLY USING THE DVD PLAYERS ONE TIME THEY STOPPED WORKING. I THINK IT'S THE POWER CORD THAT GAVE OUT SO I'LL BE PURCHASING A NEW CORD TO FIND OUT. HOWEVER, AFTER SPENDING OVER $80 THERE IS NO REASON THE CORD SHOULD HAVE GONE OUT AND I'VE ONLY USED THEM ONE TIME FOR MY DAUGHTERS TO WATCH A MOVIE WHILE IN THE CAR. I WOULDN'T HAVE PURCHASED THIS ITEM IF I WOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS. I LOST MY RECEIPT AND NO LONGER HAVE THE BOX FOR THE ITEM SO IF THE NEW CORD DOESN'T FIX MY PROBLEM THEN I JUST BASICALLY FLUSHED $80 DOWN THE TOILET. I HOPE OTHERS WILL READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE BUYING THIS ITEM
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next