Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vizio Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Replace up to eight remotes with the Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote. This full backlit remote control features a slim, contemporary design for the modern home. It's compatible with over 700 brands and 3500 devices and uses a clever code-search mode to find your device without any manual setup. You can use it to control your TV, satellite, cable, DVR, audio receiver, DVD player and other devices. The universal remote control features four favorite-buttons that you can program with your personal settings.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation79%22 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Works great! Reasonable price.

12/23/2012
By ,
near Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I expected. Being able to program the color buttons makes it possible to use this remote for all the functions of the original remote on my Philips LCD TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Not all it claims to be

07/22/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After my daughter washed the blanket off the couch with the TV remote wraped up inside it, I needed a remote for the Samsung LED 3D 55 TV. The remote has a great concept but lacks follow through. The learning or teaching is only gonna happen if you have the original remote and IT WORKS! I can't teach this remote to do things like connect to the internet because the remote that came with the tv doesn't work. I did teach it to do other things on the Cable box as i have the remote for the cable box.
The words on the buttons of this remote have worn off and i've only been using it about three weeks. Also, the back light only lights up for about 3 seconds. Not long enough to hunt the button you are looking for, if you can still see the word that haven't rubbed off.
If you're wanting a remote to replace a lost or broken high tech remote, don't buy this one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Great univeral remote.

07/01/2012
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this univeral remote because the remote for my Vizio soundbar was absolute junk. I was somewhat skeptical about buying another Vizio remote since the remote for the soundbar was so bad. Well, I was pleasantly surprised. Not only could I work the soundbar from more than ten feet away as compared to the soundbar remote where I had to be about three feet away. I was able to easily replace five remotes (which is all that I was using) with this one remote. I would definitely recommend this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 07/05/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your TV! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Runs ALL of my home entertainment devices!

10/05/2012
By ,
Everett, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I bought this, I needed a remote that would operate my DVD-R unit, my TV, my Blu-ray player and an ATSC tuner box to use with my DVD-R that only has an analog tuner. This Vizio remote runs them all, including the setup and menu functions! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 10/11/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your Vizio experience! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote
12/10/2012
By ,
augusta
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this remote work well with all of the electronis items (ie) tv dvd but it dont work well with the cable box it want tranfer that signal to the tv when you turn on the cable box other than that its a great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/15/2012
I apologize you are experiencing an issue with your Vizio accessory. Please contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Easy to program and use.

01/01/2013
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this remote specifically to replace the remote that came with my Vizio TV. I have a really old JVC VCR, and I was pleased to find that I was able to program this remote to run that also. The only thing that I'm not able to do is to program the timer feature of the VCR. But that's more the fault of the JVC design for programming. The lost remote for the VCR had really specific programming buttons, that no universal remote could be expected to replace.
There are three methods available for programming this remote to operate up to eight differently labeled components: manual entry of codes, auto search, and learning from your current remote. The methods are each explained in easy-to-follow steps. Manual entry is the best method, because you can see for yourself which code provides the best functionality.
About the only drawbacks, for me, were the price and the fact that the remote is a pretty hefty size. The size is necessary to accomodate the many different buttons. Those are necessary to provide the most compatibility with the greatest variability of devices. If you have a device that you need a replacement remote for, this universal remote will probably do the best job of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

GREAT COUCH TOOL!

09/03/2012
By ,
BUNNELL, FLA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS REMOTE!
ITS EASY TO SET UP, AND THE LIGHT UP FEATURE IS GREAT. THE ONLY THING I WOULD HAVE LIKED IS LARGER KEYS WITH BIGGER LETTERING.
FOR THE PRICE? THIS IS A NO BRAINER!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 09/07/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your Vizio experience! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Would not do any advanced functions

01/02/2013
By ,
Randleman NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this remote to handle three components. I had to get the Vizio 8 since it was the only one that would handle the Vizio VSB 200 sound bar I have. I spent two hours Christmas day trying to get the remote to do more than turn on and off my Magnovox DVR, Sceptre 40 TV and Vizio sound Bar. The Sound bar worked perfectly, On Off and Volume. The Magnovox DVR could be turned on and off and volume controll worked but that was it. No recording functions or even playback. Sceptre TV could be turned on and off, Volume worked and stations changed. I could never get the device selector to work or the aspect to change.
The learning capability where you point the original remote at the Vizio 8 and it will learn the buttons function never worked for me at all.
I usually do well with setting up electronic devices but this one I could not get to perform and it went back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 01/09/2013
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote
12/21/2012
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work with Sylvania HD TV.s. clearly stated on package that works with Sylvania. Called Sylvania and they stated Universal Remotes don't work on their TV's. they don't release the codes. So Universal are useless and packaging clearly states works with all Sylvania.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 10 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Don't waste your time

08/16/2012
By ,
MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Remote was purchased to replace the factory remote controlling the Vizio TV and Sound bar. It doesn't. Contacted Vizio: remote is not produced by Vizio. Just badged a Vizio. They do not guarantee this remote will mate to both devices simultaneously. It doesn't. Remote returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 08/17/2012
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Backlit Must for Owner of a Vizio 3D LCD TV

02/08/2013
By ,
Bozeman, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beats the you-know-what out of me why TV manufacturers don't include feature rich BACKLIT remotes with the TVs we pay a ton of money for. Instead you get some cheapo after thought of a device.
Fortunately, I found the Vizio XRU300 backlit 8 device remote. It is fully backlit- every button, and the type on each button lights up too. This remote has been perfect for watching movies at night on my Vizio E3D470VX 3D 47" smart HDTV VIZIO E3D470VX 47-Inch Class Theater 3D LCD HDTV with Internet Apps; because I always watch with the living room in theater like darkness. The remote has the black and silver VIA button for accessing apps like the remote that came with my TV. In addition, the button layout of the XRU300 is nearly identical too. I am also using the XRU300 to control several other devices: a Sony BDP-S590 3D Blu-ray player; a Magnavox 2D Blu-ray player; 2 JVC 5060 5.1 channel digital Receivers; and a Phillips upscaling DVD HT in a box.
The XRU300 has been functioning great, and I have not had to change the NiMH rechargeable batteries I put in it 2 months ago. I got mine at my local Walmart for $20, so it was a bargain for me- I would still consider it a good buy at nearly twice that price. Actually, I would have been willing to pay $100 for it if it had come with a QWERTY keyboard too- hint, hint Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

works great...button layout not the best

01/22/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This remote does what it's supposed to--consolidates 5 of my remotes into one and has the ability to "learn" functions that aren't available through the standard codes. The fully illuminated keypad was a must for me for watching movies in the dark. Hard to find a remote at this price with this feature, so was happy to locate this one. The "learn" function is very easy to setup, which is nice because the stock codes didn't work on my cheap Insignia blue-ray player or for a lot of the features on my Yamaha receiver. With the "learn" feature I was able to get everything to work exactly like all the OEM remotes and it was relatively painless.
My only complaint with the remote is the button layout. The play, FF, rewind, stop, pause, etc. buttons are all the same size and shape, plus they're mixed in with 20 other buttons that are all the same shape, size, etc. So...hard to find buttons by "feel." Instead you have to search for each button and read the tiny print that says what each one does. A small complaint, but I've had other remotes that were much more intelligent in the layout. Still...for $20 this is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

The Vizio remote does not support Vizio Soundbar

02/15/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Vizio Universal Remote Controller to support various Home Entertainment components, but specifically to support a new Vizio sound bar, model SB4021M-A1. The remote would not recognize the sound bar, even after letting an automatic scan run for 45 minutes before I terminated it. I called Vizio support, they gave me a code to try, but it did not work. Support checked with supervisors, and I was told that it was not supported, not now, not in the future. So, I returned the Vizio remote to Walmart and received my total refund. Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 03/07/2013
I apologize for any inconvenience this issue may have caused. If you have any questions please, contact us so we can assist you. Technical support is available through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or phones: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Terrific product.

12/21/2012
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a replacement remote, this one is the only way to go. Other remotes offer a list of codes which, half the time, don't work. The Visio, on the other hand, learns the codes off of your existing remote. So for example, if (like me) you want to replace an obscure audio remote, you can pick a button on the Visio to reproduce the signal of the on/off switch on the obscure remote and you're in business.
Very handy. Very useful. Terrific product and a huge leap frog over what was available before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

I was able to program my entire home theatre.

12/09/2012
By ,
94102
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, easy to program, works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
South Dakota, USA
Posted 12/15/2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we value hearing from all of our valued customers. We’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your Vizio experience! Should you ever have any questions or need assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us through chat: chat.vizio.com, e-mail: techsupp@vizio.com, or by phone: 877-698-4946.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

does what it says and does it well

01/13/2013
By ,
alaska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using my vizio 8 remote for a few days now and am completely satisfied. Paired up w/vizio tv w/o setup and pairing up w/Bose audio, magnivox vcr/dvd, dishnetwork box flawlessly. Also added specific commands from all electronics without a hitch.
Best I've used (and I've tried 8-10 other remotes in past years).
Only wish? It would pair up with my ceiling fan...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Surpassed ALL expectations!!

01/16/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This remote replaced 5 remotes. Runs all cable box menues (motorola). Runs all TV menues(samsung). Runs all VCR/DVD menues(LG). Runs all speaker bar options (memorex!!!). Runs all boom box options (sub woofer, FM/AM/AUX, etc), A JVC that is over 20 YEARS OLD!!! A god send indeed!!!
Even runs my remote for my air conditioner!!!!!
Just Awesome!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Great All In One Remote But...

01/12/2013
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The remote works great for all my units (VizioTV, Vizio Blu-Ray, and even my DirecTV DVR) however there is a problem with the back lit buttons, the light is so bright that you are unable to see the button labels, so unless you have the buttons memorized the back light is actually useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote
02/28/2013
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Remote!
Came programed for my TV, Blue Ray & Sound Bar.
Easy Setup to program Uverse.
Learning mode made it easy to add buttons to match manufacture's remotes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Vizio 8 Device Universal Remote

Very easy to use.

02/25/2013
By ,
charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to setup the tv,cablebox and dvd player in minutes. I like using it. No problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next