Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Remington Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Strengthen your hair while you style! The unique Remington Style Therapy Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron features keratin protein infused plates that provide essential vitamins while you straighten, keeping your hair healthy and strong. You won't have to worry anymore about too much heat. The advanced, built-in heat sensor of this hair style straightener uses cutting edge technology to adjust the temperature to your own personalized setting, protecting your hair from overexposure. Additionally, the Keratin Therapy Straightener's turbo boost can give you all the power of 450 degrees of heat, with pinpoint accuracy on the most problematic areas, so you get power only where you need it and gentleness everywhere else. Give yourself the smooth, straight, lustrous locks you know you deserve, without compromising or increasing frizziness. You can get shiny, straight hair now, while making your hair even stronger at the same time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation83%38 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Works Great !!!

04/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great on long and damaged hair. Straighten it with quick swipe.
Temperature control works perfect and esthetics are simply great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Smooth and silky hair!

04/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This flat iron has multiple settings that can be used for all different types of hair. The instruction manual highlights which setting is ideal for your hair. Since my hair is very thick, I used the highest heat setting. My hair is already fairly straight, with a few waves here and there that needs to be straightened out. My hair is naturally very "poofy" since it is so thick so this flat iron did a great job at flatten it out.
CON: The flat iron never beeped to tell me it was ready and it never glowed steadily as described in the manual. This wasn't too big of an issue for me because the flat iron did heat up and I just used it as normal once it did.
PRO: This flat iron made my hair so smooth and silky! It helped reduce the amount of fly away strands that stand up after I use my old flat iron giving it a nice smooth look. The condition of my hair felt and looked softer compared to my other flat iron that doesn't contain the keratin therapy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

This flat iron is a great value

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this flat iron based on online reviews, and I am very happy with it. I am Black with "Scary Spice" hair, and I find this flat iron straightens my hair quickly and leaves it shiny and soft. My only complaint is you have to be careful not to hold the iron too high up or you can burn your fingers. I have tried many flat irons over the years, and this iron performs much better than the expensive irons and the price is excellent! I would highly recommend buying this iron rather than wasting money on the so-called professional irons that do not perform as well and are overpriced.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Awesome flat iron

04/26/2014
By ,
Houston tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Remington S8590 keratin flat iron to replace my chi (which only lasted me 2 years). I was hesitant at first to try any other brand but I figured that if it wasn't good I would return it. I ordered it only. It had been marked down from $69 to $39 so I figured it was worth a try.
I don't always leave review for products that I have purchased but this flat iron is comparable to the Chi flat iron (in my opinion). And for the price I can't complain. I get the same results as I did with my Chi flat iron and I didn't have to spend over $100. I will never buy a Chi flat iron again.
Miriam
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

miracle worker

07/20/2012
By ,
boston.ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best flat iron I have used, I have curley, frizzy hair and in a few minutes I have straight silky hair. my friends can't believe my hair is so straight and smooth even in the most
humid of days. great product, nice to see that a product does what it is described to do.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Good Quality for Great Value

04/03/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I flat iron my hair everyday. I have shoulder length, thin, slightly wavy and color treated hair. I suffer from split ends, so I was excited to take home and review this product. I really liked having the heat sensor & temperature gauge to let me know when the flat iron had reached my desired heat. The size of the paddles were just right for my hair and the 1" paddle allows you to produce a soft curl if you want. I wasn't sure what the "heat-booster" was as I didn't sense any additional heat when I pressed the button. I also heard a sound when I ran the iron over my hair which I wasn't used to. There are indents in the panel that I've never seen before, so that frightened me a little, as the sound made it seem like I was stripping my hair. Overall, the iron did appear to make my hair look softer (pressed down my split-ends). I don't believe it made my hair stronger than before, but having the heat sensor allowed me to control how much heat I used on my hair. I've seen irons like this in the marketplace for double the price, so it is worth a shot. I wouldn't recommend for really thick or curly hair, as the panels are too small.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron
08/15/2013
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice flat iron, but my only concern is that the keratin strip in the middle pulls on the hair strands. IDK if that is what it is suppose to do on natural hair or if it works better on hair that has had the official keratin treatment.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Absolutely fantastic!!

09/25/2013
By ,
Yucca Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have extremely thick hair and it was very long. i was using the Remington wet/dry. i loved because it was 1.75in thick, which was great for long hair. but i recently went from waist length hair to chin length hair so i needed a smaller paddle. my previous straighter got my hair straight but not pin straight like i wanted it to be. but this one heated up very quickly and very hot. my hair had already been straighten but it was still "poofy". with one swipe of the Remington Keratin Therapy my hair was pin straight and looked like my hair stylest had done it. i was amazed. i have not noticed how the heat detection works. it seems to be the same temp all the way but then my straightener is set to 450 degrees so its hot either way. ive recently started the tresumme keraitn product line, so having the keratin therapy feature in this is a major plus.
Con- it does not beep wehn its done heating up but im right there the whole time waiting so its not that big of a deal. also the swivel cord kinda makes it hard to set down on a flat surface because it causes the iron to turn on its side and i dont know if itll burn the surface that its on but that could just be the newness of the cord.
Pros- everything is fantastic!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Good Product!

04/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I flat iron my shoulder length, slightly wavy hair occasionally, even though when I flat iron my hair, I can feel the roughness of my hair. So I really wanted to try this product and I am happy with the results :)
I liked the temperature control. It is perfect for thin and short hair. It might be little difficult for thick hair.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Great item

02/21/2014
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy in using it)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron
08/29/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent flat iron. Has great features.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron

Best Straightener Ever!

06/27/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this flat iron. It is absolutely the best one I have ever used and I have had quite a few over the years. It leaves my curly hair straight, smooth, and silky.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Remington S8590 Keratin Therapy 1" Flat Iron
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5