Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nikon Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

For the outdoor photographer, the Nikon COOLPIX P510 16MP Digital Camera puts you where you need to be. Every image and Full HD (1080p) movie dazzles when produced by the advanced 16.1MP CMOS sensor. With a 42x optical zoom NIKKOR ED glass lens, an incredible world of optical power and versatility awaits you. Shoot from 24mm wide-angle then zoom to an amazing 1,000mm and capture distant images. The optical Vibration Reduction system minimizes the chance of blur while you take both photos and movies and the side zoom control provides easy access to the P510's powerful zoom capabilities. Switch on the built-in GPS feature and as you shoot, your files are geotagged and provide a visual travelogue that pinpoints latitude and longitude. Geotagged photo and movie files integrate with Nikon's my Picturetown photo sharing site, Google Earth and Nikon View NX2 software.
Average Customer Rating:
4.766 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%198 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Best Camera I owned!

12/13/2012
By ,
Kalispell Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great camera for the money. Best Camera I've yet owned. It has great zoom, and takes such beautiful photos. Tip:
To crop the picture, you have to zoom in to the picture you are wanting to crop, then press the Menu button, and then just click yes, and you will have a copy of the cropped picture, and the non cropped picture!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Love this camera. Anything I've been looking for.

12/04/2012
By ,
Belton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just to test the Nikon P510 I zoomed in on a green blob on the other side of the deer fence about 120 ft away from the back porch and took a perfect picture of the cactus there.
This camera takes wonderful pictures, crisp and vibrant.
My husband took a picture of a butterfly 60ft away and you feel like you are right in front of it.
Close ups or family pictures are detailed to the point.
I love taking pictures of flowers, birds and other animals. Also enjoy landscapes, waterfalls & river. I only have this camera for a little over a week now and have it handy all the time, so I'm able to photograph anything interesting that comes in front of my lens.
It is easy to handle, light and comfortable.
It comes with everything you need, but would be nice to have it's own bag.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Its a great camera!

05/22/2012
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera I specially love a feature it has on it where you can do selective colring, and the zoom is great I went to a ballgame and was way up in the nose bleed section and this thig zoomed in made it look like I was sitting really close! I still dont know all the functions but I know I love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 4 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

AWESOME advanced camera!

01/03/2013
By ,
Hastings, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Nikon P510! This is an AWESOME camera! It has some DSLR features on it, like the manual setting, user setting, aperture setting, program setting. However, the one downfall is that I cannot leave my f-stop at 3.0 on the aperture setting. Nikon said there is no way to override it :(. I would LOVE to be able to consistently blur the background. But as an avid photographer who didn't want to upgrade to the DSLR cameras and buy all the lenses yet, this serves me great! Not only does it have a 42x zoom, but as I mentioned, it does have some DSLR capabilities on it. I do have the S8200 also and I love that camera too. But this camera is for my more "serious" photography. Either way, I think you'll enjoy it as much as I do! I wouldn't recommend this for beginners, unless you keep it all on the automatic settings. I'm still toying with all the settings. But oh so fun! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 5 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Love it!

08/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was wanting an update to my digital camera - My sister has a DSLR, but I wasn't quite ready to jump into all the expense of that - The next best thing I found was this little jewel! Love it!! It's easy to use, compact, takes great pictures, etc.... Has some great features and the zoom is amazing! Would recommend it to anyone! Take the time to read the instruction manuel to learn all the cool features -
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Review 6 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
07/10/2012
By ,
Kirksville, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have any complaints about this camera it does everything I want it to! Great picture quality. Was really impressed with the way it took pics of fireworks on the 4th!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 7 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Exactly the camera I have been searching for!

12/09/2012
By ,
Maple Grove, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been contemplating buying a camera for about 5 years. I wanted an SLR, but they are sooo expensive and I was worried that I would be disappointed in their size and having to switch lenses. I like to travel, and I just couldn't imagine myself lugging the big camera and its lenses everywhere. But I wanted the zoom the SLR offered! Then I discovered the Nikon Coolpix P510 with its 42x zoom... and at an awesome cyber Monday price! This camera feels great in your hand... a nice weight to it without being heavy. It's easy to operate. I love the big LCD display and the view finder. I have not yet tried the video or the GPS feature yet, but I'm looking forward to it. I have taken this camera out for two occasions... both inside and outside shots. I've been impressed and happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 8 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Wow!!!!

10/30/2012
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, where do I start?
Let's start with the first thing that caught my attention to buy this thing in the first place,.......ZOOM!
I'll make this simple, I was able to read and photograph a license plate from almost 5 blocks away!!
From that same distance, I could possibly make out the person driving the car, although that get's just a little shaky. I've read somewhere, that it doesn't take very good shots at full magnification, yes and no. Yes that's true if you don't have enough light, but the picture I took of the plate was earlier today in NYC where there was still a decent amount of wind, but I had good light!
Picture quality.... I'm not qualified to really give a good review because this is the first non-point n shoot I've ever owned and I regrettably bolted out of my summer intensive photography class back in '93! lol But I'll tell you this, at 16 megapixels, and with a CMOS sensor, it's hard for any point n shoot to beat and I'm not sure I'll take another picture I truly care about with my iPhone 4S again. Twice the resolution, wider lens to allow more light, a larger sensor, etc, all make for a great shot.
Movies are ok, decent, but will never replace a full HD camcorder of decent value, especially since you can hear the motor of the zoom during movie playback!! Not cool! I bought this camera to take pictures, not video, so I'm keeping it. Flash is pretty strong and it has something that helps keep it from overexposing.
I'm still learning how to use this thing and the manual (on CD only, boo) is pretty lengthy so I'm sure I will love it even more once I start using all the features. Also, it allows you to take a picture of a picture. What I mean is, let's say you take a wide shot, but after viewing it in playback mode, you decide you want to focus on one particular thing, you just zoom in to where you want, move the picture up, down, left and right as needed, hit the menu button, and select a function (I just forgot what it's called) and it will take another photo of what you have on screen! Cool, just like my iPhone 4S, lol
Speaking of screen, it moves people! If you're short like my wife and want to shoot over someone's head like in a concert or parade, you just flip the screen down. If you're tall or just want a lower shot without having to bend your bad cricketty knees, hold the camera as low as comfortable and just flip the screen facing up, that simple.
Hmmm, what else, it's light, not too bulky. Has a 10 second and other timers. Used it to take a funny picture with my wife while she slept on the couch. She asked me today, "When did you take that picture?" lol Oh, I bought a Targus 58" tripod. I bought it at Walmart, but as always, shop and compare.
I did see some P510's for cheaper on Ebay, and I've never had a problem because I know how to buy, but Walmart always seems to honor it's warranty and then some and I happen to be close to one almost once a week so it just makes sense for my situation.
I could go on, as I'm sure you have nothing else better to do than listen to me ramble my newbie views, but no, I will end it here saying, if you're looking for a fantastic camera to take family, vacation, and general outdoor shots, and occasionally snoop on people, lol, this is the camera for you.
Adieu
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+62points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Great Review!
Posted 05/28/2013
I really enjoyed your commentary - it felt like you were talking to me in person - great job!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Nice Compact Camera

12/22/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this camera to take with us on vacation. It gives us the zoom we were looking for without having to change out the lens. The zoom when extended out completely takes a long time to focus, a tripod may help hold the camera steady in order for it to focus. But you can always bring the zoom in and still get a good picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 10 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Video function is a pain

05/26/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although the photo image quality is good and sharp; unfortunately it doesn't work for me because of the lame video function. It is hard to focus, so trying to focus while video taping moving objects almost impossible -- it leads the video from blurry to blurry with a transient sharpness (you can't keep the sharpness because it automatically turns to blurry, that drives you nuts, imaging my feeling during my kid's graduation performance, Grr...). I figured that you have to focus before you record, without refocusing, to make a sharp video. No, no, not for me. One of the main purpose for me is to take pictures/videos of my kids (they are move about a lot). I guess if you take pictures of still objects or scenic views , they are totally fine. I have an old cannon point-and-shot camera, it works well for video taping, always focus, and quick enough, so I am looking for a newer Cannon, maybe a SX50, as long as the image quality is as good as a Nikon.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Love this Camera

11/27/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a LOT of research into the super zooms and this camera came closest to my needs. I was afraid that if I got this camera that I would find another one that I liked more, but this camera is amazing. I sometimes have difficulty focusing on stuff, but I am still learning how to utilize all the amazing tricks that there are on this camera. It takes a beautiful picture! Can't wait to be proficient with all that this camera has to offer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 12 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
12/02/2012
By ,
Vernal, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the Nikon camera coolpix L810 16 megapixels 26X zoom and it takes great pictures, but this one with the 42X power lens, other special features makes this one a big jump up. I bought mine on Black Friday[ TURKEY DAY]FOR $292.00, Even the price today is a steal. I have recommended this to a lot people. Best small compact camera for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Best Camera I have ever used

12/22/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been happier with this purchase than any other product that I can remember. I took it to a professional football game and my seats were in the endzone on the 2nd level. I was able to take pictures of fans in the opposite endzone. Wow! When the players were on the far 10 yard line, I was able to zoom in on their faces with helmets on. My original objective was to be able to take pictures of my kids at their school functions. This camera meets and exceeds all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Excellent Camera

02/27/2013
By ,
ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friend recommended this camera to me right before I was leaving on vacation & after I seen pictures she had taken with hers I ran to Walmart & purchased it immediately. It takes beautiful clear photos! We took some video with it also & it did wonderful, in some other reviews it said it was difficult for video but we didn't have any problems what-so-ever they are perfect movies!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Great! Love this camera

02/12/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went and bought the Nikon D1300 And Although I was completly satisfied with the quality of the images I didnt like the zoom at all. No big deal for close up photography such as portrait taking. But I need zoom! And it just was not cutting it. I took a leap and bought the Coolpix P510 "Amazing!" The picture quality is just as good as the DSLR! And the zoom is great! I recommend it over the D1300 for wildlife or even for mothers who need a good zoom to get those play pictures!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
05/01/2013
By ,
Hardin KY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been searching cameras for quite sometime before i settled on this one and am happy with my purchase. It fit into my budget and takes quality pictures and video once u get used to working with it to get the best picture quality. Purchased a Sony Handycam before this and am very unsatisfied with the picture quality. Can't go wrong with a Nikon!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 17 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Excellent Product

05/11/2013
By ,
Muskogee, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nikon out did themselves, very nice point and shoot, pics are sharp, zoom is excellent giving you lots of reach. Menus and dials are user friendly, easy to learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS
12/28/2012
By ,
jacksonville, fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
outstanding pictures, easy to use,long battery life. the best point and shoot i've ever used
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Review 19 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

The camera is Awesome

12/27/2012
By ,
Gibbsboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The quality of the picture is perfect. Also very user friendly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Nikon COOLPIX P510 Black 16MP Digital Camera w/ 42x Optical Zoom Lens, 3" LCD Display, HD Video, GPS

Great camera with a lot of easy-to-use features

12/07/2012
By ,
Bend, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 3 similar cameras, all made by Kodak. Since they no longer make digital cameras, I needed to look elsewhere. Examining the specifications of the Coolpix P510, I was pleasingly surprised at all the nice features the camera has. It is lightweight, compact and yet packed with exciting features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next