Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Safety 1st Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

The Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat is the perfect fit for smaller cars, and helps protect your child longer in both rear and forward facing positions. In the rear-facing position, the Safety 1st Car Seat keeps children comfortable up to 40 pounds. Change the Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat to a forward-facing position when it's time, and your child will be snug in the 5-point harness all the way up to 65 pounds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
68
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%194 out of 217reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
68
3 stars
10
2 stars
8
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Love this seat

12/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this seat after returning two other seats, this seat fits good and looks great,this is the only seat i can get to recline enough in the rear facing position. My son loves this seat,he has never fussed or acted uncomfortable like he did in his infant seat, he goes to sleep right away or is content to look out the window. The straps can be a little hard to tighten but its not a big deal.This seat is lightweight and easy to move. I have only used it rear facing so i dont know how it is in the forward facing. overall a good seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great value!

07/29/2014
By ,
az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wonderful safe seat for the price

07/05/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Question
Posted 07/17/2014
Are there protectors on the straps so they don't scratch the neck area?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Wish I had tried it first

11/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After ordering the Safety 1st - Guide 65 based on the reviews, I learned that it's better for car seats to try them out and see for yourself. It is not very highly rated for ease of use, which I also found out after I purchased it. It was not hard to figure out the install but you have to shove the seat belt or latch strap through hard plastic and your hands will get scratched up. I had to put a towel underneath it to get the proper recline angle. Not a big deal except you can't really tell you're going to need this until it's installed and then you have uninstall it to put the towel under it. Feels very secure though installed with the lap/shoulder belt. After the initial struggle, it is relatively easy to get my son in and out of it. Biggest complaint is that it is very hard to tighten the harness while rear-facing, since the strap you pull to tighten it sits flush against the seat back. I would not reccomend this seat because of that. Having a tight harness is kind of the point...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

You get what you pay for

01/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this as a secondary seat and to bring on planes when we travel. Definitely fits great in the and seat (we had our son rear facing). And he seemed comfortable ... Except for the shoulder straps! There is no padding on them so they dig into the babies neck. We bought some strap pads at the store and it was fine. Other downside, very DIFFICULT to install in the car. Took us about 20+ minutes to install it at the airport. Tried middle and side seat and both LATCH and seatbelt methods. All were difficult and none got tight enough in my opinion. Finally, the seatbelt itself doesn't tighten enough for my liking. Overall, this seat will do in a pinch, especially as a backup seat. Great for taking on a plane (lightweight to carry in airport too). But I would NOT recommend this as your go-to car seat.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great seat, great price.

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This seat fits great in my mid-size sedan and husband's small SUV while still leaving plenty of passenger leg room. I did not use pool noodles and was still able to get a secure installation by using muscle to make sure the seat was very tight against the seat back. This seat has most of the features of the big name/price car seats for a lot less. I love the padded headrest for safety and comfort and the high weight limits means we can use this seat for years.
I consider this to be a great option at any price but especially for well under $100.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

great seat

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this carseat on a recommendation by my daughter. This is for my new grandson to use as soon as he outgrows his carrier. I have to have a carseat for my car for him. It is a little smaller than the other ones i looked at and i loved the price. My daughter is a real fanatic when it comes to safety for babies in carseats. I can't wait to use it and it should last me till he is about 5.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Love it!

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this car seat for my grand daughter and I had not seen it because it was not in the store. Very nice quality and also fits nicely in my Hyndai Elantra. I would recommend this for any car, but is a great size for my compact car.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

car seat maybe for me

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat it fits good in my car my car is small so it was had with the other seats to have enough room to get in to put the baby in the seat and no room for the other two kids, it is easy to hook up all the harness are easy to work, I am still working with just the right fit for the bottom piece that comes up between their legs I can't get to fit just the way I want it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Little one is happy!!!

01/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed the next stage, the convertible car seat. LO was pushing the weight/height limit on the carrier/base we were using (different brand). We have a smaller SUV and didn't need anything too bulky. This is sooooo great and comfy for LO!!! It is not hard to install once you figure it out the first time. We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

amazing

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a nice and easy carseat my baby loves it it's comfortable
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Great car seat

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice quality, really good price. My 13 month baby girl like to travel in it. We have small car so the fact that could fit nicely without beeing so bulky and baby was still comfy was very refreshing. We picked the turquoise finish and it's just perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Good

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a scion tc 2014 and it fits petfectly. Had trouble getting it properly latched because of the space in the car. But it looks good, works well, and it's really comfortable for my child rear facing and all.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

Good carseat and good price

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality and good price .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat

best bang for your buck

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I feel this car seat is the best convertible car seat for the money. Its also a compact size and is the only rear facing convertible car seat to fit in our jeep compass and extended cab chevy silverado and still allow me to fit in the front seat without pushing the front seat completely into the dashboard. I thought about the cosco car seat but it has no cushioning and it doesn't have as high of weight limits especially for rear facing. Wish the straps were just a little easier to pull tight. Other then that I feel good knowing my daughters safe in her safety 1st car seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 200 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next