Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Safety 1st Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
44
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation89%118 out of 132reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
44
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Love this seat

12/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this seat after returning two other seats, this seat fits good and looks great,this is the only seat i can get to recline enough in the rear facing position. My son loves this seat,he has never fussed or acted uncomfortable like he did in his infant seat, he goes to sleep right away or is content to look out the window. The straps can be a little hard to tighten but its not a big deal.This seat is lightweight and easy to move. I have only used it rear facing so i dont know how it is in the forward facing. overall a good seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Held up in horrible crash!

09/02/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Purcell, OK
wow
Posted 01/20/2014
I am so happy that you and your child are safe! Thank you for recommendation on the car seat!
0points
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
<3
Posted 11/05/2013
Thank god you are all ok. Way to go mama for keeping your baby safe in her seat. Thanks for this review it helped me make my mind up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Seat and Great price

05/23/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Car Seat!

05/14/2012
By ,
Bellingham, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Very pleasantly surprised

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great carseat, would buy again

10/26/2012
By ,
Lake Butler, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see).
The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat.
I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Safe plus economical

06/04/2012
By ,
Union City, TN.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 6 mo. old son who had outgrown his infant seat. I was looking for a seat that would not take up a great deal of space in the back seat but without compromising on safety. This is a perfect seat. I am continuing to use it as a rear facing seat and it takes no more space than his infant seat. I have a Honda Accord with this seat in the rear middle, I am still able to accommodate two basic travel booster seats when my niece and nephew are running about with me.
I had intended to purchase a comparable seat in the Eddie Bauer line; however, this seat is primarily identical to it. The only exception is a small pad in the other brand. The price on this one however is substantially less so I could not see paying a higher price for the same style seat.
Pros:
*The additional head support.
*Comfort- it is very well padded/cushioned under baby's bottom and back.
*Doesn't take up a lot of room...can still accommodate 2 passengers in the back seat with the seat
*Adjustable harness, buckle, and head support to grow with child
Cons:
*Some difficulty bracing the seat in the reclined position for babies under 20 lbs. (This could be unique to my make of car...the seat has to be in the middle due to side impact air bags).
The biggest plus is my son loves it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

worth every penny

02/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son absolutely loves this carseat. its comfy, he can see out the window. and super easy to install. Also.easy to buckle my son in.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Great Carseat

03/30/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Safety 1st car seat, one for my car and one for my husbands. It's a great price and suits its purpose. I've had mine for about 4 months and everything has been great so far! I would definitely recommend this car seat to any parents.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Difficult to Install

02/16/2014
By ,
Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: Low cost. Can fit 3 across.
Cons: The fabric feels cheap and like it won't hold up very long. It is very difficult to get this seat installed properly (my husband ended up with blisters on his hands from installing it).
Knowing what I know now, I would not buy this seat again. I would spend the extra $50 and buy a better, easier to install seat.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Mama of 3

02/28/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding! I just bought this for my 9 month old. He is very comfortable in it and I love how the sides are really substantial as opposed to every other one I've seen that has the side impact air protect head pillows. This one really sort of hugs them from every angle and I think i will also be upgrading my two yr old's alpha and omega to this one as well...that is if I can find another one in store as I bought the last one :)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Love it!

03/29/2014
By ,
NE Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Perfect! Great for small cars

03/26/2014
By ,
Picayune, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2001 Camry and it fits great! Does not take a ton of room when rearfacing and easy to install. Love how wide and deep it is, also lots of padding so my 6month old is comfy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

great for price

03/23/2014
By ,
indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits good in my car rear facing. Still new so hard to tighten straps but my baby loves her new seat.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Awesome!!

03/17/2014
By ,
Visalia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Cae seat, My son fits perfectly(:
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

carseat

02/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, easy to place and remove child from harness. Big enough for growing babies and small enough to fit well in car.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Awesome Seat!

06/12/2012
By ,
Newton,KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Wife and I bought two of these seats for our twin boys. We have a minivan with two captains chairs. These seats are much smaller than the larger models and fit perfectly! They are soft with very good head cusions on both sides of their heads, and very spacious. The boys have plenty of room to move around in the seat while securely fastned in. I would definitely recommend these seats. The boys are 14mo and 25in tall with easy adjustments on the seat, they should last a long time!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

exceeded my expectations for quality

12/23/2013
By ,
Ruston, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered for great grands safety. Fits perfectly and meets my standards.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety 1st - Guide 65 Sport Convertible Car Seat, Athens

Well made

03/10/2014
By ,
Feasterville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product and my granddaughter liked the cup holder.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next