Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Magnavox Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Get the Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder and record your favorite TV shows and movies onto DVDs. This device makes the media output easily accessible, allowing you to take it anywhere with you. The line-in recording DVD recorder has 5 speed options and features the capacity to record up to 6 hours. The progressive scan DVD recorder has a virtual surround sound system and Dolby digital stream out feature for outstanding sound effects. It comes with satellite link recording option that allows you to capture your favorite episodes or movies.
Average Customer Rating:
3.561 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation73%59 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
108 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Basic and Functional

02/16/2012
By ,
South West Suffolk Co., L.I., New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this recorder for over 6 months with no problems. Great price on sale. Agree with others that it is unfortunate that it does not have an external timer display, but it is easy to set up and to use once your used to it. I bought 2, one for me and one for brother in Montana. Bought it through my BOA Master Cards shopping page and recieved extra 5% off, and 1 extra years worth of warranty. I use Verbatim - R DVD's that I also bought from Walmart. They are superior to most, I have gotten no coasters out of the 100 I have used. Best recording quality on the shorter recording speeds 2 1/2, 3, 4 hour settings, but 6 hours comes out well also. Have read many good and bad reviews on this machine. My experience is a positive one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Great Machine

04/08/2012
By ,
Howell,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the original version of this(same model number but without the "B" at the end).
It works exactly the same as the older version, the only difference is the remote control. They moved some of the buttons around so I'm not used to it. I used to be able to use the remote in the dark, but now I have to relearn.
I read the reviews on the older unit and one of the biggest complaints was the lack of a display. True there is no display on the unit, but there is the onscreen display which can be brought up by pushing the "Display" button. Maybe these people didn't see that button, but I sure have.
By the way, if you buy this instore rather than online, the price is only $78. At that price I may go buy a backup unit since my original one had failed due to overuse.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Worth three times what I paid for it!

03/16/2012
By ,
Creston, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had bad experiences with DVD recorders in the past, so I never saw myself ever buying another one. However, my dad recently passed away and left behind several VHS tapes of old family reunions, etc. that I felt needed to be preserved before they were lost forever (some of them as old as 1987!) I looked into computer USB kits and standalone TV-top burners, and finally decided to buy this one at my local Wal-Mart. Let me just say I had it out of the box and recording old VHS tapes in less than 20 minutes. It is so easy to use...after the one-time initial setup, all you have to do is put in the disc (I highly recommend DVD+RW, although any kind will work), let it format which only takes a few seconds, then set your record speed (You can record anywhere from 1 hour to 6 hours...you do need to know ahead of time how long your VHS tape is). So the first one I tried was a 2 hour tape, so I set the DVD speed to 2 hours. Then you just hit play on the VCR and record on teh DVD burner, sit back and enjoy the memories. When you're done, you either finalize (if you're use -R media# or protect the disc #if you're using +RW media# and you have no preserved your memories digitally. This burner doesn't have any of the flaws I've seen in other burners #shutting off after only a few seconds or everytime the media shakes slightly, media error messages, taking forever to do anything, etc.). One common complaint is that it doesn't have a digital display....it does have an on-screen display, which is good enough for me. If you are like me and have had bad luck with DVD burners in the past, have some faith and buy this one. This is one of the most positive experiences I've ever had with a new product right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

won't work with comcast supplied digital converter

07/09/2012
By ,
La Salle, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit can only be used if the source is AV1, AV2, etc. Will not run with channel 3 or 4 (any numbered channel)as the source. As the digital converter supplied by Comcast can only be set on numbered channels, you cannot set up this unit. I called Magnavox before purchasing this unit and they said it would work but I didn't think to mention that the digital converter couldn't be set to anything but numbered channels. I am returning the set after 2 days of trying. Hoping to save someon else the time and energy.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
No problems using this recorder with Comcast
Posted 11/10/2012
I admit that I got a little confused while setting this unit up with my Comcast digital converter, but once I figured it out, it worked just fine and I haven't had any problems at all. If I could change anything, it would be to have a display on the front, but it's not really necessary. I like this unit and it's easy to use.
0points
Customer Avatar
Brockport,pa
Doesnt work with comcast boxes.
Posted 07/18/2012
Wish I would have known this after the hours I spent trying to hook this up.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Pretty easy to use

07/10/2012
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still learning, but was able to transfer 4 or 5 home videos to dvd. My husband is very good with electronics, but I am not. Since his schedule has been very busy, I did most of this myself after he set it up. It is nice to be able to turn the display on and off using the remote. The only problem I had was finding the "finalize" option. The instructions in the book did not work. The only way I have been able to get to that menu is to open and close the dvd tray, THEN press menu while the dvd is loading. Today I had to try several times, and had to press the menu button repeatedly to get to the finalize screen. Wish the finalize menu was a little easier to access, but am very pleased that we have dvd's of our old videos. And they do work on other players!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording
01/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best dvd recorder I've every had. I bought two, one for me and another for my son. Its compack. It fit well in my tv stand. Great for only 98.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording
10/14/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm happy w. product. Does not have a tuner. I hooked it up to my old VCR in a way that I can
watch and record at the same time, though it says you can't. Runs fine, instructions are a little
lenthy but needed, price was right and I am satisfied with it's performance. Would recommended to others if they want to figure out how to use it to their advantage. I am perfectly satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Great recorder for the price.

02/09/2012
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and very easy to record programs and movies from the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Not happy at all

04/27/2013
By ,
ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I received my DVD recorder, I was excited. Then, I got ready to connect it to my TV. That's when my excitement turned to disappointment! First, I had to hunt through a dozen or so cords I had to get it connected so that it would work. Then, I get it connected and am able to see it on my TV. I set a program just to get an idea of how good it works. That is when my disappointment turned to near-anger. The recorder was NOT the kind of recorder I thought I was getting. With this recorder, you must tune the TV to the specific channel the program you want to record and then you must leave it on that channel. Basically, this is a glorified VCR that uses DVD's rather than Video Tapes. Finally, I just boxed it back up and returned it to my local Wal-Mart store. I had ordered this because I was having problems with the recorder I already had. After fighting with the Magnavox recorder, I decided to reconnect my recorder. I changed ONE cord on my "old" recorder and the problems disappeared. So, if you are looking to replace an existing recorder, DON'T GET THIS ONE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NW Pennsylvania
Is this your first DVD Recorder?
Posted 05/31/2013
I'm not sure exactly what you expected, but I've had a DVD recorder for years and always have to set it on the channel You want to record. I've got satellite tv but don't know if cable is any different. But I usually record when I'm going to be gone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording
04/19/2012
By ,
Mtn. Grove, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I heard recently, from a friend who sells electronics, that dvd recorders are in short supply. I have been burning disks for years, and this one seems to be one of the few that are dependable as far as accepting most disk formats, and playback on most other players. I still don't understand why some players refuse to play a finalized disk though, and am worried that this model may become obsolete.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording
07/31/2012
By ,
bluegrass state
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this DVD recorder/player works very good I use it to when I leave my apartment I can record my camera for security up to 6 hr, the only complaint is I cant record my TV , most of the newer TV's does not have an line a line out, just a line in for TV signal,,, I think a TV tuner on my cable spliter would work for me, their is nothing at all wrong with this recorder / player and I would reccomend it A+.
doobiedoo1944
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Lives up to expectations

03/02/2012
By ,
Burleson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This video recorder is one of the best I have owned. It is very simple to use and has features that more expensive units have, especially the menu creation. I recommend it to anyone who is looking for good results at a value price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Does everything I need

10/16/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good DVD Recorder for the money. I little tricky to figure out. Very poor instructions but nothing I couldn't figure out. When not recording or set to record, I take out the DVD because it doesn't seem to shut down all the way. For the price, this records good. Wal-Mart shipped fast and the price was right. We record in-line and bring the Player and DVD's to the cabin. Would I buy this again... YES! Cheap enough as a DVD player and I can record to boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Great Value

07/27/2012
By ,
North Liberty, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder is excellent. It has new multiple recording modes such as SPP, which is 2.5 hrs. on 12 cm disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording
05/16/2012
By ,
Milledgeville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Didnt even read the booklet. Everything is on screen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Love it

08/20/2012
By ,
Shelocta, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does everything in the description. I like the fact that you can connect to a converter box and record shows with the timer. This was a difficult function to find on a DVD recorder. The unit is small and has excellent quality recording.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

Like it very much.

08/02/2012
By ,
Hilton Head Island, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For basic recording on what you have on your DVR or what is playing of TV, it is easy to do and it is easy to hook up with their directions. More sophisticated actions such as making chapter headings, I found the instructions difficult to understand. But that is not what I need anywat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

A no frills DVD recorder

05/05/2012
By ,
PR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works as expected with no surprises and I'm glad I bought it.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

DVR/DVD

03/26/2012
By ,
Hammond, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to use and is great! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox ZC320MW8B DVD Recorder with Line-In Recording

No display?

02/04/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work for me. There was no display and it kept shutting off by itself for no reason. I returned it. I may have gotten a defective unit but if a product works like that with my first try, I usually don't give it a second chance. This does not mean it won't work for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
La Salle, IL
reply
Posted 07/09/2012
If you read my comment/view of 7/9/12 you'll see what may be the cause of your problem. I have an older Magnavox DVD and apparently their units will not run if you set the source channel as 3 or 4. Obviously if your cable or whatever box won't scan to a blank screen reading AV1, AV2 or Front, you can't set these units up.
0points
Customer Avatar
i returned mine too....
Posted 05/28/2012
but it wasn't shutting off for no reason, it was just in another mode. this device can only be shut off by disconnecting it from the electricity, but you are right..the lights sometimes on/sometimes off was annoying.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next