Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Smith & Wesson Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

This 19-shot, double-action Smith & Wesson M&P BB Pistol has a drop-free BB magazine, fixed front and rear sights and an integrated accessory rail.
Average Customer Rating:
3.901 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation80%65 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
71 Questions | 186 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

S&W M&P CO2 pistol a greater performer/super buy

12/01/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I purchased the S&W M&P replica .177 cal. CO2 air pistol for my girlfriend, I did extensive research on the product (all of it for myself, earlier, actually), so I knew most of what to expect from the item. It did not disappoint--except for a BB being expelled from the magazine every time the mag was removed from the grip! Possibly a flawed magazine? (Or a flawed user?)
With the form factor and picatinny rail for accessorizing (laser or flashlight), the M&P quite precisely represents the real S&W M&P .40 cal semi-automatic. The sights: white front dot; two fiber-optic bright green rear dots (small) represented by a U-shaped factory insert. (The sights are not adjustable.) The safety is located on the right side of the gun, immediately above the trigger guard: You just use your index finger to push the lever forward for safe mode and slide it backward for shooting mode. Very easy and accessible.
Furthermore, the grip and feel of the M&P are superb, even for an average man's hands, and the 19-round drop-free BB magazine seems to be constructed of a heavy-duty polymer. Loading is easy and simple: The user just slides the spring catch-lever to the bottom and locks it down, into place. You then just load the 4.5mm BBs through the ovular, beveled entryway, holding the magazine upside down. Flipping the bottom-protruding spring activator shifts the lever into place, locking the BBs against the inside top of the magazine.
In addition, the CO2 cargo area is accessed by grasping the grip just below the slide--with the thumb and index finger--and pulling hard backward. The CO2 cylinder then is inserted into the bay, the bottom screw carefully tightened, and the exposing grip pushed hard forward, toward the trigger. (Snapping the grip back into place requires substantial pressure but is not difficult.) The pistol uses standard 12gm CO2 cylinders, and advertising claims that a single cartridge can generate 50 shots.
This air pistol is very accurate, and the muzzle velocity is rated at 480 fps. The latter is a tall order, but I have no comments either way about velocity measurement using a chronograph. (At the range using my .45 cal semi-auto recently, I rather offhandedly picked up the M&P, aimed, and--from just seven (7) yards--pumped two rounds into the inner circle of a one-foot-diameter target.)
My only criticisms are the expelling-BB issue upon magazine retrieval from the gun, and its VERY light weight--something like 1.1 or 1.2 pounds. (The package shipping weight is 1.5 pounds.) But for an air pistol of this overall quality and functionality (and at just more than $30), to my thinking, the S&W M&P .40 cal replica 4.5mm BB pistol--considering what it offers--is simply the best such gun on the market.
As a first BB shooter for a youth, I think this product is nearly unparalleled. For more experienced shooters who wish to benefit from a more-realistic range or plinking outing, I recommend something weighing about 1.5 to 1.7 pounds--and, preferably, one with realistic blowback (moving slide and some recoil). But you simply cannot lose with this M&P.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

So far so good...

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a replacement gun for a Crosman 1911BB that my wife had made the mistake of purchasing. I have to say, I LOVE this gun. It is a "replica" of a S&W M&P40 (or 9). It feels fairly close to the real thing, albeit a little lighter and the trigger not being as nice. That trigger is my only complaint, but at the same time one of the best things about it. It is a long and VERY heavy 2 stage trigger. It feels like a 2 stage revolver, but not as good. I like it because, it really forces you to take your time and practice the fundamentals of shooting (Sight alignment, sight picture and trigger control). Build quality seems very robust for what it is. inserting the C02 is super easy and as far as I can tell, there is no leakage of any gas. The magazine is a nice heavy, drop free magazine. My first time out with it i put 5 rounds into the middle of a half inch circle at 5 yards. Not the most impressive distance, but one you feel the weight of the trigger, you would understand.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

OH YEAH!

05/25/2012
By ,
North East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a Blast. Got decent Power, I've killed more than a few snakes with mine(Got to Get the head Shot tho:). I've had it for ruffly 3 weeks, shot it around 6,000 times and Loving every shot. It's Plenty fast and Great Practice for shooting my larger caliber guns without making as much noise. Takes a little Practice to load the B.B. into the Mag Smoothly but after a Few Days You can pour them in like water. It has a few bad points..The Grip can pop off around the co 2 cylinder, easily Pops back on. The retention of the B.B. at the top of the magazine can Become weaker and will frequently spit a B.B. or ten out if Your not careful. 20 Shot Magazine(I Could stand an additional 60) is sufficient, I guess... These are small draw backs in Light of all the fun I have w this thing for the Price Wal Mart is asking. I Certainly Recommend it. Just Don't Shoot your Eye out. Happy Hunting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Excellent Air Pistol

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for $26.00 + tax and picked up at a local Walmart. Came in a blister package with only one 19 round magazine. Purchased Daisy Zinc coated BB's, Umarex 12g CO2 cylinders and Pellgun oil.
Gun was relatively accurate with good trigger feel (feels like a double actiontrigger).
sights are relatively good with no wind and 25 ft. from targets. I went ahead and bought four extra magazines from Amazon at 16.99 a pair - no tax free shipping. make sure these are original - the fake ones don't work. Be sure to check reviews/feedback before purchasing.
Really enjoy plinking empty soda cans and dirty bird targets in the backyard. Created a backstop with styrofoam thick cardboard and recycling bins. Gun worke flawlessly. Safety was a little stiff but works really well. Really happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB CO2 Air Pistol

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The air cylinder goes into the handgrip- and was difficult to install the first time. The magazine works well, but it would be nice to have a larger capacity. I got over 100 shots from the air cylinder, and the charge lasted over a week, with no leaks. the trigger pull is hard, but what else can you expect from a bb gun? The gun has great power, and will definitely serve it's purpose. All in all it is a great deal for a fun gun!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

S&W Gun

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding gun. No problems so far. Thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

pest control

06/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for pest control dealing with Possums and Armadillos that come In the house and eat The Cat food and Raccoons that get In the attic and use It as a toilet, I live In the country so I can Not have A Dog and Coon Hunters No more exist, This pistol rates around 420 fps the same as most CO2 pistols It will put a hole In a tin can and Its easier to run through the house and take aim at pest with this than a bow and arrow.
What I do Not like about It Is the safety switch gets switched to off position too easy risking an accident.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Buying another one

10/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having this for almost a week. My son has put close to 1000 bb's through it. The trigger takes a little getting use to. Kinda like the really m&p. He can hit an empty 20 gauge shotgun shell from over 30 feet. For the price it a great purchase. We have a crossman pistol also and it cost double this gun. The trigger on that one broken after a short time and the co2 was hard to load( we would loose half the gas ). The M&P loads the co2 easy and get about 60 strong shots off then starts to taper off. We like it a lot and I'm buy another .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Looks Great easy to use

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Great Buy

03/26/2012
By ,
Chico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never jams co2 has never leaked and it is good for small game. Definitely worth the money spent some people say they get about 30-40 shots with 1 co2 tank but I'm getting close to 50 good strong hits so far. You should definitely buy more clips because those bbs go fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clarkesville,ga
clips
Posted 08/02/2013
where did you get the clips i can't find them on walmart
0points
Customer Avatar
Question????
Posted 03/25/2013
Does this sweet gun have blowback action?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

BB Gun

06/14/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It doesn't fire the BB's all of the time despite changing the CO2 cartridge.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

best pistol i ever owned

12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gun is fun accurate and deadly to small game like a rabbit or mice things i love it never jammed on me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+160points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Super buy !

10/04/2011
By ,
Normal, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm extremely happy with this item. Have owned Daisy and Crosman and this one is better built more reliable and extremely accurate. Very impressed with the materials used to make this gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+221points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Weak

06/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked a couple of times - weak
Clip broke 1st day
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Very Dissappointed

06/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rarely fires a bb out of the gun. Don't know what the problem is. Need a gun that will actually fire the ammo.
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black
04/08/2012
By ,
Santa Ana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying the S&W M&P. Between comparing the FPS, clip size, weight and other feedback from several other websites it seemed like it would be a great choice. It hasn't disappointed. It easy to use, it has a smooth action and is as accurate as can be expected from a non rifled barrel. I just need to figure an easier way to load the clips, but it is certainly recommended to get extras of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Scaled Sized

06/05/2012
By ,
Federal Way, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great replica of full sized medium stock M&P 40. Not scaled to weight nor trigger action but still great for sight acquisition and trigger control training. Can be used with all holsters for the real pistol. Excellent training tool for presentation from holster, open carry or conceal carry. You can work on shooting on the move and multiple targets while shooting in the garage and save on ammo costs. Using only CO2 and no BBs can be used for reaction drills for gun disarming or avoidance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Good pistol for the price.

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking to try a CO2 pistol that didn't cost that much. This one fit the bill and closely resembles the S&W M&P 9mm that I own. With one CO2 cartridge I was able to fire 7, 19 BB clips (each losing verocity as I progressed due to CO2 pressure decreasing). The early clips had very good accuracy where I was able to hit a plinking target often from about 20 feet away. It's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

Looks and feels like the real thing.

08/25/2012
By ,
West Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol looks just like the real .40 cal counterpart. It is very accurate and will shoot several magazines of bbs on just one CO2 cylinder. If you like guns or just want to have some fun target practicing, you should consider this pistol. It is my first purchase of this kind and it has helped tremendously with my aim even when I use other guns. I highly recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Umarex Smith & Wesson M&P .177 BB Air Gun Black

POWER

03/04/2012
By ,
baltimore,md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun has a lot of power behind it,it has yet to jam and it's very light,smith and wesson is a name that everyone know's not a name no one know's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next