Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Smith & Wesson Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Smith & Wesson Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

The Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 pistol uses a 12-gram CO2 cartridge that can provide enough power for up to 50 shots. This semi-automatic CO2 pistol can reload the cartridge automatically after every firing. The Smith & Wesson CO2 pistol has a drop-free BB magazine that holds 19 steel airgun BBs. The double-action trigger, fixed front sight and rear sight's optic view are notable features of this semi-automatic BB pistol. The barrel of this double-action Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 pistol is held in place by a spring for robust performance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.986 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation83%57 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions | 171 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

S&W M&P CO2 pistol a greater performer/super buy

12/01/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I purchased the S&W M&P replica .177 cal. CO2 air pistol for my girlfriend, I did extensive research on the product (all of it for myself, earlier, actually), so I knew most of what to expect from the item. It did not disappoint--except for a BB being expelled from the magazine every time the mag was removed from the grip! Possibly a flawed magazine? (Or a flawed user?)
With the form factor and picatinny rail for accessorizing (laser or flashlight), the M&P quite precisely represents the real S&W M&P .40 cal semi-automatic. The sights: white front dot; two fiber-optic bright green rear dots (small) represented by a U-shaped factory insert. (The sights are not adjustable.) The safety is located on the right side of the gun, immediately above the trigger guard: You just use your index finger to push the lever forward for safe mode and slide it backward for shooting mode. Very easy and accessible.
Furthermore, the grip and feel of the M&P are superb, even for an average man's hands, and the 19-round drop-free BB magazine seems to be constructed of a heavy-duty polymer. Loading is easy and simple: The user just slides the spring catch-lever to the bottom and locks it down, into place. You then just load the 4.5mm BBs through the ovular, beveled entryway, holding the magazine upside down. Flipping the bottom-protruding spring activator shifts the lever into place, locking the BBs against the inside top of the magazine.
In addition, the CO2 cargo area is accessed by grasping the grip just below the slide--with the thumb and index finger--and pulling hard backward. The CO2 cylinder then is inserted into the bay, the bottom screw carefully tightened, and the exposing grip pushed hard forward, toward the trigger. (Snapping the grip back into place requires substantial pressure but is not difficult.) The pistol uses standard 12gm CO2 cylinders, and advertising claims that a single cartridge can generate 50 shots.
This air pistol is very accurate, and the muzzle velocity is rated at 480 fps. The latter is a tall order, but I have no comments either way about velocity measurement using a chronograph. (At the range using my .45 cal semi-auto recently, I rather offhandedly picked up the M&P, aimed, and--from just seven (7) yards--pumped two rounds into the inner circle of a one-foot-diameter target.)
My only criticisms are the expelling-BB issue upon magazine retrieval from the gun, and its VERY light weight--something like 1.1 or 1.2 pounds. (The package shipping weight is 1.5 pounds.) But for an air pistol of this overall quality and functionality (and at just more than $30), to my thinking, the S&W M&P .40 cal replica 4.5mm BB pistol--considering what it offers--is simply the best such gun on the market.
As a first BB shooter for a youth, I think this product is nearly unparalleled. For more experienced shooters who wish to benefit from a more-realistic range or plinking outing, I recommend something weighing about 1.5 to 1.7 pounds--and, preferably, one with realistic blowback (moving slide and some recoil). But you simply cannot lose with this M&P.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

OH YEAH!

05/25/2012
By ,
North East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a Blast. Got decent Power, I've killed more than a few snakes with mine(Got to Get the head Shot tho:). I've had it for ruffly 3 weeks, shot it around 6,000 times and Loving every shot. It's Plenty fast and Great Practice for shooting my larger caliber guns without making as much noise. Takes a little Practice to load the B.B. into the Mag Smoothly but after a Few Days You can pour them in like water. It has a few bad points..The Grip can pop off around the co 2 cylinder, easily Pops back on. The retention of the B.B. at the top of the magazine can Become weaker and will frequently spit a B.B. or ten out if Your not careful. 20 Shot Magazine(I Could stand an additional 60) is sufficient, I guess... These are small draw backs in Light of all the fun I have w this thing for the Price Wal Mart is asking. I Certainly Recommend it. Just Don't Shoot your Eye out. Happy Hunting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Good pistol for the price.

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking to try a CO2 pistol that didn't cost that much. This one fit the bill and closely resembles the S&W M&P 9mm that I own. With one CO2 cartridge I was able to fire 7, 19 BB clips (each losing verocity as I progressed due to CO2 pressure decreasing). The early clips had very good accuracy where I was able to hit a plinking target often from about 20 feet away. It's a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Buying another one

10/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having this for almost a week. My son has put close to 1000 bb's through it. The trigger takes a little getting use to. Kinda like the really m&p. He can hit an empty 20 gauge shotgun shell from over 30 feet. For the price it a great purchase. We have a crossman pistol also and it cost double this gun. The trigger on that one broken after a short time and the co2 was hard to load( we would loose half the gas ). The M&P loads the co2 easy and get about 60 strong shots off then starts to taper off. We like it a lot and I'm buy another .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Great Buy

03/26/2012
By ,
Chico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never jams co2 has never leaked and it is good for small game. Definitely worth the money spent some people say they get about 30-40 shots with 1 co2 tank but I'm getting close to 50 good strong hits so far. You should definitely buy more clips because those bbs go fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Clarkesville,ga
clips
Posted 08/02/2013
where did you get the clips i can't find them on walmart
0points
Customer Avatar
Question????
Posted 03/25/2013
Does this sweet gun have blowback action?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Very much worth the money

04/22/2014
By ,
Magna, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fires very well and accurate. Everything is molded in, the slide is fixed, and the only useable parts are the safety, trigger, and mag release. It is louder than expected so if you want to try to shoot in your backyard make sure your neighbors aren't uptight about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Super buy !

10/04/2011
By ,
Normal, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm extremely happy with this item. Have owned Daisy and Crosman and this one is better built more reliable and extremely accurate. Very impressed with the materials used to make this gun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+203points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

best pistol i ever owned

12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gun is fun accurate and deadly to small game like a rabbit or mice things i love it never jammed on me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black
04/08/2012
By ,
Santa Ana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying the S&W M&P. Between comparing the FPS, clip size, weight and other feedback from several other websites it seemed like it would be a great choice. It hasn't disappointed. It easy to use, it has a smooth action and is as accurate as can be expected from a non rifled barrel. I just need to figure an easier way to load the clips, but it is certainly recommended to get extras of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Scaled Sized

06/05/2012
By ,
Federal Way, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great replica of full sized medium stock M&P 40. Not scaled to weight nor trigger action but still great for sight acquisition and trigger control training. Can be used with all holsters for the real pistol. Excellent training tool for presentation from holster, open carry or conceal carry. You can work on shooting on the move and multiple targets while shooting in the garage and save on ammo costs. Using only CO2 and no BBs can be used for reaction drills for gun disarming or avoidance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

POWER

03/04/2012
By ,
baltimore,md.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun has a lot of power behind it,it has yet to jam and it's very light,smith and wesson is a name that everyone know's not a name no one know's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Looks and feels like the real thing.

08/25/2012
By ,
West Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol looks just like the real .40 cal counterpart. It is very accurate and will shoot several magazines of bbs on just one CO2 cylinder. If you like guns or just want to have some fun target practicing, you should consider this pistol. It is my first purchase of this kind and it has helped tremendously with my aim even when I use other guns. I highly recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Great CO2 pistol

05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm actually really satisfied with the purchased. Walmart had it for a lower price compared with other places. The shipping was store to store and came earlier than expected.
The gun has decent weight, good sights, and I like how the ammo clip drops down. 19 bb's in it and no problems at all. I can't say how long the CO2 lasts, but I'd say it goes to 80-100 bb's. It is double action, so it can shoot fast. It is also pretty accurate. It's a great gun and tons of fun. Just be careful where you shoot because it has power. One thing that I would recommend...the bb/pallet trap. It's a great way to aim and to not wonder where the bb's go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

gas pistol bb

04/13/2012
By ,
Suffolk, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I open the package as soon as I got it & loaded it with the gas cylinder & bbs & shot it several times & it was terrific. what it supposed to do so far it does it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Excellent Practice Pistol

09/23/2012
By ,
Harrisburg Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am extremely happy with the performance of this weapon. The accuracy is dead on and the firepower is amazing. The weight and size is great for anyone who wants a close as possible replica of a real pistol. Extremely easy to reload and I get about 8 clips per co2 cartridge. I would strongly recommend getting gun lubricant for the co2 cartridges because it makes everything a lot smoother. Overall a great gun Smith and Wesson definitely deliver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black
10/21/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good BB Pistol for the money, accurate at close range (30ft or less), I bought 2 extra magazines too prolong the fun until reload time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Good Quality Pistol

06/07/2012
By ,
Downingtown, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the prior reviews say it all, it is a quality product, easy to use and light weight. Perfect for target practice and the site is excellent. The price can't be beat - Thank you Walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Nice pistol....nice price.

10/27/2012
By ,
Hopwood,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research on pistols and this one kept coming to the top of it's class. Light weight,
excellent sight, easy to load and fire. The price at Walmart was very reasonable and I used the
"Site-to-Store" service when ordering.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Fires well...when it works

06/30/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my first CO2 pistol and I checked the reviews before I bought it and it seemed like a good gun, however, when I got it, I followed the loading instructions for the co2 capsule and the clip, but the gun wouldn't fire. I wasted about 5 capsules thinking that maybe it was just the CO2 I was having a problem with. I opened the gun up and tried to see what was going on (maybe something was out of place or missing), but the barrel would not come all the way off, so that made my job even more difficult. Eventually I managed to get the gun to fire, but now the clip won't stay in. I have contacted Umarex about this and the website says that they reply in two the three business days, but it has been 2 weeks without a word. Overall, I would say don't buy this gun, simply because of difficulty firing, and lack of support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Smith & Wesson M&P CO2 Pistol, Black

Excellent, powerful, lightweight pistol

03/30/2013
By ,
A galaxy far far away
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this pistol to better match my fiancé's colt defender which so far is the most well built, powerful, nice feeling co2 pistol that we own. The only drawback which is also a plus in the realism department is that it is almost as heavy as the real thing, which is why I got the m&p. one of the first things I look at is fps and though Walmart does not state it on their site, the m&p clocks in at 480 according to other sites and even if that is not always the case it definitely packs a punch. I is a nice looking gun, very light but heavy enough to add some realism, and the fiber optic rear sight only needs a slight bit of exterior light to illuminate enough to see in near dark conditions. Having had this gun for almost 4 months now and using it regularly with NO issues (I use pellgun oil with every cartridge nd shake the remaining bb out when I remove the clip) I would have paid much more and be happy. I highly recommend this gun as well as the colt defender. Both are superb. I also have the walther ppk as I am a huge bond fan and couldn't resist and thought this would be my favorite but it is very weak and cannot even penetrate a soft gel airsoft target which the m&p and colt defender blew apart. Get this gun and don let the price fool you, it is only so low because of the plasti frame which is crafted very nicely. If you aren't three years old or spastic this should not be a problem. Happy shooting
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next