Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for OUTDOOR PRODUCTS Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

OUTDOOR PRODUCTS Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

The Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit is must have for camping. It's easy to store and is lightweight.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation86%6 out of 7reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

Great

11/13/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good considering it was only 6 bucks or so. I could cook rice on it in a few minutes and it is fairly easy to clean.
Ideal for outdoors or hurricane emergency where you may not have power but have a camp burner stove.
Although I think I might actually cook more with it just to see how versatile it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

Amazing kit for so little cash!

08/03/2014
By ,
Midwest USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's be honest here - this is a lightweight aluminum kit. It is thin-walled and dents easily. Period.
But, I camp extensively and I have been using the same one for 18 years. I have bought several and given them to family & friends.
So, would I recommend it? Absolutely!
Do I use it? Almost constantly, usually every weekend or so.
Am I happy with it? It is a long-time friend when I camp.
Clean it, carry it, treat it with some care, and it will last.
The biggest drawbacks:
1. Plastic cup (can melt [mine did due to my fault])
2. limited capacity. You can easily boil the two cups of water needed for Mountain House meals if you use those, but that is about the capacity.
3. It dents easily. Then too I can easily push those dents back out, so not such a big deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

light weight alluminum set

05/24/2012
By ,
Joplin MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This a great single persons kit. I am happy i got it and am sure if I need to use it it will come in handy. I do know one thing that will help stop the darkening of the set if I polish the outside of the pots it should make it to where you can wipe the smoke staining off the pot if you use it over a open wood fire. I did notice the set is a little porus so doing this should keep the pores of the alluminum from clinging to the pots. also if you need to clean the pot some lemon juice or cream of tartar should help. ((for those who were worried about it looking dirty)) I got this for my bug out bag some of you might know what that is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

Practical & light weight

07/21/2011
By ,
Rutledge, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use mine on a Super Cat stove and the thin aluminum makes for a nice quick boil for 2 cups of water. The little black cup actually is a measuring cup. It packs up nice and tight making it easy to tote in my pack. I must say the down side is it blackens easy with no chance of removing the stains and dents easy which I really don't care but I am sure someone does. I find it convenient and practically. Does exactly what I need it to do. I wanted something light weight and cheap to cook & eat on with backpacking and that is exactly what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joplin MO
cleaning alluminum
Posted 05/03/2012
Here are some great tips for cleaning aluminum, including how to avoid discoloration.
•To protect aluminum cookware from discoloration, never wash it in a dishwasher or let it soak in soapy water for long periods of time.
•To remove interior discoloration, fill the pan with water, add 1 tablespoon cream of tartar or 1 tablespoon lemon juice per quart of water, and simmer until the discoloration is gone. Complete the process by scouring the pan with a steel-wool soap pad. Caution: Wear rubber gloves.
•Use a steel-wool soap pad to remove burned-on food on cast-aluminum cookware.
•Liquid nonabrasive bathroom cleanser or a paste of baking soda and water used with a synthetic scouring pad will polish both cast and sheet aluminum.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit

Hey, it's 6 bucks - go for it

01/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this up for a winter backpacking trip a couple days ago for $5.88. I was going solo and I was just looking for something to heat up a can of soup with so I could have a hot meal. It packs up very small and is also super light. It's all aluminum (except for the cup of course) so obviously I would not suggest cooking anything directly on the fire as food will stick to it and the metal will warp. It's perfect for heating up water or prepared foods over indirect heat but don't expect to be frying eggs or pancakes like the pictures on the box. Overall I got what I expected for the price and am satisfied, it held up well after the first use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit
01/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a good buy i am about to buy this i have had 1 before and it met my expectation 90% there is one downfall if you make something with noodles it sicks badly and takes forever to get off. there is something else the bottom of the pan gets black but it can be fixed by before use it put liquid soap on the bottomof it and it will get black so when u r done take a cloth and wipe the soap off oh and i lost part of mine that is why i am getting a new 1 so i recomend and it is a good buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Outdoor Products 5-Piece Mess Kit
07/18/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mine got dented easily and my scoutmaster told me that aluminum does not cook well suggestion dont get it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.