Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Convert and archive your favorite home movies to DVD is a simple task with Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder. You can also watch your favorite DVD and movie collection in near HD quality with the DR430's 1080p Upconversion via HDMI. The single disc DVD player playbacks and records in various formats like DVD+/-R/RW, CD-R/RW, VCD and SVCD which provides versatile compatibility. The single disc DVD player has 3D virtual surround sound Dolby digital output and MP3 decoding feature. A universal remote control with infrared technology comes along the DVD player. With one touch recording capability, the DVD player with USB port offers the perfect entertainment solution. It features a search speed of 5x, 2x, 20x, 40x and slow motion speed of 1/8, 1/4, 1/16, 1/3. The player supports digital audio standards like MP3 and LPCM while the recording modes are XP, SP, LP, EP and SLP.
Average Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(248 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
69
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation81%200 out of 247reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
69
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

It fulfilled my needs excellently.

12/23/2012
By ,
Northwest Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this unit for creating videos onto DVDs since VHS users are a vanishing species anymore. My immediate use was for creating an enhanced copy of my daughter's HS play for sharing with others. After making an SVHS master from two HI-8 camera tapes, improving the sound, and adding titles, I merely connected the VCR output to the DVD recorder using standard RCA cables and found no problem at all in making a copy to DVD-R disks. The manual is easy to understand and I used it for just a few things: To switch to the optimum time for recording, to find out how to finalize the disk, and how to create my own titles for each recorded segment.
The latter is the most tedious task, but it is nice to have the option rather than the default name.
I will of course use this to copy and archive older videotapes of non-movie origin. I will not use it in conjunction with a DVR, Cable/Satellite receiver, or anything considered "modern" regarding digital entertainment systems--so I cannot comment on such interfacing. It appears to be a great deal for the price, and the performance has been glitch-free. I was admittedly concerned with the reliability, in lieu of alot of reviews. I don't normally get an extended warranty on products, but I feel better with the nominally-priced 2-year Wal-mart offer just in case. They beat a major competitor's price on the DR430 by $32, and although I could have gotten one in-store locally that day, I saved alot by ordering from WM online and waiting just two days to get it. I would consider getting a second unit just for the heck of it. One more thing: Just don't lose or damage the remote, since most functions on this machine rely on it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Meets expectations

09/05/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using it with DVD -R media and it records TV programs easily and, at faster record speeds, the video quality is very good. The disc finalize process seems to go reasonably quickly. After discs are finalized they play on other DVD players and computers without difficulty. The instruction manual appears to be well-written and it does a good job of explaining how to connect and operate the DVD recorder.
This unit does have a slightly annoying problem. Each time I turn on the DVD recorder a message appears on the screen that says Unknown USB Device/File and to remove it. There is no device in the USB port so there's nothing to remove. The message goes away after about ten seconds and the unit works fine. I haven't tried using using the USB port to see if it works OK after that. I'm sure the warranty is a big hassle so I'm going to live with it.
Other than the USB problem, I've been happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+49points
Review 3 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Good recorder for the money

05/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is a good product but please, read the instructions carefully and then read them again. After that hook up the unit and follow the instructions to get started. I found using the quick guide in the middle of the book very helpful when I started recording. A word of caution. Not all brands and types of DVD discs will work in this recorder. If you read the booklet it does mention this fact and gives some suggestions as to disc type but you may still have to experiment a bit. I tried 3 different brands and types of discs, DVD-R, DVD-RW and DVD+RW before I found the Memorex DVD+RW 4X 4.7GB 120 min disc. That one works great and the finished product is very good even on a 4 hour recording. Overall I am very happy with this recorder and it is a good value for the money if you will take the time to read the instructions and do your part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 4 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very happy camper

06/07/2012
By ,
Panama City, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for my 6 year old Sunaii (nuff said!) which was constantly popping up "error-disc not recordable" messages despite using the recommended discs. Please use only discs recommended for this recorder, such as sony, jvc, verbatim, etc. DO NOT USE THE MEMOREX brand discs-you are just asking for problems. The player was very reasonably priced and looks good with my other electronics. The remote and menu are easy to use, and the recorder writes and finalizes very quickly. Discs take about 15 seconds to load but i believe this is normal with all dvd recorders. It came with a/v cords but my tv only accepts component and hdmi. I usually use hdmi anyway so no biggie there. My only real problem is with the recording mode timer lengths which are 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 hours but you can always manually stop recording and finalize yourself. I am just lazy and always automatically finalize at the end of timer recording. I only burn one movie per disc just to ensure i get the best possible quality. Also, the 3-year warranty is only 17 dollars. Get it! I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 5 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Love the features and ease of use

01/15/2014
By ,
Portsmouth, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read a number of reviews for this DVD recorder and for the most part they sounded okay. The price that Walmart offered this for was too good to pass up. The convenience of ordering it on line and picking it up at my local Walmart store to save on shipping charges was the icing on the cake. After about two weeks of using and enjoying this's DVD player to both play and record DVDs I am totally convinced I might the right decision all the way around. Even enjoy having the clock feature when the DVD is not in use. I knew ahead that I would not need an external tuner so that was really the only feature that could have been a concern but not for me. The ease of use allowed me to record quickly from my camcorder and create wonderful DVDs of my grand children. These will be wonderful gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 6 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great DVD recordercorder with the right features.

01/20/2012
By ,
Uehling, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the DR410 an earlier model to this one and loved it. I use it to to record TV shows and movies that I have on my DVR. It's an obsession I started a long time ago with VHS tapes. I loan the DVDs I've recorded to my parents to get them interested in a TV series that I tell them to watch because I know they're interested but always forget the time, day, or channel. Inevitably they like the show but are clueless on the back-story so then I loan them DVDs that include the whole season from the 1st episode and in some cases the entire series that spans several seasons. The quality is very good and I really like the HDMI output and up-conversion the unit provides. My only complaint or wish is that it included a HDMI input.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 7 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very good DVD Recorder

03/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is an excellent product that is easy to use and operate. Many users that have problems with the Toshiba simply use imcompatible DVD's; the type for your computer will not work in a DVD recorder. Also remember that this unit does not have a turner so you can only record the channel that is selected on your cable box, Direct TV, ect.
Pro's:
1. Easy setup and use
2. Makes excellent recording at all speeds and can be set to "auto" to ensure the best recording
Con's:
1. Remote is small and the buttons are not backlit
2. The remote is not universal
Overall this is an excellent unit for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Not according to description.
Posted 06/25/2013
Re: "...Many users that have problems with the Toshiba simply use imcompatible DVD's; the type for your computer will not work in a DVD recorder."
According to the Walmart description it records ALL formats.
"Recordable Media: DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, DVD+R"
So what are you talking about? Are you saying it DOES NOT record those formats? Those are what a computer would use too.
0points
Customer Avatar
Doubt in DVD Recorder World!
Posted 04/04/2013
I want to purchase this product in order to record my favorite shows from my DVR to a dvd to watch when I feel like it. However, I do not know if this is the right product to buy for what I want. I like to to go into the store and touch and see what it looks like. I don't think I will be purchasing this until I am absolutely satisfied it is guaranteed.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

A very good product for home recording

12/04/2013
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is a very good for home recording. My only complaint is the clock gains several seconds a day. Although this is not much, over several weeks, your start and end times will be off enough that you may miss part of the program you are recording. I have been setting the clock each time I record a program. This is a bother. Other than this issue, the deck is perfect. I would recommend it with this one caveat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 9 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

RE: All DVD Recorders -Warranty

01/24/2012
By ,
Jax., Fla
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my 4 th machine in 5 yrs. 3 other brands failed after 1 yr m.o.l. one was a JVC $300. I record 2 hrs/wk avg. I suggest you buy the Walmart 3 yr + mfg warranty, it's only about $25 on any machine up to $149 price. I expect to get a repair or the purchase price back in that time frame. So my cost per yr will be around $37 yr. This Toshiba has only been in-svc for a month (Jan 2012), it's no better or worse than any of the others. So 3 stars because I don't know how long I'll get out of it. AH! but I have 3yr warranty. I never buy extended Warranty, but my experience w/recorders vs $25 says this is way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Review 10 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great replacement for DVR membership fees!

01/20/2013
By ,
Waterloo, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this! It beats paying a membership for DVR and I still can catch all my shows. My only complaint would be that when you set it to record, you need to make sure that your disk has enough room for what you have set to record. If not, it won't record any of it at all. When it is time to turn on to record for preset recording it auto-checks for room on the disk for the length of time set to record and if there is not enough room, it shuts itself off and gives you no indication why your show didn't record. You have to figure that part out on your own. As long as you monitor the space available on your disk vs how much time you set to record, you should have no problems. One thing to remember... this does not have a tuner so if you don't have a dish service provider (dish network or direct tv) or an external cable tuner box you will need to get one or it won't work. I have dish service so not a problem for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very good value and quality, easy to use.

11/11/2013
By ,
Vancouver, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good option for transferring taped videos to DVD format. Easy to use, but has lots of features to enable more complex operations such as video editing. Would recommend to anyone having a collection of camcorder tapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 12 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Everything I needed

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit in January to record programs off of my Comcast DVR player so i could free up space and to have a permanent portable copy. Set-up was very straight-forward and stress-free, no glitches! I can record directly from the television or the DVR player with no issues whatsoever! Operation and controls are also logical and easy to follow. This unit cannot be beat for the money and no defects or problems as yet! Highly recommended!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 13 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

recorder

05/24/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this solely to transfer VHS to DVD. My first recorder arrived and I hooked it up and copied the first VHS without a hitch. The audio and video turned out as good as the tape itself. When I tried to burn the second home movie it quit working.
I returned the product and Walmart immediately sent me a replacement. So far, so good, I've copied about eight home movies to DVD without a problem. It would probably be wise to purchase an additional warranty, just to be safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Review 14 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very Minimal Complaints

12/24/2011
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for something simple to replace our dying VCR that would also be compatible with an older TV that doesn't have HDMI. We have satellite service and don't subscribe to DVR, so this was an excellent option for us. So far this recorder has served us well, and as long as you set it to a lower recording length (higher quality) just like you would a VCR, the picture is excellent. I really only have two complaints: for one, it's kind of noisy while recording, but not horribly distracting. And for two, we have to run it through both the old VCR and satellite box to use it, and we have to leave it on in order to be able to watch something on TV as it's shown. That wouldn't be a problem if it weren't for the fact that in order to get a timed program to start up, we have to turn off the recorder until it's time to start recording and it will turn itself on for that. This means that you can't just leave it on and have the timer set and know that it will start recording when it's time. Not sure why it has to be off in order to register the timer. This was kind of a surprise to us just because it seems unnecessary and the old way of recording on any machine has never seemed to necessitate that the unit be turned off in order to activate a timed recording. I mean, we can live with it to save the money on DVR, but it is a little bit of a nuisance. Overall though, if you're looking for something uncomplicated to just record your shows, this is a good recorder that's easy to figure out as long as you look at your manual, and I'm only moderately tech saavy...I figure most electronics out pretty quickly, but I'm not always completely informed about the most current technological advancements out there, if that gives you an idea of where I'm coming from saying it's easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Review 15 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

very good product overall....

06/15/2012
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite pleased with this recorder. Especially like that it uses both dvd-R and dvd+R discs. All my other recorders over the years have been just dvd-R, which is fine unless you buy the wrong product or are offered some free discs from a friend, which are the wrong format. Other thing I like it that it finalizes automatically when the disc is full! Only negative thing on this is the remote. The print on the remote is almost impossible to read. Looks washed out.
Overall, so far....I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 16 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Good price,Product works well.

04/08/2014
By ,
nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my Birthday almost a year ago and I've made over 120 DVDs movies ,So whenever i travel I got my shows for the kids and myself,its works great no problem so far .nice
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 17 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great value

12/25/2013
By ,
Southern region
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a good deal. Have only had it just over a weeK. Easy to operate. Been recording movies to DVD disc for the last two days and haven't even needed to read the manual yet. DVD recorded resolutions are not as crisp as the original HDMI images, but it's okay. If you're wanting to hook this DVD to a Direct TV Genie/cable box, you'll have to buy a special 10-pin adapter that allows you to tape the programs/movies you save on Direct TV to DVD discs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 18 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

A bit quirky, but does a good job

10/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only feature I don't like is: when you want to record in 1 hour mode it seems you have to use the timer, or stop the recording before it records over the one hour mark. Even if you tell it to record in XP (one hour) if you let it record over an hour it will auto adjust to a slower speed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+50points
Review 19 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great Product for the Price.

05/15/2014
By ,
Hartford, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't leave reviews but I felt I needed to for this item. I haven't leaned how to use all the features but what I have used meets my expectations. I have recorded shows off the tv with the DVR feature and it worked great. I have copied VHS tapes onto DVD's and the DVD's were better quality than the VHS tapes. Thanks Walmart for a great product at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 20 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

My son hasn't used it yet

10/18/2011
By ,
Ocala, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I almost brought it back after my son tried to hook it up and use it. It doesn't have Cable in and Out jacks. I called Toshiba and they said I had to have a set-top-box in order for the DVD to work. I was really disappointed. I had to get a digital cable box from Comcast which is going to cost me $8.00 more a month on my bill. I know he has used it to play DVD movies he gets from Red Box. I assume he will be able to tape tv stories whenever he gets around to trying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next