Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Crosman Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Add some firepower to your hunting pursuits with the Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle. The powerful and handsome break barrel gun can shoot with a pellet velocity of up to 1,200 feet per second. The break barrel air rifle features an all-weather stock with ambidextrous design that allows both right-handed and left-handed people to use it with equal effectiveness. It also has a two-stage, adjustable trigger that can help in precise shooting with a considerably reduced number of accidental shots. The pellets in the 177 caliber air rifle are fired away by the action of a spring power source. The barrel has a micro-adjustable rear sight and fiber optic front sight to help you precisely point at your target. At 6.02 pounds the Crosman pellet gun is of optimal weight, allowing you to carry it around comfortably.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%65 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 207 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Well Worth It

05/20/2012
By ,
Parts Unknown
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off you need to break this gun in. The 1st ten shots will sound like a .22 rimfire, that's from the oil coating in the barrel making the pellet go supersonic so don't return it thinking it's too loud. If you shoot the lead free pellets it will sound like a real gun. The lead free's will do 1200+ FPS. This gun is pellet sensitive. Out of 5 shots 3 would be bullseyes and 2 would be flyers all the time. I was going to return the gun until I tried the RWS green tin pellets that Walmart sells online. WOW! Huge difference! This gun is deadly now. All 5 shots now touch @ 15 yards.This is a keeper for sure. I have the factory 4x30 scope on mine and it works just fine. If you take the stock off the rifle you'll see a small slot where the piston spring sits. If you can get something like a long Q Tip that's flexible,coat the inside of the spring tube with white lithium grease.That will give you less friction and more years to your spring. Go around and Loctite every screw because they will work free. This gun packs a powerful punch and will take out small to medium game with one shot. I've killed 4 squirrels with 4 shots. Well worth the money. I'd like to get another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Over 25,000 pellets and stil kickin

10/06/2011
By ,
N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive got too many air guns this one was the least expensive but its my favorite .177 springer after well over 25000 pellets I mean thats only 50 tins of 500 and I shoot daily the spring broke. Having these problems with other frequently seasoned ,used guns I pandered buying another but wanted to keep thiis one so I contacted crosman customer support at crosman .com and got a new mainspring delivered for around $15.00 yup $15.00 and now shes ready for many more shots, This is a smooth well made chinese rifle the more ya shoot it the beter it gets if I didnt know better Id think she was made in the usa but she is made by u.s specifications and a real good gun .still shoots over 800 fps with 8 gr pellets accurate and kills whatever varmit she sees. I doubt anyone else will shoot that many rounds so shes a keeper
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Competition quality / low cost with this set up.

05/05/2012
By ,
Lilburn Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this gun and installed a Bushnell 4 x 32 Multi-X Rimfire Scope, Black Matte #762243 for $29.27 also from Walmart this scope came with rings and fit perfect on the gun weighing only 10oz with easy installation, I torqued the base knobs to 20 inch lbs and the ring screws to 20 inch lbs. Also purchased the Gamo PBA Raptor Power Pellets 100 pack for $11.97 these pellets are gold plated and give you an increase FPS of around 25% more which should put you at 1600 FPS, not sure because I haven't put it on a chronograph it yet. It will consistently pop a dime at 60 ft with plenty of power. (Trigger is adjustable I set to 2.5 lbs)
Total of $129.37 including tax all purchased from Walmart free shipping to your store
Gun $84.80
Scope $31.88
Pellets $12.69
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Powerful Pellet Gun, Excellent Value

12/13/2011
By ,
Azle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had no idea the power the Crosman Phantom 1000 can produce, it can hold quarter size groups @ 25 yds. I'm using a Simmons 3x9x32 rifle scope, not rated for a spring piston pellet gun, not sure if it can hold up to the re-coil . I had to purchase spring piston air rifle scope mounts, the re-coil would eventually make the scope slide completely out of the dove tail grooves .
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Excellent Product

05/29/2012
By ,
SGT M Jones
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put a Bushnell 8X scope on it with mounts I had from a Beeman pellet gun I previously owned (wood stock broke in half). This rifle is much better quality and accuracy is very good. Most of the birds I shoot are around 30 yards out. Great power, and with the scope I can drill nails with it.
Very pleased with this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Fantastic price.. works great

01/09/2012
By ,
selden
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two cheaper ones and they both broke...
This site sold those cheaper ones and they were fair and took em back and returned my money.
I bought this one and it feels and weighs like a real rifle. I can shoot at targets from my from yard to my back yard.. 3/4's an acre and the pellet hits the back fence like a donkey kick.
My goal is to scare away Squirrels going in my attic and it works... the thump and bang of that pellet against any tree or roof tile sends them running. I could easily put one of em down with one shot but I am trying not to do that.
The sight is deathly accurate. Its designed well and looks like a 22 rifle.. if you stepped out your front door holding this people might think you have a much more threatening self defense weapon. Actually this weapon would help you defend yourself even though that's not what its intended for.
I like the power, the accuracy and the safety features this rifle has. And it looks good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
11/19/2011
By ,
Bellevue, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this gun thinking lighter is good. I found that heaver gun is better when shooting spring piston. I am shooting this gun mostly at only 15 feet, I shoot it in my garage to a duct seal pellet trap. The gun can hit a tack at 15 feet with open sights. Only thing is I can't get 10 shoots to hit inside of 2 inches. The gun has put 3 shots in a tight group. The issue could be with the shooter or the pellets.
The sights on the gun are plastic. I have better luck with them than the scope. I have not noticed any issues with the sights drifting. Even after over 500 rounds. Though the clicks on the elevation are a bit light as I am shooting extra close.
This gun does shoot over 1,000 feet per second with high speed pellets. A loud crack happens when they are shot. The gun is quite enough that the neighbors have neglected to call the cops so far. I don't shoot the high speed ammo in town.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

For the price, Awesome rifle

01/04/2012
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this up on sale for $59. I previously bought a Gamo Whisper Deluxe for over $160 but returned it because of some major issues. Decided to try the cheaper Crosman since I wouldn't be using this all day everyday and it was more in my budget.
I couldn't be happier with the purchase. It shoots well and accurate and for $59 or even $89, it is probably the best air rifle for the price out there on the market.
The bad things about it are a somewhat crummy trigger, although I am getting used to it. The rear sight is very dissapointing. It's weak and chinsy and looks like if you flicked it with your finger, it would break off. It's a little loud, but not louder than most spring air guns.
I have about 500 shots through mine and can hit a golfball size targer 75% of the time at 20 yards. Forget buying the one with the scope included, and buy yourself a good 3-9x32 UTG Leapers for $50 (40mm may not fit this rifle).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

The best Break Barrel .177 Rifle for so Low

07/02/2011
By ,
Abbottstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just today July 2, 2011 I brought from my Loco Walmart Center in Hanover, PA 17331 I watch from almost a two months on Pyramind Air and Crosman Sites.
The technical description for this Rifle in the so low $78 - $82.00 going over my head.. and design to go for today.
Well.. since unpack and mount Center Point my Scope begin setups with the (Zeros).
It took me 5 shoots to get the 100% pure Center in the 55 Foot distance..
The first shoot to test for power overhelming.. shoot the House Downspout and the Crosman Destroyer going thru.. Unbelievable!
This .177 cal break Barrel beat all the even more expensive other brands with the high quality and solid workmanship and used materials..
I'ts my best of all 7 other CO2 & Pump Master Rifles I own for years.. and are very accurate in shooting even without Scope mounted.
The Front Fiber optic and the Rear Site with adjust the wind & level do the job just fine!
In 35 foot distanse a Nickel Coin hit right in the center going thru.. believe?
Pretty nice Rifle for small Hunting as well on my backyard!
So go for and never will feels sorry in particule for such low price before it gone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Nice air rifle for the price

09/01/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Crosman Phantom at my local Walmart. I setup a shooting station in my garage which consisted of a camera tripod and folded towel to steady my shot, and a stool to sit on. I put a paper target on a phonebook 13 ft from my stand. I shot five each of the Camo redfire pellet, and the Crosman Premier hollowpoint. With my $7 dollar Crosman 4x15 scope mounted, I began testing the grouping at 13 feet. As I've read in other reviews and on Youtube, the first few shots went supersonic. After everything settled down, I got consistant groupings of less than a .25 inch. Some shots went into the same hole. I also checked the phonebook for penetration. The shots all went 2.5 inches deep into the book. I got about the same results with both the redfire and the hollowpoints at 13 ft.
Long range testing still needs to be done, but I think from reviews I've seen on Youtube, that the Phantom will live up to my expectations as far as power and accuracy.
The rifle has a solid feel, and is heavy. In my opinion it could stand to lose some weight. Actually its heavier than a Remington 1100 12 gauge I used to have. The bluing is nice and uniform, and it has an overall nice look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

great gun

07/19/2011
By ,
newark oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this gun is the real deal- its not the cheap plastic BB Guns you see everywhere. it feels like a 22 riffle and meets its velocity promises with ease. Great Gun
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+209points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Amazing power for a gun at this price!

11/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been shooting air guns since I was 10...since I'm 61 now I'd like to think I have experience...this is the best I have ever used by a wide margin. I was shocked to find a a loud report after every shot. (Crossman ssp ammo). Even with darts a satisfactory report and recoil results. Accuracy is improving with every shot...this is normal...almost all weapons take at least 100 shots to seat everything in. I am truly impressed with the quality of workmanship on a gun priced so low. Thank you crossman! You've done the world of air gunners a great favor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Crosman Phantom 177 Break Barrel Air, Good buy.

01/23/2014
By ,
Ocala, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this pellet gun because I was being over run by squirrels.
Makes a very loud bang and made me jump 3 feet. Sounds like a 22 cal long rifle or louder.
I know about real weapons and what they can do, but this is my first air rifle.
I sighted the rifle in and could get a grouping of 5 shots in a 3 inch circle. About 50 feet away. Not to bad for a 75 years old and a little shaky.
The rifle is heavier than I thought it would be but still a good buy.
At first it took me two hands and my body to brake the barrel to load the pellet.
I used my body to hold it still. But after a few times I could finally break the barrel with just my two hands. I'm very satisfied with the performance of the weapon.
Note, This is not a toy. Don't buy this gun for a young person. To hard to operate.
I bought the pellets that the rifle manufacture recomended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Excellent air rifle for the price

08/16/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This air rifle packs a significant punch for its very reasonable price. Lower weight pellets certainly break the sound barrier, as evidenced by the loud crack heard when firing. I've intentionally gone with a heavy pellet (10.5 gr Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum) to avoid this. It is a great rifle for target shooting, plinking, and hunting crows and small animals. Very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lagrange, ohio
Accurate And Quality Feel
Posted 01/02/2012
I bought this Gun for my Grandson for Christmas and soon discovered this is a very accurate gun with a solid well made feel. We topped it with a new cheap .22 rifle scope I had for another gun and after about 75 shots it was shooting tight 1" groups up to 30 yards. I let my youngest 9 year old Grandson try cocking it ( with close supervision by myself ) and he was able to by putting the butt on the ground and point the barrel away from himself. This is a very powerful gun so I feel any young people should be supervised closely. Could not resist this after seeing the big price drop by Walmart on line about 2 weeks before Christmas. In fact after seeing the gun I wish I had ordered one for myself because the price is back up by about $25.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

For the price..well worth it!

07/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
POWERFUL gun for the price!! Only bad thing is it needs time to be broken in for the cocking mechanism(break barrel) to be easier..oil it good! Definitely a good buy here!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Posted 01/17/2012
Check to be sure the barrel screw isn't to tight. You want it just tight enough so the barrel can't move side to side, but no more. When cocked, break the barrel, if it can drop down under it's own weight then you're good.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

A great buy indeed. Powerful

09/02/2011
By ,
Puerto Rico,USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Need time to get use to it. After shooting CO2 and PUMP action airguns for years, the KICK of the powerplant is something different. My last Crosman break barrel was a long time ago(45 yrs to be correct). But this is a lot more powerfull. I grew up with Crosman and to have in hand such power from a spring airgun is incredible. My pest problem is gone for good! rats,mice,pigeons,swallows, you name it and it will take car of it with a good aim!! Head shots are the best. Get some TARGETS to practice the KILL points.I am ussing 177 pointed hunting pellets. The only change I will do is the sights. Specially the rear one. I am affraid it will break.But looks can be desseaving. Will see! Recomended 100% compare to more expensive ones with less power.You can't loose;) Wait in line and watch the site to get yours. Happy Airgunning!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Good bang for the buck (but not for hunting buck)

03/04/2012
By ,
atlanta, ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this gun a few weeks and have only shot at a target at about 25 yards. Using the existing sight (rear sight is cheap plastic as others have remarked), I could stay pretty consistent inside a 4 inch circle ... just so happens that mine is a bit high and to the right. Within about 50 practice shots, and five or six sight adjustments, was closer to 2 or 3 inches pretty consistently. 1200 fps? I couldn't tell you. Noisy? not too bad. A little crack, but no complaints from neighbors so far. I'm using crossman lead pellets right now and they seem to work fine. Some have recommended a scope and I plan to get one ... there is a silver Barska for about 26 bucks on Wal mart.com that has good ratings. I may get back to y'all when I've installed and used the rifle with the scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Money well spent.

11/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a VERY GOOD gun right out the box - and can be made into a GREAT gun for a little more money. Build quality is excellent and it's very powerful (and gets quieter after break-in). I've read a few reviews complaining about the trigger, but I don't really have a problem with it. The pull is fairly long, but it's not that bad once you get used to it. If it really bothers you, you can buy an upgraded trigger for about $30 (can be found multiple places online). The plastic sights are on the cheap side (as is the price of the gun) but they work just fine. Again... it they really bother you, buy a cheap 4x scope for around $30 and bolt it on. Bottom line: For the money, it can't be beat - and with a little work it can be as good as guns costing MUCH more. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle

Great pellet rifle,great price, horrible shipping.

01/09/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Crosman Phantom performs like a gun more than twice it's price. No reason to spend over $200 on a 1000FPS springer when you can pick this one up for less than $100.
My only complaint was with Wal-Marts shipping... they just ship it in the box it comes in. No outer box. Gun got pretty beat up in shipping... including damage to the sights.
Thankfully my local Wal-Mart was willing to swap them out for me... so no harm, no foul.
If you buy one I suggest site-to-store until they fix their shipping issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Crosman Phantom .177 Break Barrel Air Rifle
11/29/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This pellet gun is relatively inexpensive. However, it shoots great. It has plenty of speed and is accurate enough out to 40 yards. If you dont want to break the bank and want to have fun taking care of small varmints this will get it done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next