Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zebco Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Zebco Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Whether fishing for fun or for sport, the Zebco Spincast Reel, 33, will help you get the job done. The reel features a 3.3:1 gear ratio, and all the gears are made from metal, adding to its long-lasting durability. With 7,130 yards of 10 lb mono line included, casting in either deep open waters or from the bank will not be a problem. The fishing line and gears are fully protected by a stainless steel cover, and it has dual pickup pins that provide powerfully consistent performance. With auto-bite alert for quick reeling and a one ball-bearing drive and drag system that offers excellent line control and movement, the Zebco reel will make sure you get your catch. It also allows left- and right-handed retrieve so that it accommodates all users. The push-button casting and dual ceramic features of the reel make it easy to operate, even by young fishermen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation75%12 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Great little Spin-cast

10/07/2011
By ,
Faison,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used these ever since they hit the market, great for light to medium freshwater fishing. They are great for beginners and are good little reels for a day's fishing at the pond or lake. I use them all year long pan fishing. They are easy to use and smooth to wind and have a good drag for a spin-caster. They will last several years with care and maintenance. Zebco quality has slipped over the past few years, but the 33 is still a good reel for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Best closed-face reel made in the USA.

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the thrid Zebco 33 I've bought. The first was purchased in 1968, and I still use it.
The next one I gave as a present to my nephew in 1972 (still in use).
If anything, this most recent reel is the smoothest so far.
I also like that it is pre-spooled with good quality line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Great reel!

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered through ship to store. Arrived at store crushed. Good thing is Walmart called me right away told me reel was crushed and they had credited my card. Great service from Walmart, saved me a trip to store. I have another reel like this one and it is great. This one was for another rod.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Zebco 33

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had several Zebco 33 reels...all of which performed flawlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Good bang for the buck

04/21/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I own two of these newer 33's. They've both been very reliable, smooth operating, and
problem free.
I have several older 33's, and think these are close to being on par with their quality.
Some asthetic issues I don't personally care for compared to the older ones, but I do like
the ease of changing to left hand retrieve since I'm a lefty.
Time will tell if they can make it several decades,lol.
I will add this.
I never cared for pre-spooled reels. I know that should save you money, but regardless who's
brand line it is, it has always caused me problems. I prefer to re-spool all my reels with fresh.
If you really want to use the factory line, do this:
1)Remove the spool, and soak in a bowl of hot tap water, until the water cools.
That will help re-set/limp the the factory "coily" line. Make it less likely to knot up.
2)Remove several arms lengths of line. Both new ones I purchased were clearly over lined, which leads to wrap-ups. Something I learned as a kid.
3)Apply new oil to the mechs.
4) Dont exceed 12lb test line, or .014(just personal experience).
Also, buy a decent rod! A good 6+ft medium action with a fast tip.
Something you can work with!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

red cast line

01/22/2014
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
most of the problems with this reel is the red cast line. zebco cajun line comes in red cast, lightning, and advantage. i only use lightning, and advantage. advantage is a copolymer and is there best line. you can buy all of these in a clear version. zebco say's the red line is hard for fish to see under 3 feet of water, but i am not sold on them yet. there is alot of good fishing line out there, trilene, suffix, stren, spider wire just a few, my problem with these new reels is how easy the covers can come off. if the line is not broken then the front cover is okay, but if the back comes off and falls in water, then it's lost. the older reels had a lock screw to prevent this. to day every thing is about money, and now zebco has a new 2014 33 reel so , is it better. i can only say time will tell. i still have 3, 33 reels that i have had for 45 years and i still use them, they have USA on them. go to zebco.com to see the new 2014 33's you may want to wait. one trick i used was silacon sealent to glue the back covers on between servicing. this does not glue them permanently.
good fishing,
crawfishbill
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

worth every penny

03/23/2014
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best reel for the price far casting and smooth brought in a 10lb channel cat with this reel. Some reviews talk about lines braking tangling one thing I learned years ago never use the line that comes with the reel there cheap. I would have gave 5 star if it did not have that red pull apart line in it. Just buy a small spool of fishing line. I myself like spiderwire it don't cost to much and works very well. any will do and you will see just how great this reel is have used it many times with no issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

terrible reel

06/03/2012
By ,
Cookeville, Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having owned a Zebco 33 reel as a kid, I purchased two for my sons in April. One reel has already been disassembled and repaired. The other is now useless. The line becomes entangled in the gear mechanism and there is no easy way to untangle. Lasted four trips. Also, the gears are very cheaply manufactured and strip if you catch a fish of any size. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Iberia La.
33
Posted 09/14/2012
I bought two of theses to fish my pond with I got 30min out of one & 1hr out of the other one! Im 47 I still have the 33s I used as a kid!!! The new ones are junk!!!!!!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel
11/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
falls apart while casting far cry from the 33 of years past zebco has lost a customer
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Central Illinois
Worthless reel.
Posted 04/14/2013
I had the same problem with this reel falling apart. What a waste of money. Cheap junk from what used to be a great manufacturer.
0points
Customer Avatar
ZEBCO 33 REEL
Posted 05/03/2012
If you like to work on reels by the lake, this is it. Worst I've ever owned. The old 33 of the past days was a good reel, too bad about the new.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel
07/21/2011
By ,
Soper Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one of very few reels that could be used to catch everything from panfish to 10lb bass
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel
09/04/2012
By ,
Okc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same old reliable reel as when I was A kid
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Not satified

04/30/2013
By ,
Laurinburg,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zebco use to be a name one could trust but the reels today DO NOT have the same quality as of old.I bought two 33 reels.On one the line was very poor quality,the line would break just when casting,the other reel when i would try to cast the line would always catch on something inside the cap.Ended up taken them both back and buying 2 reels by another make. Zebco what has happen to your products over the years, very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

THE CAJUN LINE IS THE PROBLEM

05/25/2013
By ,
Savannah, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My mom is mid 70s, fishes ALL the time and this is her reel of choice. BUT she DOESN'T like that it now comes with the CAJUN LINE. That's the problem, not the reel itself. The cajun line tangles inside the reel and breaks easily.
I have looked everywhere for a Zebco 33 without the cajun line and cannot find one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
texas
grace stop looking
Posted 01/23/2014
just change the line , i use trilene xl and sufix,pline.stren makes good line.trilene big game
berkley also makes solutions a new line you need spinning for spincast.sufix tritanium,and pline cxx cost a little more,these are very strong and are used by pro.trilene makes alot of good lines, you won't be disappointed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel

Total junk

05/02/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible value for money. I bought this thinking it would be as good as the Zebco 33 reels from decades past. The action on this reel is so bad it won't cast at all if you have less than several hundred feet of like installed. At that volume, the line tangles up inside the reel. Complete garbage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zebco 33 Spincast Reel
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5