Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Rid your house of dirt and help keep it neat and tidy with the Dirt Devil 9.6V Gator Hand Vac (BD10085). It features powerful 9.6-volt suction technology that provides a quick and easy clean-up. The Dirt Devil cordless hand vacuum is easy and convenient to operate and it is portable and lightweight. You can use it anywhere around the home without being limited by cord length. And, thanks to the built-in crevice tool, you can get to those tight, hard-to-reach spaces under the fridge and cupboard. The item has an attractive red body and has a bagless design. It features a flip-open dirt cup that allows you to empty out the contents without getting your hands dirty. This battery- operated vacuum cleaner includes a charger and charging cord.
Average Customer Rating:
3.305 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
20
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation58%67 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
20
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Great for the car!

12/04/2012
By ,
Penfield, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep my brand new car looking that way on the inside. I leave it charging by the back door and use it on my entire interior carpet and seats a couple of times a week. The extension is great to get between the seats and the pedals. Suction is great! For the price it is excellent value and I am ordering another one for my dad's car today.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Works ok- but battery doesn't hold a long charge

09/27/2012
By ,
Gainesville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I owned this unit about a year now and I bought it because my corded hand vac gave out after 10 yrs. I guess I expected too much from a cordless vac. Don't get me wrong it works good and has good suction as I primarily use it to keep the cat litter picked up around my cats litter box- but the battery doesn't hold a long charge... I can use it 3-4 times and its only for a few minutes and it then has to be charged? Wow, I thought it would go alot longer than that. It's nice not to have a cord in my way but I don't like having to recharge it so often. For those looking for a new filter as many people seem to be looking for one, you have to go to the Dirt Devil web site and buy one for $4.27 but of course as of this date-- they are out of stock. So next I recommend to Google it and see if anyone else sells the filter. My final thoughts are I just wish they would make a better battery!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Good Vacuum, but not easy to find filter.

08/18/2011
By ,
Waco, TX.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vac a few weeks ago. It did a good job up untill I needed to replace the filter. I went to two different wal-marts to find the filter. Did not find. Went on walmart.com, did not find. Went to dirt devil.com, found it, but it was out of stock.
If you are going to sell a vacuum in your store you should sell the filters that go with it. And make them readily avaliable. Because this vacuum is pretty worthless just setting in my cabinet.
Pros: Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Cons: filters hard to find.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bentonville, Ar.
Link to Filter on Amazon
Posted 12/02/2013
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0046EFEMU/?tag=googhydr-20&hvadid=30006587487&hvpos=1t2&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=12495051761777782441&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&hvdev=c&ref=pd_sl_7iedcdpd4d_b
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Great for cat litter!

03/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a handy little vacuum that I use to collect loose cat litter around the boxes... I was tired of having to empty my bag vacuum all the time, so this is a very nice alternative that I can empty out before doing my heavy duty vacuuming!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Great Little Machine

12/29/2010
By ,
Pearland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vac works great. I used the pullout crevice tool to clean my steps and all around the baseboards in my house. I was amazed at how much fur(two cats) and dirt it picked up. It works as well as a normal sized vac. I bought it since my full size vac came without tools. Well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Junk! Won't suck and filter stays filthy.

03/19/2013
By ,
Courtland, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a nice hand vac that would suck up what I sweep off the floor. Fine if it's dust, but if there's a small rock bigger than 1/4 inch, forget it. You'll have to bend down and pick those pieces up. I've never run the battery out, so it must stay charged well. However, I was disappointed it didn't come with any kind of wall-mount charger like my old hand vac. Finally, the side buttons that open the dust cup are convenient. Now if only the filter would allow the dirt/hair/dust to fall out. You have to reach your finger up in the cup to clean it out. Any hair that gets vacuumed up, stays in there and holds everything in there with it. Totally worthless. I wish I had returned it the first week, but I don't have the receipt/box anymore and I'm too cheap to just throw it away. I hope I accidentally leave it out, so my kids break it and I can buy a new one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Battery Died

06/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this dustbuster for three days and it will no longer hold any charge at all! Do not buy this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Not enough suction power

12/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Did not pick up much from rug but works better on messes other than rug.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Filters easily obtainable online

12/01/2013
By ,
Chicagp, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Uses F38 Filters - available starting at $2.75 online via 3rd party
Those complaining about filters aren't looking very hard.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Small but powerful.

08/15/2014
By ,
Hialeah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is amaizing how powerful is this Hand Vac,I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Love it!

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little vacuum it comes in very handy in the car for road trips and things like that or around the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085
06/13/2012
By ,
Shaker Heights, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product, and powerful for hand-held device.
Would recommend for light cleaning: I use it for cleaning cat hair off the furniture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

The kids love it too!

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It picks up things real well and it's light enough for the kids to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Battery won't charge after 6 months

07/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a disposable handheld vacuum. Battery won't hold a charge after 6 months of ownership. It's garbage - don't buy it.
Recommends this product? No
From DirtDevil07/31/2014
Hi bonbuttercup! This is not good to hear. We strive for quality products and owner satisfaction. We want to further assist. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com Thank you.

-Giselle
Dirt Devil Customer CareDirtdevil
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

WONT STAY CHARGED

10/15/2014
By ,
cocoa fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this not even a year ago. It worked great at first then it stopped charging. I moved it to another outlet to see if that help. Red light came on then went off within minutes. Looks like Ill be buying a different brand...DON'T BUY!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
From DirtDevil10/17/2014
Hi Carolinagirl64,
We are sorry to hear about your troubles with your hand vac. Please remember to charge it 24 hours to get a full charge. If it still shuts down after only a few seconds, please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com so we can provide further assistance. Thanks! --John, Dirt Devil Customer CareDirtdevil
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

very disappointed

02/26/2011
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this to replace an old hand vac that didn't have great suction. This does NOT hold it's charge long at all. I can barely get through one room before I need to plug it back in again. I have followed the manual for charging (which is vague at best) and still cannot get the performance I was hoping to have. Will not buy a cordless hand vac from Dirt Devil again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

Go with what's proven!!!

04/14/2012
By ,
St. Charles, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a ***** * ******* brand handheld vac which lasted fairly well and did the job adequately, however, was old enough that it wouldn't hold a charge. Hence, the DD 9.5V GATOR. From what I've used it so far, great little tool. I understand this is only an appliance for very small vacuum jobs and have an upright as well for what this one cannot do. Too many people believe this tiny vac is all they need to clean their homes with, that's not very CONSERVATIVE thinking..... If you have to re-sod a football field, you gonna use sod or plant individual seeds?!?!?! This little machine is perfect for the job it was manufactured to do. Semper Fidelis
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

does the job

01/26/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought item to clean small messes in bathroom. Does the job but seems to lose power if using for longer than 10-15 mins. I'm satisfied because kids use to clean their own mess up. Its quite a delight to see my 4y.o. walk around cleaning his snack spills after eating.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085

This little vac has surprising power for it's size

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was totally surprised by the powerful vacuum this machine produces. I use it almost daily for cleaning where a larger vac would be too clumsy.
The only fault I can find is that filter F38 for this vacuum is no longer stocked, so I would use caution in areas where the filter would become clogged and not cleanable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Gator 9.6V Cordless Handheld Vacuum, BD10085
02/02/2013
By ,
LaFayette, ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is a great little vac. but as stated in previous reviews stated you can't find a filter for them anywhere. So now its useless sitting the bottom of my storage closet. i used to use it 3 to 4 times a week but now i can't.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 78 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next