Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meco Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Meco Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Ready for outdoor use or for camping, the Meco Lock N Go Electric Grill comes with an interlocking bowl and hood with a cool handle for easy transportation. The Meco electric grill has double hooded vent for better air flow and temperature control. It features a 1650 watt heating mechanism that can be adjusted according to the cooking requirement. The grill features a removable grate that allows you to clean it easily one you are finished with the cooking. Made ideally for outdoor usage, the electric outdoor grill will work beautifully with an standard power outlet. This portable electric grill has a cooking surface of 176 square inches. With so many exciting features, this is probably the best electric outdoor grill youll ever buy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.915 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation81%38 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Works OK if used correctly...

08/17/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, Walmart's price and service were great. It was delivered to the house cheaper than I can drive to the store...it arrived ahead of schedule...nice.
The major limitation on this electric grill is the lower heat output. A 120v outlet is limited to around 1600w which is about 5500 BTU/hr. Propane and coal typically put out much more. 1600 W is enough, but you have to work on keeping the temperature up inside by keeping the lid on. The more you lift the lid, the more it will cool down. If you are the type that will constantly lift the lid to fret that the food isn't cooking fast enough, this grill isn't for you. Don't get me wrong, this thing will get hot, so for some foods, you might want to turn down the heat for slower cooking.
So here is what I have found that works for me to keep it hot:
1. Pre-heat on high for 10 minutes
2. Keep the heat in - keep the lid on.
3. QUICKLY put on and flip food....when the lid is off, it cools fast.
4. Try to shield the grill from breezes because this will cool it down too.
Some complain about the difficulty accessing the drip pan. If you mount the heating element loosely by tightening the lock nut by hand and then an extra turn, it will allow you to lift the element and pan out of the way and access the drip pan without undoing anything. Some people may not like the element being somewhat loose but it stays in place for me. Just make sure the nut is to the outside so the nylon in the nut doesn't melt.
Overall, if you can work around the grill's limitations, the convenience of electric is great and will allow you to BBQ where the fire marshal outlaws coals and propane. I am still wondering if it will work OK when the weather gets cooler....we'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill
08/10/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product for the price and one person grilling. Easy to put together but the electric element does not fit into the reflector pan correctly. Therefore, half of the grilling surface is very close to the food and half is the correct distance. I am happy with the grill....it heats up quickly and cools quickly. Use some grill & smoke seasonings and you will not know your food was cooked on an electric grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Nice Electric Grill

04/05/2011
By ,
Lakeland, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed this type of grill because my apartment complex will not allow gas or charcoal grills on balconies. This grill was pretty straight forward concerning assembly. It sits nicely on a small outdoor end table and has plenty of cooking space. So far I have cooked chicken, steaks, and a pork roast on it. All of which turned out well. The grill gets very hot when needed and can also slow cook at lower temps. The only negative I have is the amount of time Walmart took to ship it site-to-store, 10 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Electric Grill

04/07/2011
By ,
in Az.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing wrong with the way this product is designed is the way you have to take it apart to clean the grease pan and drain tray.
Other than that it is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
French Village
Great little grill
Posted 04/22/2012
I agree it is hard to clean the greese trap, but I have had a grill full of burgers on it, and it cooks just fine. My element fits right nicely in the pan and is the same distance away from the grill on all sides. All in all it's a great little grill, and a good price also.
0points
Customer Avatar
California
Easily corrected
Posted 08/17/2011
The secret (not clearly described in the instructions) is to not fully tighten the screw into the lock-nut that mounts the element. Experiment and tighten the screw as much as you can while still allowing you to move the element and pan out of the way to get to the drip pan. I suppose some may not like the idea that the element is not clamped rigidly in place, but it works for me. Make sure the lock-nut is on the outside of the unit or it might melt the nylon locking insert in the nut.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Works--Prefer charcoal or propane

05/23/2010
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as advertized. But can't compete with charcoal or gas. Cooks fine, drains fat, does a fine job. Chicken and fish taste great--But does not sear the meat.
When you live in an apartment you have to make sacrifices. So I can still grill and not get evected.
Trying wood chips--been told it helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Surprising!!!

06/07/2010
By ,
Hull, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product arrived in record time and was easy to track. The service provided by Walmart at the store for pickup was outstanding! The packaging is quite ingenious as the product arrived in perfect condition. Assembly was a breeze with excellent instructions and everything included. It cooks better and tastier then gas or charcoal and cleanup and storage is a very easy. We are totally satisfied!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Portable Electric Grill

04/10/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The grease pan is in an impossible to clean place. You have to take the grill apart to get to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Great for the money

12/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my dad for xmas. He only likes these small electric grills. He doesn't brag on much, but he did brag on this. Easy to put together too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Dandy little grill for the money

04/03/2012
By ,
KC area, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dandy electric grill! I love, love, love an electric grill for ease. This one was farily easy to assemble. It works just as you'd expect. Only caveat is that the "lock" part of the "lock & go" isn't so hot. It amounts to screws sticking out of the inside of the lid and hooking under some hooks on the inside of the base. A little rattle to the wrong just a bit and you will be easily unlocked. But good product for the money. The "lock" is good enough to pick up the whole thing to move it around, but will not stay locked if you put it in a trunk or back of a pickup. So not as portable as I had hoped. But it works wonderfully otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Great little electric grill - used for 6 months

04/12/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill is a great little electric grill. We had a CharBroil Electric Grill before this one. They both are good grills but the Meco is less expensive.
Cooks steaks well, gets up to 650 degrees at least.
I like the control of electric over propane gas grills.
I usually cook two steaks, flank steak, ribs, fajitas or burgers.
I think you could get four one pound T-Bones on the grill, but I only cook for two people most of the time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

A good inexpensive electric grill!

07/08/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only used this a few times but so far we are satisfied. Cleanup is not fun but it is not hard. Electric grills seem to me to be a little harder to clean but if you let it soak a short time and if you have sprayed it with "PAM" or some such product, it comes off pretty well. My apartment community does not allow anything but electric grills so it serves the purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill
06/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase we ever made!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Great Grill

01/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Meco electric grills for about 10 years and they are GREAT. Walmart has a really good price on these grills so I bought a couple. I was looking for a new heating element and ended up buying new grills for what heating element cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Great for small grilling

07/31/2011
By ,
Freehold, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made product. Easy to clean
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Like it

06/09/2010
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm enjoying this little grill, but I'm disappointed that it doesn't heat as high as a charcoal or gas grill does. Consequently no searing of the meat. Burgers will be very dry unless you like them less than medium. I'm learning to adjust my cooking times and temps. Even though I'm disappointed with the amount of heat it provides, I still really like the grill. It took me an hour and a half to put the thing together, though, because some of the instructions purported to belong to this particular electric grill, but they really applied only to this company's similar charcoal grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Great Electric Grill

08/18/2012
By ,
surf city
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BBQ is right size and electric. You do need to assemble this but it is not too hard. Probably took me 15-20 minutes but the second time I am sure it would only take 5-10 minutes. Instructions are a little weird (some sentences just seem to end in mid-point, and some terms appear to be incorrect) and the picture/figure of the assembly items are on the back of the instructions so you have to keep turning the paper over and over. One good thing about the instructions is they give you the different languages on separate booklets, so you can throw away the one you do not want saving you space in your storage.
But all the items were there and I had the thing up and running quickly. Works perfect, great burgers…hope it lasts a long time.
And it DOES get hot enough (just addressing one of the negative reviews).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill
07/20/2012
By ,
Greeley, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little grill!! No ashes or gas to deal with! Great for 1 or 2 people. I was missing a vent damper when I received it. After e-mailing Walmart, I was sent a replacement within 10 days. No hassle, just apologies. Thank you so much!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

Abosolutely fantastic for my Condo living.

06/10/2012
By ,
Naples, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Condo does not allow charcoal grills and I truely miss the flavor provided by the smoke and wood chips. This allows me all the above and is perfect for my little outdoor lanai and I can use wood chips in it. PERFECT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill

does what it says

01/12/2012
By ,
Crestview Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using the new round Meco kettle type grill, I am not quite sure I like this as
well as the 9400 model. The electric elements are too far apart to get a uniform
sear. Will keep using (only used once so far) and then make a final review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Meco Lock 'n Go Portable Electric Grill
05/18/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to use electric due to apartment living. Assembly wasn't difficult, and it cooks the food nicely, and easy to use. Nothing beats a charcoal grill, but the idea of being outdoors and cooking is a summer tradition.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next