Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RuffMaxx Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

RuffMaxx Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

The Ruff Maxx extra-large wire kennel provides a secure comfortable home for your dog.
Average Customer Rating:
4.484 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation90%111 out of 124reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Horrible cage Horrible quality

03/13/2011
By ,
Avondale AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Me and my wife bought this for our 1 yr old beagle Sheppard mix. The first day we got it we tested it by putting her in it and leaving to check the mail. When we came back she had busted through the front and opened the door. Then we left again a few days later and came home to find her out of the cage and the side bars broken and bent. This cage was horrible for having her in it and was not worth the price. Its cheap and flimsy. I would not recommend this cage for anyone who has a dog who cant be alone. HORRIBLE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Warning about Size!

06/21/2013
By ,
Cozad, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Remington model wire kennel that was purchased from Wal-mart 2 years ago. This year we needed an additional wire kennel. I purchased this because #1 - it was labeled Remington and we enjoyed our first one and #2 - in the detailed specifications it says it is 42 x 26 x 28.5 (which is identical to the one we have.) WARNING!!! First off, this is no longer "Remington" but "RuffMaxx" brand. Secondly, the kennel is truly 42 x 28 x 31; much larger than we anticipated. Honestly the design is much better than our older wire kennel, but still disappointed that the website is misleading and the information is not coinciding (eg. the title and the item specifications).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

great value

12/12/2010
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to put up and once I placed a dog bed inside, my pitbull dog went right in. I may have to buy another one because our other dog loves it too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Dog Kennel That's HUGE!

03/08/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kennel is as described, but much larger than anticipated. It's definitely large enough for an American Bulldog and his owner. =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Sturdy Investment

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this online without prior knowledge of this brand. I am more of than pleased with the space and durability. It was easy to assemble and my growing husky has plenty of space to relax. Five stars all the way!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Dog loves it! Cats do too!

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kennel is great. Strong, looks good (even in my front room) It's bigger than I thought it would be. Our Rottweiler has plenty of room and when she's outside our cats crawl in it and go to sleep.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"
02/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these and they are awesome! Perfect size, shipped fast, great price. I have a pit bull and a lab. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Once Assembled, A Nice Kennel

11/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once assembled, this is a very nice kennel. Our only complaint was that the kennel was difficult to unfold after taken out of the box, and the instructions provided were not very helpful in this regard. But overall, a very good kennel.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Wonderful for my 90 lb dog

02/05/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My German Shepherd/St. Bernard mix is 90 lbs and fits very nicely in this kennel. She must love it because she lays inside it for most of the day everyday. I would buy the same one again for my other dog if she's ever back here with her sister.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

This size is just perfect

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The size is perfect, I bought 2 of them for my Labs, both over 80 pounds needed bigger kennels, was worried the first day hoping they could not get out, but with a double lock I had no problems!
I looked at Petco and other places but the prices were so high, very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

better than expected

12/28/2009
By ,
OKC, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a one year old border collie that was wreaking havoc on our backyard while we were gone to work. I worried that she could tear up this kennel, but she has not. She even likes to go in it. The price was so much lower than any other that I have seen. The quality is good. It is sturdy and easily folds away.
I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Perfect and easy

01/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was absolutely what we needed for our 3 month old lab. Already crate trained, she needed a bigger space and we needed something portable for going on vacation and to grandma's. This was easy to assemble and holds her perfectly, with lots of room to grow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

It's just a great product if you have a big dog.

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a big dog over 80 lbs. She wrecked the other plastic kennel she was in. She needs to be in a kennel like this when I go out cause she gets into things if loose. This kennel is strong enough to keep her inside of it. She loves it too cause she has room to spread out. She even goes in this kennel when the door is open and she takes a nap. The price was excellent too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Wonderful

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect price for such a large kennel, My GSP loves the size. Fast shipping. Very Happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

good quality, large kennel

08/25/2014
By ,
Celina,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great kennel, very well made. I agree with other reviewer that it is larger than stated but for me that was a positive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

perfect for a medium to large dog

02/26/2014
By ,
rockford il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my dog is 72lbs. she has enough room in there to turn around and be comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Decent Product, Good Price

04/29/2011
By ,
Nashville TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered this online after calling 2 local WMt's & being told they weren't available (nothing this sz) in-store. Product arrived about 5 days later, which wasn't bad. Box was pretty banged up; almost looked like a return or it'd been thrown off a roof. Set up was easy & product does work. Latches are semi hard to manage (kinda flimsy). The price was good (cheaper than anywhere else) so I'm overall happy with the purchase. On my most recent trip to WMt, I saw a similar product (same size, same price) @ eye level, right in the pet aisle! So I could've had a comparable product days sooner (when I needed it!) if a store associate had actually looked. And maybe had I picked it out myself, the quality wouldn't have been shabby. But for the $, it's decent & does the job as intended.
It works & the $ was good, so I'd recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Cheaply made

06/02/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this looks to be a strong cage, all the wire 'spokes' bend very easily. As in... our dog can break out of it with both latches hooked.
Don't waste your money unless you have an old dog that won't even attempt to get out.
Also, it took 2 deliveries (shipped to our home) to receive this in good working order. The first one was mangled beyond recognition.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Great Kennel cage for cats also.

03/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kennel to use for stray/feral cats that I help out with a volunteer group to help feral cats. The kennel folds to open/close and it has plenty of room for cats, and dogs. You could put about 4 cats in this kennel and they would have enough room for a litter box, food/water bowls. The size is great since it doesn't take up much room. The door latches open/close easily and the latch when fully closed prevents the animal from sliding it open with their paws. The cage is sturdy but not too heavy to move around. The plastic floor pan is easy to clean. The price was great, only $73 and delivery was only $1 so it's a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ruff Maxx Wire Kennel, 42"

Just what we needed!

09/22/2010
By ,
Richlands, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kennel is great. We got it for our German Shepherd Bailey. She is our rescue pup. She fits very comfortably inside and still has plenty of room to grow. This was the easiest kennel I have ever set up it only took a minute. I will say that she did get out once but it was my fault and has not happened since. When I locked her kennel that morning I didn't make sure the two bars were as far as they need to go. If you just slid the locks in you may find that your dog gets out. She got so excited when my husband came home that she rattled the locks open. If I would have closed it properly this wouldn't have happened. So for everyone that has had problems with there dogs getting out... your not locking it properly! I love this kennel and plan to buy more when we start fostering German Shepherds in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next