Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pennsylvania Dutch Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

You'll enjoy watching your favorite TV shows on the sleek and compact Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV. It features an ATSC tuner to receive digital TV broadcasts. The convenient size makes it perfect for camping, tailgating, or entertaining the kids.
Average Customer Rating:
3.528 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation72%64 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Nice Buy and Great Picture

12/25/2009
By ,
Wilkes Barre, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv despite some of the negative reviews because they all centered around reception. I live in a suburban area and received most of the digital channels with the built in antenna.
I picked up a cheap set of rabbit ears ($5 on ebay) and hooked it up to the included adapter. I immediately received the rest of the channels. Granted I might have to move the antenna to find the right spot, but I think the poor signal is more on the end of the tv stations. The picture quality and sound are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Review 2 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Good But,

12/17/2009
By ,
Frederick, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a real ice TV with lots of extras included. The base is excellent (but takes patience to put it together).
Comes with ear bud, remote, external antenna cable adapter, jacks and cable for adding an external source like a DVD player, Batteries for the remote and it can be mounted to a wall.
The only negative is the antenna does not pick up squat. It is not the TV's fault but the poor planning on allowing a digital signal and trying to pick it up with an analog antenna.
You will need to purchase a portable antenna, that will cost you half the price of the TV to get decent reception, in most areas.
Not sure which one is best, without adding a monster to such a neat small package.
The antenna will be a problem with any digital TV. Progress is not always that great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+43points
Review 3 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Rural Rating

12/22/2009
By ,
Outside Louisville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was hoping that this product would meet my expectations for a digital TV for times when we had a loss of power or cable was out. Upon receiving this product I tried to scan for channels but was unable to get any, seeing that the signal was extremely week, I purchased 2 different antenna's, one that had regular rabbit ears for HDTV and the other a higher cost unit meant to be placed on a wall. Neither product help me get any better reception than the regular antenna that came with the unit. If you live close to a tower you probably will get better results, but it shows me that the digital signals are very weak and if you are rural (10 or greater miles) your signal quality will be weak or nothing. The quality of this unit is not bad, I am not sure if it was due to the unit having poor reception capabilities or the location I live in. Just make sure you are able to receive a digital signal prior to purchase or you'll have to return this unit.
This unit can be hooked up to cable or satellite with its onboard tuner.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 4 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

I love it

12/02/2009
By ,
Marion, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at every portable TV on the market and this is the only one that offered everything needed. It comes with all adapters and can be used with its own antenna or be hooked up to cable. It is also very reasonably priced compared to others with less features. Also made by a well known name. I am thinking of buying another one for my office. Also received it from Walmart in one day!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Review 5 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Lots of good features not listed as product specs

02/06/2010
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I bought the Phillips 9" which had a nice picture - and if you're hooking it up to cable and having problems, make sure to set the cable to the HRC setting on the Phillips and this Sylvania! Otherwise, this is better than the Phillips because it has power and volume control in the remote (though the remote isn't working but WalMart is getting it replaced for me) AND AND AND has a sleep setting! I use the TV on my nightstand so dont' want anything big and all of these features make it MUCH more suitable for my needs. yeah, the speakers are in the back of the TV, but there are SO many ways to set the audio and video features on your own PERSONAL settings option so you can make the sound and picture what you want it to be. VERY happy about the Sylvania over the Phillips, though the Phillips design is nicer. But I'm much happier with the performance and options - and PRICE of the Sylvania!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A
12/16/2009
By ,
St. Petersburg, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried 2 other small portable tv's and couldn't get any channels using the installed antenna. Got 2 channels with an optional antenna. I then got the Sylvania and again not much with the original antenna but bought a cheap radio shack antenna 15-1874 for $12.00 and was able to immediately pick up 12 channels indoors. Very happy with the picture quality. Sound could be a little better. But overall I am very pleased with the Sylvnania.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 7 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Review

03/04/2010
By ,
Riverside CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this and I expected it to perform like the Digital box that is used on top of the older TVs. I was surprised how easy it worked. I did not pick up very good with the pole antenna that was attached to the top of the TV. I had to use an external antenna to get any good reception. The one thing I like about this is after it searches for channels, you can search for more without losing the first found channels. This way when you move the antenna to get channels you didn't have the first time, you don't loose the channels already found.
The only thing I found bad is sometimes the TV will just for get a channel that has not had a signal for a while. I have had it happen twice. I had to perform a completely new search.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

9" sylvania portable

12/01/2009
By ,
Lexington, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this TV at a good price! Set it up and I could not receive any channels with the pull up antenna. Hooked it up to cable and got all the channels!! Picture very good for small lcd tv./ sound not very good, but has outlets for extra spreakers. It has lots of options and is a good value for a portable. However if you want to use it with the built in antenna, forget it. I don't think any small lcd will receive much with this antenna unless you are in a big city!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Review 9 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Nice accessories, weak antenna

12/22/2009
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TV has well thought out accessories – wall charger, car charger, coax cable. The supplied single pole antenna only gets two channels in my area. I attached a dipole antenna and it gets five. Dipole antenna should be supplied. Note: Battery must be charged before first use. Plugging it in and turning it on immediately will give you a black screen. It won't run off the wall charger if the battery is totally dead.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Review 10 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

great product

02/09/2010
By ,
tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hooked it up to cable and has a great picture and awesome sound. came with ac adapter so its plugged in and receives HD channels I don't get on my reg TV. would definitely recommend specially for the price, picture and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 11 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

9 inch portable tv

01/02/2010
By ,
Knoxville,Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tv works well but picture was dark tried to lighten but not much luck with that. TV works great otherwise. Locates channel even some I never had before on cable like the sub channels on local tv stations that were on same cable channel 4,6,and 8 but not on Old uhf channels that are on different cable channels. Battery works well also. Haven't tried over the air channels yet as I am 50 miles from the stations and may not come in. Overall I would buy one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Very Good over all.

12/26/2009
By ,
Spingfield Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality is very good but seems to be on the dark side. There are picture level adjustments though. Sound is good with the two speakers, but no where does it say that it is in stereo. I live 12 miles away from the city and I get all the channels in. I am very satisfied with it's ability to pull in stations. There needs to be instructions on how to charge the internal battery and for how long. Great for the price over all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 13 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

11/30/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PURCHASED THIS TV ON LINE. IT DID NOT WORK RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX. WOULD NOT GET A PICTURE AND JUST KEPT SHOWING NO DATA AVAILABLE. CALLED COMPANY REP AND HE SAID TO UNPLUG IT FOR 15 MINUTES AND TRY AGAIN, IF STILL NOT WORKING SEND IT BACK. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Review 14 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Great Deal For The Price

03/02/2010
By ,
Pfafftown, North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a real nice little TV for the money. I didn't expect much but I have been very pleased with it. I mainly purchased it for times when we experience a power outage in our area during the winter or during summer rain storms. A great emergency back up TV. Reception will vary from city to city. Indoors I pick up only 2 channels on the antenna it has. Outside I get about 5 channels. As long as I get at least one main area channel, I'm happy. It has a great picture and a great sound. For the money, you can't go wrong. You can connect cable to it, and it comes with many accessories.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 15 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Just what we needed...

01/06/2010
By ,
NW PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a present for use in the kitchen. Turns out to have a very nice pic with adequate sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

over air antenna does not pickup signals

12/07/2009
By ,
Huntington Beach, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to get the over the air channels to work
and kept getting no signal. I wanted to use this
tv for outdoor use but it does not pickup any tv
signals in my area.
Is this an inherent problem with this tv as other
people have also indicated that using the portable
antenna does not work well either.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Review 17 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Mich

02/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I wanted was a tiny portable TV to use in the backyard and to go camping with. After many searches I decided it had to be a 9 inch. I read many reviews and this seemed to be the best for under $100. NOW, I have it hooked up to a digital cable receiver on my Kitchen Bar. We watch it all the time while getting dinner ready and even during dinner sometimes. The stand is really nicer than I thought it would be. The only complaint I have is that some shows on some channels are a bit dark. This seems to be a common problem on alot of these small TV's. Bottom Line, I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 18 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

A worth while LCD TV

12/24/2009
By ,
cincinnati ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV will never replace your 52 inch LCD. But for the price, it allows the convience of mobility. Without a proper antenna, it struggles to acquire all of the local video stations. My 52 inch Samsung has the same problem. I would say that the acquisition of channels is more of a problem of the technology rather a problem of the monitor. In all, I am quite pleased with this TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 19 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

The One To Invest In.

01/02/2010
By ,
New Orleans,La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first bought this gift for my friend we had trouble getting it to work, but after sometime, we were able to view the news, and the picture color is awesome. I really like this nine inch portable television. Give it a try and you to will like it. I wish it had a clock, and a case for it.That would have bought it to another level, but it's not bad at all. Thanks Walmart, you've done it again Keep up the good work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Sylvania 9" Portable LCD TV, SRT902A

Nice TV, Poor picture!!

04/21/2012
By ,
Johnstown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife wanted a small TV set-up on her computer desk. Found this one at Walmart. Looks nice, right size and all the options we needed. Unfortunately, the picture was too dark. Tried to adjust the brightness and contrast...no help. Picture still too dark. After about 2 weeks, my wife says "THAT'S ENOUGH", take it back.
We had this TV hooked up to a Direct TV Receiver which works fine with other TVs.
During that two weeks, using the remote control that came with the TV, when she turned on the TV the screen said "no signal". I had to rescan the channels to get it to work again. This happened 3 times. On the third time, rescanning would not find the channel 3 we use from the Direct TV Receiver. I must have tried rescanning at least 6 times.
On the warrantee sheet, it says to call this number before returning the TV to the store. They have more operating instructions and troubleshooting procedures when you call. Well...why didn't they include this extra information with the TV??
Anyhow, I did not call the number, I did return the TV to Walmart and I would strongly not recommend buying this TV!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next