Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Tetra Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Keep your delicate underwater family members comfortable with the Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater. This easy-use heater helps maintain optimal water temperature at all times. Its electric thermostat keeps water at a consistent 78 degrees Farhenheit, ensuring fish, snails and other aquatic creatures stay comfortable. The 50-watt aquarium heater is designed for tanks that are up to 10 gallons.
Average Customer Rating:
3.543 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation70%32 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Heater Must Be Used Correctly

12/02/2012
By ,
Winnabow, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If water does not circulate in the area around the heater, the heater's internal thermostat will quickly reach it's design point for cutting off power to the heater and it (properly) quits heating. Also, the volume of water and the room's ambient temperature will affect the ability of the heater to do it's job of maintaining a stable temperature in the aquarium. The more the room temperature is below the heater's setpoint, the harder the heater will try and will possibly fail to maintain a stable temperature. My heater is used correctly and it has served me well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Mine died too.

01/13/2011
By ,
Centerville, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a 30 gallon long aquarium and managed to break my 300 watt non-submersible heater that was 8 years old (I think it was a Tetra too) by letting the water level get too low. It was still working fine prior to the incident. I purchased this 50 to go along with another submersible 50 watt (adjustable) that I had thinking that 100 total would be fine, and it was. The heater cycled on and off and maintained temp normally. After a couple weeks I noticed that the water was getting too cool and the red LED was off so I unplugged and plugged it back in and it came on. Now it will not come on at all even with the water temp at 64° so I took it apart to see how it worked. It is based on an LM324 quad op-amp and 2 temp sensors that appear to be thermal diodes but are labeled NTC on the board. These 2 sensors drive 2 of the 4 op-amps and the output of the 2 drive the third which controls the triac that switches the power to the element. The fourth op-amp is unused. The red indicator LED and its dropping resistors are hooked directly across the element. I think moisture may have gotten in and ruined the electronics. It is not serviceable as it is glued together with CA (super glue) and I broke the glass tube trying to take it apart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Betta Fish no longer shivering

02/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not aware that a Betta fish prefers a warm environment. When he stopped moving or eating I researched the symptoms on the net. Sure enough, they like it 78 -82 degrees. Without a heater it was about 68 degrees. Burrrr. The Tetra heater is the perfect size and has made all the difference in his quality of life. So far it is a steady 78 degrees and he loves it. The heater is under the rocks out of sight. It was so simple to find it, pay for it on Walmart.com and have it shipped to a nearby store. :-)'s
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Great heater for small tank.

02/20/2013
By ,
Lafayette, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this heater for my daughters new betta fish 2 gallon tank. I love the fact that it suctioned on the side of the tank & also has an auto shut off when it reaches correct temp. He dif. seems to like it being warm.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Use for Turtles, very excellent

07/19/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Turtles will not eat if it's cold but they will not go into hibernation if it's not cold enough. My two turtles stopped eating around winter. They became skinnier and retreated to their hide-y cave. It worried me a bit because they used to be excited eaters, rushing to the side of their tanks and waving at me so I could come over and feed them. And no matter how much I fed them, they wanted more food. So I did some research and I found that piece of information in my first sentence.
So I went to the store and bought this, washed it and plugged it in. Just a few hours later, they returned to their old begging-dog self. It works great, keeping the temp at a constant 65-75 degrees that the turtles need.
Only thing is that my turtles don't like a lot of water for some reason so the heater is half in the water, half out, even if I stick it at the bottom of the tank. But no worries. The turtles lay on it to keep even warmer. It doesn't burn their shells...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Aquarium Heater

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The heater is small and does actually what the package says. It maintains the temperature at a steady 78 degrees. It has a red light to let you know when the heater is heating and a green light to let you know that it is pulgged in and in stand by. I highly recommend this heater for use in the proper size aquarium.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Works for a 10 Gallon Tank

11/22/2009
By ,
spring
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The same product in store cost $20 bucks... works okay, but I have noticed that it doesn't hold at 78. It goes back and forth from 78 to 76. It does enough to keep the fish happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Great product

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does a good job
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Works well for guppies.

08/13/2010
By ,
Inverness, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi, I raise Guppies and have been using this heater to do so and have never had any proublems
out of them and I use them in my 5-gal, and 10-gal, tanks the 5-gal, tanks stay between 78%-80% witch I find to be good for the fry and the 10-gal, tanks stay around 77%-79% witch aint bad if you ask me I like them and will keep using them as long as they still work the temp in my house is around 70%-72% all the time so for the heaters are working great and to be working this good I will always buy and us them I would tell anyone looking to get one to get this one and one othe thing if the flow of the water aint that great it won't work right and if you use a air stone put the heater on the other side of the tank where it will not be near the air the air will mess with the heater and never pull the heater out of the water with it still pluged in it will never work right again if you do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

USELESS - STAY AWAY PLEASE!

01/17/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this heater less than 2 months ago and it already STOPPED working. It definitely doesn't keep the water at the 78-80 temperature. Currently it only goes on when I unplug it and plug it back in, but afterward it will not turn on again until I unplug and plug it back in. It is a TERRIBLE TERRIBLE product. It says it has a 2 year warranty, but you need to have kept the receipt and pay them $3 extra for shipping. Which means you pay money to ship it back to them, and then you provide money for them to ship it back after they "fix" it. They won't provide you with a new one, but only PARTS. PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE THIS TERRIBLE PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Lancaster, PA
The warranty you mentioned..
Posted 10/09/2012
Just clarifying your info about the warranty. I've actually exercised it after one of these heaters malfunctioned (wrote them a nice little note too). The element burnt up in it and I woke up one day to find my tank at 91 degrees!! The heater thermostat stopped working so it never shut off. I did do the warranty, even though it cost me about 6 bucks total ($3 for them as you said, plus my cost to ship it). But it was still cheaper than another $20 to replace it. HOWEVER, they DO ship you a complete new one, in packaging and all. Not just parts as you said... you're wrong there.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/25/2012
What a piece of junk. Water is at 65, set heater to max setting. Heater goes on and internal stat say oh my, its to hot so it turns it back off again. Cycle starts over again. Never stays on to heat up the water. I blame my self for thinking that such a simple thing would just work and not doing the research.
0points
Customer Avatar
Grand Junction, CO
Not enough power
Posted 08/08/2011
I have a 10 gal tank. I just lost all the fish because this heater isn't really up to the job. The A/C is on in the house and the heater couldn't keep up. Buy a heater designed for a 10 or bigger tank.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Great heater for a 1.5 Gallon tank.

10/14/2014
By ,
Coos Bay,Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a bit big for the 1.5 gallon tank but it doesn't over heat it at all. It stays exactly in the green area of the thermometer for tropical fish which is great because we use this little tank for our swordtail fry. Our last heater by someone else, kept going above the green area well into the 90 degree area and we weren't taking a chance on losing our babies. So if you have a small tank this is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

12/12/2009
By ,
San Diego, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would really not spending money on this. It says it keeps it up 78 F, in reality it doesn't. This is suppose to be for 2-15 gallons. I use it for a 1.5 and still cant get past 72 during day and 70 at night. Don't waste your money on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lancaster, PA
Posted 10/09/2012
Maybe your thermometer is wrong? Mines stays around 77-78 all the time... I've had two now and they both have always kept the temp where it's supposed to be. OH, and I put this one (meant for a 10 gallon) in a 29 gallon tank... 77-78 all the time. Can't beat that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

best purchase

10/21/2014
By ,
akron,oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this heater is small and powerful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Decent for the price

10/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this heater over a year ago. While it doesn't keep the tank exactly at 78, it does keep my ten gallon tank between 76-77 degrees. For the price, it was a good buy. I'm buying another today for a smaller nursery tank!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Sucked

09/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sucked. No other words to describe. 10 gallon tank still 60 degrees. Fish are all floating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Heater stopped working

12/18/2009
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this heater about 9 months ago as part of a 5 gallon aquarium kit. It worked great for the first 8 months but has sinced stopped working. The tank temp now is around 70 degrees and I noticed that the heater never seems to turn on. As there are not many choices for heaters for a 5 gallon tank I'm not sure what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

About to buy it

09/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Will this be good for a 1 gallon tank? I have a male betta fish and I am currently keeping a lamp over it to keep it warm. I read the comments and it says you must meet up worth expectations? so does that mean I need a bigger tank? I really don't wanna spend money on buying a new tank so I am wondering if this heater will keep my fish warm.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Not reliable in the long run

03/21/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this heater about a month ago. For about three weeks this heater was doing exactly as it is suppose to do. However, it randomly started losing it's heating power. Instead of heating it to 76 degrees, it is now at 71 degrees. A 5 degree difference really affects a fish's health. Do not buy this heater because you'll have to buy another heater in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Great Aquarium Heater

08/06/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this heater. I used to have problems keeping fish because of the tank's inaccurate temperature. All I have to do is simply place the heater in the aquarium and plug in. It automatically keeps the temperature the same all day every day. I no longer to have worry about my fish. Great product and strongly recommend for beginners and/or amateurs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra Submersible Aquarium Heater, 50-Watts

Works well

03/25/2010
By ,
Beaumont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being used in a four gallon tank. Water temperature stays at around 75 degrees in a room with an ambient temperature of 64-68 degress.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next