Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weber Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Make your holiday at the beach even more enjoyable with the Weber Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill. This portable, go-anywhere grill is ideal for cooking up steaks, chops, vegetables, chicken or small roasts. Also great for picnics and tailgate parties this compact sized griller has three aluminum legs and an aluminum ash catcher. The Weber charcoal grill has a durable rust resistant construction with porcelain-on-steel inside and out finish and a heavy, bright nickel-plated steel cooking grate. Throw some charcoal in and toss the meat on the steel charcoal grate for the perfectly cooked and great tasting grilled food. The no rust aluminum vents of this black charcoal grill controls air flow. It also has a 1-glass reinforced nylon handle that help protect your hands from the heat. This cooking grill can be easily assembled and cleaned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.868 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%52 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Smokey Joe

04/11/2009
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this little grill in January and I tried to use it two times. The first time the charcoals would not stay lit. The second time they stayed lit, but I realized it was way too small for family use - I had to finish cooking the barbecue in the oven. It's a really cute 'travel' grill and is probably ideal for a single person, but I'll have to trade it in for a real grill...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
-43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Perfect for one or 2, or...

04/09/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the same little grill for at least 16 YEARS! It was always out in the weather, uncovered, and held up great! Finally, the little coal catcher with the handle rusted and broke off. I must say good bye to my old friend, who served me well for all those years! It cooked everything PERFECTLY and I knew exactly how it would perform, and loved it. I look forward to as many years with my new friend. Fantastic little BB Que!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Smokey Joe feeds Stanky Pockets

07/08/2009
By ,
Denver CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this grill! It may seem small, but it's got a lot of heart. We were camping out in the Rocky Mountains while traveling with the awesome Denver jam Band "Stanky Pockets." We got road weary, and rained on, but this little grill served up hot corn on the cob, fresh veggies, baked potatoes, Catalina Chicken, broccoli beef, gourmet burgers, fried rice, and brats--enough to fill up a hungry entourage of a dozen people--all on a 14.5 inch cooking surface, in the rain, in a little over an hour! I owned a Weber One Touch Gold that served me well for fifteen years. I decided to go with a Smokey Joe for portability, and was amazed at how much I could get done with it. Way to go Weber!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

JUST TRY IT.

09/02/2011
By ,
Borger, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is still the perfect grill. All you will ever need for charcoal grilling. I cook for 3 people on it and sometimes we have leftovers for lunch the next day. If you considering a gas grill, just invest the $29 and you will never buy a gas grill. You just cannot get that charcoal flavor with gas. Invest $10 for a charcoal chimney, forget charcoal liter, and help out the environment. For that smoke flavor, get a bag of hardwood chips (hickory, cherry, mesquite, etc) Here's a tip: just fill the charcoal chimney 1/2 full and light the newspaper. You will have ample charcoal to cook a full meal. This is no fuss charcoal grilling (and smoking) at its best. And you can take it anywhere. Two of my friends have purchased the grill after eating at my house. BUY IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

excellent quality

01/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this as a x-mas present for my mom-in-law. used site to store which was great, except where you pick up is in the back of the store and I had to pay full price b/c it's winter. Overall easy to buy. Well made, don't even need a screwdriver to put together. grilling surface is large and deep, so coals aren't right on top of your food causing flares. Will last for years if cared for. LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Awesome

04/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble - AWESOME Bar-B-Q'd results!
I'm in Iraq and the grill really makes a connection to back home.
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lauderhill, FL
Great inexpensive charcoal grill!
Posted 07/04/2013
Easy to assemble and use. Burgers and hot dogs cooked great in no time for our 4th of July Celebration!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Jr

10/16/2007
By ,
Brinnon, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This purchase replaces an almost 20 year old Smokey Joe that finally burned thru at a leg bolt! This unit is an ideal portable unit to augment Weber's 22" family unit. Smokey Joe is great and extra fast for preparing food for two and has also worked well out on my boat! Be sure to sign up for Weber's periodic newsletters and recipes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

What a grill!

07/25/2007
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had our little Weber for 12 months now and absolutely love the job it does. Easy to assemble and easy to travel with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

great saver

12/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This compact grill is great for cooking everyday. The round design helps move food items off hot spots. Charcoal does not continue burning after lid is closed with vent closed. This saves money. My husband is a chef and it is the only grill he likes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Really Good!!

07/23/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This will be the (2nd) little Smokey Joe that I have purchased. The first one was about 15 years ago. This little grill is awesome to say the least. It has seen so many burgers, chicken, ribbs, you name it. I am now in need of a new one and was so glad to see that they still make this small grill. We have the Big Webber Grill also, but this little one is the way to go. If you just want to grill steaks for two, the coals are hot in a heart beat because of the smallness of the area to try to heat. I do indeed recommend this little SMOKEY JOE!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Little Grill with Big Permance!

09/04/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill about 1 month ago. Took it to the park and set it on a concrete park table. This little grill does a great job. I grilled 2 small racks of baby back ribs, 8 peices of chicken thighs, hotlinks, 8 burgers and a pack of hotdogs (not all on the grill at 1 time). Everything cooked really great. Assembly was very easy. Very portable grill, it fit easily into the trunk of my car. Very easy to store in my small apt. I am pulling out this grill again this morning to grill more food. I usually buy a tray of a variety of cooked meats from a local barbecue restaurant for almost $55. But thankfully since I bought this grill I haven't purchased any barbecue trays!
I defintely recommend this grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

GREAT LITTLE GRILL

06/28/2010
By ,
Sanford, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Weber "Smokey Joe" in the winter when it was on sale. This little grill cooks better than some of the larger sizes. It heats quick, the food cooks evenly and the clean up is easy. I have always heard good things about Weber grills, and everything I heard is true. I would recommend this grill to anyone that likes to grill
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great for two people

08/07/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for cooking up to four ribeyes or a dozen chicken wings. Takes very little charcoal and heats very evenly. About the simplest charcoal grill I have ever used. However, handle and air flow adjustments get very hot and require gloves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Perfect for my petite patio

08/04/2011
By ,
Grass Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size for one or two people. Well designed and constructed. Easy to clean. What's even better, Smokey Joe sits on my patio table top where I grill and then I/we dine. Yup perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

perfect 2-4 person grill

04/21/2009
By ,
Raleigh,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is the perfect size for 2-4 people. Plenty of room for your grill needs. Small enough to fit easily in the trunk of compact cars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great Small Grill

06/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought the Silver $30 grill to replace a $20 similarly sized grill that was only a month old. The Weber has a higher quality grill food grid and charcoal support grid. The Weber Silver is great grill after it is assembled.
The reason that we quickly replaced the old grill was that the old grill had air intakes on the sides ABOVE the charcoal. As a result, the charcoal didn't have enough air coming in to fully support combustion.
The Weber SILVER (not GOLD) has the air intakes at the traditional location at bottom of the bowl BELOW the charcoal. As a result the coals get as hot as possible.
The negatives about the grill are inconveniences. The aluminum straps used for legs are adequate, but there was a manufacturing defect in them.
Each leg did NOT have the required 60 degree bend an inch of so from the top end of each leg. This is where the leg attaches to the grill bowl as illustrated on the photo in the owners manual and on this website.
I had to bend the straight leg tops myself to fit the grill. Perhaps their Mexican factory forgot this step because Weber designed the legs with the bend.
I really miss the bail that held the lid to the bowl on the old grill. The bail made transporting the grill much easier. A bail is on the Smokey Joe Gold, but the Smokey Joe Gold is a side-breather.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black
05/06/2013
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Easy to clean. Keeps temps where you want them. Even though it's small I was able to fit 20 2 ounce burgers they were small I was making sliders.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great little grill

11/23/2007
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little grill is just a blast to use. It is simple to assemble and it heats quick. It is just a nice simple grill for quick simple meals.
We have had ours a few years and use it often.
Easy to operate
Great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Grrreat grill

07/19/2011
By ,
johnstown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice grill my husband and I camp and this is great for camping trips,and for cooking out on a
day trip to the park. Pre assembled and ready to use at a good price, not real large but large
large enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great portable grill

07/15/2011
By ,
new York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great small grill to take to the park for hamburgers and hot dogs. My husband got a great fire going on this liitle thing and we were moving burgers off and on with ease. I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next