Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weber Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Make your holiday at the beach even more enjoyable with this Black Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill. This portable, go-anywhere grill is ideal for cooking up steaks, chops, vegetables, chicken or small roasts. Also great for picnics and tailgate parties this compact sized griller has three aluminum legs and an aluminum ash catcher. This Weber Smokey Joe silver charcoal grill has a durable rust-resistant construction with porcelain-on-steel inside and out finish and a heavy, bright nickel-plated cooking grate. Throw some charcoal in and toss the meat on the steel charcoal grate for the perfectly cooked and great tasting grilled food. The no-rust aluminum vents of this Black Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill controls air flow. It also has a 1-glass reinforced nylon handle that help protect your hands from the heat. This Smokey Joe charcoal grill can be easily assembled and cleaned.
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%65 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Smokey Joe

04/11/2009
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this little grill in January and I tried to use it two times. The first time the charcoals would not stay lit. The second time they stayed lit, but I realized it was way too small for family use - I had to finish cooking the barbecue in the oven. It's a really cute 'travel' grill and is probably ideal for a single person, but I'll have to trade it in for a real grill...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
-52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

WOW

04/28/2014
By ,
deltona fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive owned a weber gas portable grill for five years and when I went to a friends house he had this version of the weber....the food he cooked was phenomal and I decided to get one.....fill with about 20 briquettes and allow ample time to turn white....then spread even, and place the crome grate on top.....leave the vent open about a 1/4 inch and put on the lid.....check from time to time, and enjoy....great grill, never will buy a gas grill again and never buy a product for grilling without a weber name
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great table top grill

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything about my Weber is perfect from the delivery to the cooking of the food. I would recommend this grill to anyone with limited space.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Perfect Patio Grill

07/31/2014
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why buy a huge grill for $100 or more when you can grill for 4-5 people easy on this well made, long lasting grill? I used Walmarts ship to store for free and that went great. When I got it home I assembled it in 10 minutes and started grilling. The size is great for our family of four and we don't waste charcoal using a bigger grill. I would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great size and value!!!

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had a gas grill for years! Now that our kids are grown and it's just my husband and me, we didn't need such a huge grill. We really missed the taste of burgers, chicken, etc cooked on a charcoal grill! It is a perfect grill for 2-4 people! It sits out on our patio table and I just grill from there! We Love It and the quality of a Weber is unmatched!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

JUST TRY IT.

09/02/2011
By ,
Borger, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is still the perfect grill. All you will ever need for charcoal grilling. I cook for 3 people on it and sometimes we have leftovers for lunch the next day. If you considering a gas grill, just invest the $29 and you will never buy a gas grill. You just cannot get that charcoal flavor with gas. Invest $10 for a charcoal chimney, forget charcoal liter, and help out the environment. For that smoke flavor, get a bag of hardwood chips (hickory, cherry, mesquite, etc) Here's a tip: just fill the charcoal chimney 1/2 full and light the newspaper. You will have ample charcoal to cook a full meal. This is no fuss charcoal grilling (and smoking) at its best. And you can take it anywhere. Two of my friends have purchased the grill after eating at my house. BUY IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great baby BBQ

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the good things about a Weber kettle BBQ in a small. portable size. Perfect for camping, day trips to the beach, anywhere you need your own BBQ. Probably not useful if you're going to be cooking for more than 2 or 3 people due to the small size of the grill, but I was very pleased with how it cooked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Smokey Joe feeds Stanky Pockets

07/08/2009
By ,
Denver CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this grill! It may seem small, but it's got a lot of heart. We were camping out in the Rocky Mountains while traveling with the awesome Denver jam Band "Stanky Pockets." We got road weary, and rained on, but this little grill served up hot corn on the cob, fresh veggies, baked potatoes, Catalina Chicken, broccoli beef, gourmet burgers, fried rice, and brats--enough to fill up a hungry entourage of a dozen people--all on a 14.5 inch cooking surface, in the rain, in a little over an hour! I owned a Weber One Touch Gold that served me well for fifteen years. I decided to go with a Smokey Joe for portability, and was amazed at how much I could get done with it. Way to go Weber!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Good Small Grill

08/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little grill for the money. Works well and is easy to assemble. The only complaint I have is that I originally bought the gold model thinking it would be better(more $=better right?) and it was not. The gold model has the holes for getting ash out on the sides of the grill for some reason, so you gotta tilt and shake the grill to get ash out. Stick with the silver model it does a good job and is good if you have a small family or just grill occasionally.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
Meilin
Posted 08/27/2014
I think the gold model is for people who want to take the grill to the beach, etc. The holes are on the side to empty the ashes so the ashes do not fall out in the car. There is a wire that holds the lid on when transporting. Does that make sense? I didn't check the description of the Gold model but seems logical to me. If they don't mention the difference they should.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

excellent quality

01/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this as a x-mas present for my mom-in-law. used site to store which was great, except where you pick up is in the back of the store and I had to pay full price b/c it's winter. Overall easy to buy. Well made, don't even need a screwdriver to put together. grilling surface is large and deep, so coals aren't right on top of your food causing flares. Will last for years if cared for. LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Perfect for one or 2, or...

04/09/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the same little grill for at least 16 YEARS! It was always out in the weather, uncovered, and held up great! Finally, the little coal catcher with the handle rusted and broke off. I must say good bye to my old friend, who served me well for all those years! It cooked everything PERFECTLY and I knew exactly how it would perform, and loved it. I look forward to as many years with my new friend. Fantastic little BB Que!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Perfect for 2 people

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our little weber, perfect for a small space, we live in an apt, perfect for two people.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Weber Jr

10/16/2007
By ,
Brinnon, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This purchase replaces an almost 20 year old Smokey Joe that finally burned thru at a leg bolt! This unit is an ideal portable unit to augment Weber's 22" family unit. Smokey Joe is great and extra fast for preparing food for two and has also worked well out on my boat! Be sure to sign up for Weber's periodic newsletters and recipes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Awesome

04/22/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble - AWESOME Bar-B-Q'd results!
I'm in Iraq and the grill really makes a connection to back home.
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lauderhill, FL
Great inexpensive charcoal grill!
Posted 07/04/2013
Easy to assemble and use. Burgers and hot dogs cooked great in no time for our 4th of July Celebration!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great Grilling Machine

06/29/2014
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned only Weber Products and they are the best. I have had the Smokey Joe Sliver before and have had no complaints. I had three 1/2 pound burgers on the grill and 2 filet mignons and still had room for more on the grill. And this baby is good to go anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Great grill for camping due to size and easy use.

07/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grill was excellent to use for camping due to its size for travelling. Worked very well, was able to cook plenty of food on it in one round. Overall extremely inexpensive for a quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

Affordable grill

07/03/2014
By ,
WOODRUFF S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I have had no problems with this grill, I read the instructions for grilling, and adopted the ideas. Everything went well. One problem with the lid handle, it was not tapped to accept the retaining screw, and there was no screw in the package. I tapped the hole, found a screw to fti, and put it together myself, a five minute job with good results.
John.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

What a grill!

07/25/2007
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had our little Weber for 12 months now and absolutely love the job it does. Easy to assemble and easy to travel with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

I like it

07/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's just what I wanted, small but cooks great!!! I'm happy with my purchase
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weber 147 sq. inch Smokey Joe Silver Charcoal Grill, Black

great saver

12/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This compact grill is great for cooking everyday. The round design helps move food items off hot spots. Charcoal does not continue burning after lid is closed with vent closed. This saves money. My husband is a chef and it is the only grill he likes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next