Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

South Shore South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

4359663, Living Room, TV stand, Contemporary Style, Skyline Collection, South Shore Furniture. Maximize your TV's visual appeal by placing it on the chic South Shore Skyline 42" TV Stand. Designed to accommodate a 42" TV, this TV Stand chocolate elevates your widescreen TV and brings the focus front and center so you can kick back, relax and let the entertainment begin. Two spacious drawers keep DVD and CD collections organized, and the open storage space keeps electronic equipment accessible yet neatly tucked away. The stand's clean, contemporary lines coordinate with the linear design of your television, while the lush chocolate finish adds tasteful opulence to your surrounding d¿¿cor. Sleek metal handles add to the stand's modern style, bringing a polished contrast to the luxurious finish. Grooves on the drawer fronts infuse the stand with flair, giving the South Shore TV Stand, for TVs up to 42" the status of a decorative piece as well as a functional one.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation77%17 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Wow! Solid!

04/15/2012
By ,
Floida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No regrets buying this. I hav the tv stand and two towers Definitely recommend. The reviews cover most areas so I'll give my opinion.
Lower base trim piece-I used the base. The unit looks good with or with the base. It's nice to have the option to use it or not. Either way the TV stand is stable on carpet or hard floor. If u use the base I recommend furniture slides cuz its heavy when loaded up with the TV and components! On carpet he towers are a little less stable cuz of their height. The towers are solid with or without trim on hard floors. Caution-- if u hav small children I recommend wall anchors for your towers. BTW the "trim base" is not just a flimsy piece for aesthetics it's made up of essentially three 2x4s that cover the front and sides. As far as things getting lost under the tv console or towers I don't see this happening on carpet. Something could roll back ther on hard floors. For me the, having a 1.5" gap at the bottom of the tv console in back allowed me to hide many of the wires under the console so they weren't bunch up against the wall. Although the gap is too small to slide the powers trip under there.
Quality--OMG this baby is thick! I was impressed as I pulled it out of the box. Very solid! Don't expect solid wood but its solid MDF board. If ur lookin for solid wood don't shop at Walmart, duh.
Instructions--if u r organized, hav room, and take ur time then not too much of a problem. Very monotonous flipping back and forth between pages.
Time--the TV console took me just under 3 hours from box to finished product. I assembled it on my own. One person can easily assemble it but u need two to carry it into the house and to slide it on carpeting. Next, the first tower took just under 90 minutes and the second tower took under an hour. About 5+ hours total time.
Height--a little too low for my taste I would prefer two inches higher so the center my 42" tv would be at eye level, but when I slouch into the sofa to watch a movie the height is not a problem. If I had left the lowere base off it would be too low for comfortable viewing.
Cam connectors-- I hav used cam connectors before but thes cams not only connect to pegs they also pull them tight causing the plastic on the pegs to expand giving an incredibly solid joint between pieces. Ingenious!
Design--1) the storage shelf should b 2 inches higher. My AV reviver is 6.25" high which technically it should fit but it doesn't. Even at that height I would have any ventilation for the AV so I would prefer at least 7" of shelf space. 2) as another reviewer commented the drawers should be deeper to fit DVDs on their edge. Fortunately I don't watch DVDs anymore so not a problem. One drawer is excellent for 4 Xbox controllers, a headset, and eight games laid flat with room to spare. The other drawer is empty at this time.
Color--I agree w/other reviweres-- it is espresso! I like it!
Size--Easily fits my 42" flat screen. I think a 50" tv would fit on the stand and between the towers.
A couple reviewers mentioned drilling and pounding the base on. I did not run into my assembly issues. They could hav provided a few more tacks to putt the back panels on but works fine and u can always get more cheap tacks.
Dings-- I had 3 dings but none visible when assembled. The tv stand comes with a touch up marker--bonus! I'm not sure if the touch up marker is chocolate or espresso. Haha
I recommend assembling face up cuz it was easier to visualize and I made no mistakes. Then just flip over to tack on the back panelt and stand it up to put in the door of the towers I assembled on carpet so no worries about scratches but I bet it would scratch easily if u had a gritty hard floor.
Lights!-- Nobody mentioned the lights in the towers! They add a very nice touch that u don't see in furniture at this price. Now I have a reason to use the light switch on my wall. Haha. Tip: when putting in the lights make sure the cord is near the hole in the back panel.
I hope this was helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Decent value

11/02/2009
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The TV stand assembles fairly easily. The lower section in the Wal-Mart photo that lifts the stand adds 1.5" of height to reach the listed 18" vertical height. I did not install that lower section because it is only three sided leaving the rear and center underneath the stand exposed (which could cause it to sag over time) and allow items to get trapped underneath from behind. Without the extra lift it stands 16.5" verticaly and is very sturdy. My cellphone picture includes a 65" DLP TV that I rotated on the top slightly. Plenty of room for it. Great product overall. Matching audio towers are available from Wal-Mart also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Love this Piece!

01/10/2011
By ,
Belmont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this TV stand. Once assembled, it looks exactly how it does online. I've never put a piece of furniture together, so it took me about 3 hours to assemble. The directions call for two people, but I managed to put it together myself. Great piece of furniture and my 42" flat screen TV looks wonderful on it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

great looking with all the features I wanted.

05/30/2011
By ,
Bryan, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an entertainment center that was low to the ground, modern and had drawer storage rather than doors. It had to have space for my VHS re-winder, playstation and VHS/DVD player. And the price had to be around $200. This lowboy was exactly what I was looking for.
It looks great, the color is nice and dark and modern, the styling is sleek. It arrived very quickly, didn't even take a week to ship. My daughters boyfriend helped me put it together and it took about two hours. We didn't have any problem understanding the directions and all the parts were marked.
Like a few others here, I left the bottom off and just sat it flat on the floor. I didn't want things stuck under the raised bottom or the panels to come loose moving it. Having it flat on the floor it just slides on the carpet when I need to get behind it for any reason.
The only thing that would make it better is the drawer could be a couple inches deeper so DVDs and plastic case VHS sit upright. Some of them have to lay flat so the titles aren't as easy to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

TV stand

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's looks nice, a very good quality. If somebody see it. Will think it cost a lot. I love it , good price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Solid Piece!

08/11/2009
By ,
New York, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great! It's is a REAL piece of furniture. You're getting waaayyy more than youre paying for. HOWEVER, It was a a doozey to put together. (just common sense and upper body strength lol) the pieces are HEAVY! which is good... I'm just saying. My point is... buy it! I'm very glad i did. and I cant wait to get the tower to match...
Oh and when putting it together... the way the directions instruct you has the face of the unit toward the floor. Make sure you put something down because I scratched mine a little...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

looks good-but junky

03/12/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Once this was put together, it looked awesome. However, the directions were a joke, it is all particle board and the finish chips very easily. Not a quality product at all
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

I liked it

11/02/2009
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this TV stand and it perfectely fits my 46' Sony TV. I am going to buy an Audio Tower as well.
Thank you Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Average product for an average price

07/05/2010
By ,
oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color is great, overall appearance is good. Very clean and simple looking. Did come with a missing piece and a few chipped and scratched pieces. Fortunately most of the damaged pieces aren't visable.
Great size for our 46" TV, and great depth. Instructions were not very good nor organized at all, but we managed to get it all together within a couple hours.
I would say its an average product for an average price.
Stand is nice and pretty heavy duty, so no problems there.
Does scratch easily.
The color we purchased was chocolate, but its actual color is closer to black than brown. I would say more espresso, than chocolate. Or Dark chocolate vs. milk chocolate! But I did end up liking the color, its just not what I expected from the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Good Piece...

07/28/2010
By ,
Detroit, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Assembly: Fairly Easy. The instructions are not the clearest, there is also an addendum in the instructions... why? Oh well.
Look: I like the dark look of the wood, very clean edges and corners.
Quality: Drawers are slightly crooked after assembly. The fasteners do not screw in, they are just plugs, which concerns me slightly as it would seem to take away from its rigidity. As long as you don't lift it from weird spots, you should be good though. Otherwise, very solid piece of furniture.
Features: The compartments above the drawers are nice, but they are kind of short (5 1/2" tall) which makes it impossible to fit a standard receiver in there. Not a big deal though, because I put the receiver is on top. Also, the TV sits a little low.
Overall I am happy with this product and would recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Good product

06/24/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall my wife and I are satisfied with this stand, the color is darker than the web picture but it matches our other furniture in the room; it took us about 2.5 hours to put it together and the instructions are clear; the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because we were expecting 100% wood or something close but it's not, allthough it is well built and for our 40" LCD is strong enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Pretty good for dollar

07/08/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The directions are awful but once you get it figured out, it looks great. The unit also scratches and dents easily so be careful during assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Junk

03/20/2014
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It looks OK and the price is OK, but the unit is total junk. The Veneer chips off if you even look at it wrong. You'll constantly be replacing parts unless you put it inside a glass case. Don't buy it. Several pieces came out of the box damaged. I even chipped some of the unit while dusting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Nice stand. A little pricier than should be.

03/13/2014
By ,
Indy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice color and finish but think a $150 price tag would be more appropriate. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

great piece of furniture

07/05/2010
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son purchased a 50" TV for me and my husband and we needed a stand to go with it. I found this one online and bought it feeling the price was very good. It was above and beyond our expectations. This piece of furniture was very easy to put together. Done in less than an hour. It is very solid and heavy. No problems holding a 50" TV. The style is contemporary and the finish is called chocolate but deep like an espresso brown. Love it, Love it, Love it. I would recommend this to anyone....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Poor quality product

08/16/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product was poor quality, took a lot of time to assemble and the instructions were not so clear. The bottom part had to be hammered in and does not hold. Overall not that satisfied with the product, ordered similar product from a different vendor and the quality was much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Looks Great- Terrible Assembly

10/21/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The finished product looks great. I have assembled LOTS of furniture and this one was the absolute worse. The directions were not easy to read...pictures were too small to see the details. You definitely will need a drill because the holes they drilled are not where they should be. They also supplied an "addendum" to the instructions b/c they ran out of drawer runners. But it seems the manufacturer did not drill for the new holes. This took me hours and hours to assemble. Thankfully it looks so good that I have forgotten the massive headache and backache I had after assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Solidly build table, simple and functional

06/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am wholly satisfied with this tv stand. While the wood is a recycled blend, it is of a sturdy construction. It's simple enough as to not be gaudy, but is definitely still visually appealing. It is quite heavy, and rather large, so one will almost assuredly require help when transporting it.
My only complaint is that the instructions are incredibly esoteric. The pictures are small and the accompanying text is not nearly as descriptive as I would have liked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

TV Stand

04/21/2013
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sleek, stylish,,, if you like contemporary, you will like this. It does sit low to the ground so keep that in mind for higher couches and view-line for watching TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Shore Skyline Chocolate TV Stand, for TVs up to 52"

Spend more and save

01/18/2013
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2.5 hrs to build this full particle board entertainment center. It looks fine but I now wish I would have bought something with higher quality. That being said it did meet my expectations for the price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next