Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Elgin Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Elgin Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Wake up on time with the Elgin 3455E Electric Alarm Clock. Its LCD screen is six inches wide, and displays the date and time in bold, easy-to-read numbers. You can customize this LCD alarm clock with seven different screen colors. Its user-friendly ascending alarm wakes you gently. It even has a snooze alarm that rings every five minutes, allowing you to catch a few extra winks when you need them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%27 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 34 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Not worth it - watch out!!!

05/18/2009
By ,
APO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The front screen is angled up so you cannot see it unless you are standing right over the clock looking down. This takes away from the usefulness of the clock and having it located on a nightstand next to the bed.
When someone tilts the clock down so the numbers are clearly visible straight ahead, after you walk a few feet away you cannot recognize the numbers. Not that bright and the numbers are small.
The plastic lid is a hindrance when operating the clock. Too easy to break the hinge opening and closing the lid.
The knob to turn the alarm on and off is too small and difficult to quickly turn off when waking up. Hard to remember where the off knob is first thing in the morning.
The color buttons sometimes don't work properly and you have to jiggle the knob(s) to get the right color combination.
Very small clock & fits in the palm of your hand.
Instead of using it in my bedroom, now use it in the living room and even then, I have to turn the clock so I can see the time from different angles.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

A simple clock with some fun and helpful features.

01/04/2009
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my boyfriend for Christmas and we're both enjoying it. You change the color of the display by toggling on or off the three different color buttons on the top of the unit. You can mix and match to create 7 different hues. (When all colors are off, the display is extremely dim, so we don't count this as one of the options.)
It also has a couple of nice extras, such as displaying the day of the week, date, and seconds. You can also choose between standard and military time. The alarm is loud enough to rouse you, but not loud enough to disturb people in other rooms.
Overall, it's a very basic alarm clock with a few nice extras. We're enjoying it enough to justify the five or six extra dollars I paid above the cost of the most basic alarm clock Walmart sells (which we previously bought and had the alarm switch break after six months.) We've only had it for two weeks, but I will update this review after a few months or sooner if we encounter any problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

I recommend it for morning people only

08/22/2012
By ,
Lompoc, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I replaced a clock that had badly placed buttons (I kept changing the time zone with an errant swipe at the snooze). So I bought this new Elgin clock. It uses a sliding button: change time - change alarm - change date - set alarm on - set alarm off. (NO time zone. Yay!) Very easy to set & reset.
For fun (I guess) it has 3 color buttons for changing the display color, mix & match. Great thing is the buttons all turn off so the display can be turned off for darkness. There's a plastic cover that fits over all the buttons, preventing accidental changes. (Yay!) Decent alarm sound, just loud enough, starts single beeps, then double beeps, then triple... well actually I haven't gotten farther than double. And the plastic cover sits over all the buttons and on the snooze button, so press the plastic cover and that hits the snooze.
So far so good. EXCEPT -- and this is a big drawback for me -- it snoozes only 3 times then stops. I've already overslept once. Just a couple more snoozes please? This is the main reason I can't give it more stars.
It's hard plastic, well made, seems durable, decent price. Doesn't have a time zone button (yay!). But the snooze is a problem for me, I'm not a morning person. So I'm still shopping.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lompoc, CA
I'm still not a morning person but now I'm unhappy
Posted 09/25/2012
It was ok, but now, after a month, the slide button has gone nutty. When I push the slide left to change the alarm time, sometimes it just flashes the year. I push it back a step then forward, it just keeps flashing. When I am able to change the alarm time, I push the slide to the right again to set the alarm, instead the alarm time keeps flashing at each step and won't set. It's really messed up. It hasn't gotten that much impact, other than changing the alarm a couple times, so I don't know why this has happened. Anyway, I change my 3 stars to 0. Waste of money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Excellant product

05/22/2009
By ,
Lumberton, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found the item to be a great value. I like the many colors you can put on face of clock. Elgin being the maker of the clockinspires confidence. The price was very attractive too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Just about right

10/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The display is just a little smaller than I would have wanted, but it has all the information I was looking for. I do not find it too bright.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Brillant

04/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the various color tones and a very basic alarm.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Great little clock!

01/03/2013
By ,
PHX AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truthfully, I chose this one because of the ability to choose the display color and low price. I am completely satisfied with this clock although I do not use it for much more than to check the time when I wake up in the middle of the night. Right now I have it on purple and the light is perfect the display is easy to read. I can see how some say it is difficult to read from lower angles. I am higher than the clock so it works for me. If not I would do as another reviewer and put something under the backside to prop it up a bit. Have not used its alarm or other functions so I cannot comment there. It is very small so it does not take up much room but the display is "big" and easy to read. I love the way it tells time the date the day of the week and everything else I might need to know in case I pass out for longer than one night….
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Nice Little Clock

05/17/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a clock that I could see from my bed upon waking in the middle of the night to check the time.
I love the color choices you have for the number display on the face of the clock. Before buying this clock I bought a neon lighted one that was too bright for me to sleep with but this is perfect for what I wanted it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Just another digital clock.

01/09/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This clock has several color settings, which is pretty cool. I used the "red" setting, since it's not as glaring at night when trying to sleep (when you buy this, you'll know exactly what I mean). I also like the fact that the adjustment buttons are cover with a lid, which helps with accidental number changes. It also uses an AAA battery as a backup, for sudden power outages. This way you don't have to readjust everything should you accidentally unplug the clock.
Overall, this is a neat little clock. I gave it an average rating, because at the end, it's still just a clock. Had it included a thermometer, the rating would have been higher.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Date problem

06/17/2009
By ,
Helena MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The other functions on the clock work fine, but I can't set the date so I can't do a weekday/weekend schedule.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Small Clock - Great Value

03/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This small clock does everthing thing necessary. It takes up very little space on a crowded night stand. Having the choice of colors for the display is nice. Bright or light, there is a choice for everyone. Even though it is small, the dial is very visible at night, even without my glasses.
The only change I would make would be to have a push button that shuts off the alarm and automatically resets is for the next day. This one requires that the alarm be turned off completely and then turned back on for the next day. This is done on a slide bar, a buttom would be more convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Great idea, but...

11/29/2012
By ,
Annandale, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, it took my order well over a week to be ready for pick-up at the store. I got it home and immediately set the time, date, etc. When I closed the lid on the top after set-up (which was quite simple), everything went blank and would not turn back on despite using a different electrical outlet. This clock is a very good idea. I liked it because you can use different color backgrounds and the price was very reasonable. Needless to say, it is going back which is very much an inconvenience! I am very disappointed with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

GREAT CLOCK!

05/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a cute little clock! it's smaller than you might think from looking at the picture online, but it's still very readable (especially from a nightstand) ... the alarm is decent, but it only rings for 60 seconds and only allows for 3 5-minute snoozes ... for someone who likes to sleep in on the weekends and needs little more aggression to wake them, the short snooze/ring time might be disappointing ... still a cool little clock :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Good for our needs.

11/28/2012
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Numbers are a bit small and seeing time on an angle hard as the numbers disappear. We use it above our TV area to see what time it is and have to tilt the clock forward a bit. We just used a little rubber wedge under the back end. Choosing the color of the display definately a plus in helping get the best visable numbers. Adjusts to your personal visual needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

cute clock

08/21/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
got this for my sons' room...its much smaller than I expected but still VERY cute! The boys LOVE the different colors on the selectable display...they change it all the time. Overall, it's a nice clock...the display is clear...it shows the digital seconds, the date and can even show time in military mode...it's just a bit small.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

This alarm clock has all you need plus more.

12/02/2012
By ,
Hartlad, Wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the alarm clock for it's cover on the top to protect the the control buttons. It's fun to change the colors of the numbers and background in the window. The sound of the alarm is not shrill so I'm not startled when it wakes me up. And it doesn't take up a lot of room on your night table.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

Various Display Colors Available

11/30/2012
By ,
Wenatchee WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This clock is attractive, works well, and the display colors look good. This clock not only displays the time, it shows the date and seconds. Because of that, the numbers are smaller than other clocks this size, and a bit harder to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color
01/02/2013
By ,
Bakersfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 3 of these for my children for Christmas ages 10 and 2 at 15 years old. They love it at its very easy to work . It sets it self and they love the color changing feature
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color
12/27/2012
By ,
Pgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son as a Christmas present. He researched on line. He is taking it back to school and hasn't tried it yet, sorry!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Elgin Electric Alarm Clock with Selectable Display Color

No radio. Good price.

01/08/2012
By ,
Northern KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got t his for my 10 year daughter for Christmas bc I liked the idea of the different colors. It didnt even occur to me that there was no radio, but it was a great price. It was smaller than I thought it would be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next