Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Featuring Ambisound, the HTS8100 delivers an engaging multi-channel surround experience from just two speakers, in any sort of room. It's easy to set up and can be mounted on a wall. Ambisound provides full no-fuss multichannel surround sound, and Smart Surround optimizes surround settings automatically. It plays DVDs in nearly HD quality at 720p, 1080p or 1080i when you connect it to an HDTV through the HDMI port. Faroudja DCDi provides incredibly sharp video, as well. You can even connect your iPod for audio and video playback. There's also USB Direct to play photos and music from USB flash drives and an MP3 line-input for music playback from portable media players. AM and FM are built in, too. Wireless remote control included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%27 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Sounds better that expected

01/19/2009
By ,
Yelm, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product because I wanted to have all of the components ie. cable box receiver etc. in a closet out of sight, and there wasn't a way to achive this in a DVD/ Surround system without running an IR transmitter eye ( They have been a headache in the past ). Also you don't have to go into the closet to change DVD's. The price was right, $500 @ Walmart, at least $100-$200 less than anywhere else. Sound quality is excellent. Friends can't tell it's "simulated surround". Unless they try and find the speakers behind them. Video quality is great also. I hope the pic shows up. The install was easy and looks great mounted under a 50" plasma and the sub is to the right of the Pellet Stove. The only Cons are 1) Needs a "Blueray" option. 2) The cord from the Sub to the Sound Bar doesn't disconnect at the Sub. Our family has been movie freaks since install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

meets our expectations

05/01/2009
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found this product to meet our expectations for a home theatre system suitable for our bedroom. My hubby and I didn't like the idea of have speaker wire all over the place and placing small speakers throughout the room so we opted for this soundbar. It is super sleek and modern looking. We love how the DVD player is integrated with it. The sound quality is outstanding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100
09/03/2009
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The soundbar is a great addition to our new flat-screen TV. Dvds sound great. When we play music cds on it however, the sound quality isn't as good. We don't get the nice bass we did on our old stereo (even when you increase the bass volume on the remote). That is the only drawback.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Happy with it

09/18/2009
By ,
central NY State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used all the features yet. I wanted something to use with the tv that had good tone quality, not something that would blast me and this does that although I had to turn the subwoofer down. I also didn't want lots of wires all over the room; again, this is easy to hook up with just a couple of cables. The manual isn't really clear about how to get the tv sound to transfer to the sound bar; my brother-in-law had to show me that the audio on the tv menu had to be turned off. Delivery was quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Highly Recommend

11/24/2009
By ,
Nampa ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an ideal setup in my bedroom. The sound is nice and clear, the bass is great (no booming), the Ambisound has many presets to choose from and they all process the sound as described. The up-converting DVD player works very well. The AM/FM tuners are a nice touch. This thing is like an all-in-one home theater system. I hung it on the wall beneath my 32" LCD HDTV, hooked my DirecTV DVR up, and have enjoyed the setup immensely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100
09/13/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is full of features and worth of the price you pay. Upconversion is good enough and Philips used best technology available in the market.
Do not expect 5.1 home theater quality as its only 2.1 channel only; overall its really good.
If you donot feel hassel of installing 5 speakers then I will recomend to buy 5.1 as it's sound quality will be good.
I recomend this product for that much price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Just like going to the Drive-In

10/17/2009
By ,
White Oak, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this system! The audio is equivalent to an indoor/outdoor movie theater.
It's easy to set up and easy to use.
Only drawback is that all cables are not provided.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

AWESOME

02/13/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchase this product, I was thinking in value and space saving. when I receive it, I was looking for a reason to return it, still looking, this product is AWESOME, the sound quality is perfect, I replace a 5.1 system and still this one is far more efficient in sound delivery and quality. Even that is a 1080 up converting, the picture look nice in my 42 in LG. the only bad part or negative review for me is that I have a ipod NANO 5th gen and the only thing I can do is play my music with the cradle.(is made for older ipods) I wish this system was Blueray too but then the price wasn't going to be that affordable. If you get this, I promise you won't regret it. Nice one, PHILIPS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

money well spent

01/04/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my Philips soundbar today, and it is great.
Setup was pretty easy, had to figure out how to get the sound to play while watching TV, but I figured it out. I am very pleased with the sound quality makes me feel like I'm in the movie theater. The radio feature is pretty cool, sound is decent though it is much better while watching TV or a movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Philips Soundar is the new age technology

01/19/2010
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My girlfriend works for Philips and she wanted this item. I bought it for a great price.....Installation was easy, setup was a little nerve wrecking but it's definitely a great product.....The sound is great wether your using the dvd or fm tuner. We turned the volume all the way up and with no distortion it still sounded great....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

philip sound bar2.1 hts8100

12/22/2009
By ,
fort myers, fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this system fits my type of application. the tv system that i have has the speakers on the back of the set. the philip hts 8100 does two jobs which i like, one the sound comes out from the front so i am able to hear the sound better. two, it simulates the surround sound. the sound for me is like having a 5.1 system.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Exceptional Deal

09/20/2009
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an exceptional deal for small spaces or apartments. The surround sound is fantastic, and the radio reception for both AM and FM is really good. It had taken a little work to hook up the system, but once it was together the sound was fantistic. You can't go wrong with this product, and the price is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 13 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Amazing

02/05/2010
By ,
Ledbetter, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is everything I was hoping to find in a surround sound system. Easy to install, no wires, no mess, looks great, sounds wonderful. The price was great as far as the competition. Has all the required ports and hook ups I needed from my existing components with a few extra.........
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Works great!!!

01/04/2010
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy installation, has the cables with it and easy to follow instructions took more time to unpack that to hook it up. My wife and I are now having to go back and watch old movies due to the clarity of both the sound and the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Philips Sound Bar

01/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup is simple and the sound quality is amazing. I am so impressed that I logged back into this site to rate this product. This is a steal at this price! You will not be disapointed. Absolutely impressive!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Sounds great!

02/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. Sounds great in a smaller family room. For a really big room, I would have purchased a true surround sound speaker system. But this is very good bass sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

A nice addition to the tv

02/27/2010
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very user friendly and easy to install. It works very well and gives a nice movie theater experience while being at home watching television or movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

LOVE IT

02/17/2010
By ,
STOCKTON, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT, HAS BUILTIN DVD PLAYER AM FM RADIO AND COMES WITH SUB WOOFER, DONT HAVE TO RUN WIRES ALL OVER THE PLACE FOR SPEAKERS , GREAT SOUND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100

Philips Sound Bar 2.1

12/15/2009
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everything we needed looks good and it adds great sound to our 42" philips lcd. not many wires to mess with at all and easy to hook up and use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips Sound Bar 2.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System w/ Up-Converting DVD Player, HTS8100
01/04/2010
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy setup, great sound for small to mid sized living room. Looks great under my 42" flat screen. Cheap and fast shipping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next