Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Midland Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Midland Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Keep your family safe and in the know with the Midland AM FM Alarm Clock Radio. This emergency weather radio gives you detailed weather/all hazard alerts, and its also an AM/FM radio. Youll never get caught in the rain with its access to daily weather conditions and warnings. And it makes your life easier when you plan your picnics, shopping, or trips. You can also count on this Midland AM FM alarm clock radio to wake you up on time, so youre always on schedule. With its emergency weather radio and AM FM functionality, youll be prepared for just about anything!
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation93%52 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Does the job WELL!

05/15/2011
By ,
Southeast Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice radio for the $. I only purchased it as a backup to my main mobile radio in my chase vehicle, but I use it quite often. Sound quality is good, and the reception is fantastic, once connected to my dual mobile weather ant's. The backlight is great for night chasing, and not too brilliant on the eyes. The alerts always went off in perfect time with my main radio... great performance. It is easy to use, and far superior to the more expensive Sangean CL-100. I went through 3 of those before purchasing this one. I highly recommend this for all of your weather safety needs, whether at home or on the road.
Great product once again Midland....Bravo.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Excellent product!

02/15/2012
By ,
Marion, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother as a Christmas gift. I set it up for her and the next day I was in the basement and she was in the living room, when it sounded an alarm. Both our thoughts were at first...what the heck was that! I ran upstairs just as she was getting to the radio and it started announcing the severe thunderstorm warning and also a tornado watch. She looked at me with that worried look, but also a look that I knew was gratitude for giving her this wonderful product. You can set it for only your area or several areas. There are options for floods, avalanche, hurricane and more. You can decide which warnings pertain to you and which you don't want to hear. It has a small learning curve on setup, but I don't think anyone would be disappointed with their decision to buy this radio. Oh, the storm never did get too bad, but it was nice being warned that it may have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Very disappointed

06/27/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup is very frustrating - instructions in manual do not coincide with the product responses. I am quite disappointed in the AM/FM radio. I was so looking forward to having a digital radio so that I could precisely tune to stations and be able to 'memorize' my favorite stations. Unfortunately, the tuning is not very discriminating, to say the least. Example: 930 AM is one of the stations I like. However, it comes in from 880 to 990. This overrides 970, another favorite station. The weather stations and alert messages seem to function just fine. I believe I just may have gotten a lemon. I will return this unit to the store and purchase another in the hope that it will function better.
I spent over a week in contact with a Midland rep, but got no satisfaction. Her only solution was for me the send my unit to them, at my expense, and they would replace it. Otherwise, their answer was, "the weather portion works, what do you want?".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Works as promised

08/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted a radio with true S.A.M.E. that would allow blocking of warnings we did not wish to hear at 3am. This is one of the few options that exist out there. This one allowed us to set exactly what we wanted to block and how we wished to be alerted. No problems at all. It has received all alerts and test alerts that we've set as promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Excellent weather radio.

07/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely works as advertised. I did not have any problems setting it. Just find your county code on the NOAA website and enter that in. You can also mute out warnings you do not care about -- completely configurable in that respect. Also, it will let you monitor more than one area....I believe up to 20-30 counties. Nice for when you have more than one residence you care about. It does have battery backup on FM tuner, so you can take it in the basement when the power goes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Choose the alerts you want!

08/02/2010
By ,
Northeast Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you live in tornado country, a weather radio is a MUST. However, I live at the top of a hill and I don't want to be wakened at 3:00 am for a flood warning - No longer a problem.
This radio uses SAME to provide only localized warnings, and then allows you to custom configure only appropriate warnings for each individual owner. Being able to turn off warnings that don't apply to you will result in extra sleep which is always a good thing. I am very happy with this product as a weather radio.
However, you may not want to buy this product to use as a clock because the time display on the lcd is quite small.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Display too dim. Radio audio poor.

03/05/2014
By ,
SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Handy weather radio for a reasonable price. Display too dim. Radio audio poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

more than I bargained for

06/15/2010
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for an alarm clock that would also give me weather updates, I got a weather update that also can function as an alarm clock. Not user friendly, not really. As a weather alert system it really does a great job, however, being an alarm clock radio really seems like it was an afterthought.
I like it, just takes some getting used to. TIME DISPLAY is WAY TO SMALL!!!! I don't even look at it to check the time, as I wear glasses and don't sleep in them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Couldn't even set the time!

02/21/2014
By ,
Black River Falls, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace an old telephone/radio/alarm instrument. I thought I'd enjoy the weather info so I purchased this unit. I brought it home & following the directions verbatim, I could not even set the time. The main purpose of the purchase was radio and alarm so I took it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Great Weather Radio Alarm Clock with Radio!

10/01/2011
By ,
Pine City, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Weather Radio comes with a built-in Alarm Clock and AM/FM radio. Easy to program and use. My only complaint is the time/date is too small. You can choose to have the time/date illuminated or 'off'. If you use the 'off' option you can press any button on the alarm clock and it will illuminate for 5 seconds and turn off. I use the 'off' option and without the illumination it allows you to have a more peaceful sleep.
One button touch to hear the weather report when you need it.
When the unit is not plugged in it operates on 4 'AA' batteries. Great when there is an electrical outage.
Overall it's a great unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

great product, easy to set up, easy to move.

06/27/2011
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been researching the web for a weather radio that we could use at home and when we go camping. This is nice for many reasons. You can program it for your county, what type of alert you want ( tornado, thunderstorms, blizzard, etc.) and it will wake you up to alert you.
I placed it in the hallway near the bedrooms, two days later it went off at 2am, it was loud enough to wake everyone. Tornado warning with a touch down 10 miles away. We all went into the basement. Not only does it sound an alarm it also switched automatically to the weather station so you know what the emergency is.
It has not gone off while camping, yet. We have been through many storms in the camper without knowing how severe the storm really was. Now I will know :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Good but not Stellar

08/27/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This radio does the basic job. When NOAA sends S.A.M.E. encoded watches and warnings, it sounds a loud siren and an alert light illuminates. Problem is that if you have multiple counties programmed in, it doesn't tell you which county or counties the warning is for. You have to take the time to listen to the broadcast to get that.
The FM broadcast band radio is fairly sensitive and receives stations that more expensive radios can't hear. Instruction booklet is vague and confusing. Aside from having to guess much of how this thing works, the booklet shows a jack on the rear labelled "PC". No explanation of what it is for. Contacted Midland and customer service said it is for "cloning" radios. That's it! No more explanation! Pretty good product for the Walmart price and "Site to Store" worked great!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Good buy

05/02/2009
By ,
russell, ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, this is great! I have tried other weather radios in the same price range and this one is heads above the othrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Good radio, lots of features

09/29/2011
By ,
Canton, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had another brand of radio that I realized did not alert me the last couple of storms in the area. We live in North GA and get many alerts(storms, tornadoes, etc).
This radio picks up several additional alert my previous model did not. It picks up the NOAA station much better. So far we have had one storm warning since we got the radio. It perform great. One note, make sure you set the siren level appropriately. Our was set to LOW and could not hear in other parts of the house. I changed it to LOUD and tested, I should be able to hear it now anywhere in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Midland Weather/All Hazard Radio

08/15/2008
By ,
Topeka, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In the display it would be better for the Time to be displyed in a larger, easer to read from accross the room and the Date display could be smaller.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Great Radio

11/15/2013
By ,
98056
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy it very much and will use it as long as it functions which I hope is years
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Excellent Weather Radio

04/26/2009
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has a great number of options,alarms, levels of notification, and god weather reception.
It uis not quite as good as a clock radio. Display has time in one corner and date in most of screen. Backlight is too bright to leave on continually in a dark roon and does not stay on long enough in regular mode to read the time. Contrast is not enough to allow easy reading. It is fine as far as working as a clock radio but not very good for an every day bedside clock radio. I use it as a clock radio but have a small clock on the night stand to see the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Very satisfied

06/29/2010
By ,
Columbus Grove, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Midland WR 300 weather radio through Wal-Mart.com. I received it within one week, and the product works wonderfully. It only alerts you when there is threatening weather in the area or areas you designate. When there are watches or warnings this radio keeps you up to date on what's going on and tells you when the threat is over. I would highly recommend this product and walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts

Good to have for weather and emergency info.

12/13/2012
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Of the midland weather radios, the wr-300 is the only one that allows you to select which alerts will sound the alarm. Nice if you don't want to be awakened for, say, a flood watch. I also wanted a clock-radio, so that I only have one device on the night stand. My only complaint would be that the programming is not very intuitive. You have to have the manual in hand to know how to program the functions. (But, I expected that from my experience with an older version of this product.) Also, so far I haven't figured out how to have the alarm actually turn on the radio, and not just a beeper. But, I suspect I simply haven't figured out the programming. As I stated, I have had a similar Midland wx radio for years. VERY dependable. Also, this works on batteries when the power is out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Midland AM/FM Alarm Clock Radio with Weather/All Hazard Alerts
05/13/2012
By ,
Worthington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this from Walmart.. There were a lot of good reviews which I rely on when making a purchase. This did not work out for us.. I woke up to the tornado siren going off and a silent radio. Also the weather station was so static I could not hear. Maybe a different radio would have been my answer but did not want to chance it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 51 total reviews
1 2 3 Next