Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Key Features: Low and high pass filter High level input High level auto sensing
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%14 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK

03/06/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old 5Ch Sony amp went out the nite before installing my Pioneer AVICF700BT so I needed a new amp fast. Comparison shopped online with Walmart, Best Buy, Crutchfield and even called Pep Boys (I try to stay away from the private Car Audio stores as they are super expensive!) I wired this amp to power my Pioneer 6.75 components up front and bridged the back 2 channels to power my Kicker 10" sub - This amp blew me away! I originaly intended to try it out while shopping for a another 5Ch amp. After testing it out, I've decided to keep it to power my front and back pioneer component speakers and will buy either the JVC, Pioneer or heck maybe even the Dual 2ch at Walmart to power the sub. I didn't need any of the filters or fancy crossovers - just good clean power - I can fine tune the sound with my Pioneer AVIC700 head unit. This is a FABULOUS amp for under $100!!! I dare you to try and find a better brand name 4Ch amp for under $100!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Sony 600 Watt Xplod 4 ch Amp

12/06/2008
By ,
Georgia, U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before buying this Sony amp, I purchased some A series 6.75" Pioneer component speakers ( two sets ). Installing these speakers properly requires more than just bolting them in and wiring them up. Sealing the doors off and dampening them thoroughly is a must, especially if you are going to use an amp with decent power. Otherwise they will rattle and distort easily.
I have a four door truck with four 6.75" drivers and two 1" tweeters. My JVC indash DVD player was capable of 20 watts RMS. The Pioneer speakers could handle 50 watts RMS. So I wanted to push the Pioneers a bit more to get better bass.
This Sony amp was exactly what I was looking for. 4 channel amp with 60 watts RMS. Now Sony doesn't have a very high reputation in the car audio world. I figured the amp would at least put out 50 watts RMS a channel. After install I ended up turning the gain down for both sides of the amp. I left the built in cross overs to off ( Full pass ). After some adjustments I found this Sony amp was quite nice. Very clear and my expectations for bass was surpassed. Yes! 6.75" speakers can put out bass.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Great Price for a Great Product

06/08/2009
By ,
Olive Branch, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an 800 Watt, 4 Channel Emerson amp powering my 5.5 front speakers and 6.5 rear speakers in my 98 Honda Civic. After 6 years of service, it gave up the ghost, sadly. I liked the look of this amp, and it also was within the dimensions that would be able to mount to my car seat. As I have progressed, I have had to replace many things, such as the Sub, Head Unit, and now this amplifier. Strangely enough, I find myself gravitating towards Sony product when I initially shied away from them. I have not been disappointed in any of my Sony products, from the X Plod 12" Sub, to my Bluetooth Head Unit(another awesome deal!). This 600 Watt amp matches my 800 Watt Emerson to the decibel, and in sound quality, surpasses it. I am extraordinarily pleased with my purchase, and I would say to anyone who can find one of these or the newer model once it comes out, go for it. You will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

You won't find a better deal on a 4 channel amp!

07/09/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was amazed to find a brand named 4 channel amp for this price. Yes it is somewhat less powerful than other amps, but it will certainly run even the beefiest component mids and highs with ease. With this amp, I ran the front components and bridged the rear to a low end Sony xplod 10" sub also purchased at Wal-Mart (locally). I must say for the money I put into this setup, I am more than satisfied. I thought about buying another one of these amps just to have in case I ever needed another 4 channel amp. Usually 4 channel amps cost much more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Sony Amp

07/15/2008
By ,
Sac, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the amp works good, I bought it to hook it up to 2 10" subs on my boat, the only thing I wish it had was a built in cooling fan, other than that, it works good, except when it gets to hot, then it cuts out. It was only $88 online, so I'm not complaining. It works good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 6 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Great Bang for The Buck

08/24/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I blew 1 side of my Kenwood 4 channel amp, and since I drive a Jeep, there was no way was I going to invest much in an amp. So I wasn't really expecting much, but WOW! I run it as a 3 channel amp with an active crossover, so I don't use the built in crossover. It drives the 8" sub OK at higher volumes, but at lower volumes the sub is barel audible. Maybe I can tweak my set up and get more bass at lower volumes. It does push the 2 full range speakers very well, I haven't ran the amp full volume because the speakers above my head are plenty loud at less than 50%. In fact the highs maybe a little sharper than the Kenwood. While you'll probably not win any audio competitions using this as you main amp, you will certianly get more than your money's worth!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 7 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

worst amp

11/03/2008
By ,
mountain home ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this amp and hooked it up in the parking lot. my subs vibrated more from my door speakers then the amp pushing. i was so dissappointed in a sony product. but i went in returned it and bought the 760w pioneer. it kicks so hard that cd's rattle out of my visor. i have 2 12 MTX terminators from circuit city and it is a true bargain. if ur thinking of buying this amp, buy the pioneer because it is worth the 30 dollars for an upgrade. even if it is only 2 channels
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 8 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

ITS A GOOD AMP..

02/15/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT IS A GOOD AMPLIFIER BUT ITS JUST THAT SOME PEOPLE DONT KNOW WASSUP WITH THINGS AND BY BRIDGING THE OUTPUTS IT PUTS IN WAY MORE WATTS IN YOUR AMP IT WOULD DOUBLE THE POWER...
YOU ALSO HAVE TO KNOW WHAT WIRING YOU SHOULD BUY BEFORE INSTALLING IT IF YOUR GOING TO GET A 1200 WATTS AMP YOU SHOULD GET A 1500 WATTS AMP KIT SO THAT WAY YOU CAN HAVE MORE PROTECTION AGAINST BLOWING OUT YOUR FUSE THAT QUICK
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 9 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Great Amp!!

05/22/2009
By ,
Keller, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just put this amp in my 06 STI. I have it powering a set of Polk Audio db6501 Component Speakers and two 10” Punch Subs. This amp does the job with no problem. For $90 this is a no brainer!! Great product for $$.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

Nice but lacking adjustability

11/23/2008
By ,
Staten Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a nicely made and easily installed amp, provides a pretty good result, i just wish there was a little more adjustability so you can fine tune it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

sony amp

06/07/2009
By ,
Columbus IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I installed this amplifier in a 06 mitsubishi lancer to replace a infinity amp that was bad and it works great. A great product for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

THE BEST AMP FOR THE PRICE!

03/17/2009
By ,
SA, TEXAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SOUNDS GREAT... RUNNING FRONT AND REAR SPEAKERS OFF OF AMP! CLEAR SOUND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R

A VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT AND FUN

02/25/2009
By ,
ALBANY, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT'S REALY VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT AND FUN I LIKE IT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sony 4-Channel 600-Watt Xplod Amplifier, XMZR604R
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5