Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Conair Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Conair Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Hard hat hair dryer cleverly folds in on itself so that the collapsed unit is only 6" high. It's a cinch to store! Enjoy salon results at home with this great 1875-watt home hair dryer. Well-balanced airflow gently surrounds your head to dry hair evenly. Adjustable height control and 2 heat/speed settings make the experience comfortable and easy. Extra-large hood accommodates a set of jumbo rollers. Built-in carrying handle. 6' line cord stores in base.Conair, Collapsible Hard Hat Bonet Dryer, MODEL #HH400
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(292 Reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
82
3 stars
30
2 stars
15
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation84%245 out of 292reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
146
4 stars
82
3 stars
30
2 stars
15
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Good Hair Dryer

07/15/2012
By ,
Northern VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a bonnet type hair dryer and came across this one. After reading the reviews I decided to try it. I really like it. It is a little loud but does what it is suppose to do and that is dry your hair. It has two setting hi and low. It has a large enough bonnet for those with a big head full of large curlers LOL and it has an adjustable height. The height adjustment is perfect depending on what table you are using it on and what type of chair you are sitting on. At first the bonnet was a little awkward getting it to snap in place but after a few tries of flipping it, I got it right. You have to first push down the height and then release the bonnet so it can fold down back into place.It also has to blue levers on both sides to lock in place so you can pick it up. It folds down nice and neatly for easy storage and the cord also has a little compartment to store away as well. Overall a nice dryer for the price.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer
08/05/2011
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this based on the good reviews. I was not led astray. This is a very good hair dryer that folds up compactly so you can tuck it away (I put mine under my bed) when not in use. It has a high and low setting. I used the high setting to give myself foil highlights, and it worked great. The height adjusts to 3 different settings, which is very convenient. Yes, the high setting is kind of loud, but you usually don't sit under it all that long anyway. You can set it on your kitchen counter and sit under it on a dining room chair. I highly recommend. I bought this to replace one of those soft bonnet hair dryers that hook onto your handheld blow dryer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Not a good dryer

04/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The dryer was a good price but it does not dry like expected. The plastic piece is very wide and no heat comes from this area. So, the top of my hair was dry while the sides and back were not. I wanted to roll my hair, sit under the dryer, take the rollers out and have curls. The top was completely dry with curls but the bottom and sides were still wet. I sat under the dryer and it took entirely too long to dry. I would not recommend this dryer to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Excellent Dryer

02/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know how anybody could find something wrong with this dryer. It's perfect!!! I've tried other hooded dryers before and I have to admit that this one is the best--especially for the price!
I have natural black (4b) hair and I use the dryer for deep conditioning and drying my hair once week for about 1-2 hours.
The heat isn't too hot or harsh so you never have to worry about heat damage to your hair. I haven't had any electrical problems either. It's like a gentle breeze. And it's not too loud, compared to hand dryers I've had in the past, my hooded dryer is definetly quieter. Plus it's light, compact, and folds up pretty small for easy storage.
If you haven't bought this product yet then I don't know what you're waiting for(:
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Suitable for my Needs

12/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is perfect for my needs. I mainly wanted a hooded dryer for deep conditioning my natural hair (3c/4a), but large enough to accommadate rollers if I chose to utilize it for drying. I havent used it with rollers yet, but I believe it is spacious enough to fit at least medium sized rollers (I have a big head). The adjustable height made it so I have a perfect fit if Im using my computer chair, and I have no problems getting air flow to all of my hair if I lean my head down slightly (which was natural for me since I use my phone or read a book during this time). I only use the low heat setting (quieter than expected) which is sufficient enough for deep conditioning (in my opinion), and doesnt scold your skin. I took a star away because the plastic that creates the actual hood is quite thin so Im sure if someone isnt careful it could crack/break easily, and the portion that connects the hood to the base doesnt snap to hold it in place (I havent had issues with it folding back, but I wouldve liked the extra measure to ensure it wouldnt). All in all I am happy with my purchase so long as itll last at least a year and a half Ill have no qualms.
P.S. Id suggest to turn the hooded dryer on low for 30min for the first run just to get rid of the hot plastic smell, before using it. Just so its out of the way and you dont have to endure it. To clarify even further it only has that smell the very FIRST time its used.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

You get what you pay for!

12/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is no reflection of Wal-Mart at all. I received my dryer very quickly. Easy assemble. However, the part that rotates forward (the outer portion of the hood) does not "lock" into place as the instructions suggest, and also the picture is very deceiving. I thought I bought a defected dryer until I called Conair and was advised that the dryer 's hood is not supposed to connect in the back and that there is a gaping hole in the back. Hopefully, the air does not escape the open area where the rotating hood doesn't snap in place. I haven't used it yet, but I guess for just $30 I don't mind my hair just drying possibly just at the top.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Great Deal For The Price

09/17/2008
By ,
Rowlett, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase of this product and would definitely recommend it! I purchased a soft hat bonnet hair dryer and returned it because it would get hot and cut off after 10 or 15 minutes and I would have to wait 10 minutes to turn it back on. It took forever to dry my hair. But, this one is like an actual beauty shop dryer. It is comfortable to sit under, works even with large curlers, and dries very quickly on the high setting. It folds down compactly, is light weight, has a carrying handle and stores easily. It works great! I just love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Efficient Dryer

10/30/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hair dryer has 2 settings, low and high, both settings are very effective. The dryer is a bit loud but I guess that's normal. I have to use a box underneath the base because the arm of the dryer does not extend far enough for the bonnet to cover my head...or my table is too low. Also, the arm of the bonnet locking mechanism which allows the dryer to stay upright or fold can be tricky to set because the dryer did not come with any material or instructions. In addition, I still have not figured out how to properly adjust the movable head piece attached to the bonnet. After much maneuvering of this head piece there's a gap of space and it does not fit snug, like the dryer photo online or on the box. Bottom line - it does it's job and dries my hair efficiently. I also like that it's foldable and stores well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

GREAT DRYER

08/14/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
VERY LIGHT AND EASY TO STORE. THIS DRYER IS DEFINTELY GOOD FOR THE PRICE AND IT GETS REALLY HOT EVEN ON LOW!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

This Dryer is great for Black American Hair...

02/16/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skepictal when I purchased the dyer; however, it got to me on a rainy day and my hair was a mess. I washed and conditioned my hair, sat under the dyer and within an hour my hair was just as silky as it was when I left the salon. Great dyer for really thick course hair.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Ja

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't believe the find! It is more than I could imagine
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Very good dryer

04/07/2009
By ,
Chesterfield, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this dryer for conditioning my hair and it is very good. The dryer gets as hot as the full size dryers. It is very easy to store and compact but it fits over my entire head and is tall enough for me (I'm 5'10"). The only drawback is that it is a little loud.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Easy to Use

03/06/2009
By ,
St Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hair dryer is easy to use. It is just what I needed for heat conditioning for my hair. It opens up easy, heats up fast and the heat is distributed over the whole head. Wal-mart had the best price actually half price of what I had seen on the conair website. I did not want to spend alot on a dryer and this is just what I needed at the right price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

great dryer

05/25/2011
By ,
Dayton, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just got my dryer today from amazon and i love it. i am african american with thick shoulder length hair. all other dryers including ones at salons take about a hour and a half to dry my hair but this one only took 45 mins. it dried my whole head and i could fit jumbo rollers in there. i am very pleased with this product so far but this is only day 1. oh and the setup is very easy
Pros: Functional, Inexpensive, Durable, easy setup
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Great hard hat hair dryer

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading ratings, I decided to get the Conair Collapsible dryer and have been delighted with it. I am tall (5'6') so the ability to raise the neck to a higher level is perfect for me. It dries my hair (fine) in 15 minutes. It is easy to collaspe and is lightweight so I can carry and store it with ease.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Great Product for the Price

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dries my hair quicklyis adjustable, and stores easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Great inexpensive dryer!

11/27/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Firstly, I am mixed with a tight curl pattern of hair which I relax. My hair is thick.
I shop around a lot before purchasing a product and always read reviews. I probably saw a few bad reviews out of a hundred for this particular dryer at Target.com and Macys online as well as Walmart.com.
The delivery was very quick! I was so excited. It was only 4 days at the most if I remember correctly. I immediately read the directions to get used to how to operate it and then tried it.
1) It is a cheaper type of hair dryer so it sounds louder in some settings but it's really not that big a deal. I used it on the low setting while my boyfriend watched tv and it didn't affect him too much.
2) The low setting is great if you aren't in a hurry. Using a more expensive dryer growing up it took a good hour and a half or two to dry my hair on rollers. With this dryer on the low setting it took a little less than an hour.
3) I tried it on high although I didn't need it just to see if it was any louder or if it smelled, and yes it smelled a little plastic-y because it was the first time using it but it wasn't any louder. It dried my hair quickly but it didn't dry it out It does get pretty hot under that setting.
4) It isn't a real hood dryer so the front does not overhang to cover your head fully. I wouldn't call it sitting "under" the dryer, it's almost flat, it's not round, so to get the very back dry you would need to bend your head or rotate yourself.
All in all I love this dryer and think it was worth the price, it fits right under my bathroom sink!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

the bonnet area isn't deep enough...

08/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was really excited, but after unfolding the dryer and extending it for use, realized that the actual hooded area was only a few inches deep. I wash and set my hair with rollers so only the top of my hair got dry...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Everything I Needed and More

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more happy with this product, it gets very hot and perfect for storage. Awesome value and product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Conair Collapsible Hard Hat Bonnet Dryer

Works well..but a few design flaws!

08/22/2011
By ,
SAN FRANCISCO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This dryer works well but the base is not heavy enough when the hood is being used it tens to tip if you don't put somthing heavy on it to balance.
Also the hood does not have a natural curve up above the face so it tends to be down over your eyes when in use. It's pretty noisy if you want to watch TV.. need to use closed captions. but I think that is to be expected with this style hair dryer.
All in all it is a nice dryer for the price works well, gets plenty hot and fits very large rollers.
This is a huge improvement over the soft bonnet Conair I first bought...which tore and fell apart in no time I hope this one last much longer. Have been using twice a week for about a month now..mechanicaly no problems so far.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 254 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next