Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

RCA RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

NO more Rabbit Ears! The RCA ANT1500 Digital Flat Panel Antenna is the latest in antenna technology. Its patented technology is optimized for HDTV 1080 reception right out of the box. The products omni-directional elements are enclosed in a slim low profile design that allows for multiple placement options. The product can lay flat, hang on the wall, stand up on its own, or be hidden easily behind furniture. Be amazed at how many new free digital channels you will discover when this product is used with your digital capable television or on old analog sets with a Digital Converter box.
Average Customer Rating:
2.845 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
12
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation46%45 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
7
2 stars
12
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Works Well

10/06/2008
By ,
Neenah Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a number of negative reviews on this so I was a bit hesitant about getting this, however since I knew I could return it due to Walmarts excellent return policy I decided it to give it a try.
My first signal was an analog one and it did look bad but I realized I wanted to see the digital stations only and programmed my set to search for those. The digital channels came in great and I was blown away by how good they looked. Off air was better than cable for digital and the hi-def was great.
The size was perfect for placing it on top of my nearby kitchen cabinets. An advantage of using the cabinets was I got it as high as I could and was able to turn as I needed it to balance out the signal strengths among the 6 digital stations I was able to get. Most were 20 to 30 miles away.
Those people complaining about the signal are either too far away or are expecting it to work with regular UHF stations. This small antenna is optimized for digital signals and it does a fine job at that. I was thinking I would need an amplifier and was satisfied that I did not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Great HD Antenna

10/10/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at several of the antennas on this site and it was important for me that the antenna was available in-store so I could compare them side-by-side and would be omni-directional and not cost too much as I expect to get either HD cable or satellite in a couple of years.
There is a more expensive version of this (also in stores) and the only difference is this one does not pick up FM radio stations. If all you want is an antenna for TV pick this one and save $20.
It comes with a small optional amplifier and I recommend using it. With it on, I was able to pick up an HD signal from 40 miles away and it is excellent.
All of the HD signals are crystal clear and extremely sharp. My only complaint is the analog TV signals are fuzzy. I'm three miles from my NBC and CBS transmitter (they share a tower) and I was surprised the analog signals came in so poor. I'm not too worried about that since they will go away in Feb. 2009.
The manual says the antenna works best laying flat. My TV is not near a window and to pick up that distant station I had to mount the antenna vertically about 7 feet up the wall behind the TV. I noticed no difference in picture quality whether it was vertical or horizontal.
If you are looking for an unobtrusive indoor antenna that you don't have to constantly adjust as you switch channels, don't want to spend to much on and don't care about analog signals, then this is an excellent choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Works well.

03/23/2011
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband bought this in our local Walmart this morning for 29.99. We hooked it and the amplifier that came with it to a new HD tv. Our goal was to get local news so we could do away with expensive satellite and use our Roku box for movies, etc. It didn't work till we did an auto channel scan. Trying to punch in the local channel numbers on the remote got us nothing. The scan found 4 channels. Expecting the 4 local channels, we were surprised to get 2 local and 2 we had never heard of, a country music channel and Cool TV. Picture was outstanding and sound good. A little breakup till we found the right spot. We hung it on the wall behind the tv next to a window. We are sitting on a hillside with the hill less then 6 ft, behind our tv room and a hill directly across the road from us. The satellite guys were surprised we got a satellite reception at all. This little antenna achieved what rabbit ears couldnt and my hubby didnt want to string cable wire up the side of a mountain at his age. We were excited at how plain channels 8 and 11 were and that we got them at all lol. Now he gets the news, I get American Idol and the Roku box gets the rest and we save 86.00 a month off satellite, which for social security recipients is great! Also, it rained hard while we were adjusting it and it didnt lose the signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Best Local HD, Highly Recommend!

09/01/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cable service prices continue to grow and the viewing options are limited when you have 150 channels and nothing you ever watch comes on. Buy this antenna and cut the cable cord! I purchased this bad boy on a whim last night because I just moved and there's no way I'm paying $60 for cable. Got it hooked up and ran the Air Channel Search on my tv and boom, I now have between 15-20 FREE channels to watch in my spare time. The picture is exceptionally clear, sound signal coming through is crisp with no dropout. I have not seen the signal quality during bad weather, but I couldn't imagine it would be unusable in the least. Placement of the antenna was very easy as it is flat with no old outdated rabbit ears. Between this and Netflix, don't hesitate to cut your cable cord. I save $642 a year!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Perfect reception in Austin, TX

09/30/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this antenna and have used it in two locations with two different setups. I plugged it into my media center pc and was able to get 17 HD tv channels and all of my local FM radio channels. Plugged into my television directly it gives me a better HD local picture than Time Warner did. Highest recommendation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Excellent;You must have it.

10/20/2008
By ,
urbandale, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product. It is way more then I expected. A lot of products claim to do what they say they do but they fall short of all their claims. This Antenna is the best I have ever owned. I never have to get up and mess with the rabbit ears to get a clear picture. My antenna is on a self inside my T.V cart. When people come to visit they think I have cable/satellite. The picture is perfect. Love it, Love it, Love it ...... : )
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

I had to be creative with it

02/26/2009
By ,
Albany, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in the ground floor of a 3 story apartment & I succeed in getting a 16 mile distant digital channel crystal clear. Though it is multidirection, when I placed on the wall or near the TV stand, as advertised, I didn't get a single channel. So before deciding to return the product I had to walk around my room with the antenna to see if I can catch something. And fortunately I did by placing it on a side table, slanted at 30° from vertical, facing the window. I get 4 digital channel & 2 analog channels crystal clear, keeping the antenna in that particular direction.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Don't waste your time

08/29/2009
By ,
Greensboro, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product looks nice - However - I live near the city of town in Greensboro, NC and it was unable to pick up anything that was over 5 miles away. This antenna is a total waste of time and money. It could not even pick up any of the local networks - ABC, CBS, Fox or NBC.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Not Worth 15 cents

07/20/2008
By ,
Kaufman, TX.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We just purchased our convert box and a set of $10.00 rabbit ears. The rabbit ears worked ok as long as you put heavey duty foil on the ends and had them pointed right in the walk way. (could receive about 20 to 23 channels) Not good. So after talking to my neighbor (who by the way did not recommend this product he just gave me good advice and said do your research) and doing much research on this product off I went to WalMart. Purchased this product, brought it home and was shocked that a $50.00 antenna with rave reviews (from RCA) did not even work as well as my foil wrapped rabbit ears. (this thing only pulled in about 12 channels) DON'T waste your time or money. So back to Wal Mart we went and purchased the Phillips Manta 940 ($20.00 cheaper) brought it home hooked it up and presto great crystal clear picture and now get 30 channels in the house. Can't wait to see how many channels we get when mounted in the attic. If you are looking for a good atenna that can be used indoors or out go for the Phillips.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Does not meet expectations

01/02/2009
By ,
Grand Rapids, Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned this product after having it for a day. It simply does not meet my expectations. For 50 dollars an antenna better out perform my current antenna that i bought for 5 dollars. This antenna failed to do that. I wanted a new antenna so I could watch CBS. My old antenna could pull the channel, but it would the audio would skip and the picture would be choppy because i am using a digital converter box, and the signal wasn't strong enough. I assumed buying a 50 dollar antenna would be able to pull in this channel for me since i could pretty much get it anyway. Wrong. This antenna didn't even give me a weak signal for CBS. It didn't give me Any signal. The other channels came in clearly and crisp. But since it is 50 dollars, it should out perform my 5 dollar RCA antenna. It did not. I believe the multidirectional claim is bogus too. This antenna simply isn't worth the money. It is possible that some people are happy with the product, but since it does not outperform a 5 dollar antenna i simply cannot give it a good review.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

it really, really, works

02/01/2011
By ,
Bend, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i'm in a small city on the wrong side of a hill and was having problems getting all the broadcast channels. passive or amplified rabbit ears were failing to work but with this antenna i get all the local channels clearly 95% of the time, though i did have to spend some time finding just the right spot to hang it before all channels came through.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Better than 14$ batwing style

09/08/2009
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first bought the basic batwing digital antenna from Walmart. Where a channel is not coming in at all with that one, this RCA 1500 brings in sketchy reception. Where that reception was sketchy this one has made it watchable.
So, in order to get all the stations, you still may have to position this antenna, high, near windows, and possibly expect to move it around on occasion.
But it is better than basic.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

HDTV antenna

04/27/2009
By ,
Monrovia, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was adevertised to provide good quality reception WITHOUT having to ever move or adjust it. We had it laying flat on the area next to the TV and some channels continued to break-up periodically and we would move it around and the picture would get better. We just tried hanging it vertically on the wall next to the TV and it seems to work well in that position, without having to move it around to adjust the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

TUNED IN

10/09/2008
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reception and better HD than local cable provider. Received 13 channels. Great reception at a fair price and much nicer to look at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Excellent Indoor Antennna

04/19/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Living 22 miles from the transmitters, and being on a first floor with windows not facing towards them, I had trouble with other antennnas I had bought at other stores. This one gives me the best reception for digital TV I have ever received at this location. I had to try various positions. Horizontal is recommended by the instructions, but, being far from the transmitters, I had to tilt mine about 45 degrees and point the plane of the antenna towards the transmitters' general direction. Now I get no interruption in signal, specially with the help of an extra in-line amplifier I bought. I don't get all the local channels well but I do get all the major networks, which is what I wanted. Keep in mind my location is near the outer limits of the TV signal's capacity from the big city. (22 miles)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Can't get reception as advertised

06/20/2008
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this from Walmart just today after returning the Philips Antenna I got which stopped functioning after 2 weeks. This one does not even get the local HDTV channels. I could not get ANY normal channels such as NBC, ABC, PBS, CBS, FOX.
I'm hate returning things and now I have to return this tomorrow. I am now on the look out for any antenna that will hopefully functiona nd give me at least NBC.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Works great - depending....

09/22/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried this antenna in the Baltimore market - decent but nothing exciting on either analog or digital. It would not work in the middle of the room, but worked ok near a window. I had to constantly shift the "plate" orientation to get a good picture. But I then took this up to NYC for my mother's TV. Sitting in her window facing north (towards the empire state building) it was absolutely HORRIBLE for analog. But then, just to say I tested it fully, I tried it on digital and WOW. It knocked my socks off. Every channel and the digital sub-channels came in crystal clear with a green signal strength. I was only going to test this and leave things alone on analog but given the great results, I left her running on digital with all the extra channels and added picture clarity. I couldn't believe the difference in this antenna from analog to digital reception. Just amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Not quite...

02/04/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this $50 antenna, and the $15 "wing" antenna, both by RCA. Guess what? The $15 antenna delivered a BETTER, STRONGER signal than the $50 one. Needless to say, I returned it for a refund. I'm sure it's a great product, but for my use, there was no sense in spending the extra money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Really?!

03/21/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this antenna thinking that it was cheap ($29 and no monthly fee) way to watch TV on my iMac. It turns out that it works excellent. It was easy to install (no brainer). I have a EyeTV tuner connected to my iMac via USB 2.0. I just plugged the power cord to the outlet on the wall and the coaxial cable that comes with it to my "eyetv" tuner. Turned on the iMac and watch TV while surfing the web. I can get almost 40 channels. I live near the city though. I'm so glad I bought this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for RCA DIGITAL FLAT ANTENNA

Great product

05/07/2009
By ,
Superior, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful, I plugged it in an laid it on the table next to my TV an all my reception problems were gone. Was using a regular rabbit ears, had breakup on most all of the channels. This is rock solid on all channels. Now I'm getting the most out of my $600 HDTV
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next