Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sega Empire: Total War (PC)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sega Empire: Total War (PC)

The Total War series takes to the seas with 3D naval combat in this 18th century strategy game.
Average Customer Rating:
2.889 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation56%5 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Empire: Total War (PC)

Do not Buy.

11/10/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst product I ever bought from Sega. They let a company called Steam to have total control of what you do with IT. Definitely unprofessional y 100% vendor oriented. I suggest to avoid BUYING this product ALA this company is in charge for the following reasons.
I bought this game as a present to my father. In old Sega games you used to take your CD and install the game, no problem no intermediates in between. having a CD in your PC was good enough assurance for us to protect the company's product. Well. Download goes through Steam website, not through your CD. To do you MUST CREATE an account with STEAM and provide a password, which is given one time, UNTRANSFERABLY and which is not always RECOGNIZED!!!
Well, my father with poor english and unexperienced with this type of commercialism, could not cope with the demands of STEAM. He had the disadventure of borrowing a slow internet connection (he was on vacation with a laptop). After more than 7 hr of download, the system failed. He count not download it afterwards. His acount was not recognized either. He created another onether account but the effort was shortlived as Steam do not allow two accounts (surprisingly, in that case it works). After that, you have no options left. these are the reasons
1. STEAM IS ADAMANT ABOUT NOT RECREATING A NEW ACCOUNT TO DOWNLOAD THE GAME.
2. STEAM DOES NOT DILINGENTLY RESPOND TO QUESTIONS (IT'S BEEN THREE DYAS SINCE i POSTED ONE AND NO RESPONSE)
3. STEAM DOES NOT OFFER A PHONE LINE TO TALK TO A REPRESENTATIVE TO HELP YOU COPE WITH A 50 DOLLAR, I REPEAT 50 DOLLAR PRODUCT.
Finally, steams operates in such a way that it sounds that we owe them too much for this product. And remember it's a 50 dollar purchase. Ah let's not forget that there is no discretionary advice anywhere in the box regarding the ordeal that is to come.
SEGA, PLEASE GET INVOLVED!!!!
Well the password is not always recognized and do not forget it not always recognized when you
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-21points
Review 2 for Empire: Total War (PC)

An Entertaining Game

03/28/2013
By ,
Chehalis, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first picked this up, I wasn't expecting too much even though it had received fairly good reviews on other websites. I was pleasantly suprised to find a game that really required some thought and sound tactics. Keep in mind this is a tactical game with some micromanaging so if you're expecting a "shooter" or action game, this isn't the one for you. Plus, there is definately a learning curve and the documentation isn't the best #there are some good tutorials online#. But once you know what you're doing, you'll be sinking a lot of hours into it. There also are some really good mods out that enhance the game even more.
On the downside, the battlefield AI isn't the best so don't expect to play against a computer genius. The seige battles with the forts are especially quirky. The patches you receive will help some and there are mods out there that also tweek things a little but you'll never totally get away from that. All in all, it's a fun game for someone looking for a historically themed thinking game.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+2points
Review 3 for Empire: Total War (PC)

Two negative postings are full of it

05/17/2009
By ,
South Central, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the 2 negative posting listed on the site. They just about scared me out of buying this game. I bought it anyway and yes, it does take about 35 minutes for the game to install after the 5 (yes, that's FIVE) minute "steam" update and install. Once you get it installed, be prepaired for a THRILL. I've played 3 of the Total War games now and in my opinion, this by far is the best one. It's a visual work of art. I've only played it for about 4 hours and haven't ran into ANY flaws or glitches. To the 2 negative posters, I suggest you READ your minimum system requirements or make certain you have enough free HD space before you decide to buy a PC game as those are the ONLY problems I believe you could have had. This game installs and runs FINE!!!! If you're a Total War gamer, BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 4 for Empire: Total War (PC)

A great edition to the series

06/04/2009
By ,
Placerville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game dose have installation problems, it took me 1 and a half days to fineally install it, but i am not going to review the game based on this problem because the game itself is just simply stunning the graphics are great and the gameplay is even better in both land and sea battles, this game unlike in previous total war games has a focus on guns and cannons as opposed to swords, bows and seige equipment, this will change the way you play the game and adds new stragity to the series, this is for sure a great game. So if stragity is your thing and your PC can handle it, then i would pick up this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 5 for Empire: Total War (PC)

The coolest

05/18/2009
By ,
Northfield, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the other reviews but when i put the game in it installed quickly! The game is so realistic I would recommend this to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 6 for Empire: Total War (PC)

Too much hate.

01/13/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
All the reviews ive read on this game are about how long the install time was. The install time takes a very long time just because of the massive size this game is. Just wait and have patience.
Also I read another that said it was very slow and laggy.... My answer to that is that you may need a higher end computer to run this game just because of the size and good graphics.
Personally I run the game fine. I do not play it very often but its a fun game to have around when your looking for stragety. Im mostly posted this because I want these pointless reviews to stop. They are giving this game too much hate, which it doesnt deserve.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 7 for Empire: Total War (PC)

never again

03/23/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will never buy a product using steam again. I started installing this game around noon it had to download an update to the steam program before it started to install the game. It was still updating when I shut the computer off to get some sleep around 10:00PM. I tried to start the game in the morning and started the updates from 0%!! Steam will not let me run the game without the update. This is the only company that has done this to me. I recommend you never buy a steam product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-23points
Review 8 for Empire: Total War (PC)

horrible

09/07/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this review is simple dont buy this product. I started to install this game and it said i had to install steam so i did. well once i got started it said the estimated finish time would be the next day for the game to install and i just freaked out. well i wanted to play so bad i waited. The next day it said 100% so i started it and it didnt even work. so i waited a few days and tried it again and it finally worked, but it was sooooo slow it was agonizing. I have never had this problem with any other games. So to summarize do not buy this game
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-15points
Review 9 for Empire: Total War (PC)

Frustrating Mess!

04/28/2009
By ,
Farmington, Mo.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been playing PC games since 1984 and this game has been a disaster! As the other reviewer stated I was unable to get the game to install with this whole Steam fiasco they have created. Do not buy this game! I will try to return it to Walmart. I have played all the other Total War games and never encountered anything like this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-27points