Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Generic Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

With Small Animal Modules, you can create an exciting, ever-changing environment for your pet. All SAM products and accessories are interlocking and interchangeable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation78%18 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Good value, but go bigger if you can.

09/27/2009
By ,
Boston, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this cage for my daughter's dwarf hamster a couple of months ago, when we first got him. At first, the cage sufficed our needs as we had been using a small terrarium meant for hermitt crabs for our new baby hamster. So, the cage was an upgrade. The hamster really liked the lower level where he could hide, play with a few toys, and bury his food. The wheel was a little noisy, despite being inside the cage. But, I fixed that by applying some electrical tape around the axel.
Where this cage comes up short is that, even for a dwarf, it runs out of space very quickly. You really don't have enough room to add any climbing toys, huts, etc. Our hamster quickly began to get bored and hated being in the cage. The only way to add more room is by buying additional tubing and connecting to a 2nd cage.
So, the way I see it, you are better off buying the biggest cage you can afford and have room for in your house. Then your hamster will have plenty of room to play, hide, and explore. Just make sure you buy something along the same lines as this cage (plastic housing - no bars)... just bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Great Cage for a Dwarf Hamster

12/23/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dwarf hamster loves this cage! She was exploring the minute I put her in there. She loves the "dungeon" (the lower part). I gave her some fluff and she made a bed... and doesn't want to come out!!
It's great because the wheel's inside, so no urine gets outside the cage, and the bottom part opens up easily into what's called a petting area. The water bottle actually doesn't leak, but I'm not sure yet it she can get anything out of it (She's only been with me a few days)
It's also the cheapest cage I could find (dwarfs get out of the wire cages) with the best ratings!
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Cute!

06/19/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hoping the color would be a darker shade of blue like the picture. Some pieces of it are almost like a bluish-green color. I love the compact size of it. I got it for my female mice. They love it! It's very easy to clean because it disconnects in pieces & easy to put back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

perfect for us

03/16/2010
By ,
Belleville IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very small but was perfect for us. it suited our need for 1 dwarf hamster, has everything it needs inside, hold water bottle in place without annoying wires that other cages have, and the size fits great in our daughter's bedroom-who is 9 years old. has great openings for kids to play with the hamster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Blue Knight Hamster Cage

03/05/2009
By ,
Mattoon, Il.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cage is great, except that it is for Dwarf hamsters, which isn't stated in the description on the website. It is prints all over the box however. My son bought this himself, and was disapointed to find out that it was too small for his full size hamster. Luckily, his sister does have a dwarf hamster, so they were able to trade. If your hamster is very large at all, it will be a bit cramped in this cage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

my hamster loves it

09/18/2009
By ,
coshocton,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a big lazy hamster and he loves this cage. I never had a problem with the water bottle besides that it is small but my kids fill it up everyday. If you have a big hamster and it doesnt do much then I would say try this cage.... good luck....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

A great value

08/25/2009
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We shopped at several stores before choosing this cage. My daughter got a pet mouse and this cage is the perfect size. I love the "cellar" because the mouse can dig and burrow but we can still see her. Best buy in my opinion! The only fault I find is that the water bottle doesn't work well. We may replace that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

ok

11/03/2008
By ,
altoona, ia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this cage because our dwarf hamster was a little smarter then we thought and could get out of an open bared cage. This is really nice for an animal that does not like to chew and one that loves to spin in the wheel. Our hamster has chewed the lid (by the tube that goes down) and can get out now. Very nice for smaller animals, works well for a little while but eventually will need replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Not very good

01/28/2010
By ,
New Phill,ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its needs to say on product details that its not for big hamsters because I got this and thought it was great but now I wish I wouldn't of bought this product my kids hamster is way to big for this cage..... Go bigger if you can just dont settle if you can help it......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage
10/13/2008
By ,
jasper,in
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
water bottle is junk.is really small.i used it as an add on to another cage.be sure to put bedding on top and bottom levels or it will stink.get a water bottle that is ball bearing type.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

not what I expected

08/30/2008
By ,
Lost Creek, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Online, I didn't realize it was so small. But fortunately we were buying it for gerbil and not a hamster. So it turned out to be just the right size. Overall I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

good for small mice

10/28/2010
By ,
kingston springs, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this product was awful. the wheel would not secure to the cage properly, the water bottle constantly leaking. we have a dwarf hamster and the cage was too small for him. only air holes are at one end. very disappointed in this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

Too Small for Comfort

08/31/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my son's single dwarf hamster, and the poor fellow looks like Alice in Wonderland inside. Although the cage is sturdy and easy to put together, it is much for suitable for a single mouse.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

only good for dwarfs

04/23/2009
By ,
Lowell, Ma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is on the small side. It is good for dwarf hampsters but not the others. Wish I realized that before I bought it because my son's hampster is to big and I had to buy the bigger one for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage
11/22/2008
By ,
Pikeville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your hampster is shy, gentle, quiet, ect. this cage is fine for them. Not too happy with water bottle but otherwise it is good for small hampsters and mice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage
08/31/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The two mice that we have just love it. We also don't have a problem with the water bottle as stated in previous reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

great

03/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. It is so much cleaner than our last cage. There are no dropping outside the cage and it is very easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

hamster home

12/28/2008
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very well put together. Just the right size. keeps the mess inside not outside. Can carry with you where you go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage
12/17/2008
By ,
new york,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect cage for my son's dwarf hamster.Have had no problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Knight Hamster and Gerbil Cage

A hamster's dream

01/15/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good and solid. My hamster loves every second of it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next