Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Midland Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Midland Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

The Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio offers you unparalleled flexibility and compatibility with 2-way communication devices. It keeps you abreast on weather updates and switches to the weather telecast even in the middle of an AM/FM broadcast. It integrates an emergency crank power that comes in handy in power-related emergencies. Also, the Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio provides you 22 2-way GMRS channels for secure communication. In addition, the Midland 2-way radio has 121 privacy codes to minimize interference or eavesdropping, which in effect gives you 2662 channel options. Further, the e-VOX function with three sensitivity levels offers voice-activated, hands-free operation. To locate active channels you can use the scan option. Other bundled features include a keypad lock, alarm and an auto squelch, which removes annoying background noise. Additionally, the Midland weather alert radio gives you a range of powering options to choose from.
Average Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%56 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 60 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Nice Radio, But Complicated

10/26/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this radio to have it available in an emergency. I especially liked the talk / receive capability. However, it turns out that you must previously arrange a talk privacy channel with those whom you wish to talk to. That means that you can't simply power up and talk to anyone in range, they must know the privacy channel that you want to talk on. Also, let me tell you, that the control buttons are way too multi-functional. That means you have to know far more about the button functions than the button labels state. I would bet that just about anyone would have to consult the radio's operating manual to do almost all of its functions. The problem is, if you buy this radio just for emergencies, you will not use it often enough to recall what every multi-function button does. Midland could have prevented this problem with more buttons or switches, but multi-function buttons saved them cost. Consequently, in my opinion, it is a nightmare to operate. Hope this helps prospective buyers.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Quality product so far.

12/07/2013
By ,
Howell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a Buyer in the Automotive Industry for 15 years, (currently laid-off in Michigan), My purchase is up to my quality standards to this point. Durability is yet to be seen, as this has been a recent purchase. That being said, I live in a small town in rural Michigan and reception stinks with the small stubby coil type bottom loaded rubber antenna. I run citizens band radio (CB), and have a Ham radio license as well. I may not have a formal degree from a transferable college, but I know a little with my limited credits and life experience. I made an antenna from a small diameter coat hanger and get great reception. It is simple, if you know what to do, regardless of mathematical formulas for frequencies and band widths. I now get acceptable reception and it cost nothing. Midland has been making two way radio's for decades and is a quality product. That is why I purchased this particular product. Period. End of story. You can't go wrong with Midland.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

A Great Muti-Purpose Tow-Way Radio

02/15/2012
By ,
Vermont
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this radio. YOu must be aware , however, that you must have an FCC license to use the high Power Channels. the License costs $85 but when coupled with some similar Two-Way hand helds it makes for a great private communications network. I live in rural Vermont on a lake and visitors can hike around and go for walks in the woods and stay in touch with the base station at the cabin. We often have power failures and as long as you follow the Midland instrutions regarding charging batteries you will always be prepared ..... I have a pair of Midland hand helds as well and they work quite well with the Base Camp Radio up to about 2-3 miles in the woods ..... the added WX/AM/FM radio , emergancy light and crank power are excellent additions for emergencies .... The radio can be powered by NiMh included battery and AA batteries as well as AC. I purchased some high capacty 2700 MA/H batteries and they also work well ........ just read the manual and follow the instructions realizing that in the real world you will get about 2-4 miles of communication range out of it in the woods and you will be happy with this product ......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Exactly what I wanted-Emergency Weather Radio ~

08/21/2008
By ,
Noble County, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had 1-1/2 weeks. Shipping was timely. AM/FM radio, and weather radio, works good, has flashlight. In addition, it included ac/dc adapter and re-chargeable batteries. It also came with plug in microphone that works with a set of Motorola walkie talkies we already had. What with all the bad weather across the nation, and various emergencies that can come about, this is exactly what we needed.
It is portable (small enough) that we can pack and take with us when we go traveling. I am very happy with it, and feel I received what I paid for. One thing is You do need a battery charger for the re-chargeable batteries though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

It's a Midland

08/06/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice product. I purchased to use with my two other midland hand held radios for emergencies and road trips. This radio does require a license to legally operate using the higher power channels!
Only weakness is it's ability to receive a strong signal when switched to weather (WX) in some parts of the home. That said, we are a pretty good distance from the nearest transmitter (Mobile AL) so that's not surprising or any real problem.
One feature I really like is the multiple power sources. I can set it to use regular 110V, set it to use the rechargeable batteries, or set it to use the standard disposable batteries also installed in the unit. The hand crank and USB port ensure we can keep our cell phones charged.
Overall, I good deal and nice to have down here on the Gulf Coast.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Great for CERT Teams & Emergencies

08/06/2009
By ,
Florida - Space Coast REACT, Inc.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent! Only, why didn't somebody think of this sooner? After a hurricane, power can be out for weeks. And who keeps weeks worth of spare batteries piled up--or wants to pay for them?? By using the "armstrong" method, batteries need never be a consideration during an extended power outage. With this excellent product, we have unlimited GMRS talk-time power for emergency contact to other licensed GMRS users such as REACT & local CERT teams. And we can charge up our cell phones, for when the cell networks remain up and running. I am exceedingly pleased. Thanks Midland!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Mixed feelings

04/27/2009
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the way the radio works and the size and feel, with two exceptions that are related.
One, to re-charge the battery manually, I must crank like crazy for a minute and I get only five minutes usage.
This may be related to the second exception. I don't know how to disable the clock display which uses electricity which I would like to save when I am manually re-charging the battery by cranking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Useful

08/15/2010
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Built well, bright flashlight, charges my cell phone, good WX reception.
Cons: Does not charge my iPod touch or Sony walkman mp3 player. Poor FM reception.
AM reception and GRMS rx/tx is as expected.
Overall it is really nice to have when camping/hiking or when the power get knocked out at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Handy when not near a power source

07/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
am-fm-gmrs-weather all come in clear
sends your transmission at high power giving you longer range
strong light
5 different power sources
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Good Emergency Radio

02/03/2011
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this radio to be a good value to have in case of an emergency. It receives AM and FM and weather well and has short range 2 way communication as well as a flashlight. Living in FL it will be stored in my emergency kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

great product. exactly what I wanted

06/28/2011
By ,
Boonies, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This interacts with our set of Midland walkie-talkies and is great for keeping in touch on our land. I can charge it even in power outages by cranking it. The weather alert is of great value to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Reception not so great

05/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything's great as expected, except the reception. You would think that for an emergency radio it would have good reception, but nope. I could barely get the regular statons that my car or portables could get easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Always a Need for This

05/24/2011
By ,
Hampton Cove, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is something that everybudy needs whether or not you live in a area that may lose power. It is a life saver and helps when you can not see or talk to anyone else. I have two and just bought this one for my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
2-way range?
Posted 10/30/2012
Do you know how far the two-way communication range goes? Thank you for any info you can give.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio
04/09/2012
By ,
Canton,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found the radio is great to have for numerous reasons. One night it set itself off during an alert, we did not have it on. But found that it is great to have an option for just this resaon. Normally most people don't have their radio on all hours of the day. We found the instructions to be easily understood. There are many options on this radio that most normal ones don't have. Check it out! We like it and will be happy to buy another one in the future. Price beats most other ones by about $30.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Excellent combination emergency radio

03/28/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROs;
-small, light weight, yet seems durable
-has many needed functions all in one place
-relatively easy to use
-considering all the functions, this is a great price, buying all these features on individual devices would have cost hundreds of dollars
CONs;
-the internal battery does not seem to hold a charge very long, maybe a week or less of shelf life
-I would have liked a 220V adapter for use in other countries, but I guess that is not what it is intended for
-if you ever have to use the crank for power, you will be doing a LOT of cranking, something like 1 minute of cranking for 5-10 minutes of use, but it does work
-not designed to be waterproof at all, would be great to have some thought given to waterproofing it
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Horrible reception

06/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought his radio was to good to be true, and sadly, it was. The reception is horrible. It struggles to pick up stations that my clock radio can easily get, and I don't think the CB works at all. I had it tuned to channel 19 on a crowded highway and asked many times for a radio check and never heard a single transmission. Taking it back to store today.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Crawfordville Fl
Posted 07/15/2014
Sir, just reading the spec's, I don't see where a CB radio is part of this package. I think you have FRS/GRMS function confused with CB, two different types of radio service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Nice radio

04/17/2014
By ,
Idabel, oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe the radio will be what I am looking for. It has a good sound. The crank works well. The weather channel comes in clear. I am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio
02/10/2012
By ,
smithville,ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not used every fuction this product has to offer but what i used worked good.
Better in the open than in storm shelter but still working just have to find signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Good

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good to have
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Midland Emergency Crank 2-way Radio

Better than expected

06/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product for only about three weeks but I like it! The sound quality is good, it seems well constructed and overhaul I believe it is worth the value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next