Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha

The Montero Convert-A-Couch is a revolutionary designed multi solution sofa bed. With the touch of a hand this stylish and comfortable sofa converts into a full size bed. Designed with light weight super steel construction, this 640 independently wrapped pocket coil spring system and 10" pillow top offers 2 types of comfort for the price of one. No need to move tables or remove cushions, finally a sofa bed that transforms from sit to sleep instantly by simply lifting the light weight seat cushion. It's that easy. High performance 100% polyester microfiber in mocha is stain resistant making the Montero Convert-A-Couch the perfect sofa for any room environment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.996 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
92
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation82%224 out of 274reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
92
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Sleeper - Sage.

Garbage

05/09/2009
By ,
Alpharetta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product fell apart in less that 1 year. It's not comfortable & it's not practical. Too expensive for a NO QUALITY Couch!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 22 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Exceeds Expectations

09/26/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had an old hand-me-down couchbed for 10 years and after getting married this year, my wife and I really wanted to replace it. We wanted to find a comfortable futon so that guests could utilize it rather than an airbed. We went to professional dealers and almost bought an overpriced futon, but by chance we ran across a sign in walmart that said they carried several couches online that were not in store. My wife and I chose this couch in brown and figured that at the price, it would be worth the shot. This couch is EXTREMELY comfortable!! and very easy to convert. My wife and I are very happy we went with walmart instead of a furniture dealer. We saved tons and ended up with an amazingly more comfortable couch/bed than we would have if we had gotten the more expensive one from the furniture dealers. The ten-inch mattress is so thick an comfortable! I suggest this product for anyone looking for a futon with style and comfort. The only down part is that the arms are not so well padded, but I fixed that in a matter of second by stuffing it with a couple $2 pillows I bought at walmart. Now it's perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 23 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.
01/11/2013
By ,
asheville nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got our convert-a-couch .It is real nice for want we paid for it..We did do one thing to it and that was we got a foam mattress pad and cut it in half and put it under the pad of the couch ..It made it look better and feel better as well..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 24 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha

Comfortable

07/03/2009
By ,
Gulf coast of Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered it after reading some other reviews. It was everything they said except this old guy took over two hours to put it together alone. The assembly was easy, I just needed a few brakes to ease the aches I was encountering from bending, twisting and turning in ways I haven't done it years. I live in a confined space and this sofa fits in perfectly. Consider me a very satisfied customer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 25 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Excellent value

12/18/2012
By ,
Fairfax CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a new sofa for our dog Sara. I admit that I bought this because of the price point & how it looked in the picture. I didn't give a thought to if it would be comfortable for us because it was for Sara.... however that said, after we'd put it together and tested it we found it was very comfortable too ,what a bonus! So now Sara still gets to sleep on it but she frequently has to share it with us. It's a great sofa. easy to put together & it's an exceptional value for the price.
Oh and we want to give a huge shout out to the delivery service, we couldn't be home at the time of delivery & they placed it in the garage (no easy feat) out of the rain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 26 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

nice futon

04/24/2012
By ,
lancaster, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this couch is pretty nice for the price, we wanted a futon for extra sleeping and also a place for the kids to sit in our game room area. this fit the bill. looks a lot nicer than a regular futon. really easy to convert into bed we got the chocolate, like the color. Great value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 27 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Good for a few (not really), terrible for most

06/25/2013
By ,
New York, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me preface by stating two things: first, I hate when stores advertise what is most definitely a futon as a "sofa bed". Honestly, what is the point. It's a futon, don't try to assign a euphemism to a futon, because it's a futon. This is advertised as a sofa bed, but it is as much a sofa as I am. Second, if you're a college student lucky to have enough room in your new college dorm for a futon, then this futon may be acceptable. The same goes for parents looking to purchase a sleeper of sorts (for a child's room I guess) that they intend to last for just a short amount of time. I have slept on more comfortable futons and "sofa beds", so I implore you to keep searching; however, for the $350 you may get your worth. Also, we found cheaper options but took the chance with this one, so you may get better worth elsewhere.
Unfortunately, that was not the case for me. My girlfriend and I just recently graduated from college and was looking for a sofa or futon that would suffice the size of the living room, any guests that would come to stay over, and everyday use all for a decent price. It satisfied the price and the size of the room, but yikes does it fall short everywhere else. So...
PROS:
-It is cheap (kinda).
-It is a futon.
-Assembly was not difficult at all (however, please see CON below referring to the futon cover)
-Delivery was on time.
CONS:
-It is not very comfortable. It will work for the year we now plan on keeping it (when our lease is up in a year we are throwing this piece of junk away), but it is not very comfortable.
-We got the black one, so this may not apply to the other colors, but the futon cover left very dark marks all along our wall that we will now need to paint over. So if you buy this futon, don't put it against a wall.
-More importantly, the cover does not fit. It is just too small. It tore partially, and it does not secure to the couch. We have to constantly, on more than a daily basis, readjust the cover so it looks presentable and remains at the optimal comfort (which, mind you, is not high).
-The corners of the couch are exposed, though this is obviously a testament to the small cover.
-We found cheaper futons that I am positive would have been exponentially more satisfying than this futon.
Don't buy this futon. There are even cheaper options on WalMart's website, but I found other futons elsewhere for around the same price of $350. My advice is to look beyond this listing. We will be replacing this junk as soon as humanly possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 28 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great Futon for everday use.

04/17/2012
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome futon! Its very comfortable for long time use. Its very big weather you use the couch or the bed it has a lot of stretch out room. This is a great futon to get if you are in college like me and need a couch and bed in small area :) great deal if you can fork out the extra hundred its worth the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 29 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great Buy

11/24/2013
By ,
US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't want to spend more than 350$ on a futon. Shopped all over online until I found this one. It got good reviews so I tried it out. I have to admit, it meets the hype. I've been using it every night to sleep on. I especially like that it doesn't LOOK like a futon at first glance. The foam in the arms could be a little harder, but that is being very picky. Very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 30 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

fine looking couch/sleeper

02/17/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this convertible after researching similar products. I read many of the reviews and they were mostly positive, but there were some negatives sprinkled in, so I waited a couple of months to gauge it a bit before I assessed it. My verdict is in and I feel this sofa/ sleeper is well worth the value. It is sturdy and converts into the sleeper very easily. The assembly took slightly under an hour and the instructions were concise. Am very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 31 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Much better than a futon!

03/11/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my cabin to serve as a couch and also extra sleeping for overnight guests. I do not have room for a traditional pull out sofa and I wanted something that looked like a couch but still allowed for extra sleeping. This fits the bill! This couch, when in the flat/bed position does not take up much space at all. You only need to pull away from the wall about 10" to convert it to a bed. It fits standard full size sheets well. The fabric is soft and the brown color is very nice. We put it together in a snap. Took maybe 15 minutes and no tools required. It's comfy as a couch and a bed. I haven't had it long enough to comment on durability. I think it will hold up for many years under my low use circumstances, but I don't really think it would last that long under heavy everyday use. The side arm pillows are not very fluffy. I plan to add more pillow filling to them. You can store items underneath the seat, however there is no base, so the items will be on the floor. Overall I think it is a good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 32 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great but hard to build

05/16/2012
By ,
Orange, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for my apartment.
Pros:
Great as a bed AND a couch
Comes with two little pillows
Nice fabric, I got black
Inexpensive
Store pick up was easy
Long
Easy to change positions
Cons:
We needed the minivan to take it home
HEAVY giant box - get a hand truck especially if you have stairs
Hard to build, maybe you need 2 people. My dad did alone and it took a long time
The arm rests look real but there's not much there, but that's okay because it's a futon
Narrow, but okay
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 33 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

send me the right arm to look better.comfypretty.

01/22/2014
By ,
westfield,n.j.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this sofa but my sofa had problems. the right arm didn't have holes for the front piece at the botton . I called company but they said I had to send the sofa back . I had already put it up and the back holes was too high for the bed to stretch out after hooking it up on both arms The back won't sit up unless up against a wall or table. But it has lots of storage space under seat. I still love the sofa it looks so rich!!! Soft and smooth! please send me a right arm so it will look as good as it looks on page. Please and more screws.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 34 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.
10/28/2012
By ,
College Park, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great couch. As a small girl I was able to put it together my self in about 2 1/2 hours. The instructions were fairly easy to follow. The only thing was that they said there were 24 screws but neglected to say that 16 of them were already in the couch so only 8 were loose. Easy to put together (and I am NOT good at this type of thing) and very easy to convert into a bed and back - takes just a few seconds. Also good to know is that there is a small space between the two halves when it's in bed form. Not uncomfortable but noticeable when sleeping on it. Overall, it's a fairly comfortable couch that looks good. I've already recommended it to a few different people.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 35 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Very comfortable especially for a futon

09/10/2012
By ,
Ocean Grove, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in an older apartment with small doorways, and had trouble finding a sleeper sofa that would be big enough for my husband and I to sleep on, and still fit through our doors. After reading other reviews on this couch, I decided to order it, and I'm really glad I did! My husband had no trouble at all fitting it through our doorways, and it arrived at our apartment 4 days after ordering in great condition. It was a bit of a pain for my husband to put together. He's become quite the handyman with putting furniture together himself, however it still took him 2 hours to finish. The directions were a mess, but luckily it's easy enough to figure out on your own just by looking at the parts. It was totally worth the time though! This couch is super comfy to sit and sleep on, and offers great support that I haven't found with the other futons we've owned. It looks like we paid a lot more than we actually did too! Great buy!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 36 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha

terrible couch

02/22/2009
By ,
Hawthorne, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I picked my couch up yesterday and my son and i immediately put it together. first thing that happened is that a couple of the left and right pieces were labled wrong. when we finally finished it and we sat down, the seat frame fell through and hit the center brace. we tried to adjust it on the hinge but it still fell through. then the front rail broke! As we inspected it, we found that it was pieced together. To top it off, when we tried to lay it down into a bed, it didn't lay down the way the picture shows.
this couch is a piece of junk. we are forced to make repairs on it because I can't take it back.
I wrote an email to the company and let them know how I felt about their couch. I will never buy anything from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 37 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great Couch

06/17/2012
By ,
Coulee Dam WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a couch that will fit down or up a narrow stairway, this is the one. it is easy to assemble. It looks great and is very comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 38 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

read before you buy!

07/14/2014
By ,
kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am the kind of person who always reads reviews before I buy, but with this I didn't. We bought the couch and recliner combo, at first we loved it! Great deal, firm, comfortable, and easy to put together. After having it for about 8 months it started sinking, the springs broke, there are lumps all over, and it pokes you in thr behind! Unless you want to buy a new couch, (which we just did) in about 6 months to a year, I would not buy this. It was a waste of money! Might seem like a great deal, but not worth it in the long run!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 39 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.
03/22/2013
By ,
Stamford, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one pillow came in with a rip, small and easily fixed...it was on inner pillow not the zippered covers. The quality and appearance of the inner pillows could have been nicer but are still real nice inside the covers. Couch is very comfortable....LOVING IT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 40 for Montero Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Mocha
This review is fromMontero Microfiber Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Multiple Colors.

Great couch!

04/04/2014
By ,
Arcadia in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our extra room. Wanted something that would covert into a bed but did not want a sofa bed or the usual futon. This provides the softness and comfort of a couch and makes a very comfortable bed. It would be crowded sleeping 2 but could be done. Took my 24 year old son about 20-30 minutes to put together. Overall a good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:Yes
+4points
21-40 of 251 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next