Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Generic Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

This Baja khaki sofa bed is a well-designed, multi-solution sofa sleeper. With the touch of a hand, this stylish and comfortable sofa converts into a full-sized bed. Designed with lightweight super-steel construction, the 640 independently wrapped pocket coil spring system and 10" pillow top offer two types of comfort for the price of one. There's no need to move tables or remove cushions, because there is finally a sofa bed that transforms from sit to sleep instantly by simply lifting the lightweight seat cushion. It's that easy. High-performance 100% polyester microfiber in black is stain-resistant, making the Convert-A-Couch the perfect sofa for any room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.358 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(307 Reviews) 273
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
81
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation91%279 out of 307reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
188
4 stars
81
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

GREAT BUY stop looking and purchase NOW

04/05/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best buy we have ever made! I read all the reviews, found them very helpful and looked at several other option/ sites / stores before buying it. A couple people said the couch seats themselves were all wrinkly, our’s was not. In fact it came out of the shrink bag clean, smelled great and not a wrinkle on it. Some other reviews said the “gap” between the cushions was big and made a hole. I found that not to be turn at all and think people were being picky. My in-laws (& everyone knows how hard it is to please the in-laws) loved sleeping on it – and they went out and bought 2 for their beach house. The only complaint I have is that I did not put it together with my husband and should have because I read the reviews about the hinge or the legs having to go on the opposite of the directions. When I came back he had it all together and it wouldn’t go down into the bed. BUT it worked out better cause now all we have to do it lift a little latch that releases the bottom half of the couch so it falls into the bed
GREAT BUY stop looking and purchase NOW
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

very nice!

06/15/2009
By ,
Monroe, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I sleep on mine every evening, very comfy & easy to put together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Very Nice!!!!

12/26/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I got this product a couple of weeks ago. After moving to my new place, I started assembling the couch, I thought it was going to be hard but it was pretty simple to follow. You might need another person to help you a little bit, but it is doable doing it alone. It looks great, feels pretty good when you sit down, I converted it to a bed and tried it out a little, can't say much about how comfortable it is cause I haven't slept in it yet. It is a little wrinkled, I guess it's because of how it was all compressed that made it look like that. Maybe after using it for a while might un-wrinkle a little, but it gives it a different look been wrinkled and all. Overall, nice couch/bed looks great in my living room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Love this couch!

04/03/2010
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this couch for my studio apartment and I am so glad that I did- I sleep on it every night and it is great. It was easy to assemble and goes from couch to bed in seconds. Fits 3 people comfortably in couch position and sleeps 2 comfortably. all in all it was a great buy. I chose the site to store pick up and it was a breeze.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Best Buy for bedding down company

07/02/2010
By ,
Sun City Center, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of the reviews for this product before buying it in June 2010. I agree that it is not the easiest to put together but once done, it is a lovely couch. As others have said, the pictures in the manual are misleading so just use the written instructions and some patience and it isn't too bad.
When made into a bed, it is very comfortable. We were considering a futon since we only occasionally have company and wanted something that we could use every day in our guest room that we use as an office. This totally fits the bill! It makes a very nice looking couch. Not at all cheap looking. It is comfortable to sit on and to sleep on. The light tan color will go with every decor.
The only real drawback I saw is that it does have a lingering odor that isn't very pleasant. I have been spraying it with Febreeze daily and hope that it will fade before my company arrives.
I got it about a week earlier than expected in site-to-store. It was a good buying experience and I'm really pleased that I chose it.
If you are considering a futon, a really good futon with a decent mattress will cost you $500 if you want one you wouldn't be ashamed to let someone sleep on. This is a bargain and is much more pleasing to use and sit on than a futon. I love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Awesome couch/bed

09/16/2013
By ,
St.Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read reviews before I bought this couch and I couldn't decide because so many customers gave a bad review, but after few days going back and forth through reviews I decided to give it a try and I am so happy that I ordered it. I actually ordered two :). Delivery was supposed to be in between Tuesday and Wednesday and I received it on Tuesday afternoon. The delivery guy was so nice he actually came in the morning and couldn't find me there so he called in the afternoon to give another try. I thought that was really nice of him. Couch comes in a heavy box, but with extra help of my hubby we brought it in on a second floor. It was a piece of cake to put it together, and I can proudly say that I did it on my own without any extra help(you need to use some common sense and definitely need to like to be on a handy side-meaning you need to like to do crafty things-in order to do it completely on your own). I say this because many customers also complained about wrong directions, while I couldn't find anything wrong about it, and remember I ordered two of them.
The couches are so comfy and I would order them again in the future. We had a friend over and he says that it was really comfy sleeping on it. My mother-in-law also wants to buy them. My kids don't want to sleep in their beds anymore because they insist sleeping on new couches :). Well, I can't complain either!
Bottom line- I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE!!!
Also, before these couches I purchased two sofa/beds at Wall-Mart 6 years ago and they where only $150.00 per couch and all of my friends where amazed at how long I've had them and how great they still looked after so many years, not to mention how comfy they where.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

I heart this couch

11/07/2009
By ,
ny ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfy couch. I put it together in a little over an hour. Looks like a real couch, but "SURPRISE!" it turns into a bed. It adds flare to my room, and for an affordable price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Nice product for a good price...

01/03/2011
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This couch looks great - I needed a futon/foldout, but didn't want to get something that looked like one; and this definately looks more like a nice sofa rather than a convertable couch. The couch is kind of vacume sealed in the box so is extremely wrinkled right out of the box...has been about 2 weeks now and still pretty wrinkly (see image).
However, assembly was a huge pain simply because the directions are BACKWARDS! I found this out by reading online forums, after of hours of frustration...so before you assemble make sure you switch the left bracket with the right!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Exactly what I wanted

02/16/2010
By ,
Fenton, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small place and was looking for something that would covert to a bed, but have more comfort than a futon. I definately found it. It looks great and is very comfortable. Was very easy to put together (I did it by myself in about an hour). I would reccomend this couch to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Don't Put Cushion on Backwards

02/26/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading through the reviews we were willing to take a chance even though some reviews said you could see a black bar in front and not as comfortable. We had it delivered to the store and the associates put it in the back of our Explorer. When I got home all I did was open the box and take the couch inside in pieces without even taking the box out of the car. Very easy to do it by myself. Putting it together was very simple and straight forward. I got it together and then asked my wife to help me put the cushions into the cover. Once inside we put it on and looked at it and were disappointed as you could see inside the back of the couch and the black bar in the front..... My wife took a step back and noticed we put it on backwards. SO FOR ALL THE REVIEWS THAT SAY YOU SEE THE BLACK BAR AND INSIDE THE BACK... YOU PUT IT ON BACKWARDS. After switching the cushion around it looks just like the picture. We haven't had anyone sleep on it yet but as a couch it is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Very Special Product!

11/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There may be similar products that convert to the very wide full sized, but most of them are twins. I was REALLY pleased how confortable, and great looking this was! It looks like a normal couch. Other places charge $600+, so the price Walmart had was a NO BRAINER. To me, it feels just right, a nice tall spring mattress, provides plenty of cushioning, but without the feeling that it is going to break down quickly. (We'll see how it holds up.)
It is about the size of a twin size bed when packaged and you pick it up at the store. My husband got it home in a small pickup truck. We live on the 3rd level, with no elevator, but it was easy take the pieces up stairs. He put it together in less then a half hour (thanks to other's helpful reviews, we knew that the directions were wrong, so looked to them as a guide, but did what made sense.)
One thing is for sure.. IF furniture companies/and Walmart were smart enough to have this out on their showroom, I bet 1 in 2 households would have one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Not good for long term

08/25/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this sofa in my living room for 6 months, and let me say that i would not have purchased it in hindsight. The cushion goes flat very quickly, and when it does you can feel every spring. We had to put layers of blankets on top just to protect us from the springs. The center of the cushion gets flat right away, leaving a gaping center area when flattened to a bed, and when laying on it you end up rolling into the crack and you can feel the bar and springs. This might be fine for a guest room that is rarely used, but it is not made to be sat in every day. Shop carefully before you buy this one, and if you need it for long term you are better off spending more and getting better quality. Also is very difficult to put together, I had to call the manufacturer to figure out their very vague instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

great great product

06/13/2009
By ,
bayarea california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this sofa was better then expected very nice looks great and my grandparents who are in there late 60s have been sleeping on it and say they sleep great would recommend this product when folded to a couch you cant even tell that it is also a bed and people cant tell that it is a futon love it ..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Husband even surprised

11/24/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews and researched for awhile and settled on this one. We have always had a full guest room but needed to turn this 4th bedroom into a toy room. For this reason we needed something for guests that would not take too much room; yet be comfortable.
It will be used as a bed 10 times a year probably so we are happy with this choice. If it had to be slept on numerous evenings in a row it might not be as comfortable but I think it is good for a few nights.
As a couch it is comfy. My 2 year old daughter is able to bounce on it so it is not too firm. My husband is particular about quality and appearance but he was pleasantly surprised by this one. It is nice fabric and we were both surprised by how thick the cushions are for seating and the back. This is not a futon! We are very happy with it.
The only thing I have to say is a few of the reviews were correct about the seat bar showing. I was not sure what they were talking about but now I know. It is the black frame the seat cushion sits on. It is annoying to me because the couch looks so nice but this one thing sticks out so bad. Plus it is black and the couch is tan. However, I knew this previously since I read the other reviews. I will probably put a blanket or some fabric under the cushion to hang over the frame like a bed skirt. OH - the directions were a little iffy too. Not always clear but I was able to look at the pics and figure things out.
If you are undecided about whether or not to get this, a futon or a sleeper - I say this!! A futon has an uncomfortably, thin cushion and a sleeper is kinda a hassle. This is in an upstairs bedroom so we chose this particularly for the weight. It is impossible to carry a sleeper upstairs! So...good luck :)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Great Product

08/10/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great Sofa/Fouton! It says you need two people to put it together, but I put it together myself.
It is huge and comfortable. I'm 6' 1" and I can stretch out in it. I'm a grad student and it was definitely a "smart buy". It looks just like it did on the box.
The only problem was that it took longer than expected to arrive....but that's another topic altogether.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Good Value, High quality & Excellent service

07/22/2010
By ,
Monterey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's pretty hard to make a decision about getting a new sofa in my apartment. I've been to many furniture stores, furniture outlets, and searched online website. At last, I decided to buy this sofa at Walmart.com.
After I read so many reviews about this product on Walmart.com, I ordered this sofa at the beginning of July,2010 at the price of 349.00 before tax.
It took them about 2 business days to process my order and around 2 weeks to transported the sofa to my local store in California. While the sofa was being transported, I found this same sofa had been rollback $50.00, which is 299.00 right now. I contacted customer service to inquire if I am eligible for that rollback. The customer service reponded very quickly and said I was eligible for the rollback according to their rules. I recieved a direct return of 50.00+tax back from walmart today.
Two weeks from the day when I ordered, I got email notice of pick up, so my boyfriend and I went to my local walmart which is in Marina, CA to pick up my sofa. The guy who handled my sofa was very kind, he and the other walmart worker put the sofa on the trolley and helped me put the sofa into my mini van. They were pretty nice.
When I got home, it took us less than 1 hour to put those sofa together, it looks decent, nice, pretty, and comfortable to sit on it.
Honestly I highly recommend this sofa for students or working professionals just started their job. Looks great to put this sofa in your living room in an apartment, or your extra room for watching movies or reading books. One of my colleagues came to my apartment today, she said the sofa was very pretty, elegant, and comfortable.
I am very glad to share my honest experience with you. Hope it helps.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Poor Quality

12/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thoroughly shopped around for a convertible sofa before I chose this couch. I read all of the great reviews on it and it sounded wonderful, so, I decided, against my better judgement, to purchase a couch online. When I picked it up at the local Walmart, I was given two large boxes, which I thought made one couch. However, we realized when we got home that we had been given two complete couches. We spent the better portion of our Saturday working to put one of the couches together. It was a disaster. The fabric is cheap, thin and wrinkly. The directions are poor at best, and the hinges do not work properly. We never could get the couch to convert into a bed. The hinges are very poor quality and the springs inside were popping out repeatedly. We even tried the second set of hinges from the other box, and they too, would not work. We finally gave up and returned both boxes to Walmart that evening. I would highly discourage anyone from purchasing this couch.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

Happy Customer

10/02/2008
By ,
North Olympic Peninsula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The couch is nice for the price and looks nice other than a few small things, like the gap between the "bed" frame and the couch arms. But it has to be there for the couch to fold down. It doesn't detract from the overall nice look of the couch either. It folds straight up for a more formal feeling and clicks down a notch for a more lounge-like couch. It's easy to fold flat, not horrible to put together. (took me about 45 minutes by myself) Its comfy to sit on and fairly comfy to sleep on. The split between the cushions is somewhat annoying when sleeping but FAR more comfy than any other futon I've ever slept on. Slept on it with bed-hogging hubby, 8lb doxie and a cat and we all fit fine. Overall good value so far, and I would happily recomend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

awesome

11/07/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's really awesome. The same product in Sam's club is $480. It's very very comfortable to sit or lay on the sofa. I am very satisfied with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Baja Convert-A-Couch Sofa Bed, Khaki

A Good Buy

09/17/2010
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the product delivered which increased the total value. Delivery time was great, no problems. A friend helped me assemble and it took 1 hour including unpacking it. We just went by the pictures and used common sense. As in previous reviews, yes, left means as you are looking at the couch not as you picture sitting on it. Everything is color coded for left and right, easy. The back of the couch has to face my front door and that is why I decided on this one because the fabric very nicely covers the entire back, no bars show like a futon. The fabric slips over the back and front bar/frame. Maybe the manufactured fixed that problem since some people said the front bar showed. The fabric is nice but comes shrink packed and it will take awhile to get the wrinkles out. It is very comfortable to sit on and in the flat bed position except the middle does have a dip effect. Some kind of support bar underneath would be good. I have a foam pad that I miight use to remedy that issue. All in all, it is very nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 274 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next