Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Spalding Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Take your play to a whole new level with the Spalding 66355 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System. This Spalding portable basketball system's steel framed 1"x1" clear acrylic backboard provides superior rebound. The portable basketball hoop's ExactaHeight system provides easy height adjustment from 7.5 ft to 10 ft in 6-in increments. This Spalding portable basketball system includes a Pro-Slam breakaway rim to handle the dunk shots. Take your game to new heights with the Spalding 66355 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System.
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%28 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Aweson

07/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second spalding system we have purchased. The first one was put together wrong by a handyman and slowly fell apart. We found out that Wal-Mart will actually assemble them for you free of charge and that was a blessing. Once we got it home and put the 300 lbs. of sand in it it is perfect. The net that came with it is cheap though so luckily we were able to take the better net from the previous system off and use it. Other than that I say let Wal Mart put it together and take it home fore your kids to enjoy. We got it home in our Dodge Ram 1500 with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Review 2 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

This is the one to buy!

03/20/2014
By ,
Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I took the time to read all of the reviews for several models. The acrylic backboard material makes ALL of the difference in the world. Nice, solid rebound- and quiet. My neighbor tried to one up me and bought the "bigger" 54" polycarbonate board/hoop; and all I hear when his kids are playing is GADONG GADONG when the ball hits the board, while mine is DADUNT DADUNT nice and solid. There is a reason the smaller hoop is more expensive as the acrylic is superior material to the polycarbonate. It was easy to assemble- I did it by myself with a little common sense in about 3 hours- taking my time. Hint- disregard the separate packaging- open and lay ALL of the pieces out in groups on a table before you start (my neighbor didn't take my advice on this, and ran to Home Depot for "missing" bolts that are actually there. 2nd hint- the four inch bolts that hold the adjustment arm bracket on to the pole are "hiding" in with (down the middle of) the short black spacer tubes. Lastly, I recommend you tear out the parts matchup pages so you are not flipping back and forth all of the time and losing your place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 3 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Well made but extremely hard to assemble

08/03/2008
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having read some of the reviews, I would have thought this was impossible to assemble. It was definitely tough but definitely not impossible. My 12 year old son and I did most of the work with my wife pitching in on occasion. All in all, it took us 3-4 hours.
There were some real shortsighted elements in the instructions (like referring to parts in a way that required you to go the parts list to decipher what was what) but overall, it came together without too much hassle. We had a few scares about missing parts but they all turned out to be in the packaging even if they were stuffed away in odd spots or in the wrong bags.
Having played on the goal now, I can say that it's very well made and the feature that allows you to raise and lower the backboard is very cool.
I am definitely a happy customer. My only wish would have been for a simpler installation and better instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 4 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Good value, good system

10/18/2008
By ,
Morgantown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son needed a new basketball system, and we looked online for one that met his criteria. This one had what he was looking for, and the price was better than anywhere else.
It was a little difficult to assemble, but no harder than the one I had to put together the last time. My son helped, so it wasnt too bad, until you have to put the backboard onto the pole. But if you follow the directions, its not too bad, and took me about 6 hours.
The only thing I dont like, is that it is very hard to adjust the height. You literally have to hang on the thing to pull it down, and then try to put the pin in to hold it there. Luckily for me, he doesnt want to adjust it.
So if you dont have to adjust it for your kids all the time, it should serve you well. But if you need to adjust the height often, I would spend the extra money, and buy one with a very easy adjustment system.
DD
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 5 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Great product, great store!

11/23/2013
By ,
Rehoboth Beach, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Spalding basketball system and store experience exceeded my expectations. For perspective, I played high school varsity basketball, have 2 sons who also played high school basketball, and my 13 year-old daughter is a middle school varsity basketball player. After reading many of the customer reviews I selected the system to accommodate our family level of play. My only concern from the reviews was assembly, but Wal-Mart provided a professional assembly at no charge. The system arrived more than a week earlier than projected via Site to Store, and the store assembled it in 2 days. It's been up at our home for a week and everyone loves it. Great job Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Quality Product

10/17/2010
By ,
Syosset, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value and surprisingly good assembly instructions. With help from my 16 yr old son, assembly time was about 4 hours. Would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 7 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Great Portable Basketball System

02/19/2012
By ,
Mountain City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing that concerned me was other reviews stating poor instructions and that it takes a really long time to assemble. The directions state that there should be 2 people involved in the assembly but I didn't have that option but can definitely see where that would be beneficial!!! From the opening of the box to shooting the first goal took about 3 hours and 15 minutes with some hillbilly ingenuity and power tools. The adjustable system works great and I stretched a tape measure on the goal height at it's different settings and they were all within 1 inch. This system adjust in 6 inch increments from 7 1/2 - 10ft.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Excellent value

03/14/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took my nephew and a friend 2 hours to assemble and is really sturdy. My son loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 9 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

A bit challanging

03/05/2009
By ,
Melbourne, Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used the site to store shipping option. It took longer than I expected but came in sooner than Wal Mart predicted. The unit was a little bit of a challange to assemble but once my 14 year old son and I finished the unit turned out to be worth every penny. The only problem with it is that when shipped, there is paper covering the front of the backboard but none on the back. This resulted in a few scratches being present from how it was packaged in the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System
07/14/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely a two person project. All parts present. Good guide. Seems to be very well made and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 11 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Hard to assemble, fun to play

05/14/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product was not very easy to assemble, it took me and another adult male about 5 hours, definitely needed socket wrenches, wrenches, sawhorses, etc. Wish I knew how much of a challenge it was going to be. Now its built and it seems pretty sturdy and kids love it. The backboard is not the firmest, it does not rebound crisply but seems like it will not break or anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 12 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Easy to set up - Rim in 3" too high

04/14/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Don't be worried about the reviews about bad instructions. My 11 year old daughter and I set it up in 4 hours taking our time.
It is pretty sturdy.
My only problem is that the rim is 3" too high. Due to the hight adjustment mechanism, it can only be set at 6" increments. I have double checked the instructions, and everything looks correct. I have contacted technical support and they have asked for pictures to make sure it is set up correctly.
The most likely problem is that the poles aren't connected properly but according to the instructions, we did it correctly. Unfortunately, there isn't a positive indications that the poles are connected properly.
I am hoping that I can switch over to one of the other hight adjustment mechanisms or replace the current adjustment to a fixed length pole that keeps it at 10".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You are right
Posted 12/14/2011
They failed to take into consideration the height of the water/sand support underneath. It is a manufacturing error. Don't let them convince you that you put it together wrong. Walmart did mine, and it is also 3 inches too tall on the 10 foot setting and 6 inches too short on the next lower setting.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System
06/12/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very sturdy and easy to change the height of the goal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 14 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Great for our 10 year old son.

04/18/2013
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews we did have Walmart assemble the hoop. It was definitely worth it! It is hard to adjust the height(takes 2 people), our 10 year old cant do it. Overall it is a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Good choice

06/25/2013
By ,
Bergen county. Nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money. Best value is that Walmart will put it together for you which from what I read is not fun. All you need is a friend with a big truck to help you get it home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Perfect combo of performance and cost for home use

04/14/2014
By ,
Airmont, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good construction. Perfect combination of price, performance and quality for the home driveway user.
This is an acrylic backboard, much better than a polycarb. Polycarb is "bouncy" and does not give a solid rebound. It absorbs impact effecting play. Glass is the best, if you want to spend $1,000 or much much more on a system.
Everything fit together well. Bolts are a tight fit, but need to ensure a secure final assembly. No misalignment issues as with some other posts, I think that has something to do with the mechanical abilities of the assembler. Had all the proper tools needed for assembly so that probably helped a bit too.
Took about 4 hours to assemble with the help of my 10 year old to sort parts etc. and an hour to pour the sand into the base one cup at a time through a funnel! Note if you are in a freezing climate, I would not recommend using water unless you use plan on adding antifreeze in the mix. I choose sand, as once it is in I will never need to worry about evaporation and the hoop crashing in my driveway or on top of someone's head at some point in the future.
Make sure you use construction sand NOT play sand. I made that mistake initially and had to lug 300 lbs. of play sand back to Home Depot to exchange. Play sand packs and clumps which makes it impossible to pour into the base. It was a good work out though and no need to go to the gym today.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 17 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System
08/27/2012
By ,
atl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great solution. It has a pin in it to change heights. I was looking for one that did not need a pin and you could squeeze the handle to change heights quicker but it is not a big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Good product for the money.

01/12/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit appears to be worth the money, and it serves the purpose that be bought for. Very well illistrated assembly directions, took me some 6 liesurely hours and my 11 yr. old son helped for a few minutes when two were required. The three pole tubes were assembled as per drawings and instructions, but now I know why others pointed out that the 10' marking is really 11' etc, so I just lowered it to the 9' marking to get exactly 10' (no real problem unless you needed 7 1/2' which would really be 8 1/2 ft. I especially liked the 45 degree piece of plastic that serves as a ball return on many made baskets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Nice & Sturdy System for a Great Price!

01/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The instructions for this system leave a lot to be desired. I was bummed because Walmart agreed to assemble this item and when I checked back a week later (3 days before Christmas) they shared that they wouldn't be able to put it together because their assembly area didn't have the height clearance. Yes, I was disappointed but decided to be a trooper and put it together myself. I'm pretty technical and have a tendency to break 'guy protocol' and follow directions, especially for items that have a potentially complicated assembly. I would highly recommend that you get another adult to help out. My 11 year old son helped out and didn't quite have enough strength to fully assist but we managed with the help of the recommended sawhorse. There are a lot of parts to this system, some are even hidden inside of other parts. For example, the support bars are hidden inside of the posts. If you don't check, you can easily miss it. The instructions are not perfect and I highly recommend that you lay out all parts on the ground in an open space and label them. Taking the time to do this familiarized me with the parts and definitely shortened our assembly time. I actually overlooked one of the steps that was crucial. Pay very close attention to the positioning when assembling the three (3) main posts that create the main support for the goal. There is a slot and a dimple that have to align perfectly while you literally slam the assembly down onto a scrap piece of wood to get the posts to join. If you assemble them incorrectly like I did, you'll NEVER get them apart to correct it. After it was too late, I corrected the alignment on the 3rd part but had to drill my own holes in the rest of the post to complete the assembly. I was able to get everything to align and assemble the item but it definitely added time and frustration. (A recommendation to Spaulding would be to put labels or stickers on the post ends to make it clear how the two parts are designed to align and join.) Unfortunately, the design does allow you to assemble the post incorrectly. Aside from that, it went pretty quickly. Because I assembled the poles incorrectly, it added an additional 45 minutes of time to the assembly to measure and drill holes in the metal posts. Total assembly time should have been 2 hrs and 15 minutes. I read the other reviews prior to assembly about not using water to fill the base as it has a tendency to leak so I picked up a bag of BaseGel Basketball Goal Portable Bases Polymer at the local Academy Sports store. You pour 2/3 of the bag of gel/powder into the base, fill it up 1/2 way with water, add the remaining 1/3 of the gel/powder and fill with water leaving about a 1/2 air gap. The gel absorbs the water and expands to create the weight. You can even dissolve the gel with a salt water solution if you need to drain it. Be careful! The gel powder expands quickly and adds immediate weight to the assembly.
All in all, this system is incredibly sturdy and worth the money. I did notice a design flaw in the part that is angled towards the person shooting the ball that is supposed to deflect the ball back towards the shooter. The part is made of plastic and after about 10-12 missed airball shots that hit the part directly, it was already cracking right in the middle. That part could be made a little more sturdier. I am thinking of removing it, tracing the shape and cutting the shape out of plywood and reassembling to make it more sturdy.
The difficult instructions and the poor deflector are reasons I've deducted a single star.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Spalding 66355 NBA Acrylic 50 Inch ExactaHeight Portable Basketball System

Great system, sturdy, not as bad to build as they

10/03/2013
By ,
Bronx,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews I expected assembly to be difficult. Not true at all. I am very handy and have good tools and had no difficulty assembling this item alone. I only needed help to stand it up after it was done. The machining was good, I didn't have to drill out any holes. I was careful to follow the instructions and double check the fasteners against the guide in the book. It took 3 1/2 hours from the time I opened the box and laid out the parts until it was done. One gripe. The posts have a groove and a dimple that have to lined up for proper assembly. Even after I lined them up the backboard was not exactly straight. I put a level on top and made an adjustment to correct this. Great product otherwise. Very sturdy and my son is very happy. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next