Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sleep Mate Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Sleep Mate Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

The Dohm-DS by Marpac, The Original Sound Conditioner (formerly known as the Sleepmate), is a white noise sleep sound machine that will turn sleep into a much more peaceful experience for anyone who wants it. White noise is like the soothing sound of rushing air. The Marpac Sound Conditioner 980A effectively masks unwanted noises and creates a sense of calm, making it easier to concentrate, relax or get some serious sleep. This white noise generator is recommended for restless sleepers and people who work the graveyard shift or get to bed at odd times for other reasons. It's also perfect for baby nurseries, day care centers, college dorms, apartments or any sleep environment where unwanted, disturbing or intrusive noise is a problem. The Original Sound Conditioner was first introduced in 1962 and is now in its 4th-generation design. The Dohm-DS Sound Conditioner sound screen features two speeds for greater flexibility in tone and volume.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(367 Reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
39
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%338 out of 367reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 134 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
39
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

No frills perfect white noise machine

02/02/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the older version of this machine 30 years ago, and it still works today! I gave my old one to my son because the sounds from his neighbors' apartments in his crowded apartment building in New York City were interfering with his sleep. It did the trick immediately and he loves it. I purchased this newest "sound conditioner" as a gift for my husband to help him cope with his tinnitis. It is corded, not battery operated. It has 2 settings for louder and softer, and when the lid is twisted, the size of the openings on the sides expands or contracts which also alters the sound quality. The noise you will hear is the sound of rushing air. That's it. The volume goes from soft to loud, depending on how you set it. There are no other sounds, no birds, no ocean waves, no thunder storms... This is a pure white noise machine that does the job perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Can sleep well again

09/06/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This noise machine is perfect. I am a very picky person and a light sleeper. We had been using a humidifier at night for white noise for the past 2 years but it finally gave out. We then switched to a Homedics tabletop fan. It really dried the room out and was way too loud. Another humidifier we own was also too loud. We contemplated an electronic sound machine (nature sounds, rain, waterfall, etc.), but after researching found that many of them turn off after 60-90 minutes or were poorly manufactured. We then decided to go with this one after reading reviews. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Runs all night, multiple volume/sound adjustments can be made. Sounds just like a fan/humidifier or blowing air but it doesn't blow any air. I was able to sleep better on the first night of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

I couldn't sleep during the day without it!

07/31/2013
By ,
Western Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family is awake and living their lives during the day, just as they would if I wasn't sleeping down the hall. This product drowns out the noise of the television being up too loud, loud conversations, and the family playing tug of war with the dogs.
I can still tell that the television is on or a loud conversation may be happening as I am falling asleep, but the white noise takes precedence. This product keeps a gentle consistant filter of white noise, so that something unexpected elsewhere does not startle me. I will still wake to the sound of the telephone ringing on my nightstand, and my alarm clock sounding (which I turn up loud).
Concerns: I am not so sure if I would hear the sound of a fire alarm down the hall, or an intruder until it reached my bedroom. I would have the same problems if I used earplugs. Thankfully, the majority of the time someone is home while I am using this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Blissful sleep

01/22/2009
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having used a fan for years to produce white noise, I finally got fed up with all the dust and cold breezes in winter and bought this based on reviews. So glad I did. The machine is very small, inconspicuous, and easy to use. With the adjustable top and sides and high/low switch, users can find the perfect sound for their needs. It's small enough to pack in a suitcase and use on vacation. I have used this for a month now and am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Better than expected

10/28/2009
By ,
Central Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sleep Mate exceeded my expectations. Very southing and consistent sound. No complaints thus far. I suffer from tinnitus and this product cancels out the humming sound very well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A
05/12/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product because my job requires that I sleep in a hotel that is located near a beach bar that plays music late into the night and I cannot wear ear plugs because I get ear infections easily. I knew as soon as I turned the machine on that it would not be loud enough and I was correct. This machine is just too quiet for anyone that needs to block out anything more than whispers or other light noises. This is too bad because I actually really like the type of noise that it creates -- like a fan. Also, others that mentioned that there is not much of a difference between the low and high volume settings are correct. Overall, it would probably be a good product if it was much, much louder.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

not an air purifier - a sound purifier

07/31/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the sound I've been looking for, the one that wipes out the others and leaves nothing for your consciousness to bump into. No infernal synthesized babbling brooks, crickets and ocean waves - just one smooth solid whooshing brain wipe, tunable to your personal sweet spot. It's so much better than those electronic noise machines, like my Homedics, or the recordings and smartphone apps. Old fashioned, well built, American made, and very retro-cool. The price seemed high at first, but it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Good product for troubled sleepers.

11/05/2013
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Machine is easy to use. It's small enough to fit anywhere. This machine has two settings. My son falls asleep and stays asleep on the high setting but I can still hear some sound breaking through on the high setting. I need white noise in order to sleep. I get more restful sleep with this machine than I did if I didn't have the machine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Best White noise Machine On The Market

01/16/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second sound machine. At first was a little leary as my first one is 10 years old and still going strong and wanted another one for the spare bedroom but found the original company (SleepMate) was bought out by Dohm. Bought it anyway and it is the exact same machine as the SleepMate. They've gotten a bit pricier these days as my original I only paid 29.99 for, but well worth the investment for a great nights sleep, and the Dual speed machine is the way to go in case you have extra loud noise (dogs barking, etc) outside you can turn it up and have infinite sound adjustments. You cannot go wrong with this machine !!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

You never go back...

01/07/2010
By ,
Andalusia, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had one of these since I was a child and they are addictive. I bought one for my sister, brother-in-law and their dog and they all love it! It cuts down on bothersome ambient noises and lasts for years. Mine is over 20 years old. They seem expensive at first, but in a few years you will look back and see that they were very well made and worth every penny. I highly recommend one of these for any household.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Canfield, Ohio
Dohm-DS By Marpac
Posted 03/12/2013
Great Machine, Being able to sleep at night with out waking up each other snoring,Blocks out every thing, Great investment!! LOVE IT!
0points
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Had one as a child
Posted 10/21/2011
I, too, had one of these as a child....and my daughter is still using my original SleepMate. It's around 40 years old, so they really last.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Not what i expected

03/15/2014
By ,
Melbourne, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not loud at all. I have to put it by the babies ear so it can work. Has no volume adjust. Dont waste your money, buy one with a volume button.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

A Good Product

07/02/2010
By ,
Valley Stream, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sounds made by this machine are soothing and not at all annoying or intrusive. There is no vibration or whine, and it doesn't hum. It is just pure white noise, like rushing air. It works pretty well in drowning out normal neighborhood noises, and you can set it on low or high, and also adjust the "tone" of the white noise as you wish. Unfortunately, it was not loud enough for my purposes. I bought it hoping to drown out the sound of the jet planes which, when the wind is right, zoom over my house half the night at something like 17,000 feet. I guess that was too much to expect from any machine, because the only thing that's going to drown out an A320 is another A320. However, I am glad I bought it, and I do use it on a regular basis to drown out ordinary noises. It works very well for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Perfect for getting a night of restful sleep!

01/27/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this model for my husband, even though it costs more, because it will run all night long and sounds like a fan. It does not dry out my eyes or throat like a real fan would and it helps both of us get a better night's sleep.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

works some what, but still hear outside noises

01/28/2014
By ,
whiting nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
used in bedroom, to help protect against outside noise, works ok, still hear car doors shut, etc....
Price is too high.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

2 Thumbs Up

01/17/2014
By ,
McComb, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted two things in a sound machine: volume and quality of sound. I wanted a machine that would be loud enough to cover up even loud sounds. I live in a house with loud, noisy people. I also wanted a sound that wasn't annoying. I wanted it to sound like a fan not static. It was worth the extra bucks because it turned out to be exactly what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

wonderful!

01/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had to sleep with a fan for years just for the noise. This product is so compact and I can take it anywhere. Just as good if not better than my old box fans.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A
04/29/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was so excited when I received this item. I thought I would no longer have to use a fan to sleep at night. WRONG!!! Some one wrote a review that said it was too loud, but I don't think it's loud enough! I can still hear my husband snoring and any noises outside. On the other hand, this product has the closest sound to a fan that I've ever heard. I really like this product but I would have to purchase another one to drown out the noise and that's just too much money. Still deciding though because it might be worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

first rate working great

03/04/2014
By ,
murfreesbobo tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i live in a commerial area and this machine is just the thing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Works great

01/03/2010
By ,
Eugene, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to help drown out the noise of the house after my two kids (4 and 5) went to bed. It works really well.
There are two settings, soft and loud, and the sound is very soothing and easily ignored. The tone of the noise is adjustable by turning the outer casing clockwise or counter clockwise.
I keep it in the hallway outside of the bedrooms. It's loud enough to be effective for all four bedrooms. It drowns out the sirens, train whistles, cat fights, noisy cars, and all the other things that would often wake me and my kids up and has really helped them to stay asleep throughout the night (and even helped them sleep in a bit later).
It's compact and will easily fit in a suitcase to take with you on trips (after a while you get accustomed to the sound and it's hard to sleep without it). It works really well in a hotel room.
I have relatives who use a box fan for the same effect, but that moves the air and causes a draft, not to mention it's bulky and difficult to take with you.
I definitely recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

I love it. Great product!

02/27/2014
By ,
Antigo, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have trouble sleeping and my brain is able to calm down listening to my Dohm. Thank you so much!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 290 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next