Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sleep Mate Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Sleep Mate Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

The Dohm-DS by Marpac, The Original Sound Conditioner (formerly known as the Sleepmate), is a white noise sleep sound machine that will turn sleep into a much more peaceful experience for anyone who wants it. White noise is like the soothing sound of rushing air. The Marpac Sound Conditioner 980A effectively masks unwanted noises and creates a sense of calm, making it easier to concentrate, relax or get some serious sleep. This white noise generator is recommended for restless sleepers and people who work the graveyard shift or get to bed at odd times for other reasons. It's also perfect for baby nurseries, day care centers, college dorms, apartments or any sleep environment where unwanted, disturbing or intrusive noise is a problem. The Original Sound Conditioner was first introduced in 1962 and is now in its 4th-generation design. The Dohm-DS Sound Conditioner sound screen features two speeds for greater flexibility in tone and volume.
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(374 Reviews) 296
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
290
4 stars
40
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation92%345 out of 374reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 138 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
290
4 stars
40
3 stars
16
2 stars
16
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Can sleep well again

09/06/2010
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This noise machine is perfect. I am a very picky person and a light sleeper. We had been using a humidifier at night for white noise for the past 2 years but it finally gave out. We then switched to a Homedics tabletop fan. It really dried the room out and was way too loud. Another humidifier we own was also too loud. We contemplated an electronic sound machine (nature sounds, rain, waterfall, etc.), but after researching found that many of them turn off after 60-90 minutes or were poorly manufactured. We then decided to go with this one after reading reviews. We couldn't be happier with our choice. Runs all night, multiple volume/sound adjustments can be made. Sounds just like a fan/humidifier or blowing air but it doesn't blow any air. I was able to sleep better on the first night of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Wonderful product!

09/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has already saved me from several nights of lost sleep. I can now block out my noisey upstairs neighbors without the cold draftiness of a fan.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Great for keeping out unwanted noise.

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine. Keeps out unwanted sounds. Helps me sleep "like a baby."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

I couldn't sleep during the day without it!

07/31/2013
By ,
Western Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family is awake and living their lives during the day, just as they would if I wasn't sleeping down the hall. This product drowns out the noise of the television being up too loud, loud conversations, and the family playing tug of war with the dogs.
I can still tell that the television is on or a loud conversation may be happening as I am falling asleep, but the white noise takes precedence. This product keeps a gentle consistant filter of white noise, so that something unexpected elsewhere does not startle me. I will still wake to the sound of the telephone ringing on my nightstand, and my alarm clock sounding (which I turn up loud).
Concerns: I am not so sure if I would hear the sound of a fire alarm down the hall, or an intruder until it reached my bedroom. I would have the same problems if I used earplugs. Thankfully, the majority of the time someone is home while I am using this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Blissful sleep

01/22/2009
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having used a fan for years to produce white noise, I finally got fed up with all the dust and cold breezes in winter and bought this based on reviews. So glad I did. The machine is very small, inconspicuous, and easy to use. With the adjustable top and sides and high/low switch, users can find the perfect sound for their needs. It's small enough to pack in a suitcase and use on vacation. I have used this for a month now and am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A
05/12/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product because my job requires that I sleep in a hotel that is located near a beach bar that plays music late into the night and I cannot wear ear plugs because I get ear infections easily. I knew as soon as I turned the machine on that it would not be loud enough and I was correct. This machine is just too quiet for anyone that needs to block out anything more than whispers or other light noises. This is too bad because I actually really like the type of noise that it creates -- like a fan. Also, others that mentioned that there is not much of a difference between the low and high volume settings are correct. Overall, it would probably be a good product if it was much, much louder.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Better than expected

10/28/2009
By ,
Central Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sleep Mate exceeded my expectations. Very southing and consistent sound. No complaints thus far. I suffer from tinnitus and this product cancels out the humming sound very well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

not an air purifier - a sound purifier

07/31/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the sound I've been looking for, the one that wipes out the others and leaves nothing for your consciousness to bump into. No infernal synthesized babbling brooks, crickets and ocean waves - just one smooth solid whooshing brain wipe, tunable to your personal sweet spot. It's so much better than those electronic noise machines, like my Homedics, or the recordings and smartphone apps. Old fashioned, well built, American made, and very retro-cool. The price seemed high at first, but it's worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

No frills perfect white noise machine

02/02/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the older version of this machine 30 years ago, and it still works today! I gave my old one to my son because the sounds from his neighbors' apartments in his crowded apartment building in New York City were interfering with his sleep. It did the trick immediately and he loves it. I purchased this newest "sound conditioner" as a gift for my husband to help him cope with his tinnitis. It is corded, not battery operated. It has 2 settings for louder and softer, and when the lid is twisted, the size of the openings on the sides expands or contracts which also alters the sound quality. The noise you will hear is the sound of rushing air. That's it. The volume goes from soft to loud, depending on how you set it. There are no other sounds, no birds, no ocean waves, no thunder storms... This is a pure white noise machine that does the job perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

You never go back...

01/07/2010
By ,
Andalusia, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had one of these since I was a child and they are addictive. I bought one for my sister, brother-in-law and their dog and they all love it! It cuts down on bothersome ambient noises and lasts for years. Mine is over 20 years old. They seem expensive at first, but in a few years you will look back and see that they were very well made and worth every penny. I highly recommend one of these for any household.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Canfield, Ohio
Dohm-DS By Marpac
Posted 03/12/2013
Great Machine, Being able to sleep at night with out waking up each other snoring,Blocks out every thing, Great investment!! LOVE IT!
0points
Customer Avatar
Kansas
Had one as a child
Posted 10/21/2011
I, too, had one of these as a child....and my daughter is still using my original SleepMate. It's around 40 years old, so they really last.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

A Good Product

07/02/2010
By ,
Valley Stream, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The sounds made by this machine are soothing and not at all annoying or intrusive. There is no vibration or whine, and it doesn't hum. It is just pure white noise, like rushing air. It works pretty well in drowning out normal neighborhood noises, and you can set it on low or high, and also adjust the "tone" of the white noise as you wish. Unfortunately, it was not loud enough for my purposes. I bought it hoping to drown out the sound of the jet planes which, when the wind is right, zoom over my house half the night at something like 17,000 feet. I guess that was too much to expect from any machine, because the only thing that's going to drown out an A320 is another A320. However, I am glad I bought it, and I do use it on a regular basis to drown out ordinary noises. It works very well for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A
04/29/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was so excited when I received this item. I thought I would no longer have to use a fan to sleep at night. WRONG!!! Some one wrote a review that said it was too loud, but I don't think it's loud enough! I can still hear my husband snoring and any noises outside. On the other hand, this product has the closest sound to a fan that I've ever heard. I really like this product but I would have to purchase another one to drown out the noise and that's just too much money. Still deciding though because it might be worth it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Works great

01/03/2010
By ,
Eugene, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to help drown out the noise of the house after my two kids (4 and 5) went to bed. It works really well.
There are two settings, soft and loud, and the sound is very soothing and easily ignored. The tone of the noise is adjustable by turning the outer casing clockwise or counter clockwise.
I keep it in the hallway outside of the bedrooms. It's loud enough to be effective for all four bedrooms. It drowns out the sirens, train whistles, cat fights, noisy cars, and all the other things that would often wake me and my kids up and has really helped them to stay asleep throughout the night (and even helped them sleep in a bit later).
It's compact and will easily fit in a suitcase to take with you on trips (after a while you get accustomed to the sound and it's hard to sleep without it). It works really well in a hotel room.
I have relatives who use a box fan for the same effect, but that moves the air and causes a draft, not to mention it's bulky and difficult to take with you.
I definitely recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Good product for troubled sleepers.

11/05/2013
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Machine is easy to use. It's small enough to fit anywhere. This machine has two settings. My son falls asleep and stays asleep on the high setting but I can still hear some sound breaking through on the high setting. I need white noise in order to sleep. I get more restful sleep with this machine than I did if I didn't have the machine.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Great product

07/19/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Marpac SleeMate 980A WHite Noise Sleep Sound Machine about two weeks ago hoping that it would cancel out the barking dog that lives behind me. Well folks it is working. For two weeks I have used it and it works. Several nights I've left it off until the dog woke me up and then turned it on and I could no longer hear the barking, now I just turn it on everynight when I go to bed. I would highly recommend this machine for blocking out outside noises.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A
09/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It masks out most of the noise except for heavy snoring by your spouse right next to you.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Helps with getting a Good Night's Sleep!

04/18/2010
By ,
Cincinnati ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! About 20 years ago I purchased one of these from the same mfg. and still have it. We have used it every night, all night for all these years and it still works perfect! I purchased another one because I wanted one for another room in the house. The design is basically the same as 20 years ago, just looks a bit more modern. It is about the size of a roll of toilet paper. I have used other "sleep/noise machines" when at other's homes, but I much prefer the sound of 'white noise' to nature sounds when trying to sleep. This really helps block out noise when sleeping. It is easy to pack and take for traveling. Recommend highly! Also, love ordering on line from Walmart's 'site-to-site' shoping option -- it's easy and very quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Excellent durable product.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several of these for years and they still work great. I just keep buying them for gifts and guest rooms. Everyone who try's it loves it. Constant noise not ups and downs. Great for traveling too. Fits easily in suitcase. Great to block hotel noises. Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

just what we needed

04/07/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these at Christmas. One for my father that has trouble sleeping and one for my husband who likes to sleep with noise. My dad loves it and I can't get my husband to sleep without it. We even took it on a cruise. Also my daughter works nights so we take turns with it each day, so it runs almost 24 hours a day. My only complaint is that I would like the volume to be a little lower sometimes but it is ok with the two volumes it has. It really eliminates most outside noise from our busy neighborhood with dogs right next door and streets close by. I do snore alot and even though you can't expect it to cover it up all the way, it does help buffer the snoring quite a bit. I have tried to find one for my daughter other than this one for a better price, however most others have timers and turn off after a short time. This one stays on, which is what we like. I am really glad I ordered this machine. It has really been great for us so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dohm-DS by Marpac. The Original Sound Conditioner, formerly known as the Sleepmate/Sound Screen 980A

Best white noise machine EVER

10/24/2012
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After moving from an apartment using window units, to a home with central air, my husband and I realized we needed a white noise machine to duplicate the fan noise. Using apps on our phone, we quickly realized most white noise replicators use a repeating sound recording. The problem with that is, that somewhere on that recording is going to be a skip or an added noise or something and your mind will pick it out and will continue to listen for it each and every loop. Therefore you are not relaxing, you are waiting for the sound discrepancy. The brilliance of this machine, is that it makes its own noise. There are no recordings. You can also rotate the shell to vary the open air holes and make noise changes. It is worth every penny. It also drowns out a lot of noise, so if you have other people awake in the house making noise, this should blot that out and allow you to sleep. I would recommend this for city visitors or people who just moved.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 297 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next