Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sonicare Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sonicare Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

The Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush will prove to be a great partner in your oral care regime. The slim, angled neck, contour-fit bristles, and ultra-high bristle speed are some of the hallmarks of the Philips Sonicare Electric Toothbrush. Reaching deep between the teeth and gum line and other hard-to-reach areas, this rechargeable sonic toothbrush is able to effectively remove plague and ensures naturally whiter teeth and healthier gums. The Philips Sonic Toothbrush has extra-soft bristles that are gentle enough to be used with braces, implants, dental work, and sensitive teeth. The 2-minute Smartimer helps ensure the minimum recommended brushing time. The battery charge status indicator blinks and alerts when it is time to recharge the Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%228 out of 240reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
30
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

excellent cleaning power

12/24/2009
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought Sonicare for everyone in my family! I have worked in dentistry for 27 years, and totally recommend this product. My original Sonicare never wore out but it was so old that the replacement brushes were no longer available, so I bought this one! I actually like it even better! Great product for anyone....just one recomendation....the product does the work for you so dont scrub with it like a regular toothbrush. :-) Just move it from tooth to tooth and let it do the work, just like the hygenist does at the dentist!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

delighted

01/05/2010
By ,
san antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this toothbrush for myself and my seven year old daughter this past xmas. It is so wonderful especially for my daughter because it has a 2 minute timer on it which guarantees she brushes for an adequate period of time. Additionally, after using the toothbrush I have noticed that our teeth are whiter and my mouth feels very clean- like I just stepped out of a dentist office.
My only complaint is that you have to unscrew the toothbrush head from the base and clean it often because it traps water which will mold if not done frequently.
I would recommend this product for all ages.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

best toothbrush ever

06/25/2008
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned many battery operated toothbrushes but this one by far does a much more thorough job. It is gentle but if used per the directions your teeth feel like you just left the dentist office. It will be great to put in the plastic carrying case which was included to pack in a suitcase.
I think my dental hygenist will be pleased the next time I visit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Sonicare - Great Product

06/25/2008
By ,
Maple Valley, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the least expensive Sonicare toothbrush in the line, yet it is more powerful than my old top-of-the-line Sonicare. It works great. Before I started using electric toothbrushes I had deep pockets in my gums. They have all heeled in the last year from using these products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Love It!!!!!!!

04/01/2009
By ,
Raytown, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this toothbrush. I attend my routine dental cleanings but I have been noticing a bit of plaque build up. I bought one for me and my fiance. My teeth feel sooooo clean after I brush. My fiance is also very pleased with the new toothbrush. Highly Recommended.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Great Toothbrush, Pricey Brushes, Good for Braces

08/26/2011
By ,
San Francisco Bay Area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a number of electronic toothbrushes(mostly in the budget price range) but Soniccare was my first real mid-priced investment. When I purchased my Soniccare I was looking for a fair value toothbrush that would work good for braces since cleaning braces with an ordinary toothbrush is a pain and barely effective. I paid around ~$50 & received it in the mail.
The Good:
I tried it out for the 1st time and had to admit that I wasn't ready for how powerful this toothbrush cleans, even with the supposed warmup ramp up of cleaning power(Soniccare has an acclimation feature where the toothbrush slowly increases cleaning power). However after using the toothbrush on my newly minted braces, I immediately felt the cleaning difference! Wow! My teeth felt clean and polished and with some inspection I could tell that my braces were definitely cleaner.
The Not So Good:
This Soniccare has a great battery life once fully charged but getting it fully charged takes a full day(15+hours)! Sure I could leave it on the charger but water builds up and it can get messy, plus I travel a lot and know that letting the battery run its charge/decharge cycle is imperative to maintaining its battery life.
Each brush head is supposed to be used for 2 or 3 months and then replaced but at around ~$10 a brush head were talking a cost of $40-$60/year in brush head replacements! I don't know about you but I try to watch my budget and $60 in brush heads a year is a bit too much.
Summary:
I recommend this toothbrush soley on its cleaning abilities and its initial value especially for those with braces.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Goo Monster!

07/13/2012
By ,
Sacramento-by-the-River, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
How can you make an excellent product and miss completely on ease of daily maintenance? With the Philips name comes the assurance that thoughtful engineers scrubbed every conceivable angle so as to make this product practically perfect. Not in this case. The easy-to-hold design comes with a continuous seam that encases the batteries and a screw top bezel (for the brush), both of which attract, house and cultivate goo. If you want clean teeth and healthy gums, it's not a far stretch to think that you might also want a clean machine and charging base to boot. But those infernal seams grab whatever you call saliva and whisked toothpaste and give it refuse inside your pristine white machine. If you're not careful, the mold, mildew and enzymes will form into some little beastie that may just wake you from a sound sleep, demanding that you BRUSH and brush NOW! While the brush works well and the price was unbelievable...the GOO has got to go! Better to save your pennies and upgrade to the $100+ level (no goo monster goes there).
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

I seem to be striking out with Sonicare

08/03/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've used a Sonicare toothbrush for at least 20 years. I just purchased this one to replace my last one which refused to take a charge and died after 2 years. Now this newly purchased one won't hold a charge! I'm taking it back, but I won't give up on replacing it with another Sonicare in the hopes that I won't have a 3rd strike out.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Best bang for the buck!

08/30/2011
By ,
Williamsburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This model is in fact the "Best Buy" of ALL the models offered by Phillips. It comes with 2 additional sets of brushes as part of the entire package, none of the others do and the brushes are costly.
My last Phillips Sonicare toothbrush lasted so many years I don't remember when I bought it. Nothing more to say...Contented!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

great product

12/26/2011
By ,
jacksonville, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've only had three electric toothbrushes in my life, my first one was the snoopy one that had a cord attached to the dog house, the second one was a oral b braun vitality that worked good, but i can't find the brushes anymore, and this one. i wouldn't have bought this one because i didn't want to spend $40 for a toothbrush, but i couldn't find the brushes for the oral b and i don't like a manual brush. i looked at this one because of the commercials, and then i read the reviews and thought it would be a good deal. i got it and tried it, and the first time it got rid of most of the plaque build up. it's more powerful than the oral b and i didn't expect that. this is a jackhammer compared to the oral b which is a air hammer. my teeth have always been a little yellow, and after the first use it took most of the yellow away. i think that in no time i will have completely white teeth just using the brush and toothpaste. i like that it comes with the travel case and a holder for 2 heads. if you want a great toothbrush this is a no brainer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Deceived by Walmart's product description

12/04/2011
By ,
Bristol, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does a great job brushing, but I did not receive the features advertised.
Contrary to the information above, this model does NOT have the "Quadpacer" timer, which splits the 2-minute brush cycle into four 30-second portions (one for each quadrant of your mouth).
I would not have bought this model if I had known this is the case.
This was bought to replace another Sonicare, which "died of old age". I came to depend on that Quadtimer when I was half asleep in the morning, just automatically moving it from quadrant to quadrant when the pauses occurred. Now I have to figure out how to brush the quadrants equally on my own :(
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

The best now that price is lower.

11/22/2011
By ,
Marion, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this brush for over a year and it gives me a just from the dentist feeling each time I brush my teeth. I liked it so much that I bought one for my wife and she loves it just as much as I do, if not more. The dentist was impressed at how much cleaner my teeth were the last time he saw me and I said it was all because of this brush and using it according to the directions and his recommendation.
I bought the brush when it was around $90 and I thought it was a great brush for that price. Now that it is much lower than that, then I would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Excellent proven product

08/25/2010
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonicare for years has been a proven industry leader in this product spectrum. Only recently have manufacturers introduced similar products with lower retail prices. Sonicare's performance is due to the unique transfer of the unit's power core to the sonic head in a compartment between the two. This produces a high frequency brushing action that cleans the surface of the tooth. The price point of this unit makes sonicare available to more people. Remember to lightly touch the surface of the tooth for optimum perfromance and cleaning. The unit shuts off after two minutes of use which is exactly the time needed to clean all of the teeth. Excellent product at an excellent price.
A perfect gift for anyone that hasn't used sonicare. The gift will be appreciated every day.
There is no comparison to Sonicare and traditional manual or vibrating toothbrush products. Sonicare is an entirely different approach to improved dental health.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Great product!

12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first electric toothbrush and I'm very happy with it. I have braces and the Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush really does the job. A manual toothbrush just doesn't cut it. Also, the charge holds up well. So far, I've been using this toothbrush for a week and a half and I haven't had to recharge it yet. I brush my teeth at least 3 times a day. It's suppose to hold a charge for 2 weeks. I recommend the Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush, espeically if you have braces.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46
06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too highly priced, specially the maintenance costs, i.e. the brush heads.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Good basic model

02/28/2009
By ,
Douglas, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to have the fancier model with the quadpacing and slightly more ergonomic handle. The battery on that one eventually quit holding a charge (after 3 years) and I didn't want to spend the money for those options so I chose this basic model. It's not the cheapest model because I did want the smaller head that comes on this one. It seems to work just as well as the fancier model. Leaves my teeth clean and has helped get rid of my gum pockets. If you don't need the brush to tell you when to move it around, this is your best value.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Not as advertised

11/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This model of the Sonicare Essence, e5300, does not have the quadrapacer as advertised. Philips freely admits that is an error in the product information they provide to retailers but do not seem to have any interest in correcting it. Their only response to me was to return it and buy the more expensive model.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Sonicare

12/31/2008
By ,
La Crosse, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this toothbrush. I don't know how I got by without it this long. It was suggested to me by a family member who spend over $8000 on dental work, as their dentist reccomended it to them. I have owned it less than a week but I feel a dentist clean everytime I use it. I would highly reccomend this to everyone. Others I have spoken with have also told me they have the sonicare model and they love it as well. I can't wait to go to the dentist in less than a month and see my results!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Amazing

12/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had wanted a sonicare toothbrush for a long time, but the price was always an issue for me. I came into a little extra money and decided to splurge on one and it is hands down the best. My teeth are so clean! Cant wait to see if my dentist notices :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare Essence e5300 Sonic Power Toothbrush HX5351/46

Best toothbrush ever!

01/11/2011
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used a sonicare toothbrush for over 10 years. I started using it in my 30's after the dentist had to do a root cleaning of my teeth...not so pleasant. My dentist and hygienist have been very pleased with the results. This purchase at Walmart.com was for a sonicare for each of my 3 grown sons. If you are changing from a manual toothbrush, the vibrations take a week or so to get accustomed to. Just use it a few seconds each day and increase your time and all will be well. I love that it shuts off at 2 min recommended brushing time.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next