Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vicks Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vicks Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

&nbsp
Average Customer Rating:
3.774 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation71%22 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Love it, only 1 problem...

12/20/2009
By ,
Manchester NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have 3 yr old triplet boys, I bought this about a yr or 2 ago for them because they get bloody noses often in the winter when the heat gets turned on N the air is dry, also for their cold symptoms. I LOVED the idea of it having the part to put the kaz or vicks vapor oil in it, that helped them and me alot! I found though that it doesnt work as well in a medium or larger sized room, they have their own smaller room now and it works awsome! I fill it every 24 hrs and rinse it everytime. my only problem with it is that it leaves this black stuff in the bottom (it says that its normal) but im curious as to what it is, and on the part that comes off, theres residue on the black part and its hard to clean it throroughly. I love it but im OCD about the cleanliness thing and a bit paranoid that it may be growing bacteria, I might buy a different one but overall it HAS helped!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Great for dry winter months!

12/05/2008
By ,
Hamden, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great price for a great product. This helps the air at my place and also is bacteria free steam heat which helps with skin and hair health. I recommend this to anyone with nasal problems or to prevent those dry nose and throat feelings during the winter months!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Good humidifier

12/24/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This humidifier is easy to use and a breeze to keep clean. There is no fan blowing around drafty, dusty air -- just an internal heating element similar to an electric hot-pot. I have to add a good deal of salt to the water to generate enough steam, but that's no big deal as table salt is cheap. I've placed it on the floor in my living room, and it disperses enough moisture to effectively humidify my 1,600 square foot house which is great since my forced-air furnace doesn't have a built-in humidifier. I monitor the humidity level with a basic $8 hygrometer on a shelf in the living room, and I have no problem maintaining 40-45% indoor humidity even during the driest, coldest winter months.
There are no filters that you have to replace every few months in this humidifier, like many others. Stay away from the "moisture-wick" type humidifiers -- they get you stuck buying $8-$10 replacement filters constantly that are nearly impossible to find in the stores.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 4 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Worth the $

02/25/2009
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I moved into an apartment last summer. When I started to use my heat, by furnace, I had really restless nights. I knew I needed a humidifier but I didn't want to pay $40+ for one. I found this and figured to give it a try. I love it! It was really cheap and works great. The light is kinda bright so I just taped part of a notecard over it. It is relatively quiet other than a soothing hum. At first it was annoying to have to clean it every day but I just rinse it out so it isn't really an inconvenience. I haven't been able to get it to last over 10 hours, maybe my water is just too hard. It has a cut off switch so you don't have to worry about it burning up if it does run out if water. It is a great buy and I strongly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Perfect!!

07/16/2008
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister and I both bought one of these when we were sick, and this product is amazing! Absolutely worth the money. Also, get the Vicks stuff that goes in the indent in front of the light (I don't remember the actual name, but it's usually stocked right next to this product at the stores). It's perfect for any room!
A must buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

An Awesome Little Product

12/31/2008
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this when our 6 month old had a cold. It is GREAT!
The warm vapors really opened up her stuffy head. We did not use the menthol packets as it was recommended by our Pediatrician not to.
This unit is very easy to clean and as a first time mom I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

DO NOT BUY IF U HAVE HARD WATER.

02/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WE HAVE HARD WATER. THE INLET GETS CLOGGED WITH THE DEPOSITS. LITTLE IF ANY, VAPOR COMES OUT.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 8 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

A Couple of Tips

02/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used these for years. At $13 they are great.
I have garnered these tips:
1) Use baking soda rather than salt if needed. No chlorine smell.
2) Some of expensive humidifiers use a silver element to cut down on bacteria. I use a silver coin (pre 1965) like a half dollar in the bottom to preclude bacteria.
Works for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

wouldn't buy another...

02/21/2009
By ,
Ogdensburg, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this while both of my kids were sick with a cold. It worked fine the first night. I got really annoyed with the idea that I had to refill it three or four times within a 12 hour period. It would work fine without alot of noise, but once it was half full it would make a loud noise and it wouldn't put as much steam into their room. The tag on it says the more salt added the more steam provided, which is great until it's spitting out water. I'm not a fan of water spitting out of it and ending up on the floor which could make things worse. SO needless to say I'm buying a new one and throwing this away. it's served it's main purpose for one round of sicknesses in my house.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Love this little Guy

01/04/2010
By ,
Morris County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a lazy humidifier owner and love this humidifier, it's like the old fashioned ones... where you take the top off, fill it with water and put the top back on. I just take a nice big pitcher of water over to it and fill 'er up.
The price is right, it works great for a single room. I have one of these in each bedroom and it makes a HUGE difference for my daughters asthma and allergies.
The only downside is that they only seem to last 2 years or so... but for the price, they are practically disposable.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

A great product

10/17/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this gift at my baby shower and it has been "THE BEST" gift so far. My daughter is now 14 months and since she was born, any time she showed signs of stuffiness and problems sleeping through the night unable to breahte, I would put the vaporizer in her room for a few nights and by the 3rd night it was amazing. I would go check on her and she was actually able to breathe without all that nasty stuff rattling in her head. I would suggest that every mom have one of these handy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

works great...until you have to clean it...

12/15/2008
By ,
columbia, mo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The short of it: Puts out plenty of steam, is quiet, and last for a long time. My son sleeps with it on a nightly basis. I just HATE cleaning it. Its ridiculous to have to clean it practically every time I use it. Also, if you can't sleep with a light on, don't get it because you can't turn the light off. And its a surprisingly bright light.
The long of it: So I really like this humidifier. I got it when I was pregnant, and it was quiet and kept my skin moist and helped me breathe without giving me something to complain about... And after a few weeks it almost completely stopped working. Turns out that regardless of what kind of water you have (soft or hard), you have to clean it with vinegar once a week (although it seems to need it more often, I found) and unless you have a toolbox with all kinds of weird screwdriver heads, you'll never really get it clean by following their directions. You have to soak it in vinegar forever and hope that you can get vinegar into all the little nooks and crannies. But vinegar wont get the oily kaz inhalent off.
I eventually found that I had the right screwdriver head (a 6 point star, not sure what its really called, but hex keys don't work) and opened it up to see that the elecrodes were covered in crusty gunk which I had to chip off with a knife. Works fine, but every 2 or 3 days I have to take it apart to clean it again.
Don't get me started on using the kaz inhalent... You'll never get it clean without taking it totally apart. Its oil-based, and try as I might, I can't keep oil from getting everywhere, even inside the water tank, when I use it. I'm not sure if its the Kaz that is the problem, or the humidifier itself, seems like there could have been a better place to put the tray.
I can't compare to other humdifiers because this is the first one I've ever owned and operated myself.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Great so far!

02/01/2010
By ,
Levittown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this after reading the reviews, so I can't say much about the quality and durability. I have an 18 month old who is down with a stuffy nose, cold n cough. For the last couple days he's been having such a hard time going to sleep, and i constantly hear him coughing in his sleep. I just put him down for his nap and turned on the vaporizer and put in some of the Vicks VapoSteam, and he's fast asleep, no coughing at all! So if this vaporizer helps get him up and running and clears up his nasal passages, i don't mind any extra cleaning or hassle i have to deal with to use this machine. and plus you can't ask for much with a machine that's less than $15. It's a lot cheaper than those humidifiers and so far its working a lot better too!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

useful product

12/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Though the vaporizer looks simple, it almost lacks any cons. very much solves the purpose. easy to use. efficient.please REMEMBER to add some salt to the water, as instructed, if your water is soft. otherwise, you are not going to get a good amount of vapor. thats the one which controls it. .. if you want to be economical but efficient, forget about the fancy humidifiers, which do the same job for additional prices and has troubles like cleaning, changing filters. this one pretty much does not need anything, other than simple cleaning and water replacements! add the kaz inhalent on top of the unit, then you feel like in herbs!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

DO NOT BUY THIS !

03/03/2010
By ,
s.c.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got very sick with a bad head cold so my husband bought this vaporizer at Wal Mart thinking it would help me. We followed the directions very carefully but the vaporizer never would put out enough vapor to help me. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From ManufacturerTechSupport11/15/2013
I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!HoneywellSupportTechnician
-1point
Review 16 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Most practical choice

02/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had one of these for almost 10 years and it worked great. It broke and I went looking around to see if there was a better one on the market. I bought another one that was cool mist which wasn't what I was looking for and found others that were so complicated...this is so easy to use and affordable and like others, I love that I can use the Vicks vapor with it since i use this for night time cold relief for my kids. I am purchasing this one again because I get way more for my money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 17 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

What I wanted

10/27/2010
By ,
Belfast, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My own mother used this same product when I was sick as a child, so I knew what to expect when I ordered it. It was just what I anticipated it would be. It's simple to use and works as expected. It doesn't produce a heavy enough steam to coat walls in moisture which is good, but if you desire more steam all you need to do is add a few pinches of salt to the water as it suggests and you can increase the output. I am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 18 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Great for the price!

10/25/2008
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I needed something for our bedroom because when our heat is on, the dry air makes my nasal passages uncomfortably dry. This product is just right- it is simple to use, adds warm moisture to the air without bacteria gathering, it is a great value for the money, and makes very little noise (the noise it does make is sort of like light wind). We are very happy we didn't get one of the pricier humidifiers.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Doesn't work

02/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one and it didn't work so returned it and got another one and STILL didn't blow out steam. The directions say add salt to the water to help it blow steam. That worked for maybe 3 minutes. For both of them I left it running all night hoping it would come on and the next morning it was still full of water. This is junk, don't waste your time on it or you will be returning it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 20 for Vicks Vaporizer with Night Light

Don't bother with it

10/19/2009
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe mine was a dud. Who knows. It just *might* work if you are in a small closet with the door closed, otherwise, the steam emitted amounts to zip. I'm returning mine for something that works. It's too bad, because this one is simple to clean & use, but it just doesn't work. Not even on a full tank.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
From ManufacturerTechSupport11/15/2013
I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!HoneywellSupportTechnician
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next