Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vicks Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Vicks Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

The Vicks Filter Free Humidifer has no expensive filters to replace. It provides cool, visible mist and moistens air for quick relief.
Average Customer Rating:
2.691 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
22
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation39%63 out of 162reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
18
3 stars
13
2 stars
22
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Best ever!

02/14/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the past couple of months I have gone through several humidifiers only to have to take them back. This one is here to stay. It does not leak. It doesn't get everything wet. It doesn't produce the algae and other nonsense people post about. If you have these problems, reread the instructions. I have now been using mine for over a month. Very little care and maintenance. I use distilled water in mine since I have problems with the tap water. I actually use mine on my 2 level wooden bookcase. I put a shamwow underneath it to make sure my bookcase is protected. Every couple of days I rinse it out and dry it with a shamwow and put it back together. Every other week I do the full weekly maintenance. It has a nice low white noise sound on the lowest setting, which I prefer since I cannot fall asleep in total silence. It has a nightlight but it is a very small full light. I'm actually planning to get another one cause I'm fixing to move my baby into his own room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Best ever

05/14/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 2 weeks ago and really am glad I did. My wife and I were both experiencing dry stale air. After buying this, I read the directions and also used distilled drinking water in the tank, it made a soothing sound and you could feel the coolness in the room. We turned off the air-conditioner and used the humidifier and ceiling fan to keep us cool and hydrated. We found that we do not snore with the humidifier - that was from day one. My wife experienced a very peaceful and uninterrupted sleep for the first time in weeks. We also do not wake up dehydrated in the middle of the night. I tested it by shooting a laser beam across it and found it was putting out a fine mist. I have not experienced any leaking, white powder or excessive noise. The only drawback I have is that it uses about a gallon of water a day, but there is no dampness in the room. The mist is so fine I have allowed myself to breath it directly and it is very soothing. It has helped me greatly since I had nasal surgery years ago. It's easy to use and I have yet to clean it. My wife and I sleep more soundly because of it. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Won't last a year

02/15/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like several others who wrote similar reviews, bought this one less than 1 year ago and used it constantly. Last night it just stopped. While we have hard water, it was properly maintained and I decided to take it apart (engineer in me). The problem is the humidity rotted the electrical connections inside the motor. Bad construction with inferior materials not designed to last. For just 1 extra dollar, they could have used a sealer for the electrical connections to stop the corrosion. Sadly, it is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

not worth it

04/13/2009
By ,
F-L-O-R-I-D-A
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hooked in by the "filter free" description, but if you have hard water skip this purchase. It's easy enough to clean, but mine gets a lot of build-up in places you can't reach to clean. When I see red algae and can't clean it off, it makes me wonder if what my family is breathing is safe.
I've rinsed this daily and cleaned weekly as per instructions. I've tried bottled water too. Product still leaves white dust on furniture. Will continue my search for the perfect humidifier...this one get a thumbs down.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Very Happy with this product!

09/07/2008
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried several others that were too loud or did not steam all the time. This product for the money is great! Has a low hum that I could live with(my hearing is so acute). The other two we had were so loud I could not stand it! We have had it for a couple weeks now and are very pleased with it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Filter Freedom

12/03/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this humidifier to replace a humidifier that used filters. It was getting expensive to constantly purchase filters when they were in stock so we bought this humidifier and haven't looked back.
This humidifier has a humidistat that turns the humidifier on and off at the desired humidity level which saves water and electricity.
We have used it for a few weeks and haven't had any problems. If we needed another humidifier I would buy another one of these.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Not Worth Your $$$$

11/30/2008
By ,
Salisbury, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this humidifier last year. I followed the care instructions, cleaning it weekly. I brought it out to use it this year and it will not work - it does not turn on at all.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Good for 1 year

11/11/2008
By ,
Central VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We loved this humidifier for our son's nursery last year. The Vicks pads really helped when he got his first severe cold! And, we were truly impressed! We did an end-of-the-year thorough cleaning last Spring and put it in storage until last weekend.
When we got it assembled and filled up, it took forever for it to start circulating. Then, once it started working, it just spewed mist out even on the lowest setting soaking the towel we had under the humidifier. I was really disappointed to find out that it didn't work as well as it did last year.
We followed the cleaning and (dis)assembly directions to a T to make sure we got an extra long life out of it, but it was pointless!
So, today, I am going to Walmart to buy a cheapy, easy to clean humidifier so it won't hurt (my wallet) as much next winter when it doesn't work!
I would definitely recommend this for short-term use but not anything long-term even with proper care!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

TERRIBLE!!!

02/22/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please do not waste your money on this product. I bought this because my son gets the "croup" alot, and I needed to get a humidifier in his room so that he could sleep through the night without making frequent trips into the bathroom to get steam from the shower.
This humidifier worked beautifully for a week or two. Now, every time it is turned on for the night, we wake up in the morning to a completely SOAKED dresser, and a SOAKED floor. It just empties out somehow, and just soaks everything. Also, in the short time that it actually did produce any mist... about a week or two... it caused black mold to grow in my sons bedroom window! Absolutly disgusting! Not to mention a big dissappointment and an even bigger waste a money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Perfect as long as used distilled water

12/04/2012
By ,
SoCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit was perfect as long as we used distilled water. The noise kept the "monsters" at bay for my little one and helped him sleep as did the high moisture output. I enjoyed not having to clean and soak filters. Everything changed when I switched to regular tap water. We ran out of distilled, so tried tap for 1 week. 1 week is all it took to get build up in places that are sealed. The result was a flood all over the floor because the unit was sputtering and "spitting" the water all over the floor. I attempted to take the unit apart to get to those sealed areas. I am pretty handy, but failed completely. I could not pry it apart without breaking the plastic casing or cutting the cord and then, because it was wiggled slightly, would not go back together properly.
We have gone through 5+ humidifiers in the past 3 years trying to find the PERFECT fit for us. This one was it until we used tap water.
We're going to buy this one again (we hope) and stick with the distilled water. Our little one has never slept as sound as he has since we got this unit. That is priceless!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Big & Loud

03/01/2010
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this humidifier 2 nights ago for a small bedroom. It has worked. It has helped our two sick kids who sleep in that room. BUT it takes up a lot of room on their chest of drawers, you cannot aim where the mist goes & it is quite loud. It seems to have gotten louder today. I have it on the lowest setting & in an hour it has used 1/2 of the water in the tank. I will be returning it tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Having it on is no different than having it off.

03/14/2009
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not impressed with this product at all. My previous humidifier worked fantastic however the filters for it are no longer manufactured. When I knew I'd be pregnant over the winter months I purchased this one and have been disappointed ever since. Neither my husband nor I can tell a different in our room air and both wake up with the same symptoms of sleeping in a room with electric baseboard heat drying out the air and our sinuses.
We also have had to purchase distilled water for use in the product - without it, we awoke to discover a thin white film covering everything in the room - another problem we had not experienced with previous humidifiers.
It's not easy to clean. The tank and base are fine, but the fan and vents are next to impossible to get to.
I've suffered long enough and have finally given up, going in search of another humidifier today and hoping for better results.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Waste of money!

12/16/2010
By ,
Pikeville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this humidifier because of the filter free option and the longer in between refill period. Well it has to be refilled EVERY day or it will run dry during the second night of use. You can see the mist but there really is no relief of the dryness from our electric furnace. It does however leave a fine white dust on my furniture every morning. I use filtered water in it and still there is this dust. The manual recommends using distilled watered. At 88 cents a gallon that would cost roughly $10 a week! The wick filters only cost about $5 a month and they filter out the minerals. Also this humidifier is very loud. Every time I clean it, it gets louder. I think I'm going to donate the two I bought to church or the YMCA and buy a couple of the relion humidifiers for $20. I'll change the filter every month rather than use this humidifier. It is not a very good product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Life Saver!

03/30/2009
By ,
Yuma, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great humidifier. Whenever my son, husband or I get sick, this humidifier gets plugged in. The Vick's strips that go in this unit work so well. No matter how stuffed up you are, if you have this running with the door closed, you will sleep well and breathe easy. It's been such a life saver. Since we live in Yuma, Arizona, it is so dry here. I actually kept running it every night without the Vick's strips, just to help with how dry our noses and skin get. It makes a huge difference. If you put it right next to your head and crank it up to it's max setting it also helps to drown out your husband's snoring!!! The humming also helps kids sleep. If you look online for this machine or in other stores, you will find that this is by far the best deal. At CVS Pharmacy, they want $72.99 for this machine. It lasted over a year and a half for me, using pretty much every night. It would have lasted longer except I didn't use distilled water, and our water down here has so many minerals in it.
The thing just didn't stand a chance. I'm buying another one now because there is nothing better for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

White Dustifier! Worst product ever

07/09/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just like everyone else on this review, we were attracted to the humidifier for the "filter free" feature. After the first few nights we noticed it uses almost a whole tank of water in a single night. It also leaves behind a nasty white dust that will cover the entire room, not just a little dust a ton of DUST! Leave it on for a night come back in the room and it looks like someone spread baby powder all over the room. Don't waste your time and money with this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Use Distilled Water
Posted 11/14/2012
Your white dust issue is stated in the manual and it seems like you live in an area where there is what is called hard water so on the manual it says if you notice white dust forming on furniture then you have hard water and should use distilled water instead as hard water contains higher than normal concentration of various minerals that can be emitted into the air possibly causing adverse reactions in people with breathing difficulties.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Covers Room with White Chalky Film

02/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The number one reason I purchased this model was because it is filterless. Now I know why most humidifiers have filters. This model spreads a chalky white film on all surfaces in the room. It comes off with a dust rag, but it has covered my children's books, toys, shelves, blankets, ceiling fan, and every side and top of their furniture. The chalky film can be seen and/or felt on panel doors, window blinds, light switches, etc. The owner's manual recommends people with hard water use distilled water to prevent this film. I do not consider my water to be extremely hard. Why should I spend a dollar or more a day on water when the only reason I purchased this model was its marketing promise was that I could save many dollars a year because I would never have to purchase a filter?
It is also loud and difficult to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier
11/12/2008
By ,
Croghan, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I really like this humidifier. I haven't had to clean it yet, so I can't comment on the ease of cleaning. I have had many humidifiers over the years and this is lightweight and easy to fill. It sits nicely on anything. I love the Vicks pads, however, they only last a few hours so I can see where that component will be costly. So far so good.....yeah Vicks!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Noisy

08/20/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought two, one for our office and the other home. One of the units is very noisy. Difficult to set the water container correctly and water will not flow into the unit. Previously had a Hunter Douglas Humidifier and it was much better. Bought the Vicks because WalMart did not have Hunter Douglas in stock. I should have waited.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

What a racket!

11/30/2012
By ,
Coastal Rhode Island
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY disappointed. Whether on high or low speed, the machine sounds like a car rough-idling in the room. NOTHING we've tried will quiet it down -- back it goes.
As far as the cool mist -- well it does that -- if you can stand the noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vicks V4500 Filter Free Humidifier

Vicks Filter Free Humidifier

06/11/2008
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this product compared to the other humidifier I had. This one cool the room nicely and I sleep very well no more stuff nose. Cleaning the unit is very easy and simple.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next