Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

The Sabrent SBT-UFDB Floppy Drive helps access important data stored in old floppy discs. Simply insert the old floppy into this portable floppy drive and copy the files. Then, plug this drive into your new computer using the USB port and transfer the copied files seamlessly. It is a plug and play system, and no drivers are needed. It allows you to connect and disconnect without restarting your PC or notebook. This 3.5 USB external floppy drive features a slim and lightweight design that makes it highly portable. It has a data capacity of 1.44 MB (formatted) and transfers data at the rate of 1 Mbps. This Sabrent SBT-UFDB Floppy Drive is compatible with Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7 and also MAC OS X. Get this portable floppy drive to transfer all the important information effortlessly from your old floppy to your new computer.
Average Customer Rating:
3.936 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(345 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
64
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation79%272 out of 344reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 263 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
64
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black
03/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

When I thought there was no hope for old pics...

01/15/2014
By ,
Senoia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good value and met expectations

12/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Exactly what I was looking for!

11/11/2008
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive.
I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one.
Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy.
WalMart wins again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Needed this floppy drive

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader.
Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch.
Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises.
Would gladly order from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

It did not work on my laptop or desktop.

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried on both laptop and desktop, but it didn't produce a copy of the old floppies.
I will return to the Walmart in Vernon,Texas
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Defective - I returned it to Walmart today.

04/09/2014
By ,
Central New York State
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not access the data on the floppy disk. Light would come on it and sounded like it was spinning, for about one second and then would stop dead for about 20 seconds, then spin for 1 second. I tried it on two different laptops with the same result.
If it worked, it would probably have been worth what I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Worked first try right out of the box

08/14/2011
By ,
Lima, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC).
Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

It did not work we had to return it

04/09/2014
By ,
franklin, La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work I had to return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good for Retrieval

04/06/2014
By ,
Ashville, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is great for reading the "old" floppy disks and transfer to PC or other external device. Highly recommend - especially the price. Only wish it would read the CD's created by older operating systems.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Works great....just plug and play.

11/13/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Would not work on vista

04/01/2014
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get it too work and I am returning it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

I was not able to use it on the library computers,

04/01/2014
By ,
Bexley Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so for me it was a waste of money. Alas.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

A VERY HELPFUL PRODUCT

03/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to pull some information from 3.5" floppy disks. It was difficult to find a drive that could accommodate this "relic." I was thrilled to be able to transfer the data! Great value, great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

A life saver

10/13/2010
By ,
Ranburne, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Vital older technology

03/23/2014
By ,
Annapolis, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you need an external floppy drive, this inexpensive Sabrent amply fulfills your requirements.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

very helpful

11/12/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LHC, AZ
USB Floppy Disk Drive
Posted 10/03/2012
I ordered the unit on line--it got here today. I tried it on my PC. It does not work. I plugged it into my wife's PC. It does not work. We both have DELL's and 64
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Great product!

03/21/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product saved me HOURS of converting documents. LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Great floppy drive for anyone

03/20/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I plugged it in, the computer recognized it and it worked right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Returned item

03/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had about 30 3 1/2" floppies that I know I had pictures on...
This product found nine of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 275 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next