Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

The Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive enables you to access important data that has been stored on old floppy discs. Simply insert the floppy into this portable floppy drive to copy the files. Then all you need to do is plug this drive into your computer via the USB port and transfer the copied files seamlessly. No drivers are needed with this plug and play system nor is a separate power source required. Power to the disk drive is supplied through the USB port. You can connect, transfer data and disconnect without the necessity of restarting your PC or notebook. This 3.5 USB external floppy drive features a slim, lightweight and highly portable design. It has a data capacity of 1.44 MB (formatted) and transfers data at a rate of 1 Mbps. This black Sabrent USB floppy disk drive is compatible with Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7 and MAC OS X.
Average Customer Rating:
3.701 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(434 Reviews) 363
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
229
4 stars
71
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
108
Customer Recommendation73%318 out of 433reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 275 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
229
4 stars
71
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
108
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black
03/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Worked first try right out of the box

08/14/2011
By ,
Lima, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC).
Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

When I thought there was no hope for old pics...

01/15/2014
By ,
Senoia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

did not work

01/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tried this on five different computers, all of which run the windows versions advertised on the box. Went to the website and followed the instructions to a t. The drive installs but failed to read any of my floppy disks. I'm taking it back today.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

fit the bill

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drive worked perfectly. I was a little worried, considering it was going to be hooked to a W98 computer, but it works fine. Yes, I'd recommend it, and Walmart for the product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Needed this floppy drive

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader.
Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch.
Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises.
Would gladly order from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Exactly what I was looking for!

11/11/2008
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive.
I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one.
Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy.
WalMart wins again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Very poor quality

01/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1st one I bought did not work so exchanged it and the 2nd one did not work either.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

More than expected!

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have done Family Trees and stored them on disc since the 80's. So I was really upset when I discovered a pile of Floppy Discs. I ordered the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive and was worried how it would work with Windows 7 & 8.1. It works awesome and it is portable so I can use it on more than one device! I was able to save years of research and photos! I would highly recommend the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good value and met expectations

12/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

DON'T WORK

01/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CAN'T GET IT TO WORK ON WINDOW'S 7 AND NOT MADE FOR WINDOW 8 WHICH THEY DIDN'T TELL ME ONLINE.
I'M GOING TO SEE ABOUT TAKING THEN BACK TO WAL-MART!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good product

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works as it is supposed to. The price came out higher but this was due to Walmart I think. Same product on Amazon.com is $4 cheaper.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Old tech for newer computers

01/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It works GREAT. I had some old floppy's I wasn't sure of what was on them.
Bought this item for my CPU's don't HAVE a 2.4 any longer.
The unit worked GREAT.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Does NOT work

12/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have several disks. I tried all of them. Most got stuck in the drive. None loaded. Would not recommend to anyone. If you purchase this item try it right away, keep box and receipt for you can return it within the two weeks allowed. I took my disks to a local developer, and yes they all had pictures on them.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

works good

01/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this just before Christmas and I have been using it so far so good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

A life saver

10/13/2010
By ,
Ranburne, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Not good

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is NOT compatible with Windows 8 which did not help us at all. I wish the description had been more specific.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Easy External 3.5 for all computers

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A easy add on external 3.5 (1.44 floppy) for all computers. Extremely economical add on drive that works very well and is extremely easy to add on to any computer via means of a usb port. Nothing else is needed. Works simple and great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Save old pictures you may have forgotten about

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Sony Mavica digital camera that saved it's images to 3.5" floppy disks. We'd pretty much forgotten about those hundreds of images we stashed away as our newer computers came and went. Floppy drives became obsolete and have been omitted from virtually all computers for some time now. This device allowed us to rescue 15+ year old pictures that otherwise would have been lost to obsolescence. This worked great right out of the box. No drivers needed - just plug into an open USB port and find it on your directory. A few of our disks had developed bad sectors. I managed to "save" a few but I don't think this old magnetic media is suited to long term storage. Don't put this off!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk

12/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works like it is suppose to
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 361 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next