Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

The Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive enables you to access important data that has been stored on old floppy discs. Simply insert the floppy into this portable floppy drive to copy the files. Then all you need to do is plug this drive into your computer via the USB port and transfer the copied files seamlessly. No drivers are needed with this plug and play system nor is a separate power source required. Power to the disk drive is supplied through the USB port. You can connect, transfer data and disconnect without the necessity of restarting your PC or notebook. This 3.5 USB external floppy drive features a slim, lightweight and highly portable design. It has a data capacity of 1.44 MB (formatted) and transfers data at a rate of 1 Mbps. This black Sabrent USB floppy disk drive is compatible with Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7 and MAC OS X.
Average Customer Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(422 Reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
227
4 stars
68
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation74%311 out of 421reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 275 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
227
4 stars
68
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black
03/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

When I thought there was no hope for old pics...

01/15/2014
By ,
Senoia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Worked first try right out of the box

08/14/2011
By ,
Lima, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC).
Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

More than expected!

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have done Family Trees and stored them on disc since the 80's. So I was really upset when I discovered a pile of Floppy Discs. I ordered the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive and was worried how it would work with Windows 7 & 8.1. It works awesome and it is portable so I can use it on more than one device! I was able to save years of research and photos! I would highly recommend the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Save old pictures you may have forgotten about

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a Sony Mavica digital camera that saved it's images to 3.5" floppy disks. We'd pretty much forgotten about those hundreds of images we stashed away as our newer computers came and went. Floppy drives became obsolete and have been omitted from virtually all computers for some time now. This device allowed us to rescue 15+ year old pictures that otherwise would have been lost to obsolescence. This worked great right out of the box. No drivers needed - just plug into an open USB port and find it on your directory. A few of our disks had developed bad sectors. I managed to "save" a few but I don't think this old magnetic media is suited to long term storage. Don't put this off!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Exactly what I was looking for!

11/11/2008
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive.
I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one.
Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy.
WalMart wins again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Perfect for my needs

12/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been trying for awhile to figure out how to read and copy some old floppy disks I had and I ran across this item while browsing clearance items. For the low cost I decided to give it a try. It was easy to use and worked perfectly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Needed this floppy drive

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader.
Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch.
Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises.
Would gladly order from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

no good

12/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit did not work. The plug and play worked since my computer knew a floppy drive was attached. When I inserted a floppy (I tried several) the system knew a floppy was installed and tried to access it. However, none of the floppy disks were read. I gave the unit to a computer expert and he had the same results.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Terrible Product

12/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this in hopes that I could convert some important documents over to my thumb drive. I tried on two different computers and both times it was the same thing. I would not even open the disk. It kept telling me to insert disk, each time I did and each time it did not work. Instead of sending it back and wasting time, I just though it away. Worst thing I have ever bought in my life.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Killed floppies, deleted files

12/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We plugged in the drive, put a full (and known good) floppy into it, only to discover that it was going through and slowly deleting the files one by one without being told to do anything other than *view* them. Another known good floppy suddenly pulled up a "must format disk" error, then wouldn't open in our other good floppy drive. This thing is a DISASTER! We've now lost so many files, either outright deleted by it or because we had no choice but to do a deep format on the disks it killed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good value and met expectations

12/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy!!! This device doesn't work. It was difficult for the driver software to install but once it did, my computer kept locking up each time a disk was inserted. The floppy disks would not load. Once or twice when it seemed about to load there was an error message. I'm very disappointed since I have lots of old disks with family pictures. I hoped this would be a solution to getting some of them transferred to current media forms. I purchased the device because of all the positive feedback that was on Amazon. I do not recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Don't listen to any 5 stars

11/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This big floppy donkey drive is a piece of garbage. Look on newegg's websites reviews for this and you will not want it. The one I purchases I've tried on three computers. I've contacted Sabrent and I'm waiting a response. If I don't get one in a few days it's going back to walmart. The only pro is that my computer didn't blow up when I plugged it in.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Doesn't work on Windows 7

11/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a brand new Windows 7 and a Sony Mavica camera. I tried everything to get it to work. This is the second one I've gotten (after returning the 1st one). Going to return the 2nd one for refund. Maybe will try another Brand.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Could not get it to work

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried every trick in the book. it would attempt to open the file and then would stop. I never did get my files open. I even tried a couple of tricks listed on the web page. nothing helped. I was using windows 7 and the box said it was compatible with this system. I should mention too that there were no instruction in the box. I returned mine.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Very happy

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product does exactly what it's made to do. I had no issues with it, just plug and play.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Doesn't work?

11/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Drivers loaded fine, but couldn't read any floppies
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Staying in touch with the past

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I can easily transfer saved documents and pictures from all of the floppy disks that have been stored for years. Easily attaches via USB and needs no additional power source. Great buy and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

very helpful

11/12/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LHC, AZ
USB Floppy Disk Drive
Posted 10/03/2012
I ordered the unit on line--it got here today. I tried it on my PC. It does not work. I plugged it into my wife's PC. It does not work. We both have DELL's and 64
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 349 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next