Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

The Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive enables you to access important data that has been stored on old floppy discs. Simply insert the floppy into this portable floppy drive to copy the files. Then all you need to do is plug this drive into your computer via the USB port and transfer the copied files seamlessly. No drivers are needed with this plug and play system nor is a separate power source required. Power to the disk drive is supplied through the USB port. You can connect, transfer data and disconnect without the necessity of restarting your PC or notebook. This 3.5 USB external floppy drive features a slim, lightweight and highly portable design. It has a data capacity of 1.44 MB (formatted) and transfers data at a rate of 1 Mbps. This black Sabrent USB floppy disk drive is compatible with Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7 and MAC OS X.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(400 Reviews) 329
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
67
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
88
Customer Recommendation76%302 out of 399reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 272 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
219
4 stars
67
3 stars
17
2 stars
9
1 star
88
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black
03/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

More than expected!

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have done Family Trees and stored them on disc since the 80's. So I was really upset when I discovered a pile of Floppy Discs. I ordered the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive and was worried how it would work with Windows 7 & 8.1. It works awesome and it is portable so I can use it on more than one device! I was able to save years of research and photos! I would highly recommend the Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

When I thought there was no hope for old pics...

01/15/2014
By ,
Senoia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Worked first try right out of the box

08/14/2011
By ,
Lima, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC).
Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Needed this floppy drive

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader.
Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch.
Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises.
Would gladly order from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Exactly what I was looking for!

11/11/2008
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive.
I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one.
Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy.
WalMart wins again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good value and met expectations

12/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

IS NOT Windows 7 supported

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Claims to be windows 7 supported but does not work with any computer that doesnt have XP
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Excellent product

10/11/2014
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plug and play. Auto software installation in my HP i3 laptop. I was able to open all the files on a box of old 3.5 FDD. that I had. Worked very well, the sound of drive searching and opening files brought back memories, as not used a FDD since 2001.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Replaces old floppy disc drives

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need to use floppy discs for my embroidery machine. And since they don't sell them anymore, and all the new computers don't have a drive for them, this item is perfect for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

A life saver

10/13/2010
By ,
Ranburne, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Easy to use.

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had some old pictures and I wanted to be able to get them off the disks to put on my laptop. It was one of the cheapest I found, but it works really well and it was very easy to use. I wouldn't recommend buying an expensive one when this one will do the same thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

DOES NOT WORK WITH ALL COMPUTERS

09/30/2014
By ,
CORONA, CA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
COULD NOT OPEN FLOPPY DISCS WITH WINDOWS 7. CONTINUED TO SAY, DISCS TO BE FORMATTED AND DOES NOT RECOGNIZE.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

very helpful

11/12/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LHC, AZ
USB Floppy Disk Drive
Posted 10/03/2012
I ordered the unit on line--it got here today. I tried it on my PC. It does not work. I plugged it into my wife's PC. It does not work. We both have DELL's and 64
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

It does what they say! Easy to install and use.

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The features listed are true and the purchase process thru Walmart.com was simple, fast and free shipping with store pick-up. Now all that remains is to see how long it will provide access to all my old floppy disks - hopefully, many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

USB External 3.5" Floppy Disk Drive great drive.

09/22/2014
By ,
Blue Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this not expecting much. I was amazed at how well it performed right out of the box. My computer picked it up with no problems. I would recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

It does not work for me.

09/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It shows that it was recognized by my computer but would not open the floppy disc or even recognize that I had a disc in it. Kept showing the balloon to insert disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Great product but not for IMac

08/10/2014
By ,
Newburgh, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This item is a great product for those computers that easily read the floppy disks. Unfortunately, my IMac doesn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Can't wait to return

09/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this today, Plug and play does not work for me. Im Window7 Professional and this reader is not plug and play friendly i will be returning it tomorrow and going to Best Buy for help.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Doesn't support 720K disks

12/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a floppy drive so I could install some of my older games that were on diskettes.
When I tried to install one of those games, it said the diskette was not formatted.
Upon further research from the company's site, I found that this drive does not support single density diskettes (720K). Half of my games' install diskettes came on these 720K disks. So, I returned this drive and found one that does support the 720K disks.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 327 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next