Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

MicroPac Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

The Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive enables you to access important data that has been stored on old floppy discs. Simply insert the floppy into this portable floppy drive to copy the files. Then all you need to do is plug this drive into your computer via the USB port and transfer the copied files seamlessly. No drivers are needed with this plug and play system nor is a separate power source required. Power to the disk drive is supplied through the USB port. You can connect, transfer data and disconnect without the necessity of restarting your PC or notebook. This 3.5 USB external floppy drive features a slim, lightweight and highly portable design. It has a data capacity of 1.44 MB (formatted) and transfers data at a rate of 1 Mbps. This black Sabrent USB floppy disk drive is compatible with Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7 and MAC OS X.
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(372 Reviews) 301
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
207
4 stars
65
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
77
Customer Recommendation77%285 out of 371reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 269 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
207
4 stars
65
3 stars
15
2 stars
8
1 star
77
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black
03/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent, cheap and did exactly what I needed it to do. Recover pictures from a bunch of floppys. I might never need it again, but you never know...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

When I thought there was no hope for old pics...

01/15/2014
By ,
Senoia, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... along came this external USB Floppy reader. Thank GOD for this, "easy to install" device. I just plugged it in and my computer did the rest (with installing drivers & compatibility info). I inserted my floppys and away I went. Mind you, you have to know a "little" about copying files off of it because your computer has changed drastically since those were used and you have to be able to help it read the program you used, originally. But other than that. It was a plug-n-play product. I was able to upload all my pics of my kids from when they were babies. Back to 1999, so far, and still working on it. AND, with the price, you can't beat it. Better than paying some computer company a ton of money for them to do it, and put it on CD or ? Now you can do it AND edit, manipulate or save as is, all by yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Exactly what I was looking for!

11/11/2008
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted to transfer some files from our old PC onto our new PC. The old PC is in another town and it can't burn CD's. The new PC doesn't have a 3.5' floppy drive.
I searched WalMart's website and found a very reasonably priced external floppy disc drive, burned her files to floppies, took the floppies home, hooked the external drive up to the new PC and the transfer worked seamlessly. Now we can back up files from our old PC onto the new one.
Since this item wasn't carried at our local WalMart I ordered it through the web based Site to Store option. It arrived at the store quickly and pick-up was easy.
WalMart wins again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Needed this floppy drive

03/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Old camera (Sony) new computer with NO 3 1/2" floppy drive (stone age, I know) thousands of pictures already on floppies. Needed a reader.
Ordering online was easy. Selected the site to store option (free) since I would be at the store anyway. They let me know (via email) that it was on the way, and when it had arrived in store. The whole transaction went off without a hitch.
Plugged it in, thought it would show up as an "F" drive, but it showed up as an "A" drive unit. Worked with Windows 7, just like it advertises.
Would gladly order from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Good value and met expectations

12/25/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While not the cheapest external floppy drive that you can buy on the web, free shipping to a near by Wal-Mart and the fact that you can check the product for damage before leaving the store, in my mind, offsets any risk you might take in buying the drive blind on the web. The unit worked Plug-n-Play out of the box and set itself up on my Windows 7 machine. Oddly enough, the unit exhibits many of the old "bugs" that floppy drives had when used on windows 3.1, 95 and 98 machines in that occasionally it won't recognize a floppy disk or won't change root directories when a new disk is inserted. When this happens I have to unattached the USB drive and reattach it again to make the drive function correctly. Overall a good value for getting several dozen floppies converted over to newer operating systems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Returned. Did not work

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product returned. Would not read files.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Worked first try right out of the box

08/14/2011
By ,
Lima, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need a floppy drive in order to use my "dinosaur" Sony Mavica camera (that I am not ready to part with -- yet). After researching online for one, I opted to order from Walmart - knowing that I could easily return it to the local store if it didn't work properly. Reviews on a popular mail order site scared me from buying a product listed there. This Sabrent is indeed a nice NEW product - nicely packaged and properly labeled (professional labels - rather than hand written as some cheaper models). It was well worth paying a couple dollars more for a product I feel will work much longer (and doesn't appear to made from discarded computer parts as reviews for other products stated on the mail order site). My computer recognized it right away and installed the drivers. I run Windows Vista (PC).
Hopefully, this Sabrent drive will hold up until I am ready to give the camera away (my nearly $1000.00 Sony Mavica camera is now worth about $45.00 re-sale on the marketplace last I checked). This drive will only be used occasionally - at most once per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Undependable and too slow

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has not lived up to my expectations. It does not work on two out of three of the PC's that I have tried. On the PC that I have been successful, it is slow and it works for about five disks then stops to function. I am still trying to work with this, but it is frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

No software needed, plug and go!

07/18/2014
By ,
Fort Wayne, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No software needed, plug and go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Doesn't work with Windows 7

07/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it stated it was compatible with Windows 7.
I tried numerous floppy discs thinking some might be corrupt, and the unit would not open or transfer the data with any of them. It just would cycle off and on with the light blinking on and off.
Do not buy this if you have Windows 7. Also, there were no instructions at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

This item did not work at all.

07/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received the item but it would not read or write. It was triple checked on multiple machines. I had to return it for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Easy to plug in and use

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The external Floppy drive works just fine and very happy to continue viewing my
floppy disk pictujres.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Easy order process, part was non functional

07/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Order process was very easy. Site to store delivery worked great and was on time. Unfortunately the product was defective. The return process was easy so I will reorder and give it one more try.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

worked perfectly

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Just know you have to RIGHT click on the icon in your devices settings. All is smooth sailing from there.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

A life saver

10/13/2010
By ,
Ranburne, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product meant the difference in not having to find another way of saving files that I had previously saved on floppy disks and now since I am using a newer computer that does not have a floppy disk drive. I tried to save these particular files on a cd but when I went to open them could not get them to work like they should. With this product I can continue to use the program I was using and save my files to floppy disks as always and when I get ready to open them again, they open with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

very helpful

11/12/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets my expectations. Works well with Windows 7. Many documents and photos on floppies. Still can use my old Mavica which requires floppy. The MicroPac USB External is considerly cheaper than buying a memory stick floppy for the Mavica. 5 stars all around
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LHC, AZ
USB Floppy Disk Drive
Posted 10/03/2012
I ordered the unit on line--it got here today. I tried it on my PC. It does not work. I plugged it into my wife's PC. It does not work. We both have DELL's and 64
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

cannot believe they make them great find

06/18/2014
By ,
battle creek, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item when plugged into my mac running 10.9 works wonderful ,could not believe how well it was to use and ease of use to put pictures in my i photo album i did find out that u cannot use this item running through a usb hub though it as some reviews said before i purchased it clattered this was resolved by not using the hub but the hub i found was also bad and i took it back so all in all works excellent in my opinion
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Does the job!!!

06/23/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied --- works excellently. No complaints at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Absolute garbage.

06/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This floppy disc reader is junk. Works as a paper weight, nothing more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sabrent USB External 3.5" 1.44MB Floppy Disk Drive, Black

Works great....just plug and play.

11/13/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next