Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Coleman Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

A must-have accessory for active families and frequent campers, the Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern can light up your campsite. Rated for use for up to 14 hours, this item allows you to play cards or do other activities when the sun sets. It offers an adjustable brightness and provides you with the ease of using different fuels in one lamp. You can use Coleman fuel or unleaded gas to light the lamp. The Coleman gas lantern provides two different illumination levels that you can set on high or on low to meet specific needs. When used on high, it has up to seven hours of burn time. The two-mantle design of the camping lantern ensures better illumination. The ventilators used in the 2-mantle lantern are rust-free, so you can keep it out even when the dew comes in the morning. This feature allows the lamp to have a longer life compared to other camping models. It comes with a filter funnel, and it is easy to light using matches.
Average Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%35 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

very nice lantern

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting one of these since I first seen them. I have lanterns that are 30-40 years old and this one follows this tradition.
My only complaint, was when I lit the mantels before firing up the lantern for the first time. Once they burned out, and I lit the lantern, one of the mantels disintegrated. Lucky I had a spare. Other than that, I love this thing!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

open it and check it first

05/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What I liked:
Walmart stands by their sales.
What I don't like:
Had way to many coleman products that I paid top dollar for fail at this point. my brand loyalty with coleman is through.
In this case: My first glance at the lantern appeared great. While assembling the lantern and burning off the mantles as per the instructions I noticed the side of the lantern had a dent in it.
Frustrated with another colman fail. I took it back. Got home with the new one only to find it had a bent handle and chipped enamel on the top. And the bag with the two mantles only had one mantle in it.
Not worth driving all the way back to return it again. I will eat the cost of another poor product. And never buy Coleman again.
Thank you walmart for helping with the first one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Old Reliable

03/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used these for over 30 years. Great for camping, patio lighting (I have 3 hung around the deck) and power outages.
Pros:Brightest light available without a 110v outlet, and economical - 1 gallon of fuel will last a whole summer. Weatherproof (more or less). They don't wear out, although some parts occasionally need replacing (my oldest one is 40 years old).
Cons: Not silent - they hiss (although I think of that as the normal camping ambience - YMMV). They get almighty hot - do not put in reach of small children and wait for them to cool down before storing in an enclosed space. They're breakable - plan on replacing the pyrex globe at least once during the life of the lantern, and the silk mantles can't take a lot of jostling. Have extra mantles around because you'll be replacing them occasionally.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Great for emergencies and Camping

01/13/2010
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use regular unleaded. Works as advertised. Fuel is easy to find. Great primary light source for campsite.
Will last all night on low setting. Gives off enough light so the lantern could stay outside and not pose a fire or carbon monoxide hazard to the tent. Can be hung by handle to reduce the chance of knocking over and damaging.
Before you check out in the store, open package and carefully look for the nut that holds the top metal cap and glass globe together. My box had been opened and the ball nut was missing. A standard one quarter inch course thread nut worked fine.
Overall rating and expectation took a hit because of the difficulty of transport. A hardshell case is need to protect the glass globe and keep upright to eliminate the risk of damage while traveling or storage. Hard-shell case not available at the time of this review at this retailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Very Pleased with the dual fuel lantern

02/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shipment arrived on time and complete. I bought this lantern as a backup to the propane latern that I use for camping. These lanterns also form part of my emergency prep supplies in case of a prolonged power outage. I bought the lantern bundled with the dual fuel stove. I don't plan to ever run regular gasoline in it but who knows what kind of pinch I might be in if there is a prolonged power outage so its nice to have the option. I fired up the lantern just to make sure everything works ok. It worked great and produces nearly as much light as my propane lantern. Now its back on the shelf with my other emergency supplies. I'm still debating whether I will start using the dual fuel stove and lantern for camping instead of my propane versions. It would have some advantages. I would save money on fuel, would not be tossing those empty propane bottles into the garbage which seems like a pretty environmentally bad thing and the white gas stove will definitely run a lot better in cold weather than my propane version which barely runs two burners when cold because the canister freezes. I'm very happy with the products.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

The best all around

04/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For camping, this is the benchmark to compare the others with. And it wins. Propane is expensive in those stupid little cans. Batteries are a joke. Aladdin lamps are pretty good for home use, but obviously not for camping. Also they are finicky, and smelly if you aren't careful about the kerosene. (Hint: go to your local airport with some five-gallon gas cans and buy their "jet fuel". It is a better grade of kerosene. Just don't waste their time with only a gallon or two.)
The classic Coleman lantern burned naphtha ("white gas") and this model will take ordinary unleaded gasoline too. I can say it works wonderfully on unleaded gasoline.
Be sure to buy a few spare mantles, as they will break now and then. If you are paranoid, you might spray them with hair spray before going on a trip. I have used this tip successfully with the more expensive Aladdin mantles. The coating protects the mantle in transit and burns off quickly when the lantern is used.
The Coleman lantern does make noise while in use and it needs some pumping from time to time. I think this is a trivial issue, and not enough to reduce its rating below five stars. Also, it really does need a match to light. I tried using a sparker device, but it just wouldn't work. Buy a box of real wooden matches and don't worry about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

happy camper

04/30/2012
By ,
woodburn, oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was excited to see this on walmarts website because i thought that coleman discontinued making these lanterns. i do a lot of camping and hunting and the 2 i have are on there last legs although they still do work but there the old style lantern with the lever to clear the carbon out of the needle valve. on these new versions the removed that feature which makes it a whole lot easier to operate the lantern. another new thing i like about the new version is that it uses unleaded gas or coleman fuel but with gas prices on the rise i just might have to change back to coleman fuel but that is also on the price rise. all in all im super happy that i was able to buy this new lantern with the dual mantles. my brother has a single one and the light isnt quite as brite as the dual mantle one.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Great Lantern.

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first fuel lantern and after figuring out how to operate it I am very happy with it. Part of a combo package with the 14000 btu stove and what a value. Nice to have two appliances that run on the same fuel. Typical Coleman product- excellent.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Great lantern

08/19/2009
By ,
Gray, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very bright and efficient. I've only used it with unleaded gasoline so far, but it works as well as the one I remember my dad owning 30 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Best lantern I have used

09/06/2009
By ,
Michie, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This lantern is great. It is very bright and uses little fuel. A gallon of coleman fuel would last several weeks if using this lantern nightly. The only thing negative I cn say about it is that it gets pretty hot and is a little tricky to light. However for light output and fuel economy it blows the other lanterns away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern
08/10/2011
By ,
Hampton Roads, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never owned a Coleman lantern before but have camped with others who have owned them. I had a little difficulty figuring out how the pump worked but once I did it worked like a champ. I would recommend that you buy several packs of mantles though if you plan on camping for several days. The same lantern sells for quite a bit more from Amazon, so Walmart's online price rocked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern
07/13/2012
By ,
Pasadena TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Coleman lantern is better than I expected purchased it for night fishing and it works great. Brighter than my Coleman butane lantern and cheaper to run. Just wish Wal-Mart would carry the lantern case for it I had to get it from another store but it's well worth the money and in time I will buy another one just like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

WorthEveryPenny

10/31/2011
By ,
Edina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first Coleman Lantern i bought. I did some research to make sure i would buy a practicel lantern for outdoor use such as doing some yardwork, lighting the way for building a fire, etc., Compared all prices for the same item:Walmart got the cheapest price (Free shipping included). Be sure to follow the instruction, since it was tricky to light in the first few attempts. After you got the idea, you'll be a happy camper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Site to Store

11/28/2012
By ,
Argyle, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item wasn't on the shelf, so I ordered it online from my cellphone site to store. It was there the next morning for pickup, having been shipped directly from the manufacturer, not a Walmart facility. The shipping was free and the item was in perfect condtion.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Just what we needed

11/20/2011
By ,
Babb MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase was made to complement our emergency preparedness plan. Great for use of camping fuel or unleaded gasoline.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern
10/24/2012
By ,
Sparks, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Check for missing items, if bought from web-site.

06/03/2013
By ,
Torrance, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the lantern over web-site, but when I received it. I was missing a gas cap. So I had to returned
back to store and had to go hunt one down and make sure everything was there. After I found the lantern I took it home I put some unleaded gas and tried it out and gave out a very bright light, I love it, works really well when I go camping and the fuel last a long time on one tank-full.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Coleman Lantern

04/04/2012
By ,
Franklin, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on impulse before a camping trip and glad I did. Very bright, burns long time about 7-9 hours, rugged design, seems well built. Looking to pick up another one to help light family camp. It also brought back memories from youth and boy scout camp, the familiar Coleman lantern hiss.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

coleman laterns are the best

10/04/2011
By ,
westbury ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes my fourth latern
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman 2-Mantle Dual Fuel Lantern

Colman dual-fuel lantern

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used these lanterns for years and they are great, plus made in the USA. They use multiple fuels and are a must-have tool for camp or power outages! WalMart had a great price in combination with a Coleman 2-burner stove. A better deal than you can even get in the store and WalMart paid the shipping.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next