Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Don't buy this

03/04/2009
By ,
South Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted this to record tv shows for my granddaughter. I should have read the reviews before I bought this. While the dvd player doesn't do it, but if you watch or record anything with the vcr, there is a continuous annoying hum. You can't watch one thing and record from another channel. I have had this less than a month, sorry to say I lost my receipt (my fault), kept my box, but I can't return for exchange for a better brand. I am stuck with this piece of junk. Yes the price was cheap, and you do get what you pay for. Don't buy this!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
05/03/2009
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is completely useless unless you have a cable box.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Very Bad Product

01/22/2010
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was upset that it could not be used with a standard coaxel cable. I called for technical advise only to be told I needed an RF Modulator. I had to spend more money for the RF Modulator. Tried to record using the VCR, the menu does not give you a channel option to record from. I called for technical advise again, the techs were very short and seem not to have time to help me. Finally, I ask the tech if they had time to help me. I found out that you have to leave your cable box on all day to record from a channel. This is disappointing because if I need to record from different channels at different times, I will need to come back home to change the channel on my cable box. I am very disappointed in the service and the design. I will never buy another product without looking at the instructions. This product is a big waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

tried and failed three times

06/27/2009
By ,
Topeka, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased three of this same model. The first one stopped playing discs and gave an error message after two months of light use. The second one - almost exactly the same issues - almost two months to the day of buying it it would not read discs.
We just brought the third one home today and guess what - out of the box, brand new, it won't read the discs and/or gives an error message. This is a complete piece of junk, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

do not buy this

06/04/2010
By ,
Bensalem, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this was for my daughters room. The dvd player doesn't work and gets stuck and i have scratched a couple of dvds trying to get them out.I bought the 2 year warranty and have only had the thing for 3 months and have returned it 4 times for a new one, it is not worth the money you will pay for it, pay the extra money and hopefully you won't get stuck with this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

HUNK O JUNK!

08/20/2009
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this set for christmas last year and two months later the DVD side quit working. Well, we had bought the replacement plan so I sent it back but I had to PAY the difference to replace what broke. So, finally, I got a new one and fresh out of the box, it didn't work. Took it back, got a third one, fresh out of the box, it didn't work. If you want to waste your time, money, and gas, then go ahead and buy the hunk of junk, otherwise, I wouldn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+78points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hunk of Junk

03/08/2010
By ,
Elizabeth, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst piece of junk I have ever had the displeasure of operating. Please Please Please do not waste your money on this, just pay the extra money for something better save yourself some heartache,
This company should be ashamed to have this junk in their inventory This product has never worked! I Really wanted to rate this product 0 stars, that would be a total of 0 but, I had to choose at least one star
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Keep Looking and Comparing

09/18/2008
By ,
Greenwood, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product about a week ago and so far it has eaten and digested 2 VHS tapes. The DVD player isn't too bad, but I can hear it spinning the disc if a CD is playing versus watching a DVD. I am now shopping for a better product and willing to pay just a little more than 70 bucks to buy a reliable product. Cheap is not always the best answer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Do not get

09/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this and would not buy it again. The DVD player on it stopped working and I have not even had it a month. I would never get it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A Piece Of Junk

11/16/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This junk doesn't deserve a star of any kind!
Mine lasted almost a month before both the vcr and dvd quit.
I wish I'd researched before I purchased.
To All - Don't waste your money.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

05/13/2009
By ,
San Antonio Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have tried 2 models of Memorex VCR/DVD combo units. They both are junk, will not track correctly, will not play without having to stop and restart.
Would not reccomend buying any memorex units at all.........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Unhappy

05/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this product. First, I didn’t really understand what is meant by not having a built-in tuner. This means that you can only record on the VCR if it is connected to a cable box. This really limits which T.V. I can use this machine on. Second, the recording quality on the VCR is poor. I can work with the first problem, but not the second. Both of these problems make this machine a "do not buy". I will be returning this machine tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Didn't work; returned

05/27/2011
By ,
Hartford, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just did not expect something brand new out of the box would not work, but this DVD player didn't. We got it all hooked up, tried 3 different DVDs in it, and they all just kept freezing up. Had to unhook everything, re-pack it , and return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

If it doesnt work its not a great value

05/18/2009
By ,
central ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have been through three ~! Yes, 3 of these same machines in just over a year. We had used 2 in sperate rooms and they worked fine for a few months then the vcr started eating tapes and spitting them out. It would also turn off. Within a month or two of the one breaking, the 2nd machine did the SAME thing. Pitched the both of them and got another 1 of the same. It's lasted about 4 or 5 months and again, just like the other two. It's started to eat VCR tapes, spits them out, powers off.
The only thing then to do is to pitch them as the DVD doesnt even work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Cheap-BOX IS MISLEADING

11/20/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never in my life have I ever seen a VCR like this & THIS IS NOT GOOD
I bought this directly in a local Wal-Mart store
IT DOES NOT SAY ON THE BOX, CLAIMS THIS MODEL IS VERY EASY TO HOOK UP TO YOUR CABLE BOX
Ha ha. Very funny.
You need SOME OTHER BOX TO HOOK THIS UP TO YOUR CABLE BOX & like me if you own a RCA TV you need another cable
What?
There is no clock display. NO CLOCK TO VIEW ON A VCR? That’s a first.
Very light, cheap plastic.
It works ok. Even at this cheap price, it is NOT WORTH THE MONEY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Poor Quality

12/29/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The vcr player broke the second time I used it. It is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Piece of junk

01/27/2009
By ,
Houston, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one and it has never worked right. Eats tapes. Hard to program it to record. Most of the time it does not record the program.
Ready for the junk heap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

If you want to play dvds, don't get this one...

09/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this for less than a week. It played a couple dvds successfully then started freezing and getting digital blocks as other reviewers have experienced. It is not the dvds as they play perfectly on the other two dvd players I have. Got this cheaper product because it's for my garage gym. Now this one is going back and I'll buy quality this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A very poor value at any price

01/27/2010
By ,
Marietta, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on this product. Although it is cheaply priced, it is a poor value for your money.
Won't play half of the DVD's we have tried and the noise level is so high you can't watch a VHS Tape.
I purchase two from WalMart several months ago. Started using one right away and left the other in the box unopened for a gift to a family member a couple of months in the future. When she started using it had been just past the 90 days, although she had only used for a few weeks, the warranty was expired.
That aside, if you purchase I am afraid you will be
sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

11/12/2011
By ,
Ironton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive been through 3 of these within 2 years. The dvd player has stopped working on all 3. These things are JUNK!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next