Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Cheap-BOX IS MISLEADING

11/20/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never in my life have I ever seen a VCR like this & THIS IS NOT GOOD
I bought this directly in a local Wal-Mart store
IT DOES NOT SAY ON THE BOX, CLAIMS THIS MODEL IS VERY EASY TO HOOK UP TO YOUR CABLE BOX
Ha ha. Very funny.
You need SOME OTHER BOX TO HOOK THIS UP TO YOUR CABLE BOX & like me if you own a RCA TV you need another cable
What?
There is no clock display. NO CLOCK TO VIEW ON A VCR? That’s a first.
Very light, cheap plastic.
It works ok. Even at this cheap price, it is NOT WORTH THE MONEY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hunk of Junk

03/08/2010
By ,
Elizabeth, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst piece of junk I have ever had the displeasure of operating. Please Please Please do not waste your money on this, just pay the extra money for something better save yourself some heartache,
This company should be ashamed to have this junk in their inventory This product has never worked! I Really wanted to rate this product 0 stars, that would be a total of 0 but, I had to choose at least one star
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

01/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is really a piece of junk. It was advertized as being able to record off the cable box. It does not. Apparently, in order to program this thing you need to buy an external tuner. The DVD player worked at first, but 2/3 of playing the first DVD, it stalled. I kept pushing the “Play” button and finally it started again. I returned this thing as fast as I could
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
10/07/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On the first day of my purchase the VCR ate up my tape. The dvd player picks and chooses what dvd it want to play. Bad chose!! Waste of money and time.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

limited usefulness

10/09/2008
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one day and returned it the next. Will not connect via coax to tv. Must have composite, component or s-video inputs on tv to connect.
Also, lack of a tuner means you need to have several extra pieces of equipment to use this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+133points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Frankfort, IN.
magnavox dv22omw9
Posted 12/27/2011
I thought I was getting a deal. I brought it home only to find out you needed x-tra piece to hook it up for a mear 20$ ex-tra. All my DVD's new or old skip, shut off, or just won't play. We are very disappointed in this machine. Is any one else having this problem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox DVD/VCR COMBO DV220MW9

10/01/2008
By ,
Riverdale, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product may be great for newer model TV's but does not work with an older TV even with correct connections or new Comcast Digital Cable Boxes.
Maganox's assistance with connection problems is useless and some Reps are downright rude. I returned the product for a refund.
Looking for a combo with a tuner for older TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A Year and that's it?!?

10/04/2008
By ,
Greenville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well I bought this vcr/dvd player about a year ago and the dvd player still works fine. But you can hear it spinning while it plays. And the VHS Side well I ussed it for a total of 3 movies and the third one it would play a sec that pop back out. And keeps on doing that.
So even though it's cheapier I still expect a product to work longer than a year at that price. At least two years and I would have felt better about it.
I would honestly spend a bit more money for a product that would actually work better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Poor Quality

12/29/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The vcr player broke the second time I used it. It is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
05/03/2009
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is completely useless unless you have a cable box.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

VERY DISAPPOINTED

06/26/2009
By ,
Kingsport. TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchasesd this product twice because of the vcr. Both times within two weeks the vcr quit working properly. I could hear the sound but it did not display a picture. The dvd player worked fine. I am frustrated because I expected more from a Magnavox product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

no cable hook up port

06/28/2008
By ,
VeroBeach,Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product could not be hooked up to standard cable with out buying an expensive bridge and did not have enough conection cables.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Don't buy this

03/04/2009
By ,
South Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted this to record tv shows for my granddaughter. I should have read the reviews before I bought this. While the dvd player doesn't do it, but if you watch or record anything with the vcr, there is a continuous annoying hum. You can't watch one thing and record from another channel. I have had this less than a month, sorry to say I lost my receipt (my fault), kept my box, but I can't return for exchange for a better brand. I am stuck with this piece of junk. Yes the price was cheap, and you do get what you pay for. Don't buy this!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
08/13/2008
By ,
New London, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
value was good, but product did not last. Died 1 week after warrenty was up
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

useless to me

08/17/2008
By ,
Perry, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't get the menu to come up. The manual says 'You CAN NOT record 1 channel while watching a different channel'. That's what I need a recorder for: 2 shows on at the same time - I watch 1 & record the other. If I'd known this machine wouldn't do that, I wouldn't have wasted my time & money ordering it. I had to take it to my local store for a refund minus freight the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hooks to box not TV

08/18/2008
By ,
Gulfport, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sure this is a good product---but I did not know what I was ordering. Tuner free meant it hooked to a box---not directly to the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

don't waste your money

10/18/2008
By ,
Charleston, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
within two weeks of purchase the
DVD player quit working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A very poor value at any price

01/27/2010
By ,
Marietta, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on this product. Although it is cheaply priced, it is a poor value for your money.
Won't play half of the DVD's we have tried and the noise level is so high you can't watch a VHS Tape.
I purchase two from WalMart several months ago. Started using one right away and left the other in the box unopened for a gift to a family member a couple of months in the future. When she started using it had been just past the 90 days, although she had only used for a few weeks, the warranty was expired.
That aside, if you purchase I am afraid you will be
sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox

08/20/2008
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work no matter what I tried to hook it up. The power would come on but nothing would play. I even bought a converter cable and that didn't do the trick either. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This Player Does Not Work

01/01/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unfortunate purchase was a waste of my time and money. I bought the unit, took it home and set it up. It turned on, the red light lit up... and that is where proper functioning stopped. No other button works, it won't switch to DVD, it won't accept my tape - it just gets stuck, the DVD door won't open, and the remote does not work! Now, it won't even turn back off!
Into the box with this and back to the store I go. What a waste of my time! My suggestion to you: Don't bother!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Piece of junk

01/27/2009
By ,
Houston, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one and it has never worked right. Eats tapes. Hard to program it to record. Most of the time it does not record the program.
Ready for the junk heap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next