Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

limited usefulness

10/09/2008
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one day and returned it the next. Will not connect via coax to tv. Must have composite, component or s-video inputs on tv to connect.
Also, lack of a tuner means you need to have several extra pieces of equipment to use this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+133points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Frankfort, IN.
magnavox dv22omw9
Posted 12/27/2011
I thought I was getting a deal. I brought it home only to find out you needed x-tra piece to hook it up for a mear 20$ ex-tra. All my DVD's new or old skip, shut off, or just won't play. We are very disappointed in this machine. Is any one else having this problem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Didn't Last A Month

06/14/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Magnavox DVD/VCR Combo on 5/22/09 to watch movies on weekends. Up until today everything worked fine. Popped in a DVD this afternoon and it would play and then the screen would go blank, play, screen would go blank. I thought it might have been the DVD itself, I popped in a 2nd and then a 3rd. Same thing. So I popped in several VCR movies that I love to watch, same thing...play, blank, play, blank.
I am very disappointed in this product. Waste of not only money, but my time as I am taking it back to Walmart today!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Very Bad Product

01/22/2010
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was upset that it could not be used with a standard coaxel cable. I called for technical advise only to be told I needed an RF Modulator. I had to spend more money for the RF Modulator. Tried to record using the VCR, the menu does not give you a channel option to record from. I called for technical advise again, the techs were very short and seem not to have time to help me. Finally, I ask the tech if they had time to help me. I found out that you have to leave your cable box on all day to record from a channel. This is disappointing because if I need to record from different channels at different times, I will need to come back home to change the channel on my cable box. I am very disappointed in the service and the design. I will never buy another product without looking at the instructions. This product is a big waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hunk of Junk

03/08/2010
By ,
Elizabeth, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst piece of junk I have ever had the displeasure of operating. Please Please Please do not waste your money on this, just pay the extra money for something better save yourself some heartache,
This company should be ashamed to have this junk in their inventory This product has never worked! I Really wanted to rate this product 0 stars, that would be a total of 0 but, I had to choose at least one star
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Technology goes backwards?!

11/09/2010
By ,
Lamoine, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I shelled out $75 at the store for this. Sadly, I didn't see the NO TUNER stamp on the box, but then again, it's very small and in the corner of the cover. When on earth did manufacturers stop including the tuner?! You must have a cable box or buy an external tuner for just under $100.
You cannot record one channel and watch another. Seriously. It's printed in capital letters in the manual. My VCRs from 20 years ago had this capability. It's my primary reason for needing a VCR.
Am returning this tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

don't waste your money

10/18/2008
By ,
Charleston, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
within two weeks of purchase the
DVD player quit working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

magnavox dvd with video cassette recorder

08/09/2010
By ,
dallas,tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have cable and I cannot get this product to work. I bought 2 in the last 2 wks and they don't work. I finally spoke with someone from the company who explained I needed a box to use it on my tv. the techs I spoke with don't seem to know a whole lot. this is very disappoining.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

do not buy this

06/04/2010
By ,
Bensalem, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this was for my daughters room. The dvd player doesn't work and gets stuck and i have scratched a couple of dvds trying to get them out.I bought the 2 year warranty and have only had the thing for 3 months and have returned it 4 times for a new one, it is not worth the money you will pay for it, pay the extra money and hopefully you won't get stuck with this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Unreliable

12/11/2008
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this player for 15 months and the DVD player broke down. Unreliable.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

11/12/2011
By ,
Ironton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive been through 3 of these within 2 years. The dvd player has stopped working on all 3. These things are JUNK!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Very disappointed

10/22/2009
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this unit in July to replace a 10 year old Symphonic.
My first complaint is that it doesn't connect with a coaxial cable.
Secondly, after a couple of months of use, the DVD player is now useless. Sometimes it will play a DVD. Then other times it will skip, stutter, and freeze up. It doesn't matter if the DVD is new or old. I have cleaned my DVDs and the player. Doesn't help.
I watch very few VHS tapes, so I don't know how well the VCR works.
I would not reccomend this unless you just need a VCR.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox

08/20/2008
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work no matter what I tried to hook it up. The power would come on but nothing would play. I even bought a converter cable and that didn't do the trick either. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
08/13/2008
By ,
New London, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
value was good, but product did not last. Died 1 week after warrenty was up
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DONT BUT THIS

04/19/2009
By ,
FORTWORTH,TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CANT RECORD FROM TV EVEN IF YOU HAVE CABLE,
I THRU MY BOX AWAY SO IM STUCK WITH IT,,WILL BUY ANOTHER ONE AND PUT THIS ONE ON THE DUST SHELF,,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

useless to me

08/17/2008
By ,
Perry, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't get the menu to come up. The manual says 'You CAN NOT record 1 channel while watching a different channel'. That's what I need a recorder for: 2 shows on at the same time - I watch 1 & record the other. If I'd known this machine wouldn't do that, I wouldn't have wasted my time & money ordering it. I had to take it to my local store for a refund minus freight the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hooks to box not TV

08/18/2008
By ,
Gulfport, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sure this is a good product---but I did not know what I was ordering. Tuner free meant it hooked to a box---not directly to the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
04/19/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All was going well when I played some VHS tapes but problems arose when I tried playing DVDs. I tried 5 different good DVDs and they all skipped. I had to take it back to the store because it didn't work right.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
11/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible! Spend more and get something that will last more than a few months. This is a black box of junk. The dvd tray will not stay closed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DVD worked, VHS did not.

09/16/2012
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DVD worked and looked great. However the VHS never worked. I could hear it rewind and fast foreward but it would not show up on my TV. Bought it Saturday. Sunday tried to watch the VHS side and it would not work. Taking it back Monday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Bad Deal

01/09/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these combo players and within 3 months the video player broke in one and within the year the DVD player broke on the other one. These players are cheap and I guess you do get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next