Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

no cable hook up port

06/28/2008
By ,
VeroBeach,Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product could not be hooked up to standard cable with out buying an expensive bridge and did not have enough conection cables.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hooks to box not TV

08/18/2008
By ,
Gulfport, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sure this is a good product---but I did not know what I was ordering. Tuner free meant it hooked to a box---not directly to the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox

08/20/2008
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work no matter what I tried to hook it up. The power would come on but nothing would play. I even bought a converter cable and that didn't do the trick either. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

useless to me

08/17/2008
By ,
Perry, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't get the menu to come up. The manual says 'You CAN NOT record 1 channel while watching a different channel'. That's what I need a recorder for: 2 shows on at the same time - I watch 1 & record the other. If I'd known this machine wouldn't do that, I wouldn't have wasted my time & money ordering it. I had to take it to my local store for a refund minus freight the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Unreliable

12/11/2008
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this player for 15 months and the DVD player broke down. Unreliable.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Very big paper weight

11/20/2009
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is really light! And Huge! Plays DVD ok. Doesnt play older tapes well at all after two days had to clean the heads twice to play again. Allways needs tracking adjusted. The Tape player is not worth the price, if you want a DVD player pass on this. If you want a VHS player look else where for the money. There is no digital display I miss that. I wouldnt buy this again. It has seem to keep working but I still do not like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

07/07/2010
By ,
Houston Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of junk. Not user friendly, will not work with some TV's.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Technology goes backwards?!

11/09/2010
By ,
Lamoine, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I shelled out $75 at the store for this. Sadly, I didn't see the NO TUNER stamp on the box, but then again, it's very small and in the corner of the cover. When on earth did manufacturers stop including the tuner?! You must have a cable box or buy an external tuner for just under $100.
You cannot record one channel and watch another. Seriously. It's printed in capital letters in the manual. My VCRs from 20 years ago had this capability. It's my primary reason for needing a VCR.
Am returning this tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

You get less than what you pay for

01/05/2011
By ,
Reno, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a worthless product. I wanted a basic no frills devise to play DVDs and kids VHS. They cut so many corners while getting the price low, it is virtually impossible to hook up to a TV or stereo. The output for the VHS is ONLY possible through a single line out, there is no other option. The DVD has many outs, S video, component, and single line. BUT if you use the fancier DVD out, and use the audio out, then the VHS has no where to go. How lame is it that you can't use any other out for the VHS and DVD together? That would have cost, what, 10 cents to add another wire? Useless. The remote is crazy overcrowded - like fifty teeny tiny buttons for god knows what purpose. Save your money, buy something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DO NOT BUY!!

02/16/2011
By ,
Hurst, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product and the DVD portion of the Combo broke in less than 2months, it would not read any type of DVD!!! This is not worth the cost or the trouble!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Didn't work; returned

05/27/2011
By ,
Hartford, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just did not expect something brand new out of the box would not work, but this DVD player didn't. We got it all hooked up, tried 3 different DVDs in it, and they all just kept freezing up. Had to unhook everything, re-pack it , and return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

magnoox vcr/dvd

12/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
hard to connect to tv cable man had to figure it out vcr portion does not work
Not worth the price
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Didn't Last A Month

06/14/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Magnavox DVD/VCR Combo on 5/22/09 to watch movies on weekends. Up until today everything worked fine. Popped in a DVD this afternoon and it would play and then the screen would go blank, play, screen would go blank. I thought it might have been the DVD itself, I popped in a 2nd and then a 3rd. Same thing. So I popped in several VCR movies that I love to watch, same thing...play, blank, play, blank.
I am very disappointed in this product. Waste of not only money, but my time as I am taking it back to Walmart today!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

a waste of money

07/08/2012
By ,
Alpine, Calif.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got good recordings for two or three weeks and now can not view the video recordings it makes
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
-2points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DVD Player Not Working

10/29/2008
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked OK for a cheap set for about a year. Now DVD player fails to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Bad Deal

01/09/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these combo players and within 3 months the video player broke in one and within the year the DVD player broke on the other one. These players are cheap and I guess you do get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

01/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is really a piece of junk. It was advertized as being able to record off the cable box. It does not. Apparently, in order to program this thing you need to buy an external tuner. The DVD player worked at first, but 2/3 of playing the first DVD, it stalled. I kept pushing the “Play” button and finally it started again. I returned this thing as fast as I could
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Run away quickly!

08/05/2013
By ,
Loma Linda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This DVD player broke in less than 4 months after purchase. I have read other reviews saying not to buy it but dumb me trying to save a few dollars bought it anyways. Now I have sent all that money down the drain and have to buy ANOTHER DVD player. Run away quickly. I will NEVER buy another Magnavox DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Garbage

04/01/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is garbage. I went to another store site and found they are refurbished. Didn't know I was buying a used product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Cheap

02/24/2009
By ,
Madera,Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 units for me and my daughters bedrooms and within three months both of the units ate VHS tapes and of course I can't replace the tapes because they don't make them anymore. I will never again by a magnavox of anything. VERY UPSET!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next