Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox

08/20/2008
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work no matter what I tried to hook it up. The power would come on but nothing would play. I even bought a converter cable and that didn't do the trick either. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox DVD/VCR COMBO DV220MW9

10/01/2008
By ,
Riverdale, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product may be great for newer model TV's but does not work with an older TV even with correct connections or new Comcast Digital Cable Boxes.
Maganox's assistance with connection problems is useless and some Reps are downright rude. I returned the product for a refund.
Looking for a combo with a tuner for older TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DVD Player Not Working

10/29/2008
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked OK for a cheap set for about a year. Now DVD player fails to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

05/13/2009
By ,
San Antonio Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have tried 2 models of Memorex VCR/DVD combo units. They both are junk, will not track correctly, will not play without having to stop and restart.
Would not reccomend buying any memorex units at all.........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Might be OK if you have very low expectations

08/17/2009
By ,
South Daytona, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know how this machine plays DVDs or VHS tapes, but my main purpose for getting it was to be able to record tapes from cable TV. Despite having an insert paper with the instruction manual stating it has a digital tuner, it has no tuner. I learned this after I invested in an RF modulator the day after I bought this and learned that it doesn't have the appropriate plugs to accommodate my coaxial cables (from the cable and from my TV). It still can't do what I expected. (And this was confirmed by a friend who is experienced in connecting all manner of electronic equipment.)
And FYI, I've had decades of experience successfully being able to hook up VCRs to TV and cable connections, so I had no reason to expect to fail this time.
I'm returning it (and the RF modulator) tomorrow, and from what I've read in a review of the $158 Magnovox upgrade carried by Walmart, even the that one lacks appropriate plugs for connection as well, so I won't bother getting the upgrade.
A complete waste of my time and money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

dont buy

11/21/2010
By ,
Watertown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is late posting simply because I could not find when I purchased it. NOW I found it and want to WARN eveyrone NOT TO BUY!
The DVD player works for only a month or two then it stops working. So now it sits in the closet wating to go out during spring cleaning.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Not a very good product

12/18/2010
By ,
Memphis,Tn.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The VHS player worked for one year and then it started eating tapes as soon as the warranty went out on it. The DVD player still worked great but I would not buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A very poor value at any price

01/27/2010
By ,
Marietta, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money on this product. Although it is cheaply priced, it is a poor value for your money.
Won't play half of the DVD's we have tried and the noise level is so high you can't watch a VHS Tape.
I purchase two from WalMart several months ago. Started using one right away and left the other in the box unopened for a gift to a family member a couple of months in the future. When she started using it had been just past the 90 days, although she had only used for a few weeks, the warranty was expired.
That aside, if you purchase I am afraid you will be
sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hunk of Junk

03/08/2010
By ,
Elizabeth, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst piece of junk I have ever had the displeasure of operating. Please Please Please do not waste your money on this, just pay the extra money for something better save yourself some heartache,
This company should be ashamed to have this junk in their inventory This product has never worked! I Really wanted to rate this product 0 stars, that would be a total of 0 but, I had to choose at least one star
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

waste of money

12/19/2010
By ,
magnavox dvd/vcr recorder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
before u buy this product make sure yr tv does NOT need a "rf modular" because they can cost 20.00--30.00 depending on the store u buy it at. sort of kills the idea of getting something cheep. i haven't even used it yet so i can't tell u if it actually works or not. just buy a midline vcr/dvd player and you'll be better off in the long run!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Worked halfway

01/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plain and simple: the DVD side worked, the VCR side didn't. I gave this unit to my mom and as birthday gift and we immediately got it out and plugged in. The VCR side didn't work--would play the tape for 3 seconds and then power off the whole unit. I would turn it back on, it'd play for 3 seconds, and shut off again. We gave up and watched a DVD instead. The next day I was able to watch an entire VHS tape. I hoped that the previous days' problems were just a fluke. But next time I used it, it was back to the same old problem. I completely gave up and just watched DVDs for a while until we found a used VCR, at which point I returned this unit. I will be purchasing a DVD player to use separately.
I was so excited about this product, but it didn't live up to my hopes at all. I hope others have better luck than I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Not very satisfied

07/27/2008
By ,
Auburn, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item from my local wal-mart and when I got it home and set it up following each step provided by the manual and placed a VHS tape inside, it would turn on run for 5 sec. and then shut off upon pressing power again it turned off in 3 seconds, then I repeated the step and it only ejected my tape after about 10min of doing these steps I quit and returned the item. I was very unhappy about the performance of this item. I was hoping that the price truely did not reflect the quality of this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
12/20/2011
By ,
miramar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it damage lot of my kids vhs!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

don't waste your money

10/18/2008
By ,
Charleston, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
within two weeks of purchase the
DVD player quit working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Piece of junk

01/27/2009
By ,
Houston, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one and it has never worked right. Eats tapes. Hard to program it to record. Most of the time it does not record the program.
Ready for the junk heap.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Run away quickly!

08/05/2013
By ,
Loma Linda, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This DVD player broke in less than 4 months after purchase. I have read other reviews saying not to buy it but dumb me trying to save a few dollars bought it anyways. Now I have sent all that money down the drain and have to buy ANOTHER DVD player. Run away quickly. I will NEVER buy another Magnavox DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Keep Looking and Comparing

09/18/2008
By ,
Greenwood, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product about a week ago and so far it has eaten and digested 2 VHS tapes. The DVD player isn't too bad, but I can hear it spinning the disc if a CD is playing versus watching a DVD. I am now shopping for a better product and willing to pay just a little more than 70 bucks to buy a reliable product. Cheap is not always the best answer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A Year and that's it?!?

10/04/2008
By ,
Greenville, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well I bought this vcr/dvd player about a year ago and the dvd player still works fine. But you can hear it spinning while it plays. And the VHS Side well I ussed it for a total of 3 movies and the third one it would play a sec that pop back out. And keeps on doing that.
So even though it's cheapier I still expect a product to work longer than a year at that price. At least two years and I would have felt better about it.
I would honestly spend a bit more money for a product that would actually work better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

trash

05/29/2009
By ,
Morgan City, Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unable to connect to television and record shows.
Called the 800 number for assistnace.
They advised that I would have to purchase a part for it to work, and that I would still not be able to record shows, I would only beable to watch shows. Item returned to Wal-mart the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Awful

02/08/2010
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my kids room, waste of money. I hooked it up, put a dvd in and bam broke. This thing wont read the disc, pop out the disc and basically its just a hunk of junk. I wouldnt waste the money on this product...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next