Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Cheap-BOX IS MISLEADING

11/20/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never in my life have I ever seen a VCR like this & THIS IS NOT GOOD
I bought this directly in a local Wal-Mart store
IT DOES NOT SAY ON THE BOX, CLAIMS THIS MODEL IS VERY EASY TO HOOK UP TO YOUR CABLE BOX
Ha ha. Very funny.
You need SOME OTHER BOX TO HOOK THIS UP TO YOUR CABLE BOX & like me if you own a RCA TV you need another cable
What?
There is no clock display. NO CLOCK TO VIEW ON A VCR? That’s a first.
Very light, cheap plastic.
It works ok. Even at this cheap price, it is NOT WORTH THE MONEY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

dont buy

11/21/2010
By ,
Watertown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is late posting simply because I could not find when I purchased it. NOW I found it and want to WARN eveyrone NOT TO BUY!
The DVD player works for only a month or two then it stops working. So now it sits in the closet wating to go out during spring cleaning.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

don't waste your money or time

07/14/2011
By ,
Mobile, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it wouldn't let you set up the recorder and set the timer and still watch tv. so if you wanted to watch tv untill u go to sleep and have the recorder set up to tape something later you couldn't because u have to shut down the vcr to use the timer . big peace of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Worst Piece of Machinery Ever

07/05/2012
By ,
Morristown, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All I wanted was to record off the tv, and it does not do that. I couldn't get it to record returned it after one infuriating night trying to get it to record.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Hunk of Junk

03/08/2010
By ,
Elizabeth, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst piece of junk I have ever had the displeasure of operating. Please Please Please do not waste your money on this, just pay the extra money for something better save yourself some heartache,
This company should be ashamed to have this junk in their inventory This product has never worked! I Really wanted to rate this product 0 stars, that would be a total of 0 but, I had to choose at least one star
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Poor Quality

12/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The old adage, "you get what you pay for" applies here. I needed a cheap VCR player for use in converting VHS tapes to DVD. It seems no retail store sells stand-alone VCR decks these days, so I had to buy what was for me, an unwanted VCR/DVD combo unit. This unit was the cheapest combo unit available. I bought it, brought it home and after viewing ten minutes of one tape, I had nothing but snow. The tracking controls would not clear the problem so I went out and bought a tape cleaner. That didn't fix the problem so I took the unit back and exchanged it for another one. Brought the second unit home and watched a different tape only to have the same problem occur. This model cannot effectively play old VHS tapes. The cleaning tape improved the picture by only about 80%. I plan to return this unit too, as I have since gone to a local thrift shop and bought a used VCR deck for $5.00 and it plays the same old tapes perfectly fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DVD worked, VHS did not.

09/16/2012
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DVD worked and looked great. However the VHS never worked. I could hear it rewind and fast foreward but it would not show up on my TV. Bought it Saturday. Sunday tried to watch the VHS side and it would not work. Taking it back Monday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Total Piece of Junk

10/23/2012
By ,
Layton, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this simple unit to play VHS tapes and DVDs for the kids. After one month it started having issues with color, static and vertical hold for both VHS and DVD. It deteriorated over the next month until it was completely unwatchable and then it stopped responding to the remote.
Returned it and will never buy Magnavox again. Their products are total junk any more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

not worth it

03/25/2009
By ,
La Puente,CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
usually company makes quality products-but this has to be a mistake for the market. It read 1 out of 5 DVD's - Disc Error- was very noisy when running.
Price way to high for the quality!!the company name isn't worth $60.00
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Might be OK if you have very low expectations

08/17/2009
By ,
South Daytona, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know how this machine plays DVDs or VHS tapes, but my main purpose for getting it was to be able to record tapes from cable TV. Despite having an insert paper with the instruction manual stating it has a digital tuner, it has no tuner. I learned this after I invested in an RF modulator the day after I bought this and learned that it doesn't have the appropriate plugs to accommodate my coaxial cables (from the cable and from my TV). It still can't do what I expected. (And this was confirmed by a friend who is experienced in connecting all manner of electronic equipment.)
And FYI, I've had decades of experience successfully being able to hook up VCRs to TV and cable connections, so I had no reason to expect to fail this time.
I'm returning it (and the RF modulator) tomorrow, and from what I've read in a review of the $158 Magnovox upgrade carried by Walmart, even the that one lacks appropriate plugs for connection as well, so I won't bother getting the upgrade.
A complete waste of my time and money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

I should have read reviews

01/12/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product today and am taking it back tomorrow. The DVD side seems to work fine but the VCR is awful. It records in mono which is just crazy since VCRs have been stereo for 10-15 years. Everything I recorded played back with wavy lines. throughout the picture. Every review I have read seems to have the same issues. Its hard to find VCRs anymore but do not settle for this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

01/06/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is really a piece of junk. It was advertized as being able to record off the cable box. It does not. Apparently, in order to program this thing you need to buy an external tuner. The DVD player worked at first, but 2/3 of playing the first DVD, it stalled. I kept pushing the “Play” button and finally it started again. I returned this thing as fast as I could
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Junk

11/12/2011
By ,
Ironton, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive been through 3 of these within 2 years. The dvd player has stopped working on all 3. These things are JUNK!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
08/15/2012
By ,
Yorba Linda, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have to return it because it will not record or play tapes. Useless.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

BAD!!

11/01/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased one of these and the DVD portion stopped working shortly after a year. Bought a second one and the same thing happened. I will be purchasing a different brand this next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

no cable hook up port

06/28/2008
By ,
VeroBeach,Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product could not be hooked up to standard cable with out buying an expensive bridge and did not have enough conection cables.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

do not buy this

06/04/2010
By ,
Bensalem, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this was for my daughters room. The dvd player doesn't work and gets stuck and i have scratched a couple of dvds trying to get them out.I bought the 2 year warranty and have only had the thing for 3 months and have returned it 4 times for a new one, it is not worth the money you will pay for it, pay the extra money and hopefully you won't get stuck with this piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Useless

09/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have an older Magnavox DVD-VCR combo that I can record from TV to VCR and watch DVD's without any problems. I thought I was buying the same machine. Was I ever wrong. I can't believe I can't do the simpliest thing on this machine. Tape a Tv show to a VCR tape. Need to buy all these extra things to perform something that should be standard. Needless to say, this went back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

junk is what it is.........

05/14/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tried to copy some of my older vhs family video tapes to my dvd recorder. this was impossible due to the fact that it does not auto track. it would not play many of these tapes. i finally bought a 22 yr old sony on ebay and am able to produce dvd's of my past memories. avoid this unit please......
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
05/14/2013
By ,
RANCHO CUCAMONG cA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
long story short this unit does not have the correct type of cable jacks I need. So the picture is not clear and it's shakey.You tell me what I can do now I'M NOT HAPPY WITH IT AND NEED ADVISE HOW TO CORRECT IT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-2points
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next