Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
201 Questions | 333 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

don't waste your money

10/18/2008
By ,
Charleston, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
within two weeks of purchase the
DVD player quit working.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Defective Right Out Of The Box

09/03/2008
By ,
Vestal, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price was right; unfortunately, the unit did not work. The VCR would not record. Magnavox's customer service is great; I called the 1-800 help line and was treated promptly and courteously. However, the bottom line is that the unit was defective and will have to be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

trash

05/29/2009
By ,
Morgan City, Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unable to connect to television and record shows.
Called the 800 number for assistnace.
They advised that I would have to purchase a part for it to work, and that I would still not be able to record shows, I would only beable to watch shows. Item returned to Wal-mart the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Does not record TV unless you have set top box

12/26/2009
By ,
Central PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my wife for Christmas, and was thoroughly disappointed that it could not record TV shows unless you have a set top box. There is no cable input to the VCR, so it can't record channels. It is good for playback only I guess. I never even tried that because its inability to record makes it useless to my wife who likes to record her soap operas. Guess I'll have to pay more for one that has basic function. I wish I'd have read the reviews like I usually do. I'd have never bought this piece of junk if I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Poor Quality

12/29/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The vcr player broke the second time I used it. It is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Might be OK if you have very low expectations

08/17/2009
By ,
South Daytona, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know how this machine plays DVDs or VHS tapes, but my main purpose for getting it was to be able to record tapes from cable TV. Despite having an insert paper with the instruction manual stating it has a digital tuner, it has no tuner. I learned this after I invested in an RF modulator the day after I bought this and learned that it doesn't have the appropriate plugs to accommodate my coaxial cables (from the cable and from my TV). It still can't do what I expected. (And this was confirmed by a friend who is experienced in connecting all manner of electronic equipment.)
And FYI, I've had decades of experience successfully being able to hook up VCRs to TV and cable connections, so I had no reason to expect to fail this time.
I'm returning it (and the RF modulator) tomorrow, and from what I've read in a review of the $158 Magnovox upgrade carried by Walmart, even the that one lacks appropriate plugs for connection as well, so I won't bother getting the upgrade.
A complete waste of my time and money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Very big paper weight

11/20/2009
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is really light! And Huge! Plays DVD ok. Doesnt play older tapes well at all after two days had to clean the heads twice to play again. Allways needs tracking adjusted. The Tape player is not worth the price, if you want a DVD player pass on this. If you want a VHS player look else where for the money. There is no digital display I miss that. I wouldnt buy this again. It has seem to keep working but I still do not like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

vcr

12/27/2009
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this because I needed a VCR with a tuner. This model has none.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Cheap

02/24/2009
By ,
Madera,Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 units for me and my daughters bedrooms and within three months both of the units ate VHS tapes and of course I can't replace the tapes because they don't make them anymore. I will never again by a magnavox of anything. VERY UPSET!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Awful

02/08/2010
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my kids room, waste of money. I hooked it up, put a dvd in and bam broke. This thing wont read the disc, pop out the disc and basically its just a hunk of junk. I wouldnt waste the money on this product...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DO NOT BUY!!

02/16/2011
By ,
Hurst, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product and the DVD portion of the Combo broke in less than 2months, it would not read any type of DVD!!! This is not worth the cost or the trouble!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Do not get

09/10/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this and would not buy it again. The DVD player on it stopped working and I have not even had it a month. I would never get it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

I should have read reviews

01/12/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product today and am taking it back tomorrow. The DVD side seems to work fine but the VCR is awful. It records in mono which is just crazy since VCRs have been stereo for 10-15 years. Everything I recorded played back with wavy lines. throughout the picture. Every review I have read seems to have the same issues. Its hard to find VCRs anymore but do not settle for this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Piece of Junk!

07/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Son received as bday gift 12/2009. Had to purchase new TV, would not hook up to one 5 years old. VCR stopped working after 4 mths. Now 7/2010 DVD has no sound. Out of 90 full warranty and did not offer extended warranty. Would not recommend and will not buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Better think twice about this product.

08/29/2010
By ,
Colbert, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never could get the VHS recorder to work. It would play back but never would record. Even the Geek Squad couldn't get it to work. Returned said product and will now move on with my life. Bad experience!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

DVD worked, VHS did not.

09/16/2012
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DVD worked and looked great. However the VHS never worked. I could hear it rewind and fast foreward but it would not show up on my TV. Bought it Saturday. Sunday tried to watch the VHS side and it would not work. Taking it back Monday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Didn't work; returned

05/27/2011
By ,
Hartford, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just did not expect something brand new out of the box would not work, but this DVD player didn't. We got it all hooked up, tried 3 different DVDs in it, and they all just kept freezing up. Had to unhook everything, re-pack it , and return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Pass on This

05/17/2010
By ,
San Clemente, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not represent Magnavox in a good light. The product is extremely poor. The quality of tapes, in how they play them is probably the worse I have ever seen. There is no upconversion for DVDs either. If you want a cheap product.... this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
01/12/2012
By ,
yorl, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm returning this product, because the vcr doesn't record any programs. all you can do is play vcr tapes and dvds. I got this for my mother for christmas.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

SAD

12/26/2012
By ,
near Foxboro Ma.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hooked up this product & re hooked up this product...had some one else hook up this product....& it still only plays in B & W...WHY?????
Thought it was hooked up wrong, so I re did it over & over...VERY CAREFULLY!
Still Black & White...had some one else more tech savvy re do it again...STILL B & W ....Hmmm?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next