Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Enjoy playing both DVDs and videocassette tapes with the Magnavox DVD player/VCR combo. The videocassette recorder does not have a built-in tuner, but does have a line input for recording from cable boxes, satellite systems or compatible TVs. The DVD player can also play CDs. Includes remote control. Magnavox DVD/VCR combo model #DV220MW9.
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 467
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Recommendation70%438 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
298
4 stars
125
3 stars
33
2 stars
38
1 star
136
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Nice

01/11/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great no problems good price. thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Review 2 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

SO FAR SO GOOD! HAVEN'T HAD IT LONG??

10/06/2010
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was iffy about buying this. I had a Magnavox for 14 years that quit, I ran out and got a cheap Philco, it only lasted 5 months?? This one looks similar to the Philco but is made a lot sturdier! I like Magnavox products. I was confused by "No Tuner"? I guess it doesn't matter with "Cable TV" because it works just fine. My day's are busy and I like to record Movies off LMN. I have tons of "Christmas" movies on VHS I watch non-stop in December. 8-) I hope it holds up!! Real easy to hook up, I didn't have to get one of my kids to do it! Ha!!
If this one quits "I'll be back"! to re-review it!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Review 3 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

These are Hard to Find!

01/25/2010
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These VCR-DVD combination players are very difficult to find nowadays. We have had no problems with ours whatsoever.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

GREAT VALUE BECAUSE NO TUNER!

10/07/2010
By ,
La Crosse, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was reading some of the negative reviews. These folks want to be able to record one program while watching another. YOU NEED A VCR WITH A TUNER TO DO THIS! There is NOTHING wrong with this machine. Don't give it one star because you bought the wrong product.
A "tuner" is the section of your VCR and your TV that does just what it says... it "tunes-in" a particular channel.
In order to be able to watch one program and record another, BOTH the TV and the VCR need to have tuners. You "tune in" one channel on the TV to watch, and a second channel on the VCR to record. Again, you obviously cannot do this if the VCR doesn't have a tuner!
I hope this clears it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+424points
Review 5 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

OK so far

05/06/2009
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought two of these at a Wal Mart store. Both worked fine so far. The DVD player has excellent audio and video quality. The VCR player works well, has two search speeds, will reverse or go to play almost instantly during search mode. Only bad thing is both VCR units have weak audio out (DVD audio is fine). You have to really crank the volume to hear properly, which causes continuous hiss and noise. Even video tapes recorded on a $170 Magnavox DVD recorder/VCR recorder with digital tuner have weak audio on these players. If you're looking for a player to watch your video tape collections on, don't buy this unit. For strictly DVD watching, you can't beat the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+352points
Review 6 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Very convenient to be able to watch video or dvd

06/16/2013
By ,
Plainfield, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We purchased this unit from Walmart 7 months ago. It has served very well and conveniently. We also have an LG Blu-Ray player which we rarely use since we only have a few blu-ray discs and we have to rearrange our cords every time we use it as it requires the same cords as other equipment. In the last couple of months we have been noticing an increase in skipping etc. from the Magnavox and today we decided to try the disc in our LG player. We were surprised by the vastly improved picture quality as well as the fact that the LG only hung up a few times, as opposed to MANY times on the Magnavox. I am going to purchase a cleaner for the disc reader (lens) and see if that improves the Magnavox performance, but I just thought I would give you a heads up on a potential quality issue. I will try to update this later. We are also investing in a disc cleaner to see if we can do anything about the scratches on some of our older discs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

HUNK O JUNK!

08/20/2009
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this set for christmas last year and two months later the DVD side quit working. Well, we had bought the replacement plan so I sent it back but I had to PAY the difference to replace what broke. So, finally, I got a new one and fresh out of the box, it didn't work. Took it back, got a third one, fresh out of the box, it didn't work. If you want to waste your time, money, and gas, then go ahead and buy the hunk of junk, otherwise, I wouldn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+78points
Review 8 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

No More Combos

01/01/2010
By ,
West Michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The VCR portion of this unit went out right after the 90 day warranty period expired. I don't recall ever owning a product before that quit right after the warranty went out. Lucky? Maybe. I also own another combo unit in which the DVD player went out, although it took that unit over three years to break. Magnavox does not seem to be as good of quality as it may have been before. I wouldn't buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+86points
Review 9 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

What I expected

03/15/2010
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a no-frills machine that allows the kids to still watch the old VCR tapes and dad doesn't need to worry about them breaking it in 6 months for the price. Hooked up easily and without any extras needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+198points
Review 10 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

A good deal for the money

12/02/2010
By ,
Pullman, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this VCR/DVD player when our old one from the early 1990s broke. It is used by my preschool daughter and has worked perfectly since we took it out of the box. One note though, if you are connecting it to a cable or satellite dish and TV setup you will need an Rf modulator box for about $20 (there is no video in video out coaxial cabling option). But at only $67.00 online, it works great as both a VCR and DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 11 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

This is not a great product

11/04/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I always liked Magnavox products so when I saw this combination VCR/DVD machine I decided to purchase it.
The VCR is great for recording as well as playback -no complaints. However, the DVD side of this is not good. My biggest complaint is that the sound quality is terrible. Even turning the volume up as high as it could go didnt help. It was so low I could barely hear it. I thought at first I had a defective machine or I did something wrong when I connected it, so I called Magnavox and they walked me through set up just in case. I had everything wired correctly but still it was the same.
I realized that it must be a defect in the machine when I found out another family member had the exact same machine with the same problem.
So the best I can do is play my VHS tapes in it. I wont buy another combo machine from Magnavox again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Review 12 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Buyer beware-

12/30/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The notation on the box says "Tuner not Included: A cable box, satellite box, or other tuner source is required for recording live television". I have DirectTV, plus was not needing to record live TV (I do this with my DirectTV box), so thought it was good to go. Spent all day trying to play a DVD. Called the manufacuturer and DirectTV, and unless you have the red, yellow, white RCA connections on your TV, you won't be able to play DVDs. My old TV doesn't have these, just a coaxial connection (which worked fine with my Sony DVD/VHS), but the Magnavox does not have a coxial connetion so it could not be connected to my DirectTV box, and my TV does not have RCA connections. DirectTV is sending me a modulator (free of charge) so that I can hook this up to my TV. So, if your TV is old like mine, and doesn't have the red, white and yellow RCA connections do not buy this, because even if you have cable or satellite, it won't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 13 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9
03/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well, easy to setup. My mom loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 14 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Horrible at any price

09/13/2009
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value is a meaningless word when a product offers none. Despite the attractive price, as consumers we have minimum expectations of quality and functionality. The Magnavox DV220MW9 appears to fail miserably in this regard by offering a product which is neither functional nor a good value.
A lot has been said about the fact that this is a "tunerless" VCR. What that basically means is that unless you have a set-top cable box with RCA outputs, you cannot record television shows off the air with a standard coaxial antenna. You are dependent on the cable or satellite provider's set-top box to record television programming via the composite RCA connectors which strangely don't offer even stereo audio input. It lacks the standard coaxial RF connector that is standard equipment in virtually all VCRs produced since the 1970s.
Given the fact that DVD, and now Blu-Ray, has fundamentally replaced the venerable VCR this may or may not be a deal-breaker. The most unfortunate failing of this unit is the inability to perform even the simplest task: reading a DVD.
I purchased two of these units from two different stores and found to my dismay that both failed to playback DVDs without excessive jitter, digital block noise, or errors. Brand new, out of the box discs and older discs seemed to make little difference as neither would read acceptably. Apparently, I'm not the only one to discover this problem.
Folks, don't let the price fool you. This is a terrible product at any price. Save your clams for a better model.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+315points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
A Total Waste of Money
Posted 07/25/2011
I bought one of these back in April'11 and to this date have wasted an extraordinary amount of time trying to get the VCR to record. I have hooked to 2 different CRT TV's through an RF modulator, and it will play a previously recorded VCR tape, but no matter what I do and I have tried everything; it will absolutely not record a TV program. My friend got a brand new TV with those A/V jacks in back(RF modulator not necessary); I hooked it to that and it still will not record anything. Needless to say, I am not a happy camper; not only because it won't work, but also because I got rid of the packaging and cannot return it. Referring to the good old VCR's that worked hassle free and were so easy to set up, I always remember the old saying..."If it ain't broke, don't fix it! I wish I'd bought a bunch of those before they removed them from the shelves
-4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Just the Basics

12/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a basic, affordable VCR/DVD player without ANY bells or whistles, this is the unit for you. Not even a digital readout, this machine does what it's suppose to: play VCRs or DVDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Review 16 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

limited usefulness

10/09/2008
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought one day and returned it the next. Will not connect via coax to tv. Must have composite, component or s-video inputs on tv to connect.
Also, lack of a tuner means you need to have several extra pieces of equipment to use this set.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+133points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Frankfort, IN.
magnavox dv22omw9
Posted 12/27/2011
I thought I was getting a deal. I brought it home only to find out you needed x-tra piece to hook it up for a mear 20$ ex-tra. All my DVD's new or old skip, shut off, or just won't play. We are very disappointed in this machine. Is any one else having this problem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Worth the $

09/10/2010
By ,
Mid-Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased two of these -- the first one worked great -- then my spouse used pliers to remove a DVD -- busted. Bought a 2nd one -- and it works great. It's worth the money and we can watch both DVD's and VCR tapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Review 18 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

life spam: 2 years

11/08/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product in 11/06. After 1 year I started having problems with the unit. In order to play either side (DVD or VCR), I would have to insert a DVD or VHS on the other side AND STOP IT!!!!!!!!! Strange. I dealt with this for 6 months and then one day, It was not working any more. I decided to contact customer service for assistance. I was told that I was lucky It worked for so long. I was advised to move on. The unit has served it's purpose. Unabelievable but true. Today, I think the unit is finally dead. I don't think I can get it to work, no matter what I try. SAD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Review 19 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Do not buy this

03/31/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This VCR/DVD combo not worth the money. Wanted to record, found out I could not do that unless I buy other parts. Wanted to tape a TV show, stations 1 - 29 can't be received, then wanted to view tapes I recorded from TV. Looks like the tracking is having a nervous breakdown. No matter what I do it won't track right. All I can do is view DVD's on this unit. If the VCR won't play VCR's what good is it? I made 3 calls to Magnvox support, who were very nice to me, but they finally told me to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 20 for Magnavox DVD Player/Tuner-Free VCR Combo, DV220MW9

Going Strong!

05/05/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use my DVD/VCR player every night to go to sleep by and it's still working great! Haven't had any problem since I bought it and have had it for two years or more. Couldn't sleep without it. Great product. I highly recommend this product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+19points
1-20 of 468 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  24 Next