Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for THQ WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

THQ WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 unleashes a brand-new tag team experience, allowing players to build momentum and attributes, eliminate opponents with high-impact double teams and finishers, as well as get the "hot tag" for the win. The franchise's renowned creation system offers a brand new Create-A-Finisher option, while a new Road to WrestleMania Mode paves the way to WWE's biggest event of the year and lets players experience a franchise-first co-op storyline. WWE SmackDown vs. Raw 2009 also extends the virtual WWE gameplay experience with robust online capabilities, including the debut of downloadable content.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%43 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Great for kids

06/01/2010
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The game live up to its word. My son hasn't stop playing it since.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Greatest Game In The Universe

11/30/2008
By ,
Honolulu, HA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smackdown vs Raw 2009 is the greatest game in the universe.
-Randy Orton
The reason why Orton said this was not so he could RKO John Cena again but because it's the truth. This game is truly the best game in the universe. He also did not say this to get speared by Dave Batista for the third time but because he means it. SVR 09 is so cool the first match you should play should be the tag team where you can force tags, hold opponent so your partner can slap him across the face just like Rhodes did to Orton on RAW, LOL. The inferno match is also cool to watch the big show rolling across the ramp on fire just like his face when he fell on top of the casket on Smackdown a couple of weeks ago. The road to wrestlemanania mode is the coolest season mode ever made. There you can see 6 different storylines and no repeats.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

A need to buy game for any gamer

04/29/2009
By ,
Adolphus, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What made me want to get this game is the fact that it is the last wrestking game from the WWE that is going to be made for the PS2. So if you like wrestling games & you own a PS2 I suggest you get this game before it is gone. I have played the game quite a few times since I bought it, it takes time to get used to all the new controls since this game doesn't follow all the ones in the past. What more can I say but for you to buy it & try it yourself :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Alright game

12/28/2008
By ,
Baker Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, I just got this game for christmas,and it isn't the worst game ever, but its not the best either. GOODS:
-Awsome graphics!!
-Nice selection of superstars
-it has the cruiserweight championship instead of that stupid Diva one.
-New looking arena's including Tribute to the troops and Saturday nights main event
-Created a finisher
-Create an entrance for a tag team
-Hot tag and tag team finisher features.
BADS:
-Create a finisher is rather limited
-the soundtrack doesn't have as much songs as the previous games which is why they put the superstars entrance themes in it.
-you can't create a highlight reel like the ps3 version.
-Road to wrestlemania mode is short
OK'S:
-Road to wrestlemania mode has only six superstars you could play from,who has their own story lines,which is kinda cool,except its short!!!Grrr
-instead of just buying the skills and attributes for your created superstars,you have to play as them in season mode to earn them,which is hours of gameplay.
-Ok Unlockables
OVERALL:
Fun game,great graphics and another one for the books. I hope 2010 is better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 5 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

My son loves me again

12/27/2008
By ,
McMinnville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 15 year old son for Christmas. While he loved me before I bought it he loves me even more now! Okay, I'm just kidding here but honestly he has given me some major feedback. He says the graphics are awesome...The game play is amazing. There are more moves that you can do in this version. One bit of a negative is that the story mode *Road to Wrestlmania* is a lot shorter than the other versions and you have only 7 characters to choose from...however this is acceptable to him considering this version offers an awesome Inferno Match and Falls Count Anywhere match.
General manager mode isn't on this game...but they replaced it with something called "career mode." It's kind of like story mode but there are no cut scenes. Some will like this and some won't...but as a positive you can play as Diva's and anyone else in career mode.
It was definitely worth the 40 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 6 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)
11/13/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its not that great of a game. As far as graphics goes. I wasn't impressed at all. Best way to explain it is. I didn't feel like the moves were realistic enough. Hitting and grappling doesn't have a good hit system or ratio. So all the moves basically have the same amount of damage. The finishers have more damage but, not by much. (even after I changed the setttings)
The only thing that is somewhat good is the tag team updates and the create a finisher.
You only get 6 wrestlers (with different story lines I might add) to choose from for the road to Wrestlemania. I would of liked using my own created player or other wrestlers for the season mode but, its not an option.
Id recommend renting this game or borrowing it from a friend. I'd even say that smackdown vs raw 2006 is better then this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-6points
Review 7 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009

09/15/2008
By ,
Kittanning, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a perfect game to all WWE or any wrestling fans it gives what they want like create your own specials tag team explostions like Halo somebody from Ohio and some body from Pennslylvania can play on story mode on teams for titles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
-1point
Review 8 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Fantastic Buy!

03/02/2010
By ,
VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all those that can't live without wrestling, this is definitely one to have in your gaming library. My sons can't get enough! It's an unbeatable deal and as usual, the shipping is superb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Wonderful

11/10/2008
By ,
Lake City Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The smackdown series is growing strong. This game tops them all. I have collected the whole series and this is one of the best games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 10 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

its awesome

03/03/2009
By ,
tomahawk wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i bought it yesterday and when i go home yesterday i played it all day and all night long i think i played it for 14hrs none stop but graphics are good more playable carcaters to choose from the story mode is not even a story mode there are no cut screens besides the road to wrestlemania but i have everything unlock took me about 14hrs to do but i reccomend this game for ppl that have the smackdown vs raw series i have all of them cant wait for 2010 to come out
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 11 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Great Buy

01/11/2009
By ,
Southern NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I get this for my boys every Christmas one of their favorite gifts (Their HUGE wrestling fans). This version is the best yet. And the price was the best anywhere including sales. But only get this if you don't mind the whole neighborhood coming to play
because even those kids who have other versions of the game will be at your house. Take it from someone who knows. Great buy Great price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 12 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Outstanding Game for Less!

12/07/2009
By ,
McHenry, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I very much liked this Excellent wrestling video game. It has very good graphics for PS2. I really enjoy the "Road to WrestleMania" feature. The Roster speaks for itself with breathtaking results. I would give this game a 9 out of 10. If you are a WWE fan, or a sucker for Wrestling games. This game is surely for you. For $20.00 + Tax, That is an Amazing deal for this Awesome game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 13 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Awsome!

01/11/2009
By ,
Richmond
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The graphics are so much better! The wrestlers are looking more and more like themselves! I personally have not gotten to play it yet, my finace keeps hogging it! Maybe tonight I will get my chance! He couldn't wait to play it on Christmas Day when he got it and hasn't stopped playing it since! From just the looks of it is is awsome and my fiance says the play is great too!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 14 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

One of the greatest wrestling games ever!

01/03/2009
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 2009 is a great improvement over the 2008. Graphics are better, the story lines actually follow the choices that you make, the create-a-finisher mode is great (but it is limited), and that is about this game in a nutshell. IT IS JUST GREAT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 15 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Fun for father & son

01/01/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and son love this game and have spent several hours bonding while playing this together. It may not be what I enjoy, but they certainly are having fun with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 16 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)
12/23/2008
By ,
Carson City, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this game. Though it has differences then SvR '08, I still think it rocks! It's too bad I was unable to purchase the strategy guide when I bought the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 17 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)
01/02/2009
By ,
princeton wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves this game... he is 9 and I have no problems with letting him play it. It does show blood but thats the extent of the violence. No harsh language
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 18 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

My 10 yr. old loves this game!

02/27/2009
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this game for my 10 yr. old and he and my husband love it. The graphics are amazing. They have not stopped playing it since I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 19 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

heaven on earth

12/28/2008
By ,
jersey shore,pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after giving this to my grandchildren for christmas there was peace in the household.they,ages 5,8 and ,15 were entertained the rest of the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 20 for WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2009 (PS2)

Good Video game

12/28/2008
By ,
Pensacola Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 11 year old really likes this game. The graphics are very good and he spent hours playing it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next