Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Braun Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Braun Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Get accurate measurements, every time, with the ThermoScan Ear Thermometer. Boasting a flexible, pre-warmed tip and a multi-function memory, this ear thermometer is more comfortable than traditional thermometers and more accurate, too.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(134 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%126 out of 134reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Does not take accurate temperature

03/09/2009
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product today as my 4 month old baby is sick and I don;t want to bother him and take his diaper off every time I take his temperature. What a difference in readings! Rectal temperature 100.3, and according to this ear thermometer, 98.0. I've also tested this on myself - underarm temperature 97.7, and ear temperature 96.4. Needless to say I am taking this back tomorrow
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Eau Claire, WI
Posted 12/13/2011
Rectal therms are ALWAYS the most accurate and will show a different degree than every other one which is why doctor's want you to take a child's temp rectally to begin with. If you look online there is a conversion chart that will suggest you add a degree or two depending the instrument you are using to get what it would be rectally.
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Not accurate

02/27/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The temperatures were not accurate enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
-17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Not accurate

04/14/2012
By ,
Redding, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a wonderful thermometer...at first. After having it for about six months though the temperatures ended up being way off. The temperatures were not just a little off either they would be multiple degrees off & every parent knows that each degree is the difference between keeping your child comfortable at home or making an emergency trip to the hospital. I found this out the hard way. My son had been feeling pretty warm after his evening bath so I took his temp. It read 98.8. (So 99.8 with the difference between mouth & ear temps.) A little high but nothing to worry about, I chalked it up to a warm bath. About an hour later he still felt warm to me so I took his temp again & it was still 98.8. (Again really 99.8) He looked like he was feeling sicker though so I decided to take his temp with another thermometer before deciding on giving him some medication or not. I took his temp orally this time & I was shocked to see that it was almost 104!! I took him to the hospital where they confirmed his temp was almost 104. In the weeks following this ordeal I tried the thermometer out on myself, my son, & my husband & it was consistently was off. It worked one day & didn't the next. I don't know what happened to make it so off either. We always kept it safely in a cabinet so it would get beat up, cleaned it, & used it properly. Needless to say, I would not buy this thermometer again or would I recommend it to a friend. I'm just glad I had a back up thermometer & didn't trust this one's inaccurate reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US
02/22/2013
By ,
NYS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this for a year. It worked perfectly. Now the last couple weeks the button you push to take the temperature sticks and then the it will not work. Off to the store to buy a new thermometer today and not buying this one. Our older ear thermometer lasted 8 years! This one last 1 year! Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
From ManufacturerTechSupport11/14/2013
I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!HoneywellSupportTechnician
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Not accurate on kids

03/12/2014
By ,
Houston, Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This thermometer works great on my husband and me because the tip fits in our ear canal. It is very unreliable on my kids though. I usually have to clean their ears first, then try to gently pull on their ears to open up the canal more and try not to stick it in too far. I can take their temps numerous time and get different readings every time. I don't trust the thermometer anymore because of it. I would recommend a temporal thermometer for children instead. It's less invasive, about the same price, and more accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
From ManufacturerTechSupport04/02/2014
We apologize for the inconvenience. Per the user manual, the upper portion of the ear should always be pulled back when using an ear thermometer to open the ear canal more. Each new reading should be taken with a new probe cover. If the same probe cover is used then the plastic can get oily/waxy and each subsequent reading would come out lower and inaccurate. If you have any issues our Customer Support team is open 8am to 5pm EST at 800-477-0457. Thanks!HoneywellSupportTechnician
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

broke after 8 months

10/22/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we bought this in february and now when i go to take off the lens covers they stick and wont come off also the cone keeps flashing saying that its dirty i clean everytime and put a new thing on like it says never dropped well taken care of but still wont work. they want me to send their defective product bakc and give me a new one well see i might just buy a new one of a different kind..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Disappointed by inconsistency w/reviews.

01/29/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've researched so many different thermometers for my 20mo old. Rectal temperatures are just not convenient or comfortable for all included anymore. I found this one to have the highest reviews and the best price. However, when we got it home and began to use it, I was confused. It's not at all living up to the standards set by all the raves about it. It's averaging about two full degrees lower than the rectal temperature on my son and even low on my husband and self as controls. As one reviewer said, maybe we're just not getting it far enough into my son's ear to get an accurate reading, but he screams and thrashes more trying to get it into his ear than he does taking his rectal temperature that I'm not sure it was even worth the $40 we threw at it. I feel that maybe the canal mechanism is simply too large for his small ears and causes him pain. Maybe we should have tried investing in an "infant" sized ear thermometer first??
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

so far so good

05/12/2008
By ,
elkton md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it seems to be pretty accurate. i always compare my temp with my sons to check the accuracy of the thermometer. it is better than others i have bought so i cant complain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Easy to use

09/06/2008
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its so much easier to use my daughter will sit there an let me take her temp. without and problems. she loves to be able to hold it in her hands herself.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Convenient

01/20/2009
By ,
Myrtle Beach, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I only use the ear thermometer (on my 2-yr-old) when taking a rectal temp is not convenient. It's not all that accurate. I found that there is a 1 degree diffrence between this thermometer and the rectal. Keep in mind that this is not intended to be used with tiny babies...you won't get an accurate temp at all.
My son does like it though. When he sees me approach him with it he tilts his head for me wich is really cute. It's very durabil...my darling son has thrown it onto our hardwood floor several times and it still works great!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pa
temperature difference
Posted 11/27/2012
It is typical to have a one degree difference between a rectal temperature and another one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US
01/22/2009
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plus side: Takes a super-quick temp. reading. Uses disposable plastic tips to nix swapping gross ear wax. Automatic shut-off.
Down side: You're supposed to take temps of non-ill people to get a base reading first (I purchased this because I didn't have a thermometer to take my husband's temp while he was ill, so we couldn't get his base reading first.) The plastic tips can get expensive, and it won't work without one on there. However, there's a red button that is depressed when the plastic tip is on, and you can hold it down so it can be used without the tip if you're all out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US
02/09/2009
By ,
Paradise a misnomer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Found this brand at the Pediatrician's office so I know it's good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

ear temp

05/05/2009
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like it. just upset i couldnt use on baby when she was first born. easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Quick reading, great product

05/09/2009
By ,
Framingham, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am sure I am not the first parent who has had to try and keep a struggling child steady while waiting 2+ long minutes for the thermometer to register a reading. In this regard, the Braun ThermoScan is ideal. It takes an accurate ear reading in just a few seconds! The probe also does not feel cold to the touch, so my child actually seems to like having her temperature taken. The only drawback so far is that the LCD panel is not back-lit. It is impossible to see the reading in the semi-darkness, and one has to go to a light source to check the measurement. Otherwise, a great product, and Walmart beats everybody else on price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Very basic, but accurate.

11/07/2010
By ,
Butler, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very accurate thermometer. I love that, but there are a few features that I have had in previous ones that I wish this had. It does not have a backlit screen, which means that you cannot read a temperature in the dark, and it does not have a fever alarm which alerts you if the temperature is elevated.
Overall I think it is a great product, and much more accurate then the cheaper ear thermometer that I had before this one. I use this on my 2 year old son, as well as myself. It is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Great thermometer

11/29/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I love best about this product is the fact that there is a visual indicator of the thermometer's readiness for use, as well as for when the temperature is taken. My husband is hard of hearing, and he would be unable to use this without those features because he cannot hear the beeps.
And my kids love it. They like to play a game for which ear we're going to use for their temperature.
I just wish the plastic sheaths that cover the tip were more reasonably priced. With two children (one of whom spikes high fevers when sick), it feels like I am constantly needing to buy more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
Better alternative other than sheaths
Posted 09/19/2012
It is more economical to purchase isopropyl alcohol in a bottle and cotton balls (or conveniently, isopropyl alcohol wipes) as it is a disinfectant. Hope this helps. (Also, Hydrogen Peroxide is an antibacterial agent and can be alternatively used.)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

Wonderful product..

01/02/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this on my children when they were young and now I've purchased for my nieces who are having babies...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US
03/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it works well
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

easy to use thermometer.

06/25/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great thermometer, easy to read, quick scan of temp, and looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Braun Ear Thermometer IRT4520US

RELIABLE & CONVENIENT WHEN YOU NEED IT!

07/10/2012
By ,
Newport News, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent thermometer! Pricey though! Some may think it's "overkill", but when you think of all the $$$$ put towards those $8-10 ones - only for the battery to say 'Lo' after the 3 usage or so -, then the replacement batteries (the flat watch ones that are VERY Hard to find) are $$$ too. In 2-3 battery replacements, this Braun will have paid for itself! A MUCH MORE RELIABLE INVESTMENT!... in my case for my elderly Mom (and or a small child). When the last thing someone wants to be doing is Guessing at a fever. For my needs - and in most cases - RELIABILITY AND CONVENIENCE IS WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY SPENT ON THIS!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next