Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Panasonic Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

This Panasonic Microwave Oven, 2.2-cu. ft. features a stainless steel front on and allows you to quickly defrost and cook items. The Stainless Steel Microwave Oven also has 1-touch sensor cooking with 16 categories and a 1-touch sensor reheat for added convenience. Additional benefits of this 1250-Watt Panasonic Oven include a keep warm setting, popcorn setting and quick minute setting. Your 2.2-cu. ft. Panasonic Microwave Oven is small enough to fit nicely into your kitchen and blend with your decor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.012 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(343 Reviews) 285
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
206
4 stars
55
3 stars
14
2 stars
16
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation78%267 out of 342reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 283 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
206
4 stars
55
3 stars
14
2 stars
16
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Great Product

12/03/2012
By ,
Gulfport, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the space inside. I can defrost a rack of ribs in this microwave. I like the features on the front panel. I use the defrost feature daily. I also like the durability of Panasonic products. They have the best warranty of all name-brand microwave ovens. The design is sleek and will go with any kitchen.
jbfromms
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

The microwave that thought it could...

05/16/2011
By ,
Bristol, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
With a family of six that doesn't order out we needed a large microwave... This microwave worked pretty good for six months... Then one afternoon I put in some burritos and hit start and within 30 seconds it shuts off and spits an error code on the LED of H98... After researching this on the net I find that due to an inefficient inverter design it is common for this to fail and make the magneto fail as well... So after a whopping six months of regular proper use, all the later model Panasonic with inverter technology have this flaw, it died... To replace the parts is out of the question since it would cost more then the $160 or so I spent on it... So please look elsewhere as the Panasonic may be value priced... The value of having a working microwave for 6months is lost on me The quality of the components that make up this unit is severely lacking... It even says so in the Panasonic repair training manual I found on the internet... I wouldn't recommend a Panasonic brand to my worst enemy now... If you have one, listen for arcing or popping noises coming from the back... It's a sign that you will be replacing it soon... Going back to Sharp brand now... May be more expensive but it is actually better quality and worth the extra money...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CO Springs
Nonsense
Posted 09/14/2014
1 year warranty.
0points
Customer Avatar
Illinois
Warranty
Posted 06/02/2011
Doesn't this microwave come with a 1 year parts and labor and 5 years on the magnetron tube warranty? Wouldn't They cover it?
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Perfect Size

09/23/2014
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am more than thrilled with this purchase. It is a chic addition to the kitchen, stainless steel and glass. The 2.2 cu. ft. provides enough space to prepare a full meal for family and the 1250-watt makes it quick.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Broken beyond repair in less than a year

03/10/2013
By ,
Marietta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this microwave because it of it's size, the wattage, and because it tied into the looks of my remodeled kitchen (stainless/black). I cannot emphasize enough how poor the quality is of this product. With regular use, the opening / closing latch quit functioning in less than a year. My husband is a very handy guy and opened it up and repaired the latch several times, it was bent on the inside due to it being held in place by one screw and very thin metal. Eventually, he bought a replacement part and installed it. It also bent.
This may not seem like a bad issue but keep in mind that when the microwave fails to shut (due to the bent latch on the inside) the oven will not start. Not only that, but when the latch fails to shut properly, the interior oven light stays on. This bugs me as I am a person who regularly turns out the lights when I leave a room. To see this microwave on for days at a time (not to mention nonfunctional) kills me. I go by and open and slam it shut to see if I can get it to shut, this method works every few days, then someone uses it again and the latch won't engage again.
We have resorted to using a dorm room microwave (800 watts) that barely fits a plate of food, that is over 12 years old, which sits beneath this microwave. I have to admit, the cheapo dorm microwave is as reliable as they come, much better than this Panasonic.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Stopped latching closed after 1 year of use

07/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The microwave works great—if we can get the door to latch properly. One of the other owners pointed me toward the problem: The catch mechanism on the inside of the microwave is screwed onto a very, very thin sheet of steel with no proper reinforcement or bracing. Over time, this sheet metal bends toward the right side of the unit, and eventually the door will fail to latch. When the door does not latch properly, the microwave will not operate—that part is a safety feature.
With a set of special security bits, I was able to remove the stainless steel cover and verify that the only thing wrong with my unit was the bent sheet metal. It is easy enough to remove the interior catching mechanism (it is attached with 2 screws) and bend the sheet metal back into place. All of this goes to show how poorly the latch system was engineered.
Bending the sheet mental back into place gets the latch back into working order, but it won't keep this from happening again in a few months.
My advice: DO NOT BUY THIS MICROWAVE, OR ANY MODEL LIKE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
The permanent fix
Posted 07/28/2014
I didn't simply bend the sheet metal back into place and close the unit up—that would not have prevented the problem from coming back.
I scored the front fact of the catching mechanism with a hobby knife and smeared PC-7 repair epoxy top to bottom, making certain none covered the channels the two latching arms travel through. With the catching mechanism back in place, the epoxy will permanently fasten the catching mechanism to the front wall of the unit. I seriously doubt it will ever move out of place again, but if it does, I'll buy another brand of microwave.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

This one is a winner!

09/25/2014
By ,
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After many years of microwaves, this one is by far the best. I did lots of research and found this one has lots of great features that make cooking easier, spacious interior, the door opens easily with little noise, exterior has a sleek look, the inverter technology is the way to go, it does cook much more evenly than others. User manual is easy to understand with lots of great suggestions. The button pad is much easier to understand. I like the defrost option which is no longer a big mystery to me. Also, the senor heat option pretty much makes it so you never over cook your food which you then throw out. There are 2 sizes for this microwave, we chose the larger 2.2 and find it just right. Also the inverter technology makes this unit lighter in weight than the others. Just pick it up in the store and compare it to other units. There is a big difference. The price is very competitive. comes with one year warranty.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Absolute Garbage

09/07/2014
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this microwave less than a year ago when our 7 year old Sharp died. I like the inverter technology and we were very happy with it. About 8 months after purchase, we started having problems with the door not closing properly. When you tried to close it, it wouldn't push the start button out so you couldn't start it. You would have to slam it to make it work. Once I searched the problem on line, I discovered that it is a huge problem with Panasonic microwaves and there are comments about it all over the internet. If you call their support line, they specifically ask you if it is a door opening and closing issue while still on the automated system so they are aware that it is a huge issue. Their answer for addressing it, find a box and pay to ship this huge microwave back to us. So, after purchasing a microwave that is still under the initial warranty, you want me to spend another $30-$40 to ship it back to you? Their answer was yes, that the warranty only covers carry in repairs so I have to pay 30-40% of the purchase cost in shipping for them to fix it. That is ridiculous. Panasonic knows that they have a problem and Panasonic expects the customer to bear most of the cost of the repair. Lesson learned: Always look at repair sites and buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Excellent microwave - fast and effective

06/30/2011
By ,
Flat Rock, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this microwave in the Taylor, Michigan, Walmart as an upgrade to a 600 watt "mini" microwave. This is the largest microwave I have owned. I found it to be very efficient. I recently cooked bacon for breakfast. I took a rock hard package of bacon out of my deep freezer. I pressed the turbo defrost button and entered the weight of the bacon package. Within four minutes the bacon was properly defrosted without any cooked edges or anything. I placed six thawed slices on a microwave bacon tray and it was fully cooked in four minutes. My old microwave would have taken forever.
I reheated a large plastic dish full of burrito filling. I was about 3-4 cups worth of filling (beans, sauce, meat, etc. I used the sensor reheat. When I pulled the dish out the food was heated very evenly and I did not encounter any cold spots.
So far, I am very impressed with the microwave. It runs well and seems to cook everything without cold spots. The defrost feature is great because I don't get any dry or cooked spots.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Size Counts Don't settle 4 SMALLER Microwave Oven

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this particular microwave soooo much that when my first one died after 8 years service I rushed to replace it with this identical model. My first microwave oven was an AMANA RR1j purchased in 1974. IT had a HUGE cavity / oven space as back then manufacturers all TRIED to sell us all on being able to cook a 16 pound TURKEY in the microwave. HORRIBLE idea, but it spoiled me for ever owning a tiny or even half-tiny microwave oven. Love the way this one does such a FINE job of thawing frozen foods and the way it has SEVERAL pre-programmed settings for specific foods,.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Panasonic Panic

02/04/2010
By ,
Locust Grove, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am like several of the reviewers. I bought my Panasonic Microwave in the summer of 2007. One year hadn't even gone by when it just stopped working. I took it to get it fixed and it seemed fine. Well, quess what? It is once again broken. It will go for 2 seconds and just stop. I am rather frustrated because now I have to get another microwave. What really bothers me is that I had a Panasonic microwave before this one and it lasted for about 15 years. I don't know about anyone else, but with the economy like it is I can't afford to go and buy a new one every year or two. I feel that we shouldn't have to. Previously I owned Panasonic because has always been a good product. I don't recommend this model to anyone and I won't buy it again either. I will still get Panasonic products, just not this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Improved use

10/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave is such a huge improvement from the tiny one we had that took 5 minutes to reheat a meal. This one does it in less than a minute and heats evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

More Cheap "Goods"...More Goods "Cheap"

03/20/2010
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The unit worked OK for about three years, but the same fate as other users. I'm an electronics tech
and finally got around to pulling the cover to see if
I could diagnose the fault. The oven was doing the same thing others described on this blog, ran briefly
and shuts off. Turns out the HV inverter or, the high voltage power supply is arcing, smoking and failed.
Panasonic's website shows the replacement board
is about $85. Tried eBay for the part and as good as eBay often is for used or refurb'ed repair parts, knew that to be a really long shot... no luck there.
My advice: this unit has a defective or marginal P/S board design and is waiting for a good opportunity to die. So, don't waste your money on this model.
Open the pod bay doors HAL... I can't do that Dave.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

DID NOT LAST LONG!!

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loved it when it worked but didn't last more than 6 months. Every time you opened the door it blew socket fuse.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Very Disappointed

08/15/2014
By ,
Garfield, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two of these. The first one just quit working. So off I go to Walmart again and this was the only one as large as I wanted that was Stainless Steel. I have had this about two years and now it has gotten where when you close the door it will not operate or the light wont go off. If you giggle the door light goes out and it will start counting but not cooking. I will never buy this brand again!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

BE WARNED - died after 16 months

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just like most poor ratings, just died. Now when you hit start the light turns on for 3 seconds, no other power and then just shuts off. I am glad I purchased the 2 year protective plan for $15.00, so will be getting my $139.00 + tax back. Will not purchase another one of these do to all the other same poor reviews. I'm guessing the good reviews are people that just got them and it is just a matter of time till their's dies. All these manufactures make JUNK now, nothing works like it use to 20 years ago. JUNK, JUNK, JUNK
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Big Microwave-Big price

01/28/2009
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this product about 1 year ago. Our old one had bitten the dust and we were in the market for a new one that was of similar size. This was the only model of the size we were looking for at out local Walmart so we ended up purchasing it because of that fact alone.
We haven't been disappointed with it yet.
The only problem we really have is the button to open the door is sticking from being poked so many times.
Somethings to keep in mind before purchasing this item.
1. This guy has 1250 watts inside so watch what your cooking and make sure you adjust your recipes accordingly. Most microwave recipes are based on 990 watts.
2. Most popcorn cooks in under 3 minutes. Try 2 minutes and 30 seconds for this microwave. If my 4 year old can make it without burning it than anyone can. She uses the button and waits to hear the popping slow down.
3.The front is going to acquire fingerprints no matter how much you try to keep it clean if you have a multiple users.
4. The turbo defrost might actually cook your food if it's not frozen flat but this is something that I see with a lot of microwaves.
5. When you use the sensor reheat make use to stir it at some point other wise it will be steaming hot on the edges but the middle will be ice cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+159points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

I love this microwave!

10/09/2014
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had some bad luck with microwaves so I hope I'm not reviewing this too early. I've only had it for two weeks but so far it is great. Frozen vegetables taste like they are fresh, not frozen. Meats that are defrosted do not have the brown edges I'm used to with my other microwaves. I love the quick minute feature. Haven't had any issues with the door as other reviewers had noted. Only complaint is the trim kit is more expensive than the microwave itself. However, it is well made and came with everything you need to mount in a cabinet including a small duct to blow air out the front. Recommend this microwave as well as the Inverter technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Great microwave even if it's your first.

10/18/2014
By ,
Moundsville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used the microwave I purchased recently but I am using one exactly like it that I purchased a while ago. I purchase this latest one as a back up in case something happens to the one I am currently using. I am well pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

i am loving this microwave!

01/25/2011
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our experiences with microwaves are this...we had the first one for over 25 years, and the only reason we replaced it was for a broken glass cover that fit across the inside bottom. A year ago we bought a new one, but found it didn't cook things evenly and always burned the popcorn! In just over a year it broke...just quit working. After research we found this microwave. I was looking at another Panasonic, but was in Walmart and saw this one with similiar style. I researched peoples comments about it and found it was favorable. We purchased online and had it delivered to our home (no shipping charges and the price was about $30 less than in store). It is very large, quite roomy...inside and out... and you need to make sure you have the space for it. We had the perfect spot for it and have been extremely happy with it. It is very easy to read the controls on front, cooks evenly, and makes perfect popcorn!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic 2.2-Cu. Ft. 1250-Watt Microwave Oven, Stainless

Great buy!

12/01/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this after our previous microwave stopped working. Fixing it was going to be close to $100, so we just opted to buy a new one. Our previous was also a panasonic, which was the best I had owned, so wanted to go back with panasonic. After buying it, I got the consumer reports best buys book in the mail...checked it and sure enough, this exact microwave is ranked #2, and a cr best buy. Sure felt good to see that!!
My favorite features of this microwave are the inverter defrost and sensor cook.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+246points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marietta, GA
Reviewer has not owned this microwave for long
Posted 03/10/2013
This review states she only owned the product for a short time yet has great reviews of it. The people who have given negative reviews have owned it for a longer period of time and have had massive problems, with quite a few reporting that it breaks in less than 2 years. I would weigh the reviewer who have owned this product longer much higher and am a little disappointed in seeing this review at the the top. Obviously, if someone really wanted this product, they would use this review to justify their purchase, but if you really want to see how this product functions, read the reviewers who have owned this microwave longer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 286 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next