Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

The Philips Home Theater Audio System has a DVD player and iPod dock that lets you access your media in one convenient spot. Plus, the Philips Home Theater Audio System has a progressive-scan DVD player that upconverts discs to 1080p resolution on HDTVs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(315 Reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
189
4 stars
86
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation90%283 out of 315reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
189
4 stars
86
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Very good, but be prepared to buy cables/adapters

01/18/2009
By ,
SoIL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, this is an excellent system for the price. The only major issues I've encountered involved properly hooking the system up to my cable box and xbox 360, due to a lack of hdmi in and toslink (optical audio) in connections on the home theater unit.
After figuring out exactly what cables and adapters I needed for 5.1 surround sound, though, the system works great. It has excellent sound quality for the price, and does a good job of replicating theater sound. It sounds great while playing Xbox games now that I got an optical to coaxial adapter. Also, the DVD player is excellent, with the upconverter doing an impressive job of approximating true HD quality.
A couple nitpicks:
The rear speaker wires could be longer, and the Ipod dock doesn't work with 1st generation Ipods.
Although I wish it had more digital input connections, I would definitely recommend this system to anyone who is on a budget yet wants true surround sound. You will have to buy additional cables and/or adapters in order to get the most out of this system, so be prepared for that, but I feel that the extra cost is worth it to get excellent sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Love It

12/14/2008
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read reviews for several systems in this price range. Decided on this one as the speakers were smaller than some, price was great and reviews were very good. Spent a couple hours setting it all up--hdmi out of dvd to 37" lcd tv, audio out from tv to dvd audio input, plug in all speakers (did cut and lengthen rear speaker cords, no big deal and took 10 extra minutes) and power it up. WoW! We had no idea of what we had been missing!@! Sound is wonderful--clear, crisp, and loud enough for us! I wasn't really expecting my dvds to look any different but boy was I wrong. Our lcd tv is 720p but we had been using a cheapy $20 dvd player. The first movie we put in was "CARS" and I couldn't believe how much more clear/crisp the picture was compared to the cheapy dvd player (which looked quite nice actually). The bass unit really adds to anything you watch/listen to as well. If this unit holds up over time it will be some of the best entertainment $ we have spent in a long time. Which reminds me, we did opt for the 2yr extended warratany deal for $20 more. If you don't need the latest, greatest, most expensive and sophisticated, etc.--this unit is for YOU!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

It Rock's The House Down!!!

02/22/2009
By ,
Albany New york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm Very Pleased With this Product.They also have a great website to work with.Don't forget to go to the site & Download any Firmware update's,unzip it & Copy it to a small jump drive. This with give you added Function's- support Compatibilites.Getting to the sound quality, For the money spent It's second to none, When I crank It up,Our 6yr old Plugs here ear's & Run's the other way.I watched 3 DVD movies yesterday>ereaser/need for speed/Matrix..I Couldn't believe the difference a quality theater unit Makes!!I'm Getting ready to Buy the phillip's 47" Lcd For Parties etc. I Wanted to get the surround sound equipment situated before I Get My New T.V. So I just a an (HDMI) Cable to hook up I'm Putting this equipment on a Belkin 1,500 U.P.S. System with A.v.r >c.a.t.v. filtration etc to protect my investment's From any Voltage spike Nimo like 's to give people..Get the extented warranty to & Register..Enjoy:) Go Phillip's all the way ,you can't go wrong, just read the box & Website first B-4 Buying so you don't have any disapointments along the way People...BY Next week WE won't be going to anymore Movie Theater's ,save the money there Get on of these Babies & you all set!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Wow!

04/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first home theatre system, and I couldn't be more pleased. I have a fairly small living room (16x12), and live in an apartment, so I haven't turned the volume past 10, and even then it's almost too much! The picture from the dvd player is crisp and clear, and the sound from this unit is amazing... I can feel the base from the subwoofer rumbling through the floor and couch! The setup is very easy because everything is color coded. The wires for the rear speaker were a little too short, even in my small living room, but from what I've read, that can easily be fixed by splicing the wires. The unit also has some nice features, like FM radio tuner, Ipod docking, multiple sound settings and a sleep timer!
I am concerned about the main unit continuing to function. I've read reviews that stated the main unit quit working after a year or so. Since the speakers connect using a jack system, they would be absolutely useless with another unit if the Phillips unit stops functioning. I'm hoping I won't have that problem.
Right now, I can say that I would absolutely recommend this unit to anyone looking for a system with great sound and picture quality, at a price that won't break their wallet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

What a deal.

03/31/2009
By ,
Middle Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since the reviews on here helped me make my decision, I decided to write one myself! First off let me say I have owned several home theatre systems over the years and for the price this one is incredible. It sounds great! Like other people said on here, the rear speaker wires are too short and I had to add on to them, no problem for an average do-it-yourselfer. Easy to install, color coded, etc. One thing I didn't notice anyone else saying was that this reciever is upgradable. I think that is cool as all get out. You can go on the net and download updates as they are put out by Philips. Haven't tried the DVD player for upconverting yet, been using it for sound only until I get a new tv. Love the IPOD dock, that is really handy. Buy this item, you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37
06/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is a good product i like it but the only thing i dont like that when i biught it says that it has a AM tuner too but no.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 27 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Excellent for the money

02/16/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched systems for over 2 weeks before making the choice to buy this system.Hookup was straight forward out of box and the rear speaker wire was long enough to reach the back of my front room,a good 15 to 20 feet was plenty out of box.Sound is very loud and I like the night setting for when its too late and you dont want the neighbors upset,it reduces the bass effects.
Dolby digital is great but for some reason I only get that setting when watching the DVD's,for cable TV its set on Dolby Pro Logic II.Not a problem it all still sounds excellent.The speakers are very loud for the size.Contrary to what some have said you in fact can change speaker volume and delay from within the DVD menu so set it from there and your good.You cant go wrong with this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Horrible

01/29/2009
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for xmas as a gift for ourselves. From day 1 we had a Lip-sync problem. The delay was so bad and was unfixable with the remote control "audio sync" function. I spoke to phillips CS numerous times in which they BS'd me by telling me to try all sorts of things including, but not limited to: Downloading new firmware and changing some wireing. Also, besides this lip-sync error, there was a random sound breakup (where a loud scratching noise was emitted through the speakers instead of the usual TV sound) and times where the sound would kick off altogether. We eventually returned this and bought a samsung for a similar price...everything is well now. If you feeling like trying your hand at the PHILIPS HOME THEATRE LOTTERY, go right ahead.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Good Basic Unit for the Price

06/18/2009
By ,
Denver area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good basic unit which is better than average at that price range. Works well and has the feature which will allow you to play your standard DVD's into an HD TV at it's near highest resolution.
Seems to have most of the adjustments that you would need for standard situations. I also set it up to play the audio for my satellite TV programs through it as well. Looks good with a low profile and black finish.
Speakers are what you would expect - cheap and not very good if you like great audio but they are mostly OK for the price.
IMPORTANT (MAYBE): Despite the information on the Walmart website to the contrary, this DOES NOT HAVE an AM radio tuner. It is FM only. If this is important to you, look at an alternate unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 30 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Great product when it works !

03/28/2009
By ,
tallahasee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well i have had my system for about a month now, last week it started freezing and making weird nosies . thought it might have been the dvd's i had . i do play them alot , went out bought the new james bond movie and it wouldn't play! this is a great product when it works or if you want to return it every few weeks for a new one . i thought it might have been just one that someone dropped or something but im on my second now and it will not even play out of the box ! so buyer beware on this product . i have read some reviews most seem to like it but a few have had my problems so back in the box it goes to wal-mart . my advice to anyone buying this is ..... SAVE YOUR RECIPET AND PURCHACE THE TWO YEAR SERVICE PLAN !
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Ok system with some quirks

02/09/2009
By ,
Tacoma, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You won't be able to find a better 1000 watt surround system for less than $200, I bought this system to replace my old one. The Philips Divx capability is nice for those who download movies. I have two main concerns though, I like to get better sound quality by upgrading the speaker wires to 14 gauge (the speaker wires are razor thin). The speaker DVD connection and speaker connection makes this task very difficult to upgrade but if you don't want to upgrade wires than this will work for you. The subwoofer does not have it's own independant power outlet making it very weak. This system is for my bedroom so it works but I would not recommend it to be your main theater system because of the issues mentioned above.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 32 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Perfect. WOrks with everything I got.

12/26/2008
By ,
Downey, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this system for CHristmas and I hooked it up in about 15 mins. It has colored plugs that just plug into the back blue into the blue slot. REALLY simple. I read other reviews claiming that they could'nt hook up their Xbox. My Xbox basic cables plugged into 1 of the 2 Audio in's in the back pretty easy..and my direct t.v audio basic cables ( Red and White) plugged into the the 2nd audio in space. Pretty simple if you ask me. Than I hooked my HDMI cable from the system to my LCD. They all sound great and I love playin COD4 even more now..Guns going off all around me. Lastly the upconverting Dvd is amazing. I through in Horton and was blown away with the picture. Direct t,v sounds great too..Great system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Late Christmas Gift

02/19/2009
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a new surround sound system for over a month and been comparing with different brands and stores. I've read all the customer reviews on this one and they all have been very helpful. (I prefer customer reviews than professional reviews) Based on the reviews, I was hooked from the majority of the customer satisfaction. My brother-in-law has a $1,000. surround system and I get much better theatrical sound with this one and a lot cheaper too. When I first set it up and played a movie, my family and I were shocked with the awesome sounds that came from all the speakers. I've already been telling everyone I know about the Philips home theater system and have been very satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Two bad units in a row?

06/17/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this system 1-1/2 years ago. Then after a few months is stopped turning on. I took it back to Wal-Mart and they replaced it. That unit worked fine for about 6 months. Then it started freezing during movies. Freezes more on older disc, but even does it on new ones. It freezes so much that DVDs are not worth watching. Sometimes the LCD display will say "ROOT" and it never starts the DVD at all. Now I tried to use the AUX1 to input audio from my cable box so I can at least use the speakers and that won't work. What are the odds of getting two duds in a row? I guess its time to trash it and get a Sony or something else with a better rep becasue it was awesome, but only for a few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 35 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

not impressed

02/20/2009
By ,
Chillicothe,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this sytem in Sept '08..didin't even hook it up until Oct....by the beginning of Jan the dvd player no longer worked. Called Philips they sent a refurbished model(kinda a raw deal mine was only 4 mos old & get sent a used one) That model didn't work either. Just got another one today..refurbished also...were told this is their policy nothig new. refurbished only..funny a friend of mine had one that the extended warranty was about ready to run out & they sent her a new one. We bought an extended warranty that we will end up losing time on because of all the hassle with the units that don't work. Will never buy another Philips product again...this has been nothing but a hassle
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 36 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Well worth the money

05/28/2009
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this the other day when I finally got tired of trying to play DVD's through my computer, and it by far exceeded my expectations. This DVD-player plays everything! I'm European to begin with, and needed something that would play my old movies with the European region code, and making this player region-free is a breeze.
The USB-port rocks; I've connected my MSD to it, and it even shows movies via USB without lagging!
The sound isn't the best, but it's sufficient. It's after all an entire system for under $200, and one can't compare that to a system for $2000! Also, what sound you'll get out of a system - any system - depends on the room you put it in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Great product for the price.

05/24/2009
By ,
Pearcy, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is and excellent product for the price. This unit is VERY easy to install all components have colored plugs just match the colors in the back of the main unit and plug and play. The cords on the speakers are not very long you get two speakers with about 25' cords and the other two are about 12'. I ran mine in the walls and across the attic you will have to splice to accomplich this because the plug on the speakers are specific to the unit. The sound is impressive for the price it will not wake up your neighbors, but will fill the room with quality sound. All in all I would recommend this product if you want quality sound on a small budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Worth every penny

04/22/2009
By ,
Olive Branch,MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this on Monday and can't stop watching old movie with alot of action in because the GREAT sound quality. This home theater system gives you everything from sounds in movies you may never heard before. My wife can't stop play the wii even more now that i added more sound to our Vizio HDTV. If you are looking for a great system to add to you HD, get this one. And don't forget to get a HDMI cable so you can look at your movies in HD with the DVD player, GREAT HD PICTURE. And also, if you have an Ipod, you can use the remote to control your Ipod with the Ipod docking station or you can plug any MP3 to it. Great Product worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37

Great Value

02/02/2009
By ,
Tallahassee, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Positive Comments:
a) My TV and DVDs sound great with this product.
b) Easy to setup.
c)Great price $178 on Wal-Mart.com vs. $269.99 on Amazon.
d) Ship-to-store much quicker than promised.
Negative Comments:
a) Remote control battery compartment lid broken on arrival. Looks tacky already with the duct tape solution.
b) Some will complain that cable are too short and due to proprietary connectors, difficult to extend.
c) Digital sound input is coaxial, not optical. Optical is more common these days. Both my TV and cable box have optical digital outputs, not coaxial. Had to buy a converter and optical cable for digital sound connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Philips Home Theater Audio System w/ Upconverting DVD Player & iPod Dock, HTS3565D/37
05/15/2008
By ,
Charleston, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
if your just wanting to watch a DVD with a clear picture with great sound, than this is it. While watching tv channels the system seemed to cut out while watching non HD channels which became very annoying when watching your favorite show. It was returned
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 278 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next