Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Step2 Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

The Step2 Lift and Hide Bookcase Storage Chest would make a really nice addition to your kid's room. It is bound to be a hit with the youngsters with its shape and color. This kids' storage chest provides ample space not just for toys but books and other decorative items as well. The top most part of this bookcase storage chest has a rack where toys can be arranged. Below that is a shelf where books up to 10" in height can be aligned vertically. Below the bookshelf is a kids' storage chest where plenty of toys can be dumped, removing clutter from your child's room. This storage chest comes with an attached lid that will keep the toys and items neatly stored inside. The best part of this toy storage chest is the fact that it is completely safe for kids to handle. There are no sharp edges and no heavy lids that can hurt tiny fingers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(329 Reviews) 306
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
52
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation98%320 out of 326reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
52
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

It's Perfect!

02/24/2011
By ,
Gaffney, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was alot bigger then i thought & tons of space to put toys in the chest! I would recommend this product to everyone! It's wonderful, super easy to put together! Would definately buy it again if needed!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

great Toy chest

01/17/2013
By ,
Brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A cinch to put together, even with the little one underfoot. Ten minutes and two screws later it was ready. I emptied her entire old bin of toys into it, filled the book shelf, and was still looking around for things to put in it. It didn't take up nearly as much space as I was afraid it would, considering how much it holds. There isn't a corner or sharp edge anywhere on this bin which makes me feel safer. This storage chest is unbelievably sturdy- my almost 40 pound toddler climbs all over it and it doesn't budge. It really tidied up my living room and looks cute. I am really happy with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great buy!

03/10/2014
By ,
Cal City, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this chest! I was very excited after reading the reviews and was pleased with the amount of space it has. Only took about 2 minutes to put together. Great buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great toy chest

01/12/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the online reviews before buying this product and was sure we were purchasing the right one. This product exceeded our expectations as far as durability and space, stores a TON of my 2 year olds toys. We were looking around the house for more toys to put in here. One thing product is HUGE would recommend having it shipped to your house especially if you do not own an SUV. Ended up having to take it out of the box in the Walmart Parking lot to fit the 2 pieces in the car. Would buy again and recommend to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Love it

01/13/2014
By ,
Rome, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toy box!!!we had Lots of extra room after all the toys were put away. Very easy to put together! Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Adorable and big

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year old, took less than a minute to put together. Very sturdy and hold a lot of toys!!! A little pricey but I Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Best Toy Box EVER!!

12/26/2013
By ,
Norwich, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this box, very big & all of her toys fit perfectly in this box. The pink color goes with her room Decor.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great toy chest

01/02/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 20 month old son spent the first few days playing in the toy chest himself. We were finally able to start using this for its purpose and could not be happier. The chest holds a good amount of toys and the attachted book shelf is very useful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great Quality & Price (Very Easy Assembly)

10/24/2012
By ,
Hville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion I feel that its important when you have children that you purchase safety first then quality. I feel I purchased both with this product. First safety, A relief to know that the door can stay up and also that the door if it came down isn't heavy . The door stays up in place so no worries for it close down on child. Safety feature with this toybox is that the door to storage box is light enough ia toddler could push open if they fall into box. Quaity, it is durable, tough, and will stand up to children banging on it. Very good product both safety and quality. YES..I would recommend this product for price and durability. No screws really needed because it stays in place (Came with screws for extra precaution) Not really needed. It slides and locks together when you assemble it (Assembly Very Easy). I will have this product for many years to come aproximently 10 years and pass it on to another for many more years of use. Theres your quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Absolutely love this

07/22/2010
By ,
Salem, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bookcase with the pink lid for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. She absolutely loves it. She's been learning to clean up her own toys and today when we received this she had a ball putting her toys in it. We just had her toys in a bin with a lid but this is so much better for her. Now she can open her toybox without us and has her books within easy reach. She can't quite reach the top of it (which is good cause i can put her puzzles up there so she doesn't lose more pieces). I recommend using the optional drill to put it together as going through plastic with a screwdriver isn't easy. Overall I would say this is perfect. Put together in two minutes. LOTS OF ROOM FOR TOYS AND BOOKS. The best thing I ever bought my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

great storage

09/30/2009
By ,
Highland Mills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. It holds more toys then I expected and I love the lid it stays in place so my 15 month old son won't get hurt, and he can lift it himself when he wants.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

The lid does not fit the bookcase/storage chest

01/12/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Step2 Lift and Hide Bookcase Storage Chest for my grandson and it is adorable and roomy. The idea of having space for books and toys in the same piece of furniture is great. However, the lid does not fit properly. It takes great strength from an adult to push the lid in the upright position or to push it to the closed position The lid leaves large red marks on the bookcase when we try to open or close it.
I contacted the Step2 Company by email and when they first responded, they told me to put Armor All on the child's storage chest. After I requested further assistance, they promptly sent another lid. Unfortunately the new lid also does not open or close without a level of force impossible for a small child. Either I was unlucky to get two defective lids or the problem may be in the bookcase portion of the item. Either way, this item is being returned which is a shame because as I said, the storage chest is adorable and roomy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Excellent toybox with lots of storage

12/23/2009
By ,
Murray, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 18 month old son and were amazed that it held all of his toys and books and we still have room for more as his collection grows. It holds much more than you would think. Also very sturdy as my son climbs on it and doesn't tip or move. He loves it and we do too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

this bin is amazing!

09/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched wooden toy chests, plastic ones, and ultimately decided on this one because it stores books on top as well as having a Huge bin for storing toys.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Mom AND kid friendly

12/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this for my 6 year old son for Christmas. My 14 & 16 year old assembled it! One side is dented in a little at the bottom, I assume from packaging. I am hoping it will eventually pop back out. I do wish it was a little taller. It seems sturdy & I am hoping it will survive my extremely active & sometimes destructive 6 year old. Overall it is a fairly decent buy, I do, however, believe it is overpriced. After un-boxing, I would say that the price should be more along the lines of $55.00-$65.00.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Gr8, Huge

02/11/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So happy! Put 4 huge diaper boxes and a large milk crate worth of toys, oh plus two large shelves worth, all inside this thing. Giant lady bug, 2 guitars, two foot tall sorter game, two sorter baskets, character pop outs, pull toys, back packs, beach toys, weeble toy, basket of large wood bocks, basket of large plastic blocks, e-i-e-i-o toy, crayon chaser, cat chaser, and on and on and on and on and on... But I don't think books stand well on it, she's has her own magazine rack since birth and it's full so I layed puzzles etc on the shelf. They over hang, but it works. I also put up a couple baskets with those little odds and ends and it's great. Lightweight stuff so my 16-17 month old can pull it down, on top of her head, and be fine. Really big, so happy. Pink lid is great, slides great, put together in 2 minutes or less. Kept reviewing specs on others, especially those softsided ones and couldn't understand how they could hold much, in pics just one stuffed animal or some crayons would fill bins. No thanks, so happy to get this. Got it for $25 off as well by applying for CC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

They all loved it!

12/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased four of these storage chests for our grandchildren for Christmas. Both the kids and the parents loved them. The boys received the ones with the red lid and our granddaughter received the one with the pink lid. They are simple to put together and hold a lot more toys than we expected. They're also Made in the USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Super Fantastic!!

01/19/2010
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant to have a big piece of plastic in our living room, but I have to admit that I absolutely love this toy chest!! We had things in baskets, and it wasn't very appealing, and now everything can be stored in one place. The shelves are wide and tall for even bigger toys (like the Little People Barn fits on the top shelf nicely). The storage box itself is HUGE! I purchased extra shelves thinking I would need more space, and ended up using them elsewhere b/c this thing holds it all...easily the size of a large plastic tote. The lid stays back and out of the way while she's playing, and then closes easily after clean-up. Not saying all kids will feel the same, but she loves to clean up now. As we were unloading it from the car, my 2 yr old daughter was asking if she could "clean her toys away." Everything has a place and it makes it easy for her to be responsible. I've already recommended this to four of my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

perfect!

01/16/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this thing is perfect! it takes only a couple minutes to assemble. highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great For Little Ones

02/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great for my year old granddaughter. I checked the safety ratings before buying and was very happy with the results. The shelving is high enough that my daughetr can store books that she does not want the baby to reach. The push back lid is great. We don't have to worry about the lid coming down on little fingers. My grandaughter loves to crawl inside and there is plenty of room for that too. :)
Now I want one for my house when the grandkids come to play!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 224 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next