Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Step2 Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

The Step2 Lift and Hide Storage Chest would make a really nice addition to your kid's room. It is bound to be a hit with the youngsters with its shape and color. The chest provides ample storage space not just for toys but books and other decorative items as well. The top most part of this bookcase storage chest has a rack where toys can be arranged. Below that is a shelf where books up to ten inches in height can be aligned vertically. Below the book shelf is a kid's storage chest where plenty of toys can be dumped, removing clutter from your child's room. This storage chest comes with an attached lid that will keep the toys and items neatly stored inside. The best part of this Step2 red bookcase is the fact that it is completely safe for kids to handle. There are no sharp edges and no heavy lids that can hurt tiny fingers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.728 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(364 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
292
4 stars
56
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation97%350 out of 360reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
292
4 stars
56
3 stars
10
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

It's Perfect!

02/24/2011
By ,
Gaffney, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was alot bigger then i thought & tons of space to put toys in the chest! I would recommend this product to everyone! It's wonderful, super easy to put together! Would definately buy it again if needed!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 2 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

great Toy chest

01/17/2013
By ,
Brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A cinch to put together, even with the little one underfoot. Ten minutes and two screws later it was ready. I emptied her entire old bin of toys into it, filled the book shelf, and was still looking around for things to put in it. It didn't take up nearly as much space as I was afraid it would, considering how much it holds. There isn't a corner or sharp edge anywhere on this bin which makes me feel safer. This storage chest is unbelievably sturdy- my almost 40 pound toddler climbs all over it and it doesn't budge. It really tidied up my living room and looks cute. I am really happy with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 3 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great buy!

03/10/2014
By ,
Cal City, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this chest! I was very excited after reading the reviews and was pleased with the amount of space it has. Only took about 2 minutes to put together. Great buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great toy chest

01/12/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the online reviews before buying this product and was sure we were purchasing the right one. This product exceeded our expectations as far as durability and space, stores a TON of my 2 year olds toys. We were looking around the house for more toys to put in here. One thing product is HUGE would recommend having it shipped to your house especially if you do not own an SUV. Ended up having to take it out of the box in the Walmart Parking lot to fit the 2 pieces in the car. Would buy again and recommend to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Love it

01/13/2014
By ,
Rome, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toy box!!!we had Lots of extra room after all the toys were put away. Very easy to put together! Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Adorable and big

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year old, took less than a minute to put together. Very sturdy and hold a lot of toys!!! A little pricey but I Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 7 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Best Toy Box EVER!!

12/26/2013
By ,
Norwich, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this box, very big & all of her toys fit perfectly in this box. The pink color goes with her room Decor.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great toy chest

01/02/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 20 month old son spent the first few days playing in the toy chest himself. We were finally able to start using this for its purpose and could not be happier. The chest holds a good amount of toys and the attachted book shelf is very useful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great Quality & Price (Very Easy Assembly)

10/24/2012
By ,
Hville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion I feel that its important when you have children that you purchase safety first then quality. I feel I purchased both with this product. First safety, A relief to know that the door can stay up and also that the door if it came down isn't heavy . The door stays up in place so no worries for it close down on child. Safety feature with this toybox is that the door to storage box is light enough ia toddler could push open if they fall into box. Quaity, it is durable, tough, and will stand up to children banging on it. Very good product both safety and quality. YES..I would recommend this product for price and durability. No screws really needed because it stays in place (Came with screws for extra precaution) Not really needed. It slides and locks together when you assemble it (Assembly Very Easy). I will have this product for many years to come aproximently 10 years and pass it on to another for many more years of use. Theres your quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 10 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Toddler friendly (20 month old)

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Step2 Lift bookcase storage chest was a good buy and very easy to put together. My daughter can open and close the front without any problems and I have no worries about it slamming on her fingers. I didn't understand the pricing difference between the different colors since it is only on the part that closes, red, pink, blue, brown, maybe due to how much they have to use to get that color?? Anyhow we got the pink one and it was the cheapest. The shelf holds all her books (except the very large ones) and the top holds her dolls (which she currently still cant reach yet. I did anchor it on the wall (and wish they did provide anchors with the toy box) because as soon as my daughter saw it she climbed into the toy box area and then attempted to try to climb up the shelving, but she is a dare devil that has no fear. I really love that I got my living room back once this came in and now she is playing in her room more.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

great storage

09/30/2009
By ,
Highland Mills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. It holds more toys then I expected and I love the lid it stays in place so my 15 month old son won't get hurt, and he can lift it himself when he wants.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 12 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Absolutely love this

07/22/2010
By ,
Salem, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bookcase with the pink lid for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. She absolutely loves it. She's been learning to clean up her own toys and today when we received this she had a ball putting her toys in it. We just had her toys in a bin with a lid but this is so much better for her. Now she can open her toybox without us and has her books within easy reach. She can't quite reach the top of it (which is good cause i can put her puzzles up there so she doesn't lose more pieces). I recommend using the optional drill to put it together as going through plastic with a screwdriver isn't easy. Overall I would say this is perfect. Put together in two minutes. LOTS OF ROOM FOR TOYS AND BOOKS. The best thing I ever bought my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 13 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

The lid does not fit the bookcase/storage chest

01/12/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Step2 Lift and Hide Bookcase Storage Chest for my grandson and it is adorable and roomy. The idea of having space for books and toys in the same piece of furniture is great. However, the lid does not fit properly. It takes great strength from an adult to push the lid in the upright position or to push it to the closed position The lid leaves large red marks on the bookcase when we try to open or close it.
I contacted the Step2 Company by email and when they first responded, they told me to put Armor All on the child's storage chest. After I requested further assistance, they promptly sent another lid. Unfortunately the new lid also does not open or close without a level of force impossible for a small child. Either I was unlucky to get two defective lids or the problem may be in the bookcase portion of the item. Either way, this item is being returned which is a shame because as I said, the storage chest is adorable and roomy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 14 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Love it!!

03/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was so easy to put together and has tons of storage room! Super excited to have this in my girls room!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great Item!

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this toybox. Very sturdy & good for toddler
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Excellent toybox with lots of storage

12/23/2009
By ,
Murray, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 18 month old son and were amazed that it held all of his toys and books and we still have room for more as his collection grows. It holds much more than you would think. Also very sturdy as my son climbs on it and doesn't tip or move. He loves it and we do too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 17 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

It's okay

02/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does what it's supposed to do and what I bought it for but it's not worth the money. Should be at least $40-$50 cheaper.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Perfect

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this toy box :) easy to put together, just simple.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

They all loved it!

12/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased four of these storage chests for our grandchildren for Christmas. Both the kids and the parents loved them. The boys received the ones with the red lid and our granddaughter received the one with the pink lid. They are simple to put together and hold a lot more toys than we expected. They're also Made in the USA!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 20 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Not kids safe!

02/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this storage chest online. I picked it ip at store and opened as soon as I got home. Comes in 3 pieces. As I was getting each piece out of the box I immediately notice the edge where you (kids) reach to get the toys in or out was very sharp! So I carefully put it back in the box and took it back to the store the next day. Its not kids safe. I do not recommend.
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 253 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next