Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Step2 Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

The Step2 Lift and Hide Bookcase Storage Chest would make a really nice addition to your kid's room. It is bound to be a hit with the youngsters with its shape and color. This kids' storage chest provides ample space not just for toys but books and other decorative items as well. The top most part of this bookcase storage chest has a rack where toys can be arranged. Below that is a shelf where books up to 10" in height can be aligned vertically. Below the bookshelf is a kids' storage chest where plenty of toys can be dumped, removing clutter from your child's room. This storage chest comes with an attached lid that will keep the toys and items neatly stored inside. The best part of this toy storage chest is the fact that it is completely safe for kids to handle. There are no sharp edges and no heavy lids that can hurt tiny fingers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.749 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(339 Reviews) 316
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
274
4 stars
52
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation98%329 out of 336reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
274
4 stars
52
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

It's Perfect!

02/24/2011
By ,
Gaffney, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was alot bigger then i thought & tons of space to put toys in the chest! I would recommend this product to everyone! It's wonderful, super easy to put together! Would definately buy it again if needed!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

great Toy chest

01/17/2013
By ,
Brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A cinch to put together, even with the little one underfoot. Ten minutes and two screws later it was ready. I emptied her entire old bin of toys into it, filled the book shelf, and was still looking around for things to put in it. It didn't take up nearly as much space as I was afraid it would, considering how much it holds. There isn't a corner or sharp edge anywhere on this bin which makes me feel safer. This storage chest is unbelievably sturdy- my almost 40 pound toddler climbs all over it and it doesn't budge. It really tidied up my living room and looks cute. I am really happy with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great buy!

03/10/2014
By ,
Cal City, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this chest! I was very excited after reading the reviews and was pleased with the amount of space it has. Only took about 2 minutes to put together. Great buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great toy chest

01/12/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the online reviews before buying this product and was sure we were purchasing the right one. This product exceeded our expectations as far as durability and space, stores a TON of my 2 year olds toys. We were looking around the house for more toys to put in here. One thing product is HUGE would recommend having it shipped to your house especially if you do not own an SUV. Ended up having to take it out of the box in the Walmart Parking lot to fit the 2 pieces in the car. Would buy again and recommend to everyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Love it

01/13/2014
By ,
Rome, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toy box!!!we had Lots of extra room after all the toys were put away. Very easy to put together! Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Adorable and big

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year old, took less than a minute to put together. Very sturdy and hold a lot of toys!!! A little pricey but I Love it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Best Toy Box EVER!!

12/26/2013
By ,
Norwich, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this box, very big & all of her toys fit perfectly in this box. The pink color goes with her room Decor.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great toy chest

01/02/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 20 month old son spent the first few days playing in the toy chest himself. We were finally able to start using this for its purpose and could not be happier. The chest holds a good amount of toys and the attachted book shelf is very useful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great Quality & Price (Very Easy Assembly)

10/24/2012
By ,
Hville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion I feel that its important when you have children that you purchase safety first then quality. I feel I purchased both with this product. First safety, A relief to know that the door can stay up and also that the door if it came down isn't heavy . The door stays up in place so no worries for it close down on child. Safety feature with this toybox is that the door to storage box is light enough ia toddler could push open if they fall into box. Quaity, it is durable, tough, and will stand up to children banging on it. Very good product both safety and quality. YES..I would recommend this product for price and durability. No screws really needed because it stays in place (Came with screws for extra precaution) Not really needed. It slides and locks together when you assemble it (Assembly Very Easy). I will have this product for many years to come aproximently 10 years and pass it on to another for many more years of use. Theres your quality for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Pro's And Cons

12/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was bought for a two year old's use. Make sure that you don't leave the child alone with this box, at this age. While the container itself is very large and holds a lot of toys, my grandson decided to climb up it and scale it like a ladder. Make sure you attach the top right away as without that done the shelf can be easily pulled down on themselves. The cover does slide down as easily as I had hoped, so my grandson seemed frustrated at times with it. As it is molded plastic, I didn't have to worry about my grandson getting hurt or ripping clothes on it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Love this for my son :)

12/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints this is a perfect toy box :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Will be returned

12/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We ordered the Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest for our granddaughter. It is a nice toy chest that could have worked out well, but the lid does not slide back easily and in fact took an adult to do so with some force. We are sad to send it back as this was exactly what we are looking for. It could just have been that this particular item was defective.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Durable

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product met my expectations of durability. Price was reasonable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great for toys and books!

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's excellent to organize in one spot kids toys, and even better comes from recycling and its recyclable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Step2 book shelf and toy box

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Step2 company. They make great products.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

great storage

09/30/2009
By ,
Highland Mills, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great. It holds more toys then I expected and I love the lid it stays in place so my 15 month old son won't get hurt, and he can lift it himself when he wants.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Absolutely love this

07/22/2010
By ,
Salem, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bookcase with the pink lid for my 2 1/2 year old daughter. She absolutely loves it. She's been learning to clean up her own toys and today when we received this she had a ball putting her toys in it. We just had her toys in a bin with a lid but this is so much better for her. Now she can open her toybox without us and has her books within easy reach. She can't quite reach the top of it (which is good cause i can put her puzzles up there so she doesn't lose more pieces). I recommend using the optional drill to put it together as going through plastic with a screwdriver isn't easy. Overall I would say this is perfect. Put together in two minutes. LOTS OF ROOM FOR TOYS AND BOOKS. The best thing I ever bought my daughter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

The lid does not fit the bookcase/storage chest

01/12/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Step2 Lift and Hide Bookcase Storage Chest for my grandson and it is adorable and roomy. The idea of having space for books and toys in the same piece of furniture is great. However, the lid does not fit properly. It takes great strength from an adult to push the lid in the upright position or to push it to the closed position The lid leaves large red marks on the bookcase when we try to open or close it.
I contacted the Step2 Company by email and when they first responded, they told me to put Armor All on the child's storage chest. After I requested further assistance, they promptly sent another lid. Unfortunately the new lid also does not open or close without a level of force impossible for a small child. Either I was unlucky to get two defective lids or the problem may be in the bookcase portion of the item. Either way, this item is being returned which is a shame because as I said, the storage chest is adorable and roomy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

I love it it's perfect

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Lift & Hide Bookcase Storage Chest

Great for kids

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this for my infants first Christmas gift... My oldest son received one his first Christmas! Great to store both books and toys.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 234 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next