Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE Lighting GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

GE Lighting GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

By using a GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral CFL Light Bulb, you can save energy and money. This light bulb uses compact fluorescent technology (CFL), so it does not get too hot to touch. Use up to 75 percent less energy when you replace your current lighting products with a 26-watt CFL. With the GE CFL bulb, you can save money on your monthly energy bill. Designed to last up to 10 times longer and provide the same quality of light as conventional soft white incandescent bulbs, the GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral CFL Light Bulb is qualified for an Energy Star rating. Due to their design, this light bulb turns on instantly, without any flickering. Compared with your standard, energy intensive, white light bulb, the GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral is more efficient.
Average Customer Rating:
2.556 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation56%5 out of 9reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Dimmable but not like incandescents

12/18/2012
By ,
Coastal RI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Most people complain that CFLs don't dim much. My complaint is that you have to turn the dimmer to max brightness every time you want to turn the bulb on, making these useless for three way circuits. I finally got the time to do an investigation into switching over to CFLs and LEDs, but neither are ready for prime time, except in the basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
somewhere
Posted 10/26/2013
Do your homework first! Go to Lutron.com to LEARN about dimming switches and why you need special dimmers for both CFL and LED!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Do some homework fisrt

05/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Search dimmable CFLs first. The dimmable CFL works the way they are supposed to. You need a CFL that is designed to work with a dimmer switch and because CFLs operate differently than incadescent bulbs they only dim to a point before cutting off. That is the way they are designed to work. One should never install a CFL in a dimmer switch that is not labeled as a dimmable CFL as there is a risk of fire. Read beforehand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
somewhere
Posted 10/26/2013
Do your homework first! Go to Lutron.com to LEARN about dimming switches and why you need special dimmers for both CFL and LED!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Not quite right

04/01/2012
By ,
Portland, Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
With a poor description offered, I bought these to replace incandescent bulbs that are hooked to dimmer switches. While these do sort of dim down, it is very little and IF you dim them down more than at at the same settings as your incandescent bulbs, they turn off at about the 80% level...so buyer beware. These are the only CFL bulbs you can use with a dimmer circuit, so in that venue, they sort of work, but IF you want to dim them down to some romantic level, forget it. Since these are a transitional light source in between incandescent and LED bulbs, I am waiting for LED bulbs to come down drastically in price to replace these CFL bulbs which aren't environmentally friendly and which require special care in recycling them. At about $4 per bulb, these are too spendy, so consider temporarily replacing your dimmer switch with a standard 'on/off' variety, and get the regular CFL bulbs for under $2 each...until the LED bulbs that you can dim are at a price of around $1 to $2 each! I don't know even IF these will last anywhere close to the manufacturer's hype, but that may add to or diminish my ratings depending on how long these last. Stay tuned!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

not so dimmable

11/13/2012
By ,
Stockton, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These CFL dim but not to the extent of a halogen or incandescent bulb. On a standard 15 amp switch wall dimmer, the lever can be moved to three quarters dimmed (1/4 power) and the bulb diminishes to about half luminosity. I do not know what it means electrically, the bulb can be dimmed 3/4 and the light down to 1/2. At less then 3/4 dimmed, the bulb extinguishes. To rejuvenate the light again, the lever must be stationed at 100 percent on to re-activate the bulb. What this means in energy savings remains unknown. These bulbs replaced LED dimmable bulbs that are not intense enough for the overhead track lighting eight feet up. I will note the difference on the electric bill next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
somewhere
Posted 10/26/2013
Do your homework first! Go to Lutron.com to LEARN about dimming switches and why you need special dimmers for both CFL and LED!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Sent me the wrong thing

08/07/2012
By ,
Alaska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered the 2 of the 3 packs and I just received 2 light bulbs only. I would like them to look at what they are picking for the customers, it was 15.44 for a 3 pack and I just ended up with 2 light bulbs for 30.88
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Disappointed

04/29/2009
By ,
Arizona
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was somewhat disappointed with this CFL because I could only adjust the brightness with my dimmer to about a medium setting. If I turned it up to max or also min brightness it would flicker on and off continuously.
To be fair, I must say my tabletop dimmer is quite old so maybe that contributed to the problem..... but with an incandescent bulb the dimmer works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
somewhere
Posted 10/26/2013
Do your homework first! Go to Lutron.com to LEARN about dimming switches and why you need special dimmers for both CFL and LED!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Not what you think

07/26/2009
By ,
Arlington, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The first reviewer is right - it will only dim down to around 60% of full output - but it does work great on a switch that dims.
My main complaint is how expensive it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
somewhere
Posted 10/26/2013
Do your homework first! Go to Lutron.com to LEARN about dimming switches and why you need special dimmers for both CFL and LED!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs

Does not lower electricity bill

01/27/2012
By ,
Scottsboro
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product increased my electricity bill by $50.00 per month, also when I purchased my first pack of these bulbs I bought a 4 pack and one of the bulbs did not even work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
somewhere
Posted 10/26/2013
Not the bulbs problem!!! Do your homework first! Go to Lutron.com to LEARN about dimming switches and why you need special dimmers for both CFL and LED!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for GE CFL 26wt Dimmable Spiral - 3 bulbs
Based on 1 ratings-only review
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5